X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Gatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGatorskin 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(317 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(283)
(27)
(3)
(1)
(3)
(89%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
The BEST Tires
by Danny
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using these tires for the past 7 years while riding my bike to work in San Francisco. I put about 50 miles on them during the week with Monday - Friday riding. I'm on my fourth pair and have ridden thousands of miles all over California. In that time, I have only gotten two flats, never a blowout, just small punctures, both times I've been able to patch the tube. These tires have solid traction and I am usually able to get 1,500 - 2,000 miles per tire. These are the gold standard when it comes to durability and flat tire protection. You won't be disappointed!

Reviewed 1/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Finally good flat protection
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
So, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my first experience with the Gatorskins. I ride in an area (like most everybody) where there's always debris on the shoulders, thorns, broken glass, etc. I was fed up with constantly getting flats and replacing inner tubes. So far, I've put just short of 1200 miles on the set and so far so good, not a single flat. The only downside of this tire is that it seems to be stiffer, less compliant and thus gives a little bumpier ride compared to the softer road tires with which I'm familiar. But the advantage of flat protection far outweighs the slightly awkward ride. I'll definitely be sticking with this tire for the foreseeable future.

Reviewed 1/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If you don't like flats, you'll love this tire
by Jeppymon
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania

I've tried many tires and this is the best. Have been using Gator skins for years and have had great experiences. In last six or seven years only had one flat and it was my fault. Ran them all year , once even to the cores. Get great wear out of them. Wish they made them tubeless.

Reviewed 4/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These ar the best tires I have ever bought.
by Giantfan74
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento, CA
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

When using other tire brands I was constantly having flat tires. These Gatorskins have sharply reduced the flats.

Reviewed 2/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire!
by Marsha
Indianapolis
7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

Folds to compact size, easy to take on road trips. Long lasting.

Reviewed 12/31/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Durable
by Anonymous
Ft.myers Fl
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Ive used Gatorskins on my road bike for the past 3 years. Besides mounting them on the rims because they are a tough tire is worth it. I ride roads and paved trails that are seldom cleaned and they take pretty much everything. Only a direct hit of a nail or screw can get through these things and they last a long time. About 2k on my last one. Highly recommend for commuters that need security in a tire.

Reviewed 11/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
THE GOLDIE LOX TRAINING TIRES!!!
by THE CAPTAIN
Cycling Enthusiast
ILLINOIS
6 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I DO A LOT OF BIKE TOURING AND LONG ENDURANCE RIDES AND GATORSKINS GIVE ME THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS. THEIR REALLY STRONG YET LIGHT ENOUGH FOR GROUP RIDES WITH MY FRIENDS. I'M A 300 MILE A WEEK RIDER SO RACING TIRES AREN'T AN OPTION BECAUSE OF THE LOW FLAT PROTECTION AND LOW SERVICE LIFE. I RAN GATORSKINS ALL LAST YEAR AND ALL THIS YEAR AND I ONLY GOT ONE FLAT WHICH IN ALL HONESTY I CAN'T BLAME ON THE TIRE. I WAS RIDING DOWN THE HIGHWAY ON THE SHOULDER AND RAN OVER SOME WICKED METAL RE-BAR THING THAT FELL OFF A SEMI. I SAW IT BUT DIDN'T BOTHER GOING AROUND IT. IT PUT A BIG SLICE IN THE TIRE BUT ONLY A PIN-HEAD METAL SPIKE GOT THROUGH. THEY'RE MY GO TO SKINNY TIRE FOR THE FOR SEEABLE FUTURE. I WOULD LIKE TO SEE A GATORSKIN 35C IN THE FUTURE THOUGH FOR GRAVEL RIDES.

Reviewed 10/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great long distance tires
by Anonymous
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Ive ridden with these for over 11 years. Only had 2 sidewall failures. Typically, I get up to 1000 miles on the rear and up to 4000 miles on the front before I change them out. The foldable tires go on and off of the rims much easier than the wire beads. I use them on all of my bikes.

Reviewed 10/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
by Anonymous
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

fast delivery, great price, great product

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good puncture resistance without too much loss of function
by OldeGuy
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern Washington
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I live in live in goat head country and need protection against flats or I will flat with every ride. Gatorskins offer a decrease in flats without a large loss of feel of the bike.

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pleased with purchase.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, NV
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was getting flats on a weekly basis so I started shopping for tires. Since I got these about 6 weeks ago, I have ridden probably 600 miles without a flat. They handle well enough as far as I can tell, although I live in the desert so I can't comment on how well they handle in the rain.

Reviewed 8/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy with these ties
by Andy Z.
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, Texas
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Just passed 5000 miles with a set of Gatorskins. Got a slight flat spot at about 2700 miles, so I flipped back to front. Had one flat so far, a steel belt shard after a Houston rain. I weigh about 205. My training rides are 40 miles, just came in from a 50 miles ride with club from bike shop. I inflate to 90 psi on front, 100 psi rear wheel. I'm sure I could go at least another 1500 miles on these, but a couple of months ago I bought some Four Season on half price sale. I know Gatorskins are a little heavier, a little stiffer, but they are exactly what I wanted.

Reviewed 8/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around road tire!
by Wayne
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used this tire for years with no failures and no flats. replacing them with the same after 4500 miles. All types of conditions, group rides, Houston Streets, country roads, and Colorado mountains.

Reviewed 9/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best All Around road tire on the market
by Old Roadie
Bakersfield, California
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is the smoothest rolling, most puncture resistant tire you can buy, period. It can be a bit difficult to slip on the wheel, but it stays on the rim even when flat � something that could save your life on a descent. I�m a 8000 mile a year roadie and I normally get 3000 miles on the rear tire and up to 5000 miles on the front. I�m on my 20th set.

Reviewed 9/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great sturdy tires!
by Pat S
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was looking for alternate tires for my gravel bike since I haven't been riding on gravel much this year. I was looking for something that worked great on paved surfaces as well as local trails with crushed limestone, grass, etc. So far I've ridden a well over five hundred miles and have been very happy with them. They have much less resistance than my gravel tires and because I went with a little wider (32c) tire, they work great on most surfaces. (I'm not a racer...) These tires are extremely difficult to puncture, which is nice. Glad I found the right tires for me!

Reviewed 8/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Way Better Than Advertised
by Irish Antagonyst
Daily Commuter
Park Ridge, IL

These have been so much better than I anticipated or expected. I had heard high praise from friends and fellow cyclists years ago and finally joined the cult a few months ago. I ride to and from my office 4x a week along Chicago streets, which are notoriously littered with debris. Broken glass from lazy sanitation workers to ripped up pavement from constant temperature swings to downed tree branches from spring and summer storms you are bound to run over something. And during this Covid-19 pandemic, you are lucky if street sweepers run down a block once a month. These have taken some lumps and still no punctures nor popped tubes. I cannot be happier with my purchase.

Reviewed 8/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable training tires
by Gerry
Chicago
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These have been my go to training tires for years. I recently invested in a set of deep section aero rims (Flo) and went through 6 tire irons and 7 tubes (pinched) before getting feedback from others that Gatorskin is not a good choice for aero wheels. Really tough to get over the rim. I live in Chicago and unfortunately we are resigned to a wide range of rolling surfaces, hence the tendency toward a tough tire. I just purchased a set of Continental 5000s and they are much softer but may require replacement more often. Still loyal to the Gatorskin for my cyclecross bike. Stay tuned ...

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wanted to try these tires and they went on sale so I grabbed them.
by LookOutBelow
Cycling Enthusiast
Cohoes, NY
3 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I put these tires on my Canondale hybrid. They replaced a pair of Avocet Cross tires that were 700x38. The Gatorskins are 700x35. It is a pleasure to ride these tires because they are less rolling resistance and they grip quite well on pavement and also stand up to dirt and gravel. To be fair, I must state that I also replaced the old rims. New tires, new rims right? They went on quite easily and my favorite part is when I roll my bike out of the garage for a ride, the tires squeak on the cement like a finger against a taught balloon. They also look nice on the bike which is a light blue frame, tan leather seat and black rims. I've only got about a hundred miles on them so far and I know I'll be rolling down the road for several more judging by many other cyclists who use them.

Reviewed 8/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding durability
by Anonymous
Hamilton, MT
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I have always been extremely satisfied with Continental tires. This particular style (Gatorskin) is such a great tire. I just completed around 1000 miles in two weeks circling my home state, Montana on a solo tour. Many of the roads had a lot of debris. In addition, I found myself on numerous sections of gravel roads. I had absolutely no issues or flats which is saying something considering some of the roads I was on. While these tires wouldn't be my choice for road racing and such, touring, training rides, and durability are where they shine.

Reviewed 7/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most durable tire on the market - even on a tandem!
by gloyboy
SF Bay Area
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

We ride a tandem and average 6K miles per year on Gatorskin 28C tires. Besides significantly improving the ride and handling of our tandem, we've had only one flat for the last four pairs of these tires (and that was due to a broken bottle in the middle of the road on a fast downhill). We get about 2k miles per tire, which is incredible for our 290 lb combined rider weight. We will continue to mount these durable and supple tires as long as Continental keeps making them.

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page