CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Michelin A2 Airstop Tube

MichelinA2 Airstop Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(44 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(14)
(3)
(1)
(1)
(57%)
(32%)
(7%)
(2%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by DonWA

Hard to find smooth stem
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I only use smooth stem tubes on my bikes as they do not tear up the o-ring seal on my pump. I still have not figured out why the unneeded threads were ever put on stems in the first place. Smooth stem tubes in this size are almost impossible to find. However they are available here at a decent price. As long as they continue to be available here I'll keep coming back. These are good quality tubes too. I have been using them for many years and have never had a flat due to a fault of the tube.

Reviewed 3/20/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gitane

Fails by splitting on seam
by Gitane
Cycling Enthusiast

I've had two of these tubes split on a seam while riding. The second one lasted ~ 500 km and failed. The split (not a pinch flat/snakebite) is too long (over an inch long) to patch effectively, so trashed both tubes. Haven't had this problem with the A1 tubes.

Reviewed 6/13/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dan

Good enough tubes
by Dan
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I put these in my 'around town' or winter bikes. I'm sure they are a little heavier than performance tubes, but don't care. No troubles at all with these.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BillyBob

Works well - no flats so far
by BillyBob
Daily Commuter
San Diego

We frequently encounter pointed garbage on the paved and gravel roads we ride, on old our time Trek bikes that are older than most of the kids out there riding. We mainly ride paved and gravel mountain roads in the mountains of San Diego County. We also ride mountain bikes, but we are not using this product on off road bikes presently.

So far no punctures, but we also use good tires (Panaracer Protite) and good cotton rim tape (Velox).

Reviewed 9/29/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Larry

Very reliable for everyday use .
by Larry
Simsbury , CT
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

We use these tubes in a bike share fleet .

They hold air well and do not flat as often as other brands that we have tried . I can never remember ever having a split at the seam which is note worthy .

Reviewed 6/5/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by B''ham Biker

Best for holding air
by B''ham Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
BELLINGHAM

I especially like the smooth stem, it is much easier on my pump hose clamp than the threaded ones. Other than that it excels at holding air, until it doesn't due to a puncture!

Reviewed 12/31/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Reliable quality basic tube
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SoCal

Unexciting. Does the job.

Reviewed 12/22/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kerry

Tubes !
by Kerry
Michigan
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great for people like myself that hang on to older bikes. Sooner to later you need new tubes. These cover the issue.......

Reviewed 4/12/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wayne Clark

Amazingly reliable tubes
by Wayne Clark
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington, DC
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using Michelin A2 AirStop tubes on my Schwalbe Marathon Supreme and Marathon Plus on my touring city bike for the past 8 years. I have had only 2 punctures in that time.

The first puncture was on my first ride with this tube tire combination because the shop mechanic who installed them had left a piece of wire inside the tire. My first ride was a 200k randonneuring ride and the wire inside the tire wore a hole in the tube after about 75 miles of riding. I replaced that tube with another AirStop and ended up getting 8,000 on that set of tires and tubes without any more flats.

The second puncture was on my second set of tires and happened because I ran over a horseshoe cleat and 2 nails punctured my front tire. Even though the nails went all the way through the Schwalbe tire into the tube, I was still able to ride my bike 2 miles home and never even had to add air to the tube on the way.

I originally discovered these tubes not because of their resilience, but because of their smooth valve stem. I have been riding tubes with Presta stems since the early 1970s and worn out several pump head gaskets on threaded stems. I switched to Michelin AirComp (700x23c) on all of my road bikes and Michelin AirStop (700x32c) on all of my city and touring bikes. Those are the only tubes I will buy.

Reviewed 2/13/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OaktownCyclist

Best tubes you can buy
by OaktownCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Holds air better than the competition. Reasonably puncture resistant. Only knock is the cost compared to others (Kenda, et. al).

Reviewed 1/2/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

A good tube but . . .
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought 4, 3 have worked well with no problems. One of them ripped a hole too big to patch when it was unfolded.

Reviewed 12/12/2016
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by onymus

QC lacking
by onymus
Cycling Enthusiast
NoCa&40not coastal central&41
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Disappointed in rubber quality and spot thinness that resulted in little tube aneurisms, one of which ruptured, flatting me on dirtgravel.

Reviewed 4/7/2016
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

No problems.
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

No problems. Check your valve stem length.

Reviewed 4/20/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mdonald9

I like the threadless stem
by mdonald9
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Airstop 700x18/23 tubes for years. They seem to have a good balance between weight and durability and I like the threadless stem since it doesn't tear up the pump fitting. I recently switched to 700x25 tires and moved up to the 700x25/32 Airstop tubes. They seem bulky relative to the tire size and tube changes don't go as smoothly. I think the weight to durability ratio is probably not as favorable, but I can't say that's translated to any noticeable difference riding. I do find the 700x25 tires incredibly comfortable so will not be going back, but might try other tubes if something catches my eye.

Reviewed 4/6/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MG_Chicago

Great Tubes for Cross Tires
by MG_Chicago
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, Illinois
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Great tubes for the bike. They aren't too heavy but provide a good overall feel in the tires. I buy these mostly because I like that Michelin A2 Airstop Tubes have the smooth valve option instead of the threaded valve. These tubes generally resist punctures well but no tube is puncture proof or snake bite proof.

Reviewed 12/8/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steveo

Cheap but unreliable
by Steveo
New Haven, CT
7 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

About 1/4 of the ones I've bought are defective - weaknesses in the wall cause some areas to balloon out. The others work just fine.

Reviewed 10/21/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by studiocaputo

Valve stem should have a threaded lock washer. They cut this feature out. Now the stem can wander.
by studiocaputo
Cycling Enthusiast
frisco
4 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Otherwise, a serviceable strip of rubber.

Reviewed 10/14/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by EverydayJoe

Reliable tubes!
by EverydayJoe
Casual Cyclist
Sacramento, Ca.
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I used these tubes for years, then I quit biking for awhile. When I came back to it I tried some cheaper tubes to save a little money...big mistake. Of the 20 I bought, 5 had valve issues imediately and the rest made it one or two rides at best. My ride takes me through an industrial area (most of the way), but still. I went back to the A2s and I'm very happy with the quality and durability.

Reviewed 10/7/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Inexpensive and Reliable
by Anonymous
Northern Virginia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ive used a lot of these tubes over the last few years. They hold air pretty well and dont give me any pinch flats. The only reason Ive had to replace them was cuts from glass on the road, and no tube is expected to withstand that kind of damage. Will definitely keep using these.

Reviewed 12/29/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good tubes
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Good tubes.

Reviewed 12/24/2019
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page