X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano PD-ES600 Pedals

ShimanoPD-ES600 Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(5)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(67%)
(28%)
(0%)
(6%)
(0%)
Love 'em.
by DCycle
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX

Been on these for about a year now. They are not perfect, but I love 'em. On review stated that they are weighted a little off, and yes. They don't always point upright. And yes, the finish on mine started chipping away on the first ride. But who cares? They are probably the most abused part of the bike. Besides, you aren't going to see the lack of paint when you are screaming down a hill. I like the firm hold, yet with a little float with the SM-SH56 cleats. I also like the ability to wear either road or MTB shoes, now that some shoes come with both mounting systems, 3 or 2 bolt. Shimano and Giro come to mind. So many choices!

Reviewed 6/26/2022
TriSports.com Comments
I have these pedals on my all-road, and I love them.
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
pedal review
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR

I use it on a light carbon climbing bike. I use spd style pedals on all my bikes after trying almost every other format. These are good because they are light, permit recessed cleats on walkable shoes, have a relatively broad footprint, reasonable price. One downside is that they take some getting used to clipping in because they tend to rotate to a clip side down orientation.

Reviewed 7/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bombproof
by Island Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Clinton, WA

As I said, a bombproof pedal, and light as well. Just purchased a new set because I can't believe that my old ones will last beyond the 10,000+ miles they have given me (though I rode them today and they are still ticking). SPD cleats last forever and allow me to ride my road bike with high quality MTB shoes that let me walk normally on pavement or gravel. The SPD cleats can also be mounted further to the rear than most road cleats......A blessing for a fellow wearing a size 48 shoe. The price cannot be beat for another solid product from Shimano.

Reviewed 1/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light and functional
by Jsprague56
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR

I like to use SPD pedals on tours and events because I end up doing a lot of walking (on gravel and other uneven surfaces -- usually the SAG stops. I love these pedals because they weigh a lot less than the two-sided models and I am doing "weight weenie" on my travel bike. These function well and the spindles are long so it's easy to install and remove.

Reviewed 5/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Defective L pedal Hazardous
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

The left pedal was very hard to unclip even on the lowest tension setting. After replacing my cleats and shoes, I was experiencing the same issue. My LBS inspected them and pointed out the front left screw for the clip mechanism was recessed too far into the pedal casting. This defect created a lot of tension between the cleat and and the shoe. I believe Shimano probably produced a lot of ES600's with this defect. If you do a stare and compare between the left and right pedal you will see the defect.

Reviewed 10/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome gravel/road pedal
by Anonymous

Do you love gravel riding but that gravel pedals that look like they can from a Mtn bike!?! Than look no further. These are a lil country and a lil rock-'n'-roll.

Honestly one of my most favorite pedals I have ever own. Robust, sleek, and quiet. What's not to love?

Reviewed 5/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you need short of racing
by Hankaster
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster PA

No more duck walk unless the competition is hot and I need road pedals. I don't notice any difference between road pedals and these (I haven't done a race or a century on them, so I can't testify to their adequacy for that)

Reviewed 8/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals
by Anonymous

Love them!

Reviewed 2/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gray finish comes off too easily
by MTB Rob
Redding CA

These pedals would have received 5 stars if not for the fact that the gray finish comes off way to easily.

Very lightweight, easy to use and long lasting otherwise. I have used these pedals in the past on both road bikes & gravel bikes.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best 2-hole SPD for road
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
MId Atlantic Metro
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

If you want to ride two-bolt SPD pedals on a road bike, this is as good a way as I can imagine. These pedals are light, well-finished, with really nice bearing quality. I rode LOOKs for years, so I find "toe-ing in" familiar, but some riders may have to adjust to how these hang. With a few hundred miles on them, I've had no problem with the finish scratching or chipping.

Reviewed 6/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long lasting high performance
by KCB
Seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Shimano pedals continue to be the smoothest rolling after the most abuse with little or no maintenance. These replace the PD-A600, essentially the same pedal previous generation, which I used on my road, gravel, and CX bikes, outlasting similarly priced crank brothers and time atac.

Reviewed 5/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Big fan of these...
by gSporco
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Im a fan of Shimano SPD in general and these do not disappoint...

Pros:

Light weight at 280g

Simple to maintain and work on if needed

Bullet proof

Great roadie option for cyclists who prefer a more road like SPD pedal option

Cons:

They can be hard to clip in as the pedal is weighted oddly that the toe portion isnt usually rotated north.

Reviewed 9/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My favorite pedal
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Iowa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have tried numerous types of spd pedals from Shimano, the Shimano Ultegra road pedals, Time Expresso, Speedplay Frogs and these are my favorite pedals for road and gravel. One sided but feels like a road pedal with no hotspots.

Reviewed 4/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best SPD road pedal
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Iowa
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

My favorite road pedal is the Time Xpresso which is light and easy to clip in and out. Cleats are not durable. Wanted to switch to SPD so it is easier to walk during bike tours. These come closest for me to road pedals. Some platform to transfer power and bottom of foot does not get pressure point heat from small MTB pedals even with the Speedplay Frogs.

Reviewed 7/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano is great as always
by JackH
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, Ca
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

As always Shimano is hard to beat, these pedals are great, easy entry & exit. Great value for the $$$

Reviewed 3/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent pedals
by Jim Cunningham
Cycling Enthusiast
Traverse City, MI
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Well made, quality materials, function perfectly

Reviewed 12/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice lightweight SPD pedal
by JRL
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, Ca
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

Among the Shimano SPD pedals I own (M9000, M8000, A600, and this new ES600), the ES600 is the latest and lightest pair. It's similar to A600, but very slightly lighter. Since it's single sided, it is not as convenient as M9000 or M8000, but the difference is not that significant for on-road use. The only downside is the paint of the surface. It can easily get scuffs during your first ride. A600 has the same issue, but overall I prefer the appearance of A600.

Reviewed 12/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great single-sided SPD pedal
by Anonymous
Seattle
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These pedals are light and easy to clip in. The only drawback is how easily the color gets chipped away. Literally after the first ride!

Reviewed 8/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.