Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Michelin A2 Airstop Tube

MichelinA2 Airstop Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(30 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(11)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(50%)
(37%)
(10%)
(3%)
(0%)
Hard to find smooth stem
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I only use smooth stem tubes on my bikes as they do not tear up the o-ring seal on my pump. I still have not figured out why the unneeded threads were ever put on stems in the first place. Smooth stem tubes in this size are almost impossible to find. However they are available here at a decent price. As long as they continue to be available here I'll keep coming back. These are good quality tubes too. I have been using them for many years and have never had a flat due to a fault of the tube.

Reviewed 3/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very reliable for everyday use .
by Larry
Simsbury , CT

We use these tubes in a bike share fleet .

They hold air well and do not flat as often as other brands that we have tried . I can never remember ever having a split at the seam which is note worthy .

Reviewed 6/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tubes !
by Kerry
Michigan

Great for people like myself that hang on to older bikes. Sooner to later you need new tubes. These cover the issue.......

Reviewed 4/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazingly reliable tubes
by Wayne Clark
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC

I have been using Michelin A2 AirStop tubes on my Schwalbe Marathon Supreme and Marathon Plus on my touring city bike for the past 8 years. I have had only 2 punctures in that time.

The first puncture was on my first ride with this tube tire combination because the shop mechanic who installed them had left a piece of wire inside the tire. My first ride was a 200k randonneuring ride and the wire inside the tire wore a hole in the tube after about 75 miles of riding. I replaced that tube with another AirStop and ended up getting 8,000 on that set of tires and tubes without any more flats.

The second puncture was on my second set of tires and happened because I ran over a horseshoe cleat and 2 nails punctured my front tire. Even though the nails went all the way through the Schwalbe tire into the tube, I was still able to ride my bike 2 miles home and never even had to add air to the tube on the way.

I originally discovered these tubes not because of their resilience, but because of their smooth valve stem. I have been riding tubes with Presta stems since the early 1970s and worn out several pump head gaskets on threaded stems. I switched to Michelin AirComp (700x23c) on all of my road bikes and Michelin AirStop (700x32c) on all of my city and touring bikes. Those are the only tubes I will buy.

Reviewed 2/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tubes you can buy
by OaktownCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA

Holds air better than the competition. Reasonably puncture resistant. Only knock is the cost compared to others (Kenda, et. al).

Reviewed 1/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good tube but . . .
by Anonymous

Bought 4, 3 have worked well with no problems. One of them ripped a hole too big to patch when it was unfolded.

Reviewed 12/12/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
QC lacking
by onymus
Cycling Enthusiast
NoCa&40not coastal central&41
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Disappointed in rubber quality and spot thinness that resulted in little tube aneurisms, one of which ruptured, flatting me on dirtgravel.

Reviewed 4/7/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No problems.
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

No problems. Check your valve stem length.

Reviewed 4/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I like the threadless stem
by mdonald9
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Airstop 700x18/23 tubes for years. They seem to have a good balance between weight and durability and I like the threadless stem since it doesn't tear up the pump fitting. I recently switched to 700x25 tires and moved up to the 700x25/32 Airstop tubes. They seem bulky relative to the tire size and tube changes don't go as smoothly. I think the weight to durability ratio is probably not as favorable, but I can't say that's translated to any noticeable difference riding. I do find the 700x25 tires incredibly comfortable so will not be going back, but might try other tubes if something catches my eye.

Reviewed 4/6/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tubes for Cross Tires
by MG_Chicago
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, Illinois
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Great tubes for the bike. They aren't too heavy but provide a good overall feel in the tires. I buy these mostly because I like that Michelin A2 Airstop Tubes have the smooth valve option instead of the threaded valve. These tubes generally resist punctures well but no tube is puncture proof or snake bite proof.

Reviewed 12/8/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cheap but unreliable
by Steveo
New Haven, CT
3 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

About 1/4 of the ones I've bought are defective - weaknesses in the wall cause some areas to balloon out. The others work just fine.

Reviewed 10/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Valve stem should have a threaded lock washer. They cut this feature out. Now the stem can wander.
by studiocaputo
Cycling Enthusiast
frisco
2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Otherwise, a serviceable strip of rubber.

Reviewed 10/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable tubes!
by EverydayJoe
Casual Cyclist
Sacramento, Ca.
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I used these tubes for years, then I quit biking for awhile. When I came back to it I tried some cheaper tubes to save a little money...big mistake. Of the 20 I bought, 5 had valve issues imediately and the rest made it one or two rides at best. My ride takes me through an industrial area (most of the way), but still. I went back to the A2s and I'm very happy with the quality and durability.

Reviewed 10/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tubes.
by tracya
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

Great tubes. I especially like the fact they aren't threaded.

Reviewed 11/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good, decent product used for its intended purpose.
by TokyoJoe
Cycling Enthusiast
Chi-town
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought it for its smooth presta valve and works just fine for an easier on/off during inflation.

Reviewed 9/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tubes, probably the best bet for the price
by OaktownCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tubes. You really do end up filling up less.

Reviewed 6/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
very good tube
by Jesty
Cycling Enthusiast
n.e.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been useing this tube for many years and have yet to find a negative side.They are easy to mount,hold pressure well,and not alot of flats.A great product.I dont use any other.

Reviewed 3/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Holds air, wadayawant?
by Internally shifty
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are for a commuter with normal size tires and rims. I like the unthreaded stem that should help with pump seal longevity.

Reviewed 12/3/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
smooth valve stem is easy on the pump head
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pico Rivera CA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Smooth brass valve stem is easy on pump heads.

Brass also develops a patina to match brass bells

Reviewed 9/27/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great deal, even when not on sale.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus, OH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use a racing bike as a commuter in the city. It makes it so keeping up with cars and riding on the streets is less rough. However, with all the bumps, potholes, glass, etc using full blown racing tires and tubes is a pretty bad idea. I try to find the balance of durability and speed. Right now I have Gatorskin tires, a PVC liner, and these tubes and things are going great. With this setup I've only had one puncture in the last 6 months (used to be one a week), and I can pump with High PSI to still have good performancedurability. The added rotational weight is present, but less than other tubes and the price is good.

Reviewed 7/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page