CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers

Park ToolMLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(56 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(53)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(95%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by JP

Works as advertised, perfect for master links
by JP
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City area

These pliers work as advertised: "almost effortless" removal and replacement of master links. They're solidly built and I'm sure these will be distributed to my heirs, assuming people are still using bike chains at that point. Park Tool stuff isn't always the cheapest but I've been happy with every Park tool I own and the price is reasonable.

Reviewed 11/11/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NoOneYouKnow

Right Tool For The Job
by NoOneYouKnow
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa, FL

These things are awesome. A tool I never thought I needed. Makes the job of wrestling a chain off & on, literally, No job at all. Well worth the investment!!

Reviewed 6/1/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Paul macomber

Great tool
by Paul macomber
Daily Commuter
central oregon

Makes breaking and putting quick connect links back easy what i expected

Reviewed 1/8/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Perfect for the job
by Anonymous

This works as intended. Easily removes master link. Better than struggling with long nose pliers.

Reviewed 11/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Much Needed Tool!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

A must-needed tool for all riders! Chains don't go forever and this is a life saver when you need to work on your bike chain! I am building a single speed and this tool helped me a lot!

Reviewed 4/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CycleAcrossAmerica.com

Works great! I highly recommend.
by CycleAcrossAmerica.com
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland, USA

Most chain repairs need the right tools and nothing else will work. Although I've heard of people using a shoelace to remove a chain master link, that has never worked for me. I have. however, used several different Master Link Chain Pliers and I can honestly say Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers are the best I've ever used. I've found cheaper master link pliers but not better.

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Powermatic

Almost Effortless?
by Powermatic
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Removing the link is almost effortless. But installing a link requires some serious force. If I were in charge of the design, I'd make the handles a couple inches longer to increase your leverage.

The value is pretty good. Some Park tools are incredibly overpriced but these hit the mark. There are some slightly less expensive pliers available. But I went with Park because I can trust the quality and, well, it matches my other Park stuff.

Reviewed 3/5/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by danielvcampbell

does the job
by danielvcampbell
Cycling Enthusiast

fits very snug into chain, could use a little more mechanical advantage

Reviewed 6/15/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Don H.

Very convenient to use.
by Don H.
Cycling Enthusiast

I have started using master links on all of my bikes. It is just so convenient to remove and install the chain for maintaining a clean drive system, especially when traveling. The Park Tool MLP-1.2 makes getting the master link, and therefore the entire chain, on and off so easy, and it is very light weight to travel with. I keep one in my garage kit and another one in my travel kit.

Reviewed 8/1/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cesar4

Simple to use
by Cesar4
Maspeth

I thought it be really hard to remove a bike chain and install a new one. I got this thing after watching some videos on how to replace the chain on any bike and how to click it in bike together. Pretty simple and easy to use.

Reviewed 6/20/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CycleRef

So much a no-brainer!
by CycleRef
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon

As others have said, I probably wasted way more than $20 worth of time and stress trying to deal with chains without the proper tool. Just get a good tool for this and spend your time worrying about more meaningful issues like how to cut and extra 10-20 grams of weight on your bike... :)

Reviewed 6/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Scott

Right tool for the job!
by Scott
Cycling Enthusiast
Laconia, NH

If you have a masterlink in your chain, then you need these. So much easier than grabbing the chain with your hands and trying to wiggle the link to release. Keep your hands clean and your chain from getting torqued.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by avbiker

These make the removal and installation of chains with quick links a breeze !!
by avbiker
Daily Commuter
seattle

Simple to use ! great for when you need to thoroughly clean a chain !

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

I love that tool.
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland ,OH area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I always clean my chains off the bike. Pull the dirty one off, put it in the soup for a few days, and put a clean spare on. I had been using a vicegrips to open the master link. The 11 speed chains are way hard to open by hand. The tool takes the fuss out of opening the master link, and doesn't offer the threat of damage .That vicegrips approach seemed prone to damaging things.

Reviewed 4/20/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Birdfish

If you are using or switching over to master link chains you need this
by Birdfish
Daily Commuter
SF east bay
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I finally woke up to the fact that master link chains have evolved since I was a kid, and are competitive with rivet chains in quality and are much quicker to install, and can be removed and cleaned making them long lasting. It took me a little longer to wake up to the fact that this specialized tool makes the process much, much easier. Don't be like me, if you are using master link chains make your life easier and buy this tool.

Reviewed 4/3/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob

Easy to use.
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Cordova TN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

With very little effort I was able to separate the master link with the Park Tool MLP-1.2 Master Link Pliers.

Reviewed 4/5/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michael

Chain tool
by Michael
PDX

A must when you wax your chains

Reviewed 11/18/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Master Link pliers
by Anonymous

Great product! Super easy to use. A real time saver.

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by catdr

simplifies link removalreplacement
by catdr
WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have removed links by hand, and it is a pain. I bought this, and it makes the job much easier. Wish I had bought it a long time ago.

Reviewed 5/22/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Must have for the mechanic
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Anchorage Alaska

If you have ever fought with a well seated quick link or clean your chain often, you will appreciate these pliers. I deal with glacial silt that accelerates wear on bike components, so I remove the chain frequently. Nice tool with Park quality.

Reviewed 4/30/2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page