Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Lezyne Road Drive Hand Pump

LezyneRoad Drive Hand Pump(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(39 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(12)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(64%)
(31%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)
Awesome pump! Gets you up to pressure!
by Luis
Daily Commuter
Campbell, CA

Love the LARGE pump over the medium pump because it is much easier to get up to 100 psi. Let's face it, hand pumps are a pain in the butt, but this one makes it as tolerable as possible. Can easily get you up to 120 psi within a couple of minutes. Only downside, is you must be careful with rubber O-rings as they have a tendency to fall out and these are probably crucial to pump's performance...that's why I gave 4 stars instead of 5.

Reviewed 1/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light, powerful, and compact!
by Luis
Daily Commuter
95117
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Large sized Lezyne Road Drive pump is better than the medium sized one. With Large, it is much easier to get up to pressures above 100 psi. Both pumps will get you there, but one will get you there in half the time.

Keep in mind, you should be wearing a padded glove on your pumping hand as the point of contact will hurt otherwise.

Email me with questions.

Reviewed 1/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing biker friendly efficient small pump
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire

Compact and easy to use, female friendly .

Reviewed 7/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lezyne never fails, their design is impeccable and workmanship exquisite.
by dwig

This is my fourth lezyne pump and I won't buy anything else. They fit nicely on the bike, work flawlessly and I love to watch my friends that CO2 wonks as they see me fill my tire after I flat. They are astonished at how quickly and easily I am back on the road.

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A pump that offers a punch with a light weight
by Anonymous

This pump is great! Easy to use and offers a good amount of pressure range. Glad I switched from CO2 to this pump.

Reviewed 12/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality Pump
by PJH
Cycling Enthusiast
So Cal

100 mile per week road rider on nasty streets with lots of tire eating debris. The Lezyne pump is well built with top materials to an efficient design that is clearly superior to others. The hose connector as opposed to the old head type pumps is much more user friendly and works well. This is not a bargain pump but one that will doubtless last a long time. The only drawback is they are so pretty that the thought of what a long life will do that shiny finish is disappointing ,-)

Reviewed 4/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Small, but effective
by Anonymous
San Francisco, CA

Small (fits inside jersey back pocket), but effective. Fixed pinch flat in minutes on a eventrace and didn't feel tired. Barrel gets a little hot from the friction though.

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice pump, annoying mounting.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, Ca

It pumps reliably, and the hose adds a little time to the set-up, but makes the actual pumping go,a whole lot easier. As for carrying it, that's its weakness. It has a tendency to fall out of my jersey pockets. And while it's visually unobtrusive on the bike, the mounting bracket is crap. It doesn't fit on water bottle bosses unless you take a dremel to it. This is a recurring problem.

Cheap-ass water bottle cage manufacturers can figure out where to put the holes, why can't Lezyne?

Reviewed 10/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Floor pump tire pressure capability that rides with you, snug and tight behind the seat tube bottle cage, perfect.
by Seven Axiom SG Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Coronado, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Replace a tube on the road, use the Lezyne Road Drive, achieve 120 psi in approx. 100 pumps. Precise valve-pump connection. No loss of pressure when disconnecting the pump. All other times, you don't even know the pumps on your bike.

Reviewed 1/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great design and quality
by Great Plains Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE

This review is for the longer, large sized pump. Wuz amazed at the small diameter, so tested the pump at home by mounting a new Michelin 700c x 28 tire on an aero rim. Performs as described. Got a hard tire, in the 95-100 psi range, without much effort. Not sure if one could inflate a tire to the advertised 160 psi, but will definitely get you home on a well-inflated tire. Hose is desirable, saves presta valve damage (which I've done before, with a frame pump.) I use a hand pump only for emergency flats on the road, and am comfident this pump will last me for decades. (Heck, I had a Silca plastic frame pump that lasted for decades.) Also have the Lezyne floor pump, and the Lezyne alloy drive Mtn hand pump. When I find a well-designed, quality brand, I stick with it. Finally, the longer, large size won't fit in a tire bag, but it's so thin it tucks away alongside a water bottle cage. I'd go with the large size over the medium size. It's like big puffs of air over little puffs ....

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
have only needed to use it once so far but it work very well, pumped to full pressure in about 100 strokes
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Hermiston, Oregon

road biking

Reviewed 1/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great design and peace of mind
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon

Thankfully I haven't had to use it yet but it's so compact and functional (yes we did test it in the garage) it's great to have along on every ride for peace of mind. Easy to mount with bottle cage.

Reviewed 10/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent (amazing?) hand pump
by PlainsTruth
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE

Being careful not to utter the F word that must not be uttered ... finally picked up a thorn and flxxxed, and had to use the pump way out on a country road. Excellent, excellent performance. Buy the long version for its volume. It won't fit inside a seat bag, but it's so thin I velcro'd it to the top of my top tube where it' been riding for past six months. Also comes with cage attachment Love the self-contained, screw-on flexible hose that saves presta valve and makes it easy to find your best pumping position for the situation. I gave it double 5-stars mainly because, although a bit pricy, I've never in 40 years of bicycling found a hand pump this brilliantly designed and crafted. (One complaint The little black rubber cap covering the screw-in bottom of the pump comes off easily. Now lost. A round piece of duct tape will keep out dust until my next fxxx.

Reviewed 8/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality and very slim.
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Easton, PA

The built in hose makes the pump easy to use. Just be sure to tighten the presto valve that is screwed into your tire tube with a needle nose pliers or a special tool that's designed for that purpose. Otherwise when you go to unscrew the pump after filling up the tire with air, a loose presto valve will unscrew with the rubber hose and all of the air escapes. The pump is very slim & compact. I attach it to the holes of one of my bottle cages. In my case, my Salsa Fargo has room for 5 such mounts. My pump is placed underneath the down tube which would be the equivalent of the holes for a fifth water bottle. However, this pump would fit well anywhere.

Reviewed 8/25/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality and very slim.
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Easton, PA

The built in hose makes the pump easy to use. Just be sure to tighten the presto valve that is screwed into your tire tube with a needle nose pliers or a special tool that's designed for that purpose. Otherwise when you go to unscrew the pump after filling up the tire with air, a loose presto valve will unscrew with the rubber hose and all of the air escapes. The pump is very slim & compact. I attach it to the holes of one of my bottle cages. In my case, my Salsa Fargo has room for 5 such mounts. My pump is placed underneath the down tube which would be the equivalent of the holes for a fifth water bottle. However, this pump would fit well anywhere.

Reviewed 8/25/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good pump to carry, but not amazing.
by Erick Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA

I've owned a medium Road Drive pump for about 5 years now. I still own it, it's worn out, and I tried to replace it with the Gauge Drive pump (that thing is a piece of crap) and I'm back to this guy now.

As a long term review, here are my thoughts...

It's a light-weight pump that doesn't take up much space in the jersey pocket. I never mounted it to my bike because I carry this with me on different bikes.

It wears out the more you use it. The coating or finish on the interior shaft is scratched up and worn, and sometimes gets your hands dirty.

Rubber caps and parts are...questionable??? I'm not sure what they want you to do with them. They're easy to rip off or lose, and I'm sure it's meant to keep the hose from either falling out, or from getting dirt or crap into the pump. But upon removing from pockets or stuffing into pockets, it's easy to open, rip off, and lose. The rubber ring that seems to ask use this so the pump won't unexpectedly expand isn't easy to use. You have to learn how to twist it into place, and shove between the pump handle and the main chamber. Why not just have a twist to lock mechanism?

Anyhow, it's a lovely hand pump that myself and many friends own. It does the job and the hose is the best part about this pump. Doesn't seem that Lezyne has updatedimproved their products, so it makes me think they really don't conduct any user research and collect feedback. I'm now considering to purchase a different brand of pump, especially after the Gauge Drive failed on me and many friends complain about the floor standing pumps.

I would recommend this pump to a friend, but if you can find something similar for the same price that has better features, go for it. But this is one of the lightest and smallest pumps I've found. It's a good pump.

Reviewed 8/14/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does what it's intended to to do.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA

I've only had to use it once. It performed well. A little concerned that the rubber cap at the top tore off on the first use. Shouldn't matter, unless it allows the hose to become clogged with debris. Otherwise, it's a small, light, and effective, all what I was looking for.

Reviewed 6/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
More air in my tire than other pumps. Easy to use with weak hands.
by DynamicDinSD
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego

Love this pump. Gets plenty of air in tire so if I get a flat, I am able to comfortably finish my ride. Stylish, too. I have the black, longer model and it looks nice on my frame. I did have my stem break off and get caught in the pump like another reviewer (think pin stuck) but I still like it and will use it.

Reviewed 1/12/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent unit
by JBH
Competitive Racer
Portland Or.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is one of the few compact pumps that can attain 90psi in anything like a reasonable time and effort. The attachment hose is a huge advantage vs. having to lock the pump body to the valve stem. So far mine has been completely reliable.

Consider removing the rubber end plugs if you're going to store it in your jersey pockets. They tend to leave black marks that are oddly difficult to remove.

Reviewed 8/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great frame pump
by JHopkins70
Competitive Racer
St. Louis area
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I own two of these pumps and another for the MTB. Great pumps. Barely know they're there until you need it. Light and out of the way.

Reviewed 5/26/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page