X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(629 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(501)
(81)
(14)
(9)
(24)
(80%)
(13%)
(2%)
(1%)
(4%)
Previous Page
Fast and tough enough
by Anonymous

Love these tires. They are fast and puncture resistant enough for every day use. Prefer these to the 5000s for training.

Reviewed 12/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Runs large
by Anonymous
New York
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Running 28s on a Specialized Roubaix (2014 carbon frame) they rubbed. When calipered at 100psi they read 32mm. Changed to the 25s and had perfect clearance. The 25s measured 27mm at 100psi.

1400 miles in 6 months (40-100 F) on smooth to chipped surfaces with occasional pot holes

No issues and minimal visual wear

Reviewed 12/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great all around tire with excellent durability
by SFBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is very predictable tire. I performs great on the dry and on the wet.

I really value the wear like predictability. I typically get about 1500 miles from

a pair of these tires. I weight about 175lbs and I i climb about 100K ft a year.

After abandoning other brands since they were very unpredictable as to there

wear out cycle, these are the only tires I will run. I ride about 1500 miles a year.

Reviewed 12/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires out there for day in and day out use.
by drsonny
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee

Road riding 4-6K year x 16 years...this is my favorite tire for all around performance. Good handling, long wearing, puncture resistant. Almost a race tire but lasts longer. I always come back to these tires.

Reviewed 12/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gold Standard
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Continental is still the gold standard in cycling tires. I use them on all 4 of my bikes. Gatorskins on my commuter bike, 4 Seasons on my winter road bike and these on my race bikes. The ride quality is superb. The handling is excellent. These won't last as long as the Gatorskins or 4 Seasons but that would be true of any premium tire. Get them on sale and they become a good value.

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires
by Anonymous
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent tires

Reviewed 11/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Superb
by Steve F.
Boston
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These really are great tires, I now use these with latex tubes and my average speed has definitely increased - I'm still slow of course but I'll take any improvement I can get. The reflective strip is a nice touch too, now cars can undoubtedly see me from any angle. I have at least a few hundred miles on them and no flats even after accidentally riding through broken glass, there are small cuts on the tread but no flats so the puncture protection is good as well.

Reviewed 10/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all purpose tire
by Dsquared
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is my go-to tire. It's a fast tire and they feel stable when I'm screaming down a descent. I've tried other tires that are more puncture resistance but I find that the Conti 4000S tires are faster. I ride in the SF Bay Area where the roads (and bike lanes) are in terrible condition with a lot of debris. I've had a run of bad luck lately with this tire though. In the past 2 months, I experienced 12 flats, mostly from broken glass and one flat from a goathead.

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Disappointed in service life
by SWFlorida Gatorguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Myers, FL

This is the second 4000 I have purchased for the rear of my Trek Madone 4.7. The first tire gave me 1,700 miles of service and no flats. The second purchase wore out at 1,000 miles and I had two flats with the tire. I like the performance and handling of the tire and that is why I bought the second one. I have since replaced the 4000 with a 5000 hoping for better mileage and puncture resistance from the 5000.

Reviewed 11/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best
by Runcoop
omaha ne
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I researched tires before I bought these and they were the highest rated. They did not disappoint. Roll smooth and quick and are surprisingly durable.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go-to fav
by BBcross
Bellingham
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love these until I start getting flats....then I get a new one.

Reviewed 11/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No better performance clincher
by Max
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW

This tire has become the go-to tire of all my cycling friends. It is fast and comfortable, lasts longer than most performance tires, and is relatively flat-resistant. Of course, this is a race tire, so it's not going to be as bullet proof as a beefy commuter tire. But as an all-around performer, it's hard to beat.

Reviewed 10/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Race worthy, but robust enough to train on, durable and puncture resistant warrior.
by Richard
Competitive Racer
Winter Garden, FL

This is the third or fourth season using GP4000 versions of clinchers . They give a smooth roll, hold up to all road conditions, tread is durable. I have them on two different wheel sets. One for training on my tri bike and another climbing wheel set for hilly rides on my road bike.

Reviewed 9/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can A Tyre Really Make That Much Difference?
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Still in break in mode with these tyres, but I noticed the difference after just one ride!

Mounted and inflated, these tyres have a rounder profile than the Tendrils and that seems to make a world of difference. It is almost like riding on a tubular. They corner great, rolling resistance seems less I had previously, acceleration is measurably improved, and because of the rounder profile, shock transmission is lessened. They have not been on the bike long enough to really say if they are more flat resistant, but no problems . . . so far.

The folding bead fits mt Vision rims securely, yet I can could mount the tyre without and mechanical assist. I presume taking the tire off the rim will be just as simple. While classed as a racing tyre, I have no hesitation using these on a daily basis.

All around excellent choice and money well spent.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice tires
by Bernie
Cycling Enthusiast
RI
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Replace an older set of tires with these I notice an improvement in the ride and handling overall a very nice tire. I purchased another set of these tires for my other road bike and will be installing this winter for the riding season next spring.

Reviewed 11/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Impressive
by SramShimanoCampyrider
Daily Commuter
Utah
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Our rough roads have eaten every tire I have tried (Michelin, Panaracer, including previous Continentals and a list of others). These were on sale and decided to give them a try, they are holding up better than expected with the use of kevlar liners and puncture resistant tubes-I spend time riding not repairing. I have been very impressed with the road feel of these tires and after a long ride I usually have slight cuts in the outer tire casing and so far no cuts.

Reviewed 9/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire i've used so far
by cathleen
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I switched from gatorskins a year ago and immediately felt the difference. They rolled much easier and felt lighter. Had a puncture cause I fell off my trainer so I had to go back to the gatorskin for a short time. I could really feel the difference. Not as smooth and didn't roll as well. Gatorskin is a great tire but the 4000 is far and above in my opinion. The price was great for the value. If you want a great rolling tire without breaking the bank buy these, you will love them.

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great balance- training vs durability
by RoboKrause
Competitive Racer
Manhattan, KS
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tire doesn't disappoint. It offers a perfect balance of durability but is still light enough for quick training. It could even be a solid tire for race days.

Reviewed 8/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best all-around training tire
by Andrew
LAGUNA NIGUEL

Great tire in terms of reasonable weight, great wear, grip and puncture resistance. Always easy to mount and although list price is a tad high, most retailers offer them both in multiples at a reduced price.

Reviewed 9/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best overall training tire
by Andrew
LAGUNA NIGUEL

Great tire in terms of reasonable weight, great wear, grip and puncture resistance. Always easy to mount and although list price is a tad high, most retailers offer them both in multiples at a reduced price.

Reviewed 9/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page