CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Pirelli P Zero Race TLR Road Tire

PirelliP Zero Race TLR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(27 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(78%)
(22%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Spacecadet720

Trusted and true
by Spacecadet720
Cycling Enthusiast
DC, MD, VA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using these tires for almost 2 years now with no major issues. When I made the move to tubeless I switched to these tires from the schwalbe one over to the Pirelli�s. I have not been disappointed. I love these tires because they seem to just glide across the pavement. There fast and very stable. I never worry about traction or control with these tires. Puncture protection is top notch. I�ve had 0 punctures in the 2 years that I�ve been running these tires. They are pricy but I�ll continue to stock up when they go on sale.

Reviewed 2/24/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Rubber
by Anonymous
Northern California

I�ve been using this Pirelli tire for a number of years, and I think the tires provide really good flat protection, traction, and last a long time. My last tires I got 7500 miles on my front tire and 3500 miles on my back tire. They go on and off the wheel just as you would expect, they are not super hard to change like a continental 5000.

Reviewed 5/14/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dide

well made and easy to fit tubeless.
by dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Michigan
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This new Pirelli P Zero Race tlr tire is a great tire if you don't care about advertised weights .

They are easy to mount tubeless and ride nice. Plus they last a long time and have great grip.

The only problem is that Pirelli advertises these as 295 grams for 700x28, which is already quite heavy , but they actually weigh 315-320 grams . That is too much for a tire of this type for me.

Nice tires though.

Reviewed 9/28/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spacecadet720

Trusted and true
by Spacecadet720
Cycling Enthusiast
DC, MD, VA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using these tires for almost 2 years now with no major issues. When I made the move to tubeless I switched to these tires from the schwalbe one over to the Pirelli�s. I have not been disappointed. I love these tires because they seem to just glide across the pavement. There fast and very stable. I never worry about traction or control with these tires. Puncture protection is top notch. I�ve had 0 punctures in the 2 years that I�ve been running these tires. They are pricy but I�ll continue to stock up when they go on sale.

Reviewed 3/2/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spacecadet720

Trusted and true
by Spacecadet720
Cycling Enthusiast
DC, MD, VA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using these tires for almost 2 years now with no major issues. When I made the move to tubeless I switched to these tires from the schwalbe one over to the Pirelli�s. I have not been disappointed. I love these tires because they seem to just glide across the pavement. There fast and very stable. I never worry about traction or control with these tires. Puncture protection is top notch. I�ve had 0 punctures in the 2 years that I�ve been running these tires. They are pricy but I�ll continue to stock up when they go on sale.

Reviewed 2/26/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by 95wildtt

Excellent Tires... Best I've ever ridden!!
by 95wildtt
Competitive Racer
Indianapolis

About 300 miles in now, and they are fast, handle well and look great. Were a little bit challenging to fit to my 18mm wide Zipp 858s, but they sealed up very well. They are very comfortable at 80 and 85 PSI, and roll very smoothly.

Reviewed 4/25/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Spacecadet720

Trusted and true
by Spacecadet720
Cycling Enthusiast
DC, MD, VA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using these tires for almost 2 years now with no major issues. When I made the move to tubeless I switched to these tires from the schwalbe one over to the Pirelli�s. I have not been disappointed. I love these tires because they seem to just glide across the pavement. There fast and very stable. I never worry about traction or control with these tires. Puncture protection is top notch. I�ve had 0 punctures in the 2 years that I�ve been running these tires. They are pricy but I�ll continue to stock up when they go on sale.

Reviewed 2/9/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bruce

Love these tires
by Bruce
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My first tubeless experience and it's a great one. The P-Zero TLR mounted easy, I used Orange Seal regular. added sealant at 3 months then rotated front/back at 2200 miles and 6 months. Now at 4800 miles the wear indicators are barely visible. Bottom line: it was my first year ever with no flats and it looks like I will get about 5000 miles of service, great ride quality (30mm @55psi 150 lbs rider) great wet and dry traction. Rode 28mm Conti GP5000s for years.

Reviewed 2/8/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steven

Dependable and Fast
by Steven
Cycling Enthusiast
Park City, UT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As someone who rides approximately 120 miles a week and lives in the mountains, I depend on my tires for rapid descents in and around Park City. In that regard, the Pirelli P-Zero Race tires have become a mainstay. While they may not be as supple as the Schwalbe Pro One's, they are more puncture resistant and hold well on wet pavement. I weigh 175 and use a PSI of 75 in the rear and 70 up front, which seems to make our often harsh roads a bit more bearable. Bike: Colnago V3Rs, Tires: 28cm P-Zero

Race TLR, tubeless.

Reviewed 2/9/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast rolling but fast wearing like most race weight tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Napa, Ca

These tires feel really nice on the road (700X28 @ 70psi). They took a tube easily when I got a small tear that wouldn't seal and were easy to install by hand. This is on one particular wheelset however, (SC Reserve) and they are a dream with these tires and Vittoria's. I have an older wheelset also that is all but impossible to stuff a tube in them let alone get them on and off on the roadside. Compared to a few other tire brands that I've used, these are the easiest to seat without a compressor due to supple sidewall. Expensive tire for just rippin' around on or training. Considering that I don't formally race, these are a bit extravagant. Have to try their beefed up all weather version next.

Reviewed 2/1/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Irvski

A decent alternative to Continental 5000
by Irvski
Cycling Enthusiast
Kona, HI
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The good.

* Fast

* Good road feel

* Handles well at lower pressure

The bad.

* Could be a little cheaper

The ugly

Inflated the tire to 90PSI and popped off of the bead during a ride. Granted this might be a lot of pressure but I don't believe it should have popped off the bead. It's possible hot tarmac raised the pressure a little bit more as well. Since then I have not inflated the tire to over 67PSI. Hasn't popped out again. I was trying to reach to Pirelli to ask them to look into how this could have happened, but I could not find a contact.

Bottom line - I like the tire and am happy to have an alternative to Continental.

Reviewed 1/27/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CerveloS52023

FAST and SUPPLE...
by CerveloS52023
Cycling Enthusiast
Riverside, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I try more tires in a given year than most of my riding buddies will in a lifetime. I've always been drawn to the higher TPI tires like Vittoria, Challenge, and Veloflex, but this Pirelli P Zero Race TLR blows them all out of the water (and they are a 127 TPI tire). I run the 30mm on my 2023 Cervelo S5 and they have COMPLETELY changed the characteristics of the bike. The S5 is a FAST, STIFF bike and it does transmit most, if not all the road to you as feedback. That's not a bad thing so to speak, it's just something I deal with when buying an all-out race bike, especially on ROUGH Southern California roads. The P Zero Race TLR's in 30mm takes the harsh sting out of the ride is the best way I can describe it. They are my absolute FAVORITE tire right now and I can't get over how fast and supple they truly are.

Reviewed 1/19/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

My Favorite Tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Pretty sure I've reviewed before but I'll add another.

Long time Conti rider but as time went on got very tired & frustrated with mounting difficulties on many different wheels. So tried Schwalbe & then Pirelli.

Pirelli P-Zero Race TLR (yes, set up tubeless on HOOKED rims) is now my favorite. Easier to mount, same high grip level (no, I don't ride in the rain or on wet roads on any tires), good puncture protection (no tire can survive dirty commercial roads) and something I really like - they roll silently which really makes a different with carbon wheels which can amplify tire / road noise. They also wear about the same as the other brands high end tires -NO complaints.

Reviewed 11/7/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent Hi-Performance Tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

Started using Pirelli Race TLR the last couple of years after too many frustrating experiences with Conti GP5000s.

Depending on the wheelset, Pirelli mounted easier & was just as fast as the Conti. It handles high speed corners with no problems & is just as durable as the other high end tires. Setting up Tubeless is straightforward. Easy to dial in the correct pressure for a smooth / comfortable ride. Have used the Silca calculator & Pirelli provides a guide printed on the inside of each Tire box

One of my favorite things about Pirelli Race TLRs = they are silent. No annoying road noise - Schwalbe Pro Ones are very noisy and can be difficult to dismount.

I've used both the 26s & the 28s Race TLRs. Bought a set of the Race Clincher (tubed version) 28s for a specific reason (wheels will be in storage & only used a couple of times each season) They feel just as good as the TLRs

Definitely a fan and have ridden Pirelli gravel tires too. Pricey - Yes, just like all the others - Gotta look for sales/deals, if possible.

Reviewed 9/26/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dide

One of the best tubeless road tires.
by dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Michigan

Pirelli hits the mark with this P Zero Race tubeless tire.

They ride nicely, are fast, quite puncture resistant , and last a long time for such a high end race tire.

I don't race anymore, at least I don't enter races ;-) , but I still want to compete against my friends .

I have had most of the high end, high priced road tires and Pirelli's are every bit as good as any of them.

The tires inflate to Pirelli's specs which are on the website and I run them at a bit lower pressure than Pirelli recommends .

Mount easy and inflate with a hand pump on my Campy Bora WTO tubeless wheels.

Reviewed 9/7/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dide

Quality tires for long rides and great tubeless set-up.
by dide
Cycling Enthusiast
N.Michigan
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used these tires in the older version and now the 2023 version.

The new ones are about 30-40 grams heavier on my scale.

Set-up for tubeless was very easy and the tires inspire confidence in wet weather and/or braking.

Very hard to beat for a long term tire. There are a bit faster tires , but those tires don't have the tread/sidewall thickness to wear for as long, or prevent flats .

Highly rated.

ps , On my Campy Bore WTO tubeless rims , which are 19mm internal, these tires in 700x28 measure about 27.8 mm at 70 psi.

Reviewed 6/8/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DuvallDave

Doesn't hold air as long as other tubeless tires I have had
by DuvallDave
Daily Commuter
Duvall, WA
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

So far, no issues with grip, tires were easy to mount, etc. While I only have 60 or so miles on them, I have noticed that they lose air a lot quicker than previous tires I have had using the same setup (Goodyear Eagle F1 and a 28C size of the 2022 version of the Pirelli P Zero TLR). Previously, my tires would be about the same PSI a week after inflation, with the 2023 version of the P Zero, I seem to lose 5 - 10 PSI a day and since I am using the 30C with low pressure (55 PSI) it doesn't take long for that amount of air loss to become notable. Not sure if it is something to do with the tire, my setup or using the larger volume with less PSI (in the past, I always ran 28's at 65 PSI). Guess only time will tell, but yeah, a little bit of a bummer that I have to air these up before every ride.

Reviewed 5/19/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Angus T

Pirelli love
by Angus T
Pacific SW

Easy fitment, good puncture protection, smooth and fast, with decent wear properties. What more could you ask for in a road tire! Went from Pirelli P Zero 700c x 25mm tubed, to 30mm tubeless. So far, so good! Love em!

Reviewed 1/1/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve C.

Great tire!
by Steve C.
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern, CA

Easily fit on my rims. No punctures so far for the past rides on a street (PCH) that people love to break glass bottles on and try to cause cyclists to flat. I love the look and grip.

Reviewed 3/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

love these tires!
by Anonymous

easy to mount and set up tubeless, they roll fast and are very reliable.

Reviewed 2/2/2024
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page