Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet

GiroSynthe MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(61 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(55)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(90%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great fit and protection.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Brunswick, ME

I'm on my third Giro Synthe Mips. They fit me really well, are incredibly lightweight, and protect your head really well. I've had a couple of serious knocks in the head, serious enough to warrant a new helmet, and the Synthe Mips protected me head really well.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love my new helmet.
by madoc41850
Cycling Enthusiast
Marco Island, FL

I ride between100 and 150 miles a week. My helmet is very comfortable and extremely light. The airflow helps keep my head cool. The interior lining is comfortable and the helmet can be easily adjusted. I recommend this helmet wholeheartedly.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
From Atmos to Synthe MIPS.
by avmartel
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis, MN

After 5years of use had to retire my trusty GIRO Atmos...Hello Synthe! Lightweight, good aero profile while very well vented and MIPS tech upgrade are all quite welcome. The interior is well cushioned and the straps are snug and comfy on your face. the dial ratchet is really adjustable and works better than the Atmos press-on system. Color schemes of all types avail..my white red orange gets plenty of nice lid remarks during training rides.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet, Great Fit
by Bengee
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey

I ride 20 miles on the weekdays (2-3 days per week) and 35-50 miles a day on the weekends, so I am in my helmet quite a bit. I love the fit of the cage on this helmet - it is very snug. I also like the materials that are used for cusion - they are not absorbant and seem very durable. About the only negative I can find is that there is a structural band that goes from left to right across the helmet that limits attaching lights to your helmet if you do early morning or late night riding.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent fit
by gregorio
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin

The helmet does have an excellent fit...best I've experienced among three brands. I gave it 4 stars mainly because I feel the ventilation could be better.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Giro Synthe really lives up to it's claims
by Old Man on Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Washington
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second Synthe I have owned. I tested my first one and competitors for cooling in a makeshift way at the Portland warehouse store. Cooling was a high priority for my selection since I ride hot in the summer. I use a Giro cap under it for cooler weather. On my first ride while going down a fast hill I had descended many times before, I had the distinct sense that my head felt more free in the passing air. My speedometer confirmed a small but noticeable gain. The other reason I chose this helmet was the very comfortable fit. The best I found for me.

So why am I on my second helmet in two years? It was the other reason for selecting the Synthe that I simply took for granted. I crashed at 18-20 mph. It seemed like a perfect 5 point landing and had the bloody scrapes on my knees, elbow, hip and shoulder to prove it. I thought I might have glanced my head, but the helmet seemed to have only minor cosmetic damage. I wore the helmet on the next ride and laid it on the table at the break. One of my fellow riders noticed that the helmet was now split at the back. It likely saved me from a concussion or worse, and I did not even know it. I am sold on this helmet!

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This helmet stays put and does not ride back on my head.
by ORrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Sisters, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this helmet on road and gravel rides. This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned going back over 20 years. I wear a large Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet, and my hat size is XL or 7 58 - 7 34. I have had a problem in the past with helmets riding back on my head and exposing my forehead. I do not have that problem now and the helmet stays down and protects my forehead. I like the style look of this helmet. I always wear a cycling hat and they integrate together nicely. If I had to purchase another helmet, this would be the one. Perfection.

Reviewed 7/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Even MORE comfortable than the Savant
by PJF
Cycling Enthusiast
Essex, CT

I had been using a Savant MIPS, upgraded to the Synthe MIPS when there was a sale, and love it. It's so comfortable I hardly even think about it while riding, other than occasionally adjusting the micro adjuster, which I can do on the bike. The micro adjuster is extremely handy to compensate for the change when I put a skullcap on or off in the winter. I also like that the height of the rear band mount is adjustable, easy to get the fit snug but not tight. The sunglasses dock seems mainly useful for pros (who have sunglasses sponsors) or folks who wear cheap sunglasses. Me, I need glasses to see where I'm going so (a) I'm not going to take them off while riding and (b) even if I did, they are Transitions Progressive lenses, which are FAR too expensive to risk leaving perched on the helmet where they might fall to the ground if I forgot they were there when I removed my helmet. And if they fell off and broke, finding my way home would be a problem! So I just keep my glasses on and fasten the helmet straps over them.

Reviewed 4/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have owned nothing but Giro helmets for years and this is the best yet.
by [email protected]
Kansas

Very comfortable. Like the secure feeling and adjustment with the MIPS system.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Nice Lid
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains NC

Not cheap, but the really good stuff rarely is. Relatively light, minimalist semi-aero profile. Overall, a nice lid, especially if you can catch a good sale.

Reviewed 7/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Synthe MIPS
by Anonymous

Great fit, excellent air flow

Reviewed 6/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I really love this helmet
by GDS-PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

The Giro Synthe is an all around great helmet. It's light and breathable, yet it feels really secure on your head. It can easily accommodate a cap with the visor flipped up, yet somehow also sits nicely low on my forehead. The venting is very good yet the helmet it quiet and does not create a lot of wind noise. I'm very impressed!

Reviewed 6/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy
by Dpgoodman
Vancouver

Comfortable helmet, looks nice, and appreciate the sun glasses holder. Luckily havent experienced the helmet ina wreck, but Im sure it will work.

Reviewed 6/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet I owned
by Anonymous

Very light helmet, well ventilated for hot summer rides, also like the dedicated holes for sunglasses holding.

I previously owned a Giro helmet with similar retention system so cannot really compare with other helmets. But for me the fit is perfect and knowing that the MIPS gives extra protection to the brain is reassuring.

little bit expensive but you can find good discount online.

Reviewed 6/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
this is best safe helmet that i have bought and will use it every day as i will be retired soon! ted bell
by ted
Cycling Enthusiast
New England Rhode Island

Plan do a ride every morning before start my days activities .This helmet will keep me safe and cool with the nice air vents.!

Reviewed 6/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome helmet!
by Anonymous

Loving the matte black finish to the helmet. Also easily the lightest helmet I've ever had. Fit adjustment works great, and the MIPS seems like it would work. Really loving the sleek look that Giro puts out.

Reviewed 5/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent ! Light weight, great fit, comfort.
by AML PRO RIDER
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlingame, Ca.

I use the Giro Synthe Daily. Looks good, breaths very well, total comfort, light weight, all good.

Yes for sure, I recommend the Synthe.

Reviewed 5/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helment
by bikepsych44
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The helmet is light in weight with great ventilation. The fit is very comfortable with a great place to store your glasses. The one minor drawback is a somewhat difficult to work buckle.

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved my head in a crash
by Bike Dogter
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am sold on MIPS after crashing and seeing how the impact force was distributed. Broke the helmet and didn't feel the impact as much as I had expected. I immediately replaced the helmet with a new Synthe MIPS. My prior helmet was a Giro Pro-light which was not as heavy as the Synthe, but I consider this a fair trade-off, though I do miss the lighter helmet.

Reviewed 8/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet
by TexasCyclist
Competitive Racer
Texas

This is a great light helmet with excellent ventilation and improved safety utilizing the MIPS system. This is my everyday helmet and I recently wore it while racing at the National Senior Games in Birmingham, AL finishing on the podium twice.

Reviewed 7/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page