X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Rally Pedal Mail-In Rebate — Learn More
Vittoria Competition Latex 700c Road Tube

VittoriaCompetition Latex 700c Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(103 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(79)
(14)
(5)
(3)
(2)
(77%)
(14%)
(5%)
(3%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Easy and smooth
by Anonymous
Colorado
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

First latex tubes. Ride like I'm on a cloud (paired with 33mm supple tires).

Treated them like fine crystal during install, no issues. Did the typical inflate/deflate every 20 psi and thoroughly checked for pinches in the bead each step. Just a quick check and pump before each ride, so far so good!

Reviewed 3/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tubeless Challenged
by leadout
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Calli, hot and cold
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

OK, yes, it is 2021. Us dinosaurs are hard to change, and with the rolling resistance studies confirming these are the top rated (along with the appropriate tire of course), why go 2021? Tubeless vs. tube? I will take these 10 of 10 times....

Reviewed 3/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these latex tubes
by OK
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I know some don't like latex tubes. For me these have been a god-send. I reduced my flat frequency to basically zero once I got these and the rolling resistance is obviously lower (perceptibly so). Running them in Conti GP 4000 SIIs on both road bikes I ride. I was getting many more flats on the same roads with butyl tubes - so surprisingly latex ends up more comfortable, faster, and cheaper to operate than butyl. Not to mention getting to avoid roadside tube changes. Yes, you got to pump before every ride, but to me that's worth it to not flat.

Reviewed 4/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
makes for a better ride
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia, WA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love the ride quality of latex tubes, but having to pump up tires daily is a bit tedious.

Reviewed 10/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Supple and nice!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tubes are well made and I've found them to be quite durable. Ride quality is nearly as smooth as tubeless. I have them in the larger size for 32mm tires and I run them at 60lbs, so I haven't had to pump them up every day like the 110lb folks. Every few days a couple of pumps and we're good to go.

Reviewed 12/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flatted immediately
by Ryan
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

2 out of 3 tubes flatted immediately, on 2 wheels and tires where I'd been running butyl tubes with no problem. Threw the third away since I felt I couldn't trust it, switched back to butyl.

Reviewed 9/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light but fragile
by Anonymous
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I used it for 100 miles and was happy with the weight reduction. Then moved the tire and tube to a different wheel. The tube had developed some brittle spots where it expanded into spoke-hole divots in the first rim. One of these quickly developed a crack rendering the tube useless. Won't buy again, but if you're the type who never moves tires around the weight drop is nice.

Reviewed 10/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like butter
by Anonymous
USA

Since these were on sale, I bought them to satisfy my curiosity. They are wonderful. I was scared I would immediately have flats, but not so far. I air up my tires for every ride anyway, so the criticism that they lose air quickly doesn't matter to me.

Reviewed 10/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
To each its own
by onedesign23
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee

I am not sure if I can tell the difference in ride quality but I do like the pink color. It is much easier to see if you are pinching your tube when it is pink. I like the fact that it is light but not that much lighter than the Michelin tubes that I was using.

Reviewed 8/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Should of changed to latex tubes sooner.
by Big B
Cycling Enthusiast
North Texas

Less rolling resistance, less weight & better road feel, what's not to love.

Reviewed 6/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
cheapest upgrade to your bike
by billynyc
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

combined with some quality tires this is the cheapest upgrade you can do to your bike...I have these with vittoria corsa tires and they make the bike ride like a cadillac! barely feel like u have wheels on!

Reviewed 7/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I'm a believer!
by mingc
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

It maybe a placebo effect, but compared to the butyl it replaced, these latex tubes make it feel like I have a tail wind. I've maybe 400 miles on them now, on disc brake rims, with no troubles. I used lots of talc.

Reviewed 7/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Riding Tubes
by Madison Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, NC
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second set of latex tubes, they work great with the Conti 4000 tires I have. The last set was a different brand which also worked well. With those I had two flats, both caused by my rim, slipped rim strip in one case and the other by a small hole in the rim covered by a sticker which gave way when I replaced the rim strip with Veloplugs. I was able to repair both holes with standard tube patches, however the holes are impossible to find roadside without a tank of water to put the tube into. The tubes get stretched out over time and need to be replaced probably annually, or when you replace your tires if you avoid flats. The ride is worth it though.

Reviewed 4/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smoother ride and more fun
by Paul
Competitive Racer
MD
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Vittoria latex tubes are a quick and relatively cheap way to improve your bike's ride quality. Paired with a high thread count tire, the setup feels close to tubulars. Latex also reduces tires' rolling resistance, so you theoretically should get a little more speed for your power vs. butyl tubes. The latex tubes do bleed a little air overnight, so they're not great for commuting,. But if you want to spice up your racing or fun bike, these will do it.

Reviewed 4/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Feels softer than Michelin latex, weight about the same, Michelin flatted on install, these are rolling.
by Scrench
Competitive Racer
Louisiana
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use these on my Cannondale CAAD 10 with Zipp 202 Firecrest clincher wheels. I figured it was down to Michelin's or these. One Michelin flatted on install. I'm using the 24-28mm tubes with my 23mm Continental 4000S II's, and they feel great. Only 8g. difference between 19-23mm (70g) and 24-28mm (78g) tubes. Michelin 23mm were 80g. I weigh 145, these feel great with only 90 psi, but feel slow, fill to 115 min for speed. Always a trade off, comfort or speed, take your pick, but you can do both with these tubes.

Reviewed 3/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best $15 upgrade!
by Sean
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tubes! Yes. You can feel the difference. Just a nicer feel than butyl tubes. And they have less rolling resistance. They loose air pressure more quickly, but they are NOT more delicate or more puncture prone than standard butyl tubes.

Reviewed 1/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like butter
by Anonymous
USA

Love them.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tubes - ride different
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Charlotte, NC
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'd never tried latex tubes before, but am using these with Vittoria Corsa tires and my Cannondale SuperSix frame, and have found them to ride differently than the typical butyl tube. A little more bounce, absorb shock well. I would recommend riders try these. The ride feel is different, not neccesarily better. And, be ready to pump them up each time you ride. They lose PSI overnight.

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best way to improve clincher tire ride
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I installed the 25-28 versions in Schwalbe Ones, 25mm. They just fit, although they will seem too big when you first put them in. The good thing about doing it this is way that they are not stretched, so they have room to give, which helps prevent punctures.

They make for a noticibly smoother ride, and you can even use slightly lower pressures, which helps, of course.

I am a former pro mechanic and would recommend latex always. If done correctly, it is always better.

The problem I find is sourcing high quality latex tubes like these Vittoria, in larger sizes, for 28-32, or larger.

Bike Tire Direct, if you find such tubes, I will buy them from you.

Reviewed 12/29/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tubes Require Daily Pressure Checking
Cycling Enthusiast
BaltimoreWashigton

If you can catch these tubes on sale, they are a fantastic deal! Very fast with my Vittoria Corsa Speed G tires. I have yet to have a flat. although I tend to look for clean roads to ride. Definitely a must for TT courses!

Reviewed 12/31/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page