X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
KMC X10 10-Speed Chain

KMCX10 10-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(59 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(40)
(18)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(68%)
(31%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Great value and it doesn't stretch
by PGB
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Huron, Mi
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

How do they do it? Every other chain I've used stretches but these don't. This is a replacement for one that had over 5000 miles on it. I bought another one because the first one got a little noisy. That's it. I checked it all the time with my Park chain checker and it wasn't even stretched .75. Shifts great with my SRAM too.

Reviewed 10/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice chain
by Joshua
Japan

Smooth shifts, quiet, bombproof chain. Would recommend.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works Well with Campy Centaur
by Fractal Unit
Cycling Enthusiast
Toledo, OH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This chain replaced a [$] campy chain. It shifts as well as the Campy unit ever did and I expect it will last about as long. I kept the box so I'll know what to order next time.

Reviewed 6/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like this product.
by TomP
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA

Purchased for bike build using an old 10-speed Shimano road group. Like the missing link feature. Initial impression after a few rides is that it works well.

Reviewed 8/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well with Shimano 105
by Puget Sounder
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle-Tacoma
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using the KMC X10 chain for several years. I ride in the rain during the fall, winter, and spring, so the ability to quickly remove the chain for thorough cleaning is a big plus.

The split link can be a bit tricky to open up so I bought the Park Tool pliers to make the job really easy. I take the chain off, soak it in citrus solvent, clean it with a stiff brush and rag, then lube it with ProGold. Keeping it clean this way seems to extend the life much longer than using the rotating brush and reservoir setup.

The KMC chain lasts longer than the Shimano chain.

Reviewed 3/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shifts well, quiet, seems durable
by IslandRider
Competitive Racer
Maui Hawaii
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've used SRAM and Shimano chains for my 10-speed setup. They both work well. The KMC I find to be a little quieter and less finicky. It also looks and feels stronger to me, although I have no data to back that up. Making that conclusion based on how flexy the chains feel from side to side. The KMC feels stiffer to me. I've never tried Wippermann Chains but I'd like to. At the price though, the KMC's are my preference for road or MTB use.

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best chain for the money.
by NWBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I had this chain originally when I bought my new bike. After about 2200 miles I replaced it with Sram PC-1091R (hollow pins). The Sram 1090r is a few grams lighter, shifts smoother and quieter when new but after about 700 miles the chain was stretched like a noodle with moderate climbing. So, I switched back to this KMC, put it through the wringer and been happy with it so far. Just keep clean and lube every 1-2 rides (100 miles) and it runs just fine. So I'll stick with this chain for its durability, the penalty is a few grams heavier.

Reviewed 11/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shifts too quickly for a steel bike, problems may be due to lack of frame stiffness
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Milwaukee, WI
1 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I tossed this chain onto a sulry cross-check with FSA Pro Road chainrings and a SRAM OG 1050 cassette on the rear. I had problems from the beginning with chainsuck (on a road bike!) if I stood up to sprint while in the small ring. After the chain broke in, the problems went away. Perhaps this wouldn't have been a problem on a stiff race bike, but for this steel beast I'll go back to SRAM or Shimano chains.

Reviewed 10/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The KMC chain has worked very well for me for quite a while.
by cyclebuff
Cycling Enthusiast
Herkimer, NY
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I have used KMC exclusively for several years on my Campy equipped bike. These chains shift well and last for thousands of miles if maintained. They are much cheaper than Campy chins and the ability to connect the chain with the provided link. It is much simpler that what the Campy chain requires and you do not need a special chain tool to put on a new chain.

Reviewed 10/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
KMC chain
by Jon
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN

I'm down KMC. The chains are high quality, easy to install with the quick link, and durable. I degrease the chain first using an eco-friendly citrus degreaser. Then after sizing it using the largest cog smallest ring method I install the chain. Next comes a fastidious lubrication using ProGold ProLink which I lightly wipe (mainly to prevent dripping) and let sit for several hours before thoroughly wiping.

KMC chains serve me well in this way and this one is no exception. I put it on my commuter bike and I like the black silver pattern.

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great replacement for Campy 10 Sp Chain
by PNW Native
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, ORVancouver, WA

Shifts as well as the Campy Chorus 10 speed chain, but doesn't require the special and expensive Campy or Park chain tool to install. Quite, and it shifts well. Durability is questionable through (the earlier version KMC X10 chain had to be replaced after 1500 miles-.551300 miles of wet PNW winter riding).

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
HOPING THIS WILL REPLACE THE NEED FOR CAMPY CHAINS
by Trucker
Cycling Enthusiast
Pine Grove, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

For years I've used Campy chains on my bikes since they have Record Veloce FSA components . Had good success with them until the last chain that broke twice . Never had one break before . Getting too light ? Now Campy has a new pin system that according to their instructions requires their expense chain tool. So instead of replacing my chain myself I took it to my mechanic to be safe . With this KMC chain I was able to replace it quickly myself and that quick link really makes it a snap . No more pins. The first ride of 73 miles went great with really nice precise shifting and very quiet . I feel I've found a winner.

I've used Shimano and SRAM chains on my wife's bike but intend on switching to KMC . No problems with either brand but I'll give KMC a good test.

Also the KMC side plates look a bit stronger than the Campy chains .

Reviewed 12/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hasn't let me down yet
by OR_biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

This was the chain that originally came with my bike. Always performed well so when it came time to change I got another one. Have gone through about 5 of them now and have never had issues whether summer or winter, sunshine or snow, so don't see the need to spend extra on a more expensive brand.

Reviewed 9/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA

I used the product to replace a used chain.

Reviewed 8/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Chain for Cyclocross
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this chain to replace an old warn out chain on my cross bike. It performs flawlessly and cleans easy. I love the KMC Chains.

Reviewed 12/12/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great chain for the money.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Long Island, NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

No reason to spend [$] on a chain. This chain performs better than a Sram 1090r and wears longer. Strong and reliable. You can't go wrong for the money.

Reviewed 4/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Winter Chain
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Kelso, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a great winter chain. Will put Dura Ace back on when the weather gets better.

Reviewed 3/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good value chain
by CA2.0 Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Houston, TX
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have used the 9 speed version of this chain as well. Both the 9 speed and the current 10 speed versions provided long life and good shifting when routinely cleaned and lubed.

Reviewed 12/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shifts very well with Campy 12-30 cassette
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Flagstaff, AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It was easy to install and it shifts well with my new 12-30 cassette.

Reviewed 9/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works like a chain.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Quieter than the Ultegra chain which was quieter than my Sram chain on my 2011 Sram Red. Might weigh about 20grams more. Shifts as well as Ultrega, better than Sram.

Reviewed 9/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page