X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Giro Vanquish MIPS Helmet

GiroVanquish MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(25 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(5)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(68%)
(20%)
(12%)
(0%)
(0%)
Saved my butt (my face actually)
by Speedy G
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore MD

Had it for 18 months. Great aero (I've not windtunnel-tested it personally... :) Super comfy/adjustable. Visor is awesome - its position is great, doesn't touch my nose ever, full eye coverage obviously even when my head is down and eyes are all the way up. Hit a big tree branch and flew off my bike - chin needed stitches, but the rest of my head AND face were totally protected by the helmet and visor. When I ride with slower friends, I put my usual helmet & oakley sunglasses on 'cuz I don't want to show off my aero and speed obsession, but come on...just doesn't compare.

Reviewed 9/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Dry eyes
by Rocamargo51
Allen,TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had serious dry eye issues using this for a long time the cutting for air flow funnels the Air right into the eye

Reviewed 8/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best Integrated Aero Helmet of the Market for Road Cycling.
by apino
Competitive Racer
Miami, FL

Adjustable 100%, Aerodynamics Advantech felt when going over 25 mph, everything flows. Good quality as always with Giro products.

Reviewed 8/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and great visibiltiy
by Scott
Competitive Racer
Arlington, TX
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been impressed with how comfortable this helmet is. For once the chin strap was adjusted perfectly. The vents flow a sufficient amount of air to keep my head cool. The visor works great and is very convenient to flip upside down to stow out of the way, if wanted. The only negative for me has been the air flow that comes in between the upper visor edge and hemet. it tends blow into my eyes and dry them. I'm guessing it was designed that way to help keep the visor from fogging over.

Reviewed 1/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
VAnquish for the win
by rickgomez707
Cycling Enthusiast
Yay Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great helmet. Super comfy... well ventilated, looks swaggy... and the visor, the visor, is the bomb. I hate wearing glasses, as I lose them or break them ALL THE TIME. The magnetic visor sold me on this helmet... and I love it. I also bought a clear visor for night riding. I'm well pleased with this helmet.

Reviewed 2/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great lightweight quality helmet
by Tho
Cycling Enthusiast
Me.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent quality helmet. I was very impressed with the comfort, weight and airflow. The lens gives a clear view of the road ahead and clicks into place with ease in both the viewing position and storage position. One con would be that the peripheral view is slightly restricted with the blackened edge of the lens when turning your head to look back, but certainly not to the point where I would consider it a problem.

I would recommend this helmet.

Reviewed 5/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Stylish, aero helmet with good air flow.
by jb
Competitive Racer
usa east coast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It is fast and very well constructed.

It has one main flaw, it is slightly heavy compared to the Bontrager and Specialized helmet. The aero lens is cool, but I wish you could get clear and yellow or a tint changing version for weather management.

I have the Bontrager too and over ll I like that helmets looks better. This feel far better made....and MIPS is safer.

Reviewed 9/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
by Joe
Henderson, NV
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced a Giro Air Attack with the Vanquish. The Vanquish definitely has better cooling and has great visibility too.

Reviewed 8/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Anonymous

Great fix , aero

Reviewed 4/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great fix , aero

Reviewed 3/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet!
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I really like the fit and feel of the helmet. I haven't tried the visor yet, but the fact that it's magnetic is really convenient.

Reviewed 2/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice helmet, but the label on the lens is a design failure
by CrazyLegs
Competitive Racer
Pittsburgh, Pa

The helmet is cool and comfortable and as far as I understand 'aero'. I really liked the idea of the lens feature however it seems to be a bit high and the branding label partially interferes with visibility. I have no idea why they would label it that way..

Reviewed 2/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great helmet
by Anonymous
Toledo Ohio

I have used this helmet in cold and hot-and it really works well. I bought a clear visor to go with the sun visor the helmet comes with-so this helmet works well in any weather. Rain included.

Magnetic visor attachment system works great and also stores the visor on the helmet when you are at a rest area . Bonus is that the helmet looks good !

Reviewed 1/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet at a good price.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA

Bought this for long road rides and Triathlons. Great ventilation and the visor does not distort your vision. Minimal wind noise - I can hear tones and alerts from my Garmin Edge when wearing this helmet that I cant hear with other helmets.

Reviewed 7/4/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love this helmet
by Christopher
Philadelphia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a bada** helmet. Very aero , very lightweight, fits true to size, and looks awesome as well.

Reviewed 9/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Giro Vanquish is a very good aero helmet
by TLC cyclist
Competitive Racer
Austin, TX
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Vanquish for Time Trial practice, road races, and training. I am able to wear my prescription glasses inside the visor.

Reviewed 5/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it!
by Anonymous

Most comfortable helmet I own.

Reviewed 8/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Previous Giro Air Attack User
by Serious Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Previously used Giro Air Attack helmet. I ordered the same size Vanquish (Medium) For some reason I find the Vanquish visor rests directly on the bridge of my nose. Also the visor bottom edge is into my face. Not sure if I should have gotten a smaller size. The visor does cover a wider area. I had no problem with the Air Attack.

I do like visors since the have protected my face from an occasional stone flying up.

Reviewed 3/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet, saved my head
by Dana R
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Clarita, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I used this helmet for a couple of months before it met its' demise this week when another cyclist turned 90 degrees in front of me (at half my speed), causing me to crash into them and then headshoulder first into a 6 diameter steel fence pole cemented into the ground at 20 mph. Fortunately for my headneck, it was a glancing blow, but the helmet did its job. In fact, the outside of the helmet looked untouched, save for a couple minor scratches. It wasn't until trying to figure out why the MIPS stuff on the inside was out of alignment, that I noticed some cracks in the foam. Oh yeah, and the helmet works well in the aero dept too compared to my Poc Octal - a noticeable difference in average speeds over a ride (although you don't really notice it while you're riding), especially when wearing a speed suit or skin suit. And, unlike many aero helmets, I can fit my sunglasses in the holes in the front (and it seems to vent well enough too, but it hasn't been over 73 degrees here to test it out in any real heat). Can't go wrong with this helmet.

Reviewed 2/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic helmet
by Adam
Competitive Racer
Memphis, TN
16 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered this helmet in February after a long debate, and after a few months can say that I love it. I was really on the fence because it looks really weird in the pictures, but in real life it doesn't have funky angles or strange curves it just looks like a nice helmet. I read a few reviews stating that the back of the helmet is the strangest part (visually), but it looks no different than almost any other modern helmet.

The fit is as good and comfortable as I've come to expect from Giro, with easy-to-adjust straps that don't require much thought to figure out.

The visor fits snugly into position with I believe five magnets that are molded into the top edge of the visor, vs. three very visible magnets on the Air Attack (not visible when the helmet is in place). In the upstowed position, I've had zero issues with the visor staying in place, not even an inkling that it was going to come off going over rough spots. To stow the visor, flip it upside-down and it attaches easily using the rear-most magnets.

Cooling this is what I really worried about, since I came from a Synthe (lost that one to a crash), and I live in the south where the heat indices climb over 100 by mid-June. I've had no overheating issues at all, as this helmet has plenty of ventilation, I'm guessing ducted just the right way, to do the job. And yes, I generate heat I ride with the faster groups averaging 25-30 on the flats. Back when it was still cold, I really didn't have any complaints about heat loss, since I wore a cycling cap under the helmet, but the Air Attack is warmer in winter.

Visibility the visor give me a clear, wide view with no distortion. Along the side edges the visor isn't clear, but had a rim for structural stability which I thought would be an issue, but it isn't. There is a small gap between the lower side edges and the helmet body that allows peripheral vision to see what you need to, and looking to the sides (eyes only) still gives a good view without obstruction, so no trouble with that aspect at all. The smoke lens is dark enough in sunlight, and still good in dusk.

My only complaint is that I cannot order a clear lens for the (few) night rides that I do.

Overall, get this helmet it is comfortable, looks high-end without being edgy, MIPS, cooling, and the reliability of the GIRO name.

Reviewed 6/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page