X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Rally Pedal Mail-In Rebate — Learn More
Rock-N-Roll Gold Lube Squeeze Bottle: 4oz

Rock-N-RollGold Lube Squeeze Bottle: 4oz (Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(63 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(52)
(6)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(83%)
(10%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
Keeps my drivetrain quiet!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City

I�ve been using this lube for years. I apply it before every ride and run the chain through a rag until the residue left on the rag is light. This keeps the whole drive train clean and the chain lubed so that the bike runs quietly. I learned the hard way that if you don�t keep your chain clean, you get chain stretch that erodes the teeth on the chain rings and cogs, which leads to replacement of the chain, chain rings, and freewheel cassette. That�s a pretty expensive proposition in comparison to the minimal cost of the lube and the few moments of time to apply it before each ride.

Reviewed 5/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
simplicity
by Rob
Kansas

Out of all the different chain lubes I have tried, this has been the best for ease of use and how well it keeps my chain clean and lubed.

Reviewed 5/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best lube on the planet.
by KISERDM415
Competitive Racer
Austin, TX

Easy application - cleans and lubricates in one step. Highly recommended. Training/racing about 7500 miles per year. Great product.

Reviewed 4/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next best thing to my old double boiler filled with paraffin
by Ron
Competitive Racer
Ann Arbor

I use to lube my chains by throwing them in a liquid paraffin bath. Paraffin works great, keeps everything clean. But it was time consuming to set up the double boiler and let the paraffin melt, plus it didn't last long. Rock-N-Roll Gold appears to use a lot of paraffin, you can see it settle in the bottle, but applying it is a lot easier this way. It does a great job of penetrating into the linkages. Swipe off the excess, as recommended, and the chain will stay clean longer. If the chain is clean but begins to creak just freshen it up by applying another application.

Reviewed 12/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's only Rock-N-Roll, but I like it . . .
by JTridesbicycles
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This is my favorite dry lube. Shake it well. I apply by holding the bottle about underneath and approximately at the middle of the chain stay, just an inch or so behind the pedal on each rotation. This way it gets on the rollers and pins that make contact with the teeth. Using the chainstay to keep the bottle stable, I squeeze the bottle so the lube streams directly onto the rollers. TIP if concerned about splattering/splashing lube onto the braking surface of the rim, just drape a clean rag between the spokes at the area under which you're applying lube to the chain. This will protect your rim. I do about 6 revolutions of the pedals. Then wipe the chain. Wipe some more. And wipe one more time. To wipe the chain, grip the rag around the chain lightly and pedal backward. Rotate the rag to a clean dry area and repeat. When I can run my fingers over the chain links and get a distinct lubricated feel with no dirty fingers then I know the job is done.

Reviewed 11/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My New Chain Lube Standard
by Bruce
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried a half-dozen chain lubes over the past five years. Dry, wet, & semi-dry, all of them did okay, but none really gave me a reason to change from my regular lube. So when I gave R&R Gold a try, I wasn't expecting anything different - just another lube to to check off my (growing) list.

To my surprise, I felt an immediate and noticeable improvement. That's never happened with any other lube that I've tried. After a couple of lube cycles, I also found that I could go 25% further between lubes without losing significant performance. I'm sold. This is my new standard.

I typically ride in dry weather on paved surfaces, so I haven't tried this out in wet (or colder) weather yet.

Reviewed 9/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Chain Lube I've used
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Bentonville, AR
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Over the years I've used several different chain lubes but this has been my favorite. I'm a big guy and live in a hilly area and generally get around 4000 miles on my Ultegra chains. I am pretty meticulous about chain cleanliness and lubrication. This doesn't pick up grit and dust and is easy to clean.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good stuff
by JS
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, AR

I initially used R&R but my LBS talked me into trying another brand. The other stuff gummed up and got dirty a lot more and my rear cassette started showing signs of rust. I went back to R&R recently and could tell a difference. Not as gummy and easier to clean.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best lube for performance and value
by Keith
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Sure, you can buy Silca secret lube or UFC lube for the ultimate low friction numbers- but you're into 3-5 times the price on those lubes vs Rock n Roll Gold

The studies show that this lube is just marginally below the low friction rating of those two pricey lubes. Meanwhile- I love the ease of application and like the claim on the box, it actually does clean the chain if you do one application then wipe and reapply

It's well priced and doesn't make a mess-

Doesn't attract dirt and rides quite well for 30 hours of road riding most conditions

This is my favorite lube

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good stuff
by Anonymous

Love it, recommended by a bike pro!

Reviewed 2/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rock-n-Roll chain lube
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been a long time Pro-link user for chain lubes. Last year, I decided to switch over to Rock-n-Roll as a chain lube for my road bike, with no regrets. Rock-n-Roll keeps my very clean, and avoids me taking the extra step of cleaning my chain before application. I lube my chain after every ride, which normally takes minutes, and let it set in over night, before use the next day. It seems too keep my chain and drivetrain more quiet, too. If conditions are wet, you may want to pull out a different lube for the day.

Reviewed 2/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Clean and smooth
by Dude on a Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

This stuff is great. Runs really easy and smooth, picks up less dirt than pure oils and is easier to clean. A small bottle lasts a long time. Easily the best chain lube I've ever used.

Reviewed 2/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Clean and Lube in One Step
by gfparsons
Cycling Enthusiast
Clark County, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use a master link and typically remove and clean my chains with diesel fuel every 300 miles or so, wipe dry, then lube with Rock-N-Roll as instructed, at the cassette. Then wipe off excess. Rock-N-Roll can be applied in between the more thorough cleaning without chain removal. The diesel is recyclable, in that it "layers" out after a week or so in the jar, such that the gunk settles to the bottom and you can pour off the clean diesel into your "shaker jar" for washing the chain. (small amounts, 2-3 rinse/shake cycles)

Reviewed 9/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A smooth clean chain always makes for the best ride experience
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Cruz, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have been a satisfied long time Rock-N-Roll Absolute Dry user for years so I thought I'd try the Gold. I usually clean and replace my lube every 15-200 miles; now with the Gold I can go 200-250 miles per lube.

Reviewed 9/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best value by far
by bikechefgr
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I have been using this lube for 5 years on all my bikes in all weather conditions every time I ride. It cleans the drivetrain first , then lubes it. It tests out to be in the top 3 best lubes for reducing friction and it is by far the best priced product of the top choices. It is very thin in consistency and easy to use and wipe up.

Reviewed 9/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
New York

Works great and easy to use! My chain stays clean without using degreaser when I use this regularly.

Reviewed 8/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rock N Roll chain lube
by Guy
Cycling Enthusiast

Best lube I have used. Doesn't attract a lot of dirt.

Reviewed 8/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keeps drive chain very clean
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Rock n roll requires more frequent application than some other lubes (had been using DumondTech), and amount used for each application is greater, but chain, cassette, and chainrings stay clean, looking nearly new. Excellent friction test results seem to be borne out. You need to adhere to instructions, best provided on website.

Reviewed 7/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well but separates quickly
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a VERY thin chain lube that does a good job of penetrating tight places. My only complaint is that it pretty much needs to be constantly shaken during use as the two parts quickly separate

Reviewed 4/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Lube!
by Jim
Wisconsin

I've used this lubricant for years because it works awesome!

Reviewed 9/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page