X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(579 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(468)
(71)
(13)
(9)
(18)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Previous Page
Soft and tacky
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great for races, climbing, and descending. Probably a little soft for commuting.

Reviewed 6/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing tires
by JP
Cleveland, OH
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great tires. They are my go to tire for training and racing

Reviewed 5/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Buy!
by Jake Wille
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio

I have been using Michelin Pro race 3, 4 services course tires for quite a while. I was riding on Conti's before and they were just too damn hard to get on the Mavic wheels. Anyway, I recently switched Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tirebecause the roads I am riding on now are not really smooth at all. They are very rough and the Michelins were wearing out very fast. I Have put about 1000 miles on these guys and I am sold! They show barely any wear and the ride is smoother than the Michelins. I suggest that you invest a couple of bucks and buy the Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tires you will be satisfied for many miles. Happy cycling

Reviewed 4/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tire was a little difficult to mount put performs with excellent traction
by Chris C
Casual Cyclist
Oldsmar, Fl
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a excellent traction tire and wears well. It was a little difficult to mount on the rim.

Reviewed 1/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good performer for both the avid cyclist and racer.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used these tires for both recreational riding, racing and race training. They have been good performers with reasonable wear and are solid in the corners for both criteriums and high speed descents.

Reviewed 3/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the tire I intend to use for several years
by ericknopinski
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver Colorado

I purchased a used rode bike with Continental Grand Prix 4000 S Tires. I like them so much I put them on my commuting bike. They give me good traction, wear resistance and a comfortable ride. In addition to standing up to the dirty streets of Denver during my daily commute they have been to the top of Mount Evans at over 14,000 feet multiple times. The ride down from Mount Evans is a punishing test on tires, bikes and rider due to the rough pavement. I did have one small side wall cut that allowed the tube to fail. I hope to get the side wall patched. Due to performance of this tire I have stocked enough of them to last me for a couple of years.

Reviewed 3/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast and tough enough
by Anonymous

Love these tires. They are fast and puncture resistant enough for every day use. Prefer these to the 5000s for training.

Reviewed 12/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires are fantastic changed to the 25mm tire I have been grabbing KOM's since the change!!!
by Strava nut
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern MN
22 of 24 customers found this review helpful.

Last summer I rode the Conti GP 4000 25mm tires and they lasted for ever (4000)mi. I changed them out to see if I was missing on the sprints because of the slight extra weight. I switched to the new GP 4000 2 which road very smooth and handled very good. Now I have just switched back to the 25mm in the new version and they are so smooth the bumps are easier the high speed cornering feels so secure. I'm flying without seeming like I'm putting in the effort. Because they handle so good you can fly with much more confidence. Second day on them and I just topped my best top speed on a little hill by hitting a hair under 47mph my old best was just under 44 mph. Day before I collected 3 KOM's on strava.

Reviewed 8/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One of the best overall tires on the market.
by DrCyclismo
Competitive Racer
Austin Texas
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I have been around the block a few times and this tire rolls with the very best. It is very durable to the point of being bullet proof on training rides. It is remarkably long lasting regardless of road condition (even chip seal) and grips the road providing the needed confidence in race situations. It is the ONLY tire I buy these days.

Reviewed 8/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road tire
by NorthBayBiiker
Casual Cyclist
NorthBay, Bay Area, Ca USA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These a long lasting, durable road tires that perform great and live up to the hype. The longevity of these tires also make them a great value. I use them on a daily basis for training rides in all conditions. Because of geographic considerations where I ride and live, I typically climb 3000 ft. on any given ride. These tires provide light weight for climbing and great stability when descending Highly recommended.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Conti GP IIs
by Fat Mike
Clovis, Ca.

I ride a Trek Emonda with Zipp 202s. Ive been running the 25s for 2 years and have covered close to 10k miles on them . While the tire is susceptible to goathead stickers, more than say a Gatorskin they are faster and smoother, with better grip . I find them a great match for my Zipp 202s. Im 225 lbs and not particularly fast uphill . But coming out of the mountains where I ride , Im going straight at 50 mph and cornering in the high 30s . I counter stear and brake hard , And I find these tires predicable and consistent . I never patch tubes, just replace using Bontrager tubes . A pair of Zipp brake pads lasts me about 4K miles and I run ceramic bearings . I run 20-24 on flat road and they are smooth as glass . My only complaint is they shed threads that migrate to my hubs and crank , necessitating regular inspection . At Bike Direct prices , I feel they offer great value . Happy Riding .

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires
by Anonymous
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent tires

Reviewed 11/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Runs large
by Anonymous
New York
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Running 28s on a Specialized Roubaix (2014 carbon frame) they rubbed. When calipered at 100psi they read 32mm. Changed to the 25s and had perfect clearance. The 25s measured 27mm at 100psi.

1400 miles in 6 months (40-100 F) on smooth to chipped surfaces with occasional pot holes

No issues and minimal visual wear

Reviewed 12/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great all around tire with excellent durability
by SFBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is very predictable tire. I performs great on the dry and on the wet.

I really value the wear like predictability. I typically get about 1500 miles from

a pair of these tires. I weight about 175lbs and I i climb about 100K ft a year.

After abandoning other brands since they were very unpredictable as to there

wear out cycle, these are the only tires I will run. I ride about 1500 miles a year.

Reviewed 12/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires out there for day in and day out use.
by drsonny
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee

Road riding 4-6K year x 16 years...this is my favorite tire for all around performance. Good handling, long wearing, puncture resistant. Almost a race tire but lasts longer. I always come back to these tires.

Reviewed 12/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go-to fav
by BBcross
Bellingham
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love these until I start getting flats....then I get a new one.

Reviewed 11/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gold Standard
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Continental is still the gold standard in cycling tires. I use them on all 4 of my bikes. Gatorskins on my commuter bike, 4 Seasons on my winter road bike and these on my race bikes. The ride quality is superb. The handling is excellent. These won't last as long as the Gatorskins or 4 Seasons but that would be true of any premium tire. Get them on sale and they become a good value.

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Superb
by Steve F.
Boston
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These really are great tires, I now use these with latex tubes and my average speed has definitely increased - I'm still slow of course but I'll take any improvement I can get. The reflective strip is a nice touch too, now cars can undoubtedly see me from any angle. I have at least a few hundred miles on them and no flats even after accidentally riding through broken glass, there are small cuts on the tread but no flats so the puncture protection is good as well.

Reviewed 10/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all purpose tire
by Dsquared
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is my go-to tire. It's a fast tire and they feel stable when I'm screaming down a descent. I've tried other tires that are more puncture resistance but I find that the Conti 4000S tires are faster. I ride in the SF Bay Area where the roads (and bike lanes) are in terrible condition with a lot of debris. I've had a run of bad luck lately with this tire though. In the past 2 months, I experienced 12 flats, mostly from broken glass and one flat from a goathead.

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best
by Runcoop
omaha ne
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I researched tires before I bought these and they were the highest rated. They did not disappoint. Roll smooth and quick and are surprisingly durable.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page