X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(359 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(318)
(32)
(3)
(2)
(4)
(89%)
(9%)
(1%)
(1%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Good puncture resistance without too much loss of function
by OldeGuy
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern Washington
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I live in live in goat head country and need protection against flats or I will flat with every ride. Gatorskins offer a decrease in flats without a large loss of feel of the bike.

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pleased with purchase.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, NV
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I was getting flats on a weekly basis so I started shopping for tires. Since I got these about 6 weeks ago, I have ridden probably 600 miles without a flat. They handle well enough as far as I can tell, although I live in the desert so I can't comment on how well they handle in the rain.

Reviewed 8/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy with these ties
by Andy Z.
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, Texas
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Just passed 5000 miles with a set of Gatorskins. Got a slight flat spot at about 2700 miles, so I flipped back to front. Had one flat so far, a steel belt shard after a Houston rain. I weigh about 205. My training rides are 40 miles, just came in from a 50 miles ride with club from bike shop. I inflate to 90 psi on front, 100 psi rear wheel. I'm sure I could go at least another 1500 miles on these, but a couple of months ago I bought some Four Season on half price sale. I know Gatorskins are a little heavier, a little stiffer, but they are exactly what I wanted.

Reviewed 8/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The wider tires are nice
by OldAndInTheWay
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have gone to 70X32 and dropped my pressure 10 PSI. The ride is a little softer and I don't notice any difference in rolling resistance. I try to check my tires every few weeks for cuts and dig out anything hidden in the cuts. I've been running gatorskins for about five years and have fewer flats than my friends with tubeless tires.

Reviewed 6/27/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wanted to try these tires and they went on sale so I grabbed them.
by LookOutBelow
Cycling Enthusiast
Cohoes, NY
3 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I put these tires on my Canondale hybrid. They replaced a pair of Avocet Cross tires that were 700x38. The Gatorskins are 700x35. It is a pleasure to ride these tires because they are less rolling resistance and they grip quite well on pavement and also stand up to dirt and gravel. To be fair, I must state that I also replaced the old rims. New tires, new rims right? They went on quite easily and my favorite part is when I roll my bike out of the garage for a ride, the tires squeak on the cement like a finger against a taught balloon. They also look nice on the bike which is a light blue frame, tan leather seat and black rims. I've only got about a hundred miles on them so far and I know I'll be rolling down the road for several more judging by many other cyclists who use them.

Reviewed 8/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding durability
by Anonymous
Hamilton, MT
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I have always been extremely satisfied with Continental tires. This particular style (Gatorskin) is such a great tire. I just completed around 1000 miles in two weeks circling my home state, Montana on a solo tour. Many of the roads had a lot of debris. In addition, I found myself on numerous sections of gravel roads. I had absolutely no issues or flats which is saying something considering some of the roads I was on. While these tires wouldn't be my choice for road racing and such, touring, training rides, and durability are where they shine.

Reviewed 7/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most durable tire on the market - even on a tandem!
by gloyboy
SF Bay Area
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

We ride a tandem and average 6K miles per year on Gatorskin 28C tires. Besides significantly improving the ride and handling of our tandem, we've had only one flat for the last four pairs of these tires (and that was due to a broken bottle in the middle of the road on a fast downhill). We get about 2k miles per tire, which is incredible for our 290 lb combined rider weight. We will continue to mount these durable and supple tires as long as Continental keeps making them.

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect Commuter Tire!
by Fatherof3onMI
Cycling Enthusiast
Mercer Island, WA
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

My favorite commuter tire is no longer readily available and I needed a replacement. So far so good with these Gators'. My concerns are durability for commuting at a reasonable price and these seemed like a nice option that did not require me to go with a heavier wire bead. People complain that they ride harsh. At over 100psi they were harsh. I am running 32's at about 90-95 psi and they are great! I weigh about 170lbs. and no pinch flat issues or any other flats so far. Price was good and let's see how long they last.

Reviewed 4/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid and predictable tire!
by Roser
Cycling Enthusiast
Ontario Canada
11 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

This tire has become my go-to tire for most of my yearly riding. I might have some GP 4000 II ready for race day, but the Gatorskin's are on for everything else! They do not puncture easily and honestly I cannot remember the last time I had a flat with one on these tires. I have 25's on my road bike and have 28's and 32's for my cross/gravel bike for added comfort and coverage.

Reviewed 2/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all-around training, commuting, and touring tire.
by Tod
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ran these for several thousands miles last year in the 32mm size, for training rides, commuting, gravel, and a two week loaded tour. No issues whatsoever, and not a single flat, especially remarkable given that i'm a 200 pound rider. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 3/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best of the Best
by Turk
Alabama

Great tire, very responsive to all road conditions.

Reviewed 8/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gator skins are awesome
by Anonymous
san diego

On the terrible roads I ride on these tires are super great. They really help minimize flats from road debris.

Reviewed 8/19/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Favorite Tire
by Jeanne
Cycling Enthusiast
Sonoma, CA
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding on Gatorskin tires for over 10 years. I find them to be very durable with very few flats. I'm a recreational cyclist so durability is preferable to possibly a lighter weight. I recently switched from wire bead to folding. I think folding is slightly easier to put on, plus they are much easier to transport on a bike tour.

Reviewed 4/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super resilient
by Mike
Happy Valley Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I live near a road that is been deemed "Shrapnel Alley" on Strava these tires get me through there hundreds of times a year without flats. And when I've had a flat the amount of discarded debris is beyond the normal amount and would send cars to the tire shop.

Reviewed 4/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best multipurpose road tire, my opinion
by Jim K
Indiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Gatorskins on my road bike for years and thousands of miles. I love their reliability and ride feel over paved surfaces ranging from smooth and clean, to patched-rough and scattered with debris.

Reviewed 4/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)
by PAUL
Eugene

Love these tires...great product!

Reviewed 8/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super resilient
by Mike
Happy Valley Oregon

I live near a road that is been deemed 'Shrapnel Alley' on Strava these tires get me through there hundreds of times a year without flats. And when I've had a flat the amount of discarded debris is beyond the normal amount and would send cars to the tire shop.

Reviewed 4/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Tire
by On the SouthwestBorder
Casual Cyclist
East San Diego County

The Gatorskin is my 'goto' tire for my road bike. I ride through some rough roads and occasional trails on these and they perform well. They last about two thousand plus miles, so a very hardy tire.

Reviewed 4/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely durable
by Brad
Chicago

I put a set of these on an older training bike because I wanted the most comfortable and durable tire I could find. They went on easily enough and have proven to be just right for my needs.

Reviewed 8/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires
by Rdhalberg
So California
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I love these tires!!

I've been seduced by cheaper prices and have bought other tires but I keep returning to the gatorskins. I go months without flats with these.

Bottom line for me is fewer flats!

Reviewed 3/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page