X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Hammer Nutrition Perpetuem (32 Servings)

Hammer NutritionPerpetuem (32 Servings)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(7)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(76%)
(19%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Works well on long rides
by Mike weitzman
ny, ny
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this for longer rides over 2 hours. I mix the night before and load 6-8 scoops in the water bottle. Then re shake and add ice before riding. I sip with electrolytes early in the ride while cold. I have not had a bonk feeling while using.

The strawberry tastes pretty good to me

Reviewed 4/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliably good Hammer product
by Anonymous
Eastern Wa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great for longer distance training. No sugar crash. Tastes fine

Reviewed 5/8/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Thought it would be more helpful
by Utah Biker
Competitive Racer
Utah
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Hmmm I guess my expectations were not managed correctly. I was really expecting this to help me. I ride 200 miles a week and ride in competitions that are 100 miles to 200 miles long. I'd had a number of people talk this stuff up. Did very little for me. Didn't help with queasiness or help me feel like I had better energy. Two times I tried it out with hopes.. Now its just some stuff I need to use up so that I don't feel to bad about buying it. To bad, most hammer stuff is pretty good.

Reviewed 10/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome cycling fuel source
by brevetbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
midwest
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Great stuff! Used it during some early season brevets I did and never had any energy or stomach issues. I mix 5050 with HEED, and also carry a bottle of plain water to chase down the Hammer gel and occasional solid snack

Reviewed 4/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I don't roll without my perpetuem
by Teteshajenet
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

I first experienced this product when my LBS suggested me a trial pack before a training ride. Since then I have relied on this to keep me going on any my 60 mile ride where the pace is expected to remain in the mid 20's. I can't digest much in the early mornings, so if I need a little push to help sustain me on the weekly group rides that almost rival a cat 4-3 type training race, I will also occasionally use Perpetuem for these shorter but stout rides.

I can no longer find my favorite coffee flavor, but the typical orange cream works well. I like the fact that it is a natural product and will go bad after preparation if not consumed in a couple of hours. I'm always worried of foods that never expire.

Reviewed 9/24/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fitness in a bottle
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Monroe, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I used to bonk hard on centuries at the 64 mile mark. Now I can crank and feel great all day. 300 calories (with carbs) a bottle will keep you moving.

Reviewed 9/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I need some protein on long rides!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Durham, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love to mix this 2 parts Heed 1 part Perpetuem in every liter of H2O! The flavor helps a lot. It is not as soluble as the the Heed.

Reviewed 9/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Used for my rides that last greater than 3 hrs, it really does keep me going.
by CyclingDrew
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Wa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was introduced to Perpetuem by fellow cyclists who swore by the stuff. being a life long backpacker I know the need for sustained energy as you grind away on the trail or on the road. When I began cycling, I tried to employ the same mentality to long bike rides as I do to long hikes. Perpetuem really works! It is not hard on my stomach, and goes down easy. I do not feel the same muscle fatigue using it that I have using just a sports drink or gel. My recent one day ride in the Seattle to Portland classic (204 miles) proved to me that it provides long term fuel for my body.

Reviewed 7/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent for longer rides
by IMFlying
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

A friend who is an ultra marathoner recommended this product to me after I mentioned that I sometimes just seemed to hit the wall very quickly on some of my longer bike rides (4-6 hours). Often I need to pack all of my own foodcalories because there are no stores or other sources of food in the remote areas where I most like to train.

Perpetuem has been a nice discovery. It provides long lasting energy, can be carried in several forms (in your water bottle, as paste in small flask, or as powder), and won't make you nauseous. If you have water sources along your route you can go a long long way without packing a lot of weight or bulk (you MUST take in a considerable amount of water along with Perpetuem or you won't be able to digest it).

My friend also recommended that I read through the Hammer website. I hadn't paid a lot of attention to nutritional needs before but found the Hammer documents to be outstanding. They gave me a much deeper understanding of the general needs of long distance cyclists as well as how those needs could be met by specific Hammer products.

Reviewed 7/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for long events
by jgibb
Idaho

I use this product for longer biking events, lasting over 2 hours. Consistency is smooth when well mixed. I have tried both flavors and both taste creamy without much hint of orange or strawberry. I notice a difference when I use this product in that I am stronger at the finish of rides. I recommend this product for what it does, however if you want something that tastes good find another product.

Reviewed 7/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
use this for training and racing, keeps me going
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
seattle
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My cousin introduced me to perpetum last yr while we trained for our first ironman. I was getting tired of gels and bars, and this stuff worked great. I usually put about 600 cal in a bottle, and it gets me through 2-3hrs of trainingracing. On the bike, it is really easy for me to continue getting the calories I need without hassling with a bar or gel. I enjoy all the flavors, but it does taste a little nasty on hot days. On hot days, I usually mix it a hr before I ride and place in the freezer so it stays colder longer and the taste doesnt get bad.

Reviewed 7/5/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Another great Hammer product.
by JapaRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Westchester, NY

I take this with me on every ride over 10-15 miles. I use the orange-vanilla flavor (creamsicle -) It tastes good, you can use it in place of gels, and it can even replace food in a pinch. It has 7gr protien, 54gr carbs in 2 scoops. It can be a real life saver! Great stuff. Hammer is the best. I am just a loyal Hammer fan. They use good ingredients, very well thought out.

Reviewed 3/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best product for long rides races
by Scott
Competitive Racer
Sammamish, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For rides races greater than 3 hours, I have found that Hammer Perpetuem keeps me going longer and stronger than any other product that I have tried. For me, the carb to protein mix is perfect. I supplement with a second bottle of 50% gatorade or similar product and then a Gu or two when I am gearing up for a climb or a sprint to get something higher octane into the system.

It is a bit expensive, though. I use about 1.5 scoopshr and that is on the high side of the price spectrum for me, especially if I am also using some gatorade and Gu packs.

I follow the mix directions, and while I thought I would hate the thick mix, I ended up really liking it. Plus, I like the OrangeVanilla flavor. Goes down great.

Reviewed 11/8/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best that I've Found
by Mark B
Cycling Enthusiast
Brentwood, TN
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried quite a few endurance drinks, and this one is by far my favorite. I was definitely losing muscle mass during longer rides prior to using this, and the protein included in the drink seems to keep my body from cannibalizing my own muscle on rides of over 4-5 hours. I know taste is a very personal matter, but I find the Orange Vanilla flavor to be quite nice. The only drawbacks to this product are 1) it doesn't stay mixed well in the bottle, so you'll have to shake the bottle a little each time, and 2) it won't last in your bottle all day. Its fine for 4-5 hours, but much longer than that, and it starts to turn nasty. I now use it in the CamelBak Podium Ice bottles. Fill one with 2 scoops of this, as much ICE as you can fit in, top it off with water, and it'll be good even 5 hours into the ride.

Reviewed 9/12/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good stuff with a nasty taste - cut it half 'n half with something sweet!
by Dr. Speed
Cycling Enthusiast
seattle area
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

just starting to come around to the "protein drink on longer rides" approach, having had some problems with gut bombs from too many sandwiches on hotter days

i find this stuff undrinkable straight, but cut 5050 with something like orange cytomax, add ice, and you've got a creamsicle shake in the water bottle that will keep you running strong - found it just the ticket on this year's stp along with extra salt!, which was somewhat hot and headwindy from miles 100150

of course low-fat chocolate milk also works quite well when available -

Reviewed 8/12/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saves me.... every time....
by dana
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis,MN
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I am training for my first Ironman... Cafe Latte... helps me stay full with no stomach upsets.....

Reviewed 8/6/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product if you use as described in Hammer book or online site
by Richgfcst
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This product worked for me. Eliminated power drops and sugar rushes I was having on long rides.

1. Heads-up Use guidance from Hammer's "The Endurance Athlete's Guide to Success". Also great learning on excess hydration. Otherwise this is a waste of money.

2. Heads-up Need to test how much to use how often during ride. A sip every 15 minutes works for me. After 4 hours I find a need to cut back to less. After 8 hours found I need some solid food.

I need the blender to mix, put it in the freezer the night before doesn't freeze at the concentrations I use.

Reviewed 7/25/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.