X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Vittoria Competition Latex 700c Road Tube

VittoriaCompetition Latex 700c Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(12)
(3)
(2)
(1)
(71%)
(19%)
(5%)
(3%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Works well, be careful not to pinch when installing
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Boulder, CO

This tube works well. As with all latex tubes, be careful to not put too much pressure near the valve and make sure the tube isn't pinched when installing.

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tubes
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I love latex tubes in my Vittoria tires. I've tried some other, lighter latex tubes but had reliability problems. These are a little heavier, but they are reliable and don't sacrifice the great feeling of a latex tube. I pair mine with Vittoria Pave's or Open Corsa CX for the closest feeling to riding a tubular I have found. (A little bit less so with the Pave's, but with Open Corsa CX and a latex tube wow! Simply a great tire/tube combo. Fast, grippy, with great road feel. I love 'em.

Reviewed 3/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth, but leaky
by Bicycle Norm
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Ohio
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Latex inner-tubes reduce rolling resistance and are also lighter than butyl ones. They are also more fragile when mounting a tire and it is more difficult (but not impossible) to patch them. Also, they leak air out much faster than a butyl inner-tube. You definitely have to put some air in before every ride. For all these reasons, I train on butyl inner-tubes, but put these Vittoria latex ones on race days. But the ride on latex is definitely worth the additional price. Smooooooth!

Reviewed 3/9/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light wt. no flats so far. Much better than from years past.
by apreeskee101
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Placid, NY

Drawback is they don't hold air very well. Every two -three days you'll have to pump them up, by then, you're going out for a ride right? High volume pump will save you strokes.

Reviewed 5/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long lasting
by Mike
maine

Use Vittoria tires and the latex work better for me with mounting, tires go on hard and tubes easier to install properly.

The knock before I switched to latex was they dont hold air pressure over a longer period, check my pressure before every ride and run 110psi....no big deal

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best bet for open tubular clinchers
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

If you ride top level high thread count tires, latex tubes are the best bet to get the most out our your tire investment. They do lose air more rapidly between rides than butyl tubes but it's a small inconvenience compared to the benefits of a smooth supple ride. The higher price is the only downside but from a performance perspective they are 5 star tubes.

Reviewed 11/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
FAST!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tubes primarily for racing. It is a nice change to put these in with race specific tires. Whether placebo effect or not, they definitely feel like they roll better than a butyl tube!

Reviewed 9/25/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best money can buy
by Gman
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They might cost a little more. But my ride seems a little smoother and the flats come less often. These tubes usually outlast my tires and I transfer them on to the new tire without any blowout issues like the standard tubes.

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tubes
by Karlbiker
Rochester NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These may require you to pump them up before every ride, but thats just the nature of latex. They are light, have a great ride quality and do not puncture easily.

Reviewed 3/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Silkey
by Prince one
San Francisco bay
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Extremely high pressure, soft feel almost like a

Tubular . Very good feel . I like the suppleness the provide.

Reviewed 8/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wow, what an improvement!
by East Bay Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I rode latex tubes on my mtn bike for 4 years on very technical and rocky terrain. We rode quite fast, with long, vicious downhills, and I only put in 22 lbs of air - I got 4 years and thousands of miles out of 1 single set of these tubes and not a single flat!!!

Fast forward to now, and my mtn bike experience made it an easy decision to put latex tubes on my carbon road bike. Like nearly all the other reviewers, I noticed a significant improvement in ride quality over butyl tubes, I saved about 1 ounce per rim, and I have yet to get a flat after 15 months and more than 3,000 miles of rides on poorly maintained city and country roads. Truth in advertising: I weigh 145 lbs.

So I'm not a heavyweight, but my cousin is a Clydesdale for sure. He checks in at 6'2 and 225 lbs, and he would get at least one flat EVERY ride we took, what a pain! A few months after I got my latex tubes, he made the switch and rode flat-free for 10 months before getting a flat from a pot-hole. Needless to say, he's a convert too, in fact, our whole 90-person cycling club is going to make the switch.

Reviewed 6/26/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Valve pop when I filled them up
by MV
Cycling Enthusiast
LA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are very brittle and soft. For some reason when I pumped them to 70 pst the valve popped. So make sure you are extra careful when filling these.

Reviewed 1/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most eggcellent !!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Comes in at 74gm for the 23mm and 80gm for the 25mm - and removable cores! Awesome and totally great that they offer a wider size (25mm) as most have hopefullly taken the leap to wider is better tires by now )

Talk them up and lay down the miles!

Reviewed 5/9/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Okay Tube
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New York
0 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

It's an okay tube, it does ride very smooth. However it loses pressure after about 3 days, so I'm constantly pumping it back up.

Reviewed 4/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The only tubes I'll use
by Anonymous
PNW

These are the only tubes I'll use for racing and training - with the exception of regular butyl tubes as a spare.

Reviewed 1/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
a no brainer when riding high end clinchers, latex tubes are a must
by team woo
Cycling Enthusiast
va
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

it's not a myth, it's a fact. latex tubes paired with high tpi count clinchers enhance the ride experience. gotta say, not all latex tubes are made equal. vittoria tubes are reliable and deliver the goods. i have total confidence in them.

Reviewed 12/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tubes
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
WA

forget about shaving grams, these shave watts.

Easy to patch.

A little tricky to install, so I just carry a butyl spare.

removable core for aero wheels.

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Product
by kw-2wheel
Cycling Enthusiast
Frederick MD

I run these tubes with Vittoria Open Corsa CX on 50mm Campag Bora - marvelous combination. You do have to pump a bit before every ride, but worth it.

Reviewed 11/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best latex tube better than Michelin
by Anonymous
San Francisco
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The best latex tube bar none. Far superior quality to Michelin in both the latex material and valve sturdiness. In combination with Veloflex tires or Vittoria open corsa it's the greatest ride quality comparable to a tubular.

Reviewed 11/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality latex tubes
by 2cheapnlazyfortubulars
Competitive Racer
northeast US
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Tried these after numerous failures with Michelin latex tubes. So far so good. All Michelins that I bought for the same or higher price failed where the tube is spliced together. They overlap a short section and at the end of the overlap they would get a tear, as if weakened by the joining process. Has not happened yet with the Vittorias. These are quite thin. I have run in CX tires but not sure if they would be good in larger sizes. Nice valve stems.

Reviewed 11/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page