X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Vittoria Competition Latex 700c Road Tube

VittoriaCompetition Latex 700c Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(76 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(55)
(13)
(4)
(3)
(1)
(72%)
(17%)
(5%)
(4%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Best way to improve clincher tire ride
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I installed the 25-28 versions in Schwalbe Ones, 25mm. They just fit, although they will seem too big when you first put them in. The good thing about doing it this is way that they are not stretched, so they have room to give, which helps prevent punctures.

They make for a noticibly smoother ride, and you can even use slightly lower pressures, which helps, of course.

I am a former pro mechanic and would recommend latex always. If done correctly, it is always better.

The problem I find is sourcing high quality latex tubes like these Vittoria, in larger sizes, for 28-32, or larger.

Bike Tire Direct, if you find such tubes, I will buy them from you.

Reviewed 12/29/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tubes Require Daily Pressure Checking
Cycling Enthusiast
BaltimoreWashigton

If you can catch these tubes on sale, they are a fantastic deal! Very fast with my Vittoria Corsa Speed G tires. I have yet to have a flat. although I tend to look for clean roads to ride. Definitely a must for TT courses!

Reviewed 12/31/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best latex tubes out there
by Numeronada
Newberg, OR

I've used the Michelin, Challenge, and the Vittoria latex tubes and these are the best craftsmanship and quality out of all of them. No imperfections and consistent quality in every tube from Vittoria, the valve stems and valves are great as well.

Reviewed 5/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ride, but not durable
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I am a big fan of latex inner tubes. I used (and still do) to ride Italian-made Vittoria tubulars and the only way to get ride quality even remotely resembling that with modern clinchers is to use latex inner tubes. These Vittoria latex tubes do provide nice ride feel, but they are not durable. Something is funky with the formulation of the latex rubber. The part of the tube that comes in contact with the rim tapestrip weakens over time, eventually leading to spontaneous failure. This has happened to me repeated and to my buddies who bought the tubes based on my initial recommendation. I do not have the same problem with the Vredestein brand latex tubes (they have other issues). My guess is that these latext inner tubes are exactly the same ones they put inside their tubulars. In a tubular tire, however, the latex is not exposed to rim tapestrip and therefore will not have the same problem. If these latex tubes are to be sold for use with clincher tires, Vittoria needs to test their formulation a bit more.

Reviewed 10/23/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No quality issues, one latex issue with the wrong tire
by Joy Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon

Experienced no quality issues with these tubes riding about 150 miles a week for a year. The reputation of latex for catastrophic flats (tire repair required), is true when latex tubes are combined with the wrong tire, a low TPI tire. Slow leaks, where the tire can just be pumped up then repaired at the destination, occur with the right tire, a high TPI tire.

Reviewed 4/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Effective product to reduce pinch flats and improvev ride quality - while pedaling easier!
by Tom
Cycling Enthusiast
Toledo ohio,
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using latex tubes for a year now on three different bikes . 25 mm and 28 mm tires. Better ride by reducing harshness. Only one pinch flat in 4000 miles! Also- I have had no problems installing tubes. In my opinionGreat value for initially spending a few more dollars for latex tubes!

Reviewed 11/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy ride
by Paul
Competitive Racer
Maryland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Running latex created a very different feel in my bike's ride quality and handling. I paired these with a 320 TPI tire, and I'd agree with others who say this is combo is very close to a tubular setup...Latex tubes do slowly bleed air, but not dramatically. You should always check tire pressure before riding, and you may find that you need to top off the latex tubes by 5-10 PSI every 1-2 days.

Reviewed 6/25/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No Problems
by Boston 365
Competitive Racer
Northshore Boston
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

In the past, I've had some real problems with latex tubes lasting. I've been using this tube this entire race season. Works so great.

Reviewed 6/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
For Century rides they can't be beat
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I know this sounds strange when everyone else is talking about using them for racing, but I switched two years ago and they've become my everyday tube. First I've never had a flat since switching over. Even when I decided to replace a Vittoria tire due to mulitple deep cuts, the tube was still fine and went into the new tire. Most importantly on 100 mile rides with 25mm tires they make a huge difference in comfort, I can run a little less air without fear of a pinch flat and not feel all beat up from hours of riding over broken asphalt (the comfort thing is just part of getting older but I still ride at a strenuous pace, I'm not a leisure rider)

Yes they lose air quickly and I have had a valve stem tear away, but I've had that happen a couple of times with Continental butyl tubes. Lastly, I do carry a butyl tube in case I ever do get a flat as it would be easy to install on the side of the road.

For me they've really been worth the money as I haven't had to buy them far less often that butyl tubes.

Reviewed 5/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ride smooth - need air often
by Andy
Lodi, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I put (2) new Vittoria Latex tubes on our tandem. Our tandem is all carbon, so it rides very smooth. I believe it rides a bit smoother, but it was hard to tell. Unfortunately, you must pump up the tires often as they loose approximately 10lbs per day

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fragile, but smooth ride and low rolling resistance
by Bicycle Norm
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus, OH
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These are top latex tubes. They share the pros and cons of all latex tubes. They leak air faster than butyl tubes, so one has to make sure that the tires are re-inflated every time they are used. They are not as resistant to puncture as butyl. But they are much lighter and the smoothness of the ride is unmistakable plus they also have lower rolling resistance, which makes them ideal for race day. They are patchable, although the process is not as easy as with butyl. A patch can be cut out of old latex gloves (biology labs and physician's offices discard tons of these everyday).

Reviewed 3/26/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tubes
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I love latex tubes in my Vittoria tires. I've tried some other, lighter latex tubes but had reliability problems. These are a little heavier, but they are reliable and don't sacrifice the great feeling of a latex tube. I pair mine with Vittoria Pave's or Open Corsa CX for the closest feeling to riding a tubular I have found. (A little bit less so with the Pave's, but with Open Corsa CX and a latex tube wow! Simply a great tire/tube combo. Fast, grippy, with great road feel. I love 'em.

Reviewed 3/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth, but leaky
by Bicycle Norm
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Ohio
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Latex inner-tubes reduce rolling resistance and are also lighter than butyl ones. They are also more fragile when mounting a tire and it is more difficult (but not impossible) to patch them. Also, they leak air out much faster than a butyl inner-tube. You definitely have to put some air in before every ride. For all these reasons, I train on butyl inner-tubes, but put these Vittoria latex ones on race days. But the ride on latex is definitely worth the additional price. Smooooooth!

Reviewed 3/9/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Product is great!
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Miami,FL
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Product is great!

Reviewed 7/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best bet for open tubular clinchers
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

If you ride top level high thread count tires, latex tubes are the best bet to get the most out our your tire investment. They do lose air more rapidly between rides than butyl tubes but it's a small inconvenience compared to the benefits of a smooth supple ride. The higher price is the only downside but from a performance perspective they are 5 star tubes.

Reviewed 11/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
FAST!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tubes primarily for racing. It is a nice change to put these in with race specific tires. Whether placebo effect or not, they definitely feel like they roll better than a butyl tube!

Reviewed 9/25/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Supple, easy enough to work with, but need air every day
by Hfischer
Hood River, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I run a set of wheels with these tubes on a new bike and a set of the same wheels and tires with regular butyl tubes on my travel bike. The ride difference is noticeable. I found the tubes easy to work with, even when changing to new rubber. But I always use a bit of baby powder and I never use tire irons. Like all latex tubes they need air daily.

Reviewed 6/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Silkey
by Prince one
San Francisco bay
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Extremely high pressure, soft feel almost like a

Tubular . Very good feel . I like the suppleness the provide.

Reviewed 8/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well, be careful not to pinch when installing
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Boulder, CO
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tube works well. As with all latex tubes, be careful to not put too much pressure near the valve and make sure the tube isn't pinched when installing.

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light wt. no flats so far. Much better than from years past.
by apreeskee101
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Placid, NY

Drawback is they don't hold air very well. Every two -three days you'll have to pump them up, by then, you're going out for a ride right? High volume pump will save you strokes.

Reviewed 5/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page