CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Michelin Pro4 Endurance Tire

MichelinPro4 Endurance Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(305 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(226)
(55)
(6)
(7)
(11)
(74%)
(18%)
(2%)
(2%)
(4%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Jose G Castillon

Good & safe
by Jose G Castillon
Cycling Enthusiast
Eagle Pass Texas

what I like about this tires when you ride on rain you run on the pavement , when you get a flat no matter how fast you ride you allways on the rubber , good & safe

Reviewed 8/29/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Matt

Amazing Bang for Buck
by Matt
Chicago
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

In terms of rolling resistance, durability, road feel, AND not spending $xxx per tire, look no further. Great value for how much tire you get. I have gone through quite a few of these Fairly easy to seat. And I haven't had a problem with punctures. It's fairly easy to see when you need to replace the rear as you'll start to pick up small cuts and can see that clear flattening where the rubber meets the road. I have had luck using super glue to cover small cuts in new-ish tires (though I know other recommend things like shoe goo). I also will rotate the front, less-used tire into the rear, then put a new one on the front. Solid in the wet and exceptional stopping power when emergency braking. Just wish they made a tubeless version of this tire!

Reviewed 5/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Glad I got a pair of these
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Evanston IL

Installed easily, smooth ride, I'm faster on these at the beginning of the '23 season than I was on Krylion 2 Endurance at the end of the '22 season. I've been riding 1200-1300 miles a year, and I own one bike (English, 531 from 1973, and I'm a lot older than the bike) so I don't buy a lot of tires. These are the best I've had. I like the compromise between performance and puncture prevention of the Krylion 2s, so I believe I'll like the compromise of the Pro 4s.

Reviewed 4/14/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wally

goes the distance on the front
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois

I'm 76, ride for distance, solo, 5000 miles per yr, lots of centuries.

I used many, many different tires and have come to rely on the Pro4 Endurance as my go to FRONT tire.

I know this can be very subjective, but in my experience is this is the most reliable front tire to get me home w/o flatting. Or worse, cutting/blowout. There are a lot of bad roads and debris out there.

You will notice I specify front. I have found different behavior/types of flats between front and rear, and use different tires on the rear..

Reviewed 3/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rob

EXCELLENT ALL AROUND TIRE
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
IA
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is an excellent all around tire.

Reviewed 6/29/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old NE Roadie

My go to tires
by Old NE Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Riding these for years on 2 bikes. Get well over 2k miles per tire. Easy on and off. Seldom flat unless I run them thru sharp debris. Good traction in corners. Using 25mm on carbon race bike and feel the ride is smooth enough.

Reviewed 12/5/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spring

I have been using these tires on my road bike for over 4 years and they are the best for avoiding flats.
by Spring
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, Washington
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They originally came in 700 X 23 with red sidewall. I bought them because they made my bike look good. When the red sidewall was no longer offered in my size, I had to go to black. But despite the cosmetic disappoint, they are best tire I have ever used and allow me to ride without being constantly concerned with flats. The tire bead is really tight, and I have a hard time getting the tire off and on with arthritic hands. I carry Park tire irons, and I do mean irons, with me when I ride by myself to insure that I can change the tire if needed by myself. Have never needed them since I got the irons. These are the best tires, and I can count on them to go at least 1,000 miles before they start to look ratty.

Reviewed 10/20/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by greg

For the money, it's hard to beat the performance.
by greg
Cycling Enthusiast
northern new hampshire
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I installed a set of Pro 4's on my Synapse to improve the comfort of the ride. They provided me with good grip, and a more forgiving ride, as they seem to absorb the road cracks.

Reviewed 7/29/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mwa

Long time user. Great long wearing tire. Tire profile is different, check your tolerances.
by mwa
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Michigan
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Michelin Pro4 for some years. A great all around tire. I recently sized up from 700x23 to 700x25 and found a number of clearance issues. The 25 width profile is closer to 28mm than 25mm which created clearance problems on my Cervelo bikes. Also the vertical profile is higher that another brand and found a frame rubbing conflict. May bikes are older, so maybe new Cervelo's have larger clearances. Anyway a check when mounting is a good thing.

Reviewed 7/19/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

THIS...
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Iowa
40 of 44 customers found this review helpful.

I have had 3 sets of these now that I have run completely in to the ground with a grand total of 1, yes 1, flat. The shocker is the suppleness of the ride, compared to saya Gatorskin. I ride on a lot of sketchy rural roads, so these have seen all sorts of action. I have also run these for crits, with no complaints on that end either. I run 25's and modify the pressure according to the situation. I just put some 23's on my TT rig and the rid is a bit stiffer, but more responsive. My advice, go with the 25's as an all around tire, and you'll be satisfied. The all black looks dope. Happy trails!

Reviewed 11/13/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul

excellant tire
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Converse, TX USA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Michelin pro4 endurance tires are excellant !! I bought a pair of these and started to ride on them the beginining of October 2021. They are still on my wheels and have put 3000 miles on these tires, on rough rural roads in Texas, USA. They are just great tires. I was using the Conti Gator tires which are very good. I switch to the Michelin to check them out. These are my new go to tires. The Gators are good but seem to be heavier. I get better response from the Endurance tires and like their grippy feeling. I like them so much I have purchsed another pair of them. I will come back and update this as I feel they will last for quite some time. They are a good buy, I am pleased to say Michelin has come through again!

Reviewed 1/17/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Durable, reliable, a great ride - perfect for recreation and training.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Humboldt, California

An excellent training and recreational tire. When properly inflated, seems to reduce rolling resistance. A very minor issue can be the fatness of the tire puts up a little resistance against the brake pads when reinstalling a wheel, but really that's part of the design.

Reviewed 6/23/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

This tire is durable and yet comfortable riding
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida Suncoast area
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding Michelin tires for over 25 years, When Michelin came out with the Endurance tire I tried them and really like them I very seldom have a flat and I get about 2,500 miles of wear. Last year I rode about 7,200 miles and had two flats.When the rear is worn out, i put the front tire on the back and a new tire on the front. They aren't as sticky as a pure race tire, but they last a lot longer and are much more resistant to road debris.

Reviewed 11/15/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Psk410

Good tire
by Psk410
Dallas, TX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm still very early into my usage of these tires and have not owned them before. Initially they feel very grippy given the lack of any tread pattern. They even picked up every spec of dust and hair on my garage floor on my way out for the first ride. I bought them for the reported combination of puncture resistance and low rolling resistance. I hadn't noticed them to roll any faster than my old gatorskins yet, but this could be my fault, as I think I need to run them a bit higher PSI. Got a good deal and quick delivery from Western. Very pleased with them.

Reviewed 11/17/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dan

Very supple
by Dan
Los Angeles, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are excellent if you need a little more cushion in your ride. I recommend the 28mm.

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sterno

Smooth, durable and puncture resistant
by Sterno
Brooklyn, New York
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have used these tires for about a year and 2000+ miles on the rough and glass strewn roads of New York. I have not had a single flat, yet there are several deep cuts in the tread from glass. I feel totally secure on these tires. Even after the mileage, I can barely see any tread wear. Only con is that they were very difficult to mount the first time. Because of that I got a kind of lever that lifts the bead up an over the rim, and now it's easy every time.

Reviewed 2/23/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mark

Good grip, comfort, puncture resistance
by Mark
Memphis
7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

These are slower than my GP 5000's, but what do you expect from puncture resistant winter tires? They are still faster than Gatorskin Hardshells. I have only ridden them about 500 miles. Want to see how they hold up over the winter.

I am on 28's, and I recommend running them at maximum pressure of 87 psi ( or even 89 or 90). I started at about 82 psi rear, 77 front; and I would say running them at the max gives a noticeable reduction in rolling resistance.

Reviewed 11/27/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sam W

Really love these tires
by Sam W
Dallas, TX
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Was surprised (and a little concerned) to see that these ran at a lower pressure than what I have been used to. I bought them specifically because I need the endurance since I ride around 800 miles a month and was getting tired of changing flats. These did not disappoint. Just under 2000 miles on them now some of which not in the best surfaces and no issues. The ride is smooth and they corner well. Will be replacing these with another identical pair when these finally go.

Reviewed 11/16/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent product for durability and performance
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northeast USA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding on Pro 4 Endurance tires for at least the last 7 or 8 years. I weigh about 185 lbs yet have been able to get at least 2,500 to 3,000 miles on these tires and often a bit more. I ride about 2,500 to 3,000 miles per season and usually put a new set of tires on each year or so. I ride almost exclusively on paved roads and have had maybe 2 or 3 flats of flats over that time period of 7 to 8 years. The tires perform very well and are solid in the corners.

Reviewed 11/12/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob J

Decent tire
by Bob J
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Rolling resistance seems to be acceptable. They aren't the most comfortable tires I have ridden but I guess that's the trade off for the "Endurance". I haven't put on enough miles to determine life span. So far no flats.

Value is difficult to determine. Price increases of most tires have exceeded the value. Remember 2 years ago?

Reviewed 12/29/2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page