CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Lezyne Road Drive Hand Pump

LezyneRoad Drive Hand Pump(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(61 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(36)
(18)
(3)
(3)
(1)
(59%)
(30%)
(5%)
(5%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by VinceM

Great pump if not for the core removal problem
by VinceM
Cycling Enthusiast
Fair Oaks, Ca

I have two Lezyne road hand pumps. They worked great for about ten years then in the last year one of them blew out the side plug on the of the hose fitting and won't work anymore. Just like others have written, the hose fitting removes the valve core when the pump is removed. At first I thought that it was the fault of the tubes so I tightened each of my tubes cores with a small wrench. No luck, the pump removed the cores anyway. Most recently it occurred on a ride with other friends and no matter how careful I was the pump fitting grabbed onto the core stem and screwed it out. Luckily another rider had a different pump that worked or else I would have been stranded.

I have since put blue lock tight on all of my stem cores and silicone grease on the "O" ring inside the pump fitting. I hope it works. Regardless I am shopping for a new pump.

Reviewed 3/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jim

Nice pump,but you need to know this.
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have four of these for my three road bikes and one for my wife.They look sleek in silver,mount unobtrusively, offer a reasonable tradeoff as far as pump performance. The issue regarding presto core backout has been discussed here. Reviewing primarily because no one has brought this point up. My pumps are several years old. The flex hose is nice. Unless design or materials have changed which I doubt one must pay attention to themstorage of tube.The metal on metal threading has a tendency to oxidize if you can call it that freezing the threads. You cannot remove it without pliers,etc. Not good when you need it on the road. This can be mitigated by grease or silicone lube. Should be prepped right off the shelf and attended to once or twice a year.

Reviewed 8/4/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OaklandMark

Good pump but will eat your valve core
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've had this pump for a long time, over 10 years, and mostly been pretty satisfied. It's slim, light, mounts inconspicuously on the bike by the water bottle cage, and having a hose rather than direct attachment is a huge plus. Having a reversible presta/schrader hose is excellent design. I also like that the pump screws onto the valve rather than just presses on as it assures a good fit with less likely leakage.

However, this pump is not perfect. Many years ago, I lost the rubber plug that covered the opening at the bottom to prevent dirt from getting in. Turns out not to have been a problem as it still pumped fine, but a design flaw for sure, as it just worked its way loose on the road one day. Also takes a lot of strokes to avive any reasonable pressure on a road tire.

The biggest flaw, and the reason I will not be replacing my now defunct hand pump with another Lezyne is that today I discovered that the pump acts as a valve corer. Not once, but 4 times in a row, when I tried to unscrew the hose from my presta valve, it removed the valve core! I used my spare tube after the 3d core removal, thinking perhaps it was my old tube valve that had roughed up threads, but even the brand new tube suffered the same fate. I'm just glad my wife was home and able to come pick me up!

Pity, because Lezyne floor pumps are really superb.

Reviewed 2/19/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marvin Fickle

Looks beautiful, nearly as light as carbon, and can be accessed easily.
by Marvin Fickle
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR

Replaced a similar product that could not be removed from its holder without loosening bolts (!). Appears to function well, but I have not had to use it in the denouement (flat tubeless). Hope not to use it.

Reviewed 9/3/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mcyammer

Top quality materials
by mcyammer
PDX
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Looks so pretty right next to my bottle cage! I got the small, which is only as long as a cage and will def. require extra strokes to get to rideable. But the design is clean and efficient (Euro-sexy?), with the connection surprisingly tight. It just takes a lot a pumps to get to pressure. Have ridden it through plenty of rain and mud, still sparkling on the inside. Did I say I fixed a flat with the pump, but it took half again as long to pump it up compared to my last pump? But it looks so nice and shiny...

Reviewed 7/3/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Seattle cyclist

Good pump looks great on my bike
by Seattle cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, wa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After reading reviews, I ordered the large size. Love the metal bracket that attaches under the downtube water bottle holder, holds pump solidly. I did have the misfortune of having to use the pump to fix a flat. I have been a long time user of the Topeak road morph pump, this pump works just as well and it looks better.

Reviewed 5/8/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve F.

Well built and fast for a mini pump.
by Steve F.
Saugus
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Ive only had to use this pump once but compared to others Ive owned its much better. The one this replaced (different brand) was rated for 120 psi but would not get my tire above 80, this pump easily brought my tire up to 100 psi. The screw on flexible hose is far superior to lever attached heads imo, so easy to use once set up. The quality of construction is excellent and the pump matches my frame beautifully so its barely noticeable.

Reviewed 7/29/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Charles

You may end up stranded
by Charles
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Lezyne Road Drive Hand Pump for years. It is a beautiful design, tucks away nicely on the bike, and you can easily fill your tire with 90 to 100 psi. However, more than once I have had a problem with the threaded attachment head. When removing it from the newly inflated tube, it will sometimes take the valve with it. This has happened in the past, and it happened today with two tubes, leaving me stranded. Maybe the fault lies with Continental, who manufactured the tubes and maybe did not fully tighten the valve during the assembly process. It does not happen all the time, but the fact that it happens at all reveals a design issue with the Lesyne that is not present with a pump that uses a compression lever to tighten the seal on the valve before you begin inflating the tube. I'm switching to something else.

Reviewed 5/26/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Nice pump but beware of presta valve core backing out
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ellicott City, MD
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Had a flat on a long ride, and used this pump for the first time. Threaded flexible hose onto presta valve and easily pumped the tire up to a good firm pressure, allowing me to ride the last 20 miles. However, on first try, the valve core backed out of my Continental inner tube when removing the pump. Pump has a presta valve core tightening tool feature built-into the hose fitting end. Learned that Lezyne recommends Loctite thread glue be applied to presta removable valve cores. Tighten after applying glue and let it dry overnight. This should prevent cores from backing out next time. Will see if this helps next time a flat repair is needed! Lastly, did not realize it but the instructions do say, slip or thread hose onto presta valve. I threaded the hose on. Need to see if it can be slipped on, which probably is better in helping to keep valve core from twisting out.

Reviewed 5/6/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Nice pump but not as small as you are probably hoping!
by Anonymous
Santa Cruz, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a nice pump as far as portable pumps go. I have nothing bad to say about it in terms of purpose or function. It works. The removable hose is a huge plus, IMO.

Just be aware that this will not securely fit in a jersey pocket. It is too long.

Reviewed 4/1/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Montie

Reasonable Hand Pump for Gravel Bike Tires
by Montie
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia, PA

I have tried several small hand pumps for my road and gravel bikes. Most have either been unable to produce enough pressure. This is the best pump I have found to produce up to 45 psi for my gravel bike tires. Like the fact I can screw the hose to the valve thread. I bought the medium size. The large would probably be easiest to use. overall, also seems well built.

Reviewed 12/10/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Amazing biker friendly efficient small pump
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire

Compact and easy to use, female friendly .

Reviewed 7/17/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dwig

Lezyne never fails, their design is impeccable and workmanship exquisite.
by dwig
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This is my fourth lezyne pump and I won't buy anything else. They fit nicely on the bike, work flawlessly and I love to watch my friends that CO2 wonks as they see me fill my tire after I flat. They are astonished at how quickly and easily I am back on the road.

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PJH

Quality Pump
by PJH
Cycling Enthusiast
So Cal
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

100 mile per week road rider on nasty streets with lots of tire eating debris. The Lezyne pump is well built with top materials to an efficient design that is clearly superior to others. The hose connector as opposed to the old head type pumps is much more user friendly and works well. This is not a bargain pump but one that will doubtless last a long time. The only drawback is they are so pretty that the thought of what a long life will do that shiny finish is disappointing ,-)

Reviewed 4/7/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

have only needed to use it once so far but it work very well, pumped to full pressure in about 100 strokes
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Hermiston, Oregon
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

road biking

Reviewed 1/1/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Seven Axiom SG Cyclist

Floor pump tire pressure capability that rides with you, snug and tight behind the seat tube bottle cage, perfect.
by Seven Axiom SG Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Coronado, CA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Replace a tube on the road, use the Lezyne Road Drive, achieve 120 psi in approx. 100 pumps. Precise valve-pump connection. No loss of pressure when disconnecting the pump. All other times, you don't even know the pumps on your bike.

Reviewed 1/3/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by hardgumbo

Same here!
by hardgumbo
Cycling Enthusiast
Teaneck, NJ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Same issues as others: Core backout; Corrosion and thread seizing; Loss of plug; Poor grommet fit.

It still works, but I wouldn't buy this thing again. Not worth the trouble.

Reviewed 11/27/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Great Plains Biker

Great design and quality
by Great Plains Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This review is for the longer, large sized pump. Wuz amazed at the small diameter, so tested the pump at home by mounting a new Michelin 700c x 28 tire on an aero rim. Performs as described. Got a hard tire, in the 95-100 psi range, without much effort. Not sure if one could inflate a tire to the advertised 160 psi, but will definitely get you home on a well-inflated tire. Hose is desirable, saves presta valve damage (which I've done before, with a frame pump.) I use a hand pump only for emergency flats on the road, and am comfident this pump will last me for decades. (Heck, I had a Silca plastic frame pump that lasted for decades.) Also have the Lezyne floor pump, and the Lezyne alloy drive Mtn hand pump. When I find a well-designed, quality brand, I stick with it. Finally, the longer, large size won't fit in a tire bag, but it's so thin it tucks away alongside a water bottle cage. I'd go with the large size over the medium size. It's like big puffs of air over little puffs ....

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Good quality and very slim.
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Easton, PA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The built in hose makes the pump easy to use. Just be sure to tighten the presto valve that is screwed into your tire tube with a needle nose pliers or a special tool that's designed for that purpose. Otherwise when you go to unscrew the pump after filling up the tire with air, a loose presto valve will unscrew with the rubber hose and all of the air escapes. The pump is very slim & compact. I attach it to the holes of one of my bottle cages. In my case, my Salsa Fargo has room for 5 such mounts. My pump is placed underneath the down tube which would be the equivalent of the holes for a fifth water bottle. However, this pump would fit well anywhere.

Reviewed 8/25/2016
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Erick Brian

A good pump to carry, but not amazing.
by Erick Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I've owned a medium Road Drive pump for about 5 years now. I still own it, it's worn out, and I tried to replace it with the Gauge Drive pump (that thing is a piece of crap) and I'm back to this guy now.

As a long term review, here are my thoughts...

It's a light-weight pump that doesn't take up much space in the jersey pocket. I never mounted it to my bike because I carry this with me on different bikes.

It wears out the more you use it. The coating or finish on the interior shaft is scratched up and worn, and sometimes gets your hands dirty.

Rubber caps and parts are...questionable??? I'm not sure what they want you to do with them. They're easy to rip off or lose, and I'm sure it's meant to keep the hose from either falling out, or from getting dirt or crap into the pump. But upon removing from pockets or stuffing into pockets, it's easy to open, rip off, and lose. The rubber ring that seems to ask use this so the pump won't unexpectedly expand isn't easy to use. You have to learn how to twist it into place, and shove between the pump handle and the main chamber. Why not just have a twist to lock mechanism?

Anyhow, it's a lovely hand pump that myself and many friends own. It does the job and the hose is the best part about this pump. Doesn't seem that Lezyne has updatedimproved their products, so it makes me think they really don't conduct any user research and collect feedback. I'm now considering to purchase a different brand of pump, especially after the Gauge Drive failed on me and many friends complain about the floor standing pumps.

I would recommend this pump to a friend, but if you can find something similar for the same price that has better features, go for it. But this is one of the lightest and smallest pumps I've found. It's a good pump.

Reviewed 8/14/2016
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page