X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet

GiroSynthe MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(120 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(105)
(14)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(88%)
(12%)
(0%)
(0%)
(1%)
Very nice helmet
by Sean
Orlando

I have a Bontrager Solstice, which is an an entry-level MIPS helmet, but wanted something lighter and more aero. I looked at Poc, Kask, Bell, Specialized...watched hours of reviews... TBH the Synthe wasn't my first choice but I couldn't justify paying $100+ more for my top pick. The Synthe is definitely lighter than the Solstice but it feels like it might come at the expense of coverage. The fit is good and there's plenty of ventilation. For the price I'd buy again.

Reviewed 2/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet I have owned
by SaaSy Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

This is by far the most comfortable helmet I have ever tried on. I tried on several from other major competitors and none could compare. The cushioning is minimal but provides just what is needed, and the cinching system adjusts nicely to create a supremely comfortable fit, while benefiting from the MIPS technology. I do wish Giro had included extra cushioning strips as they had with previous helmets I have owned.

Reviewed 6/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
by Phillip Smith
pennsylvania

Giro Synthe looks and feels great. Helmet fits perfect.

Reviewed 2/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved Me From A Serious Head Injury
by BurlingtonBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlington VT

When I purchased this helmet a couple of years ago, I spent a bit more than I was planning to spend on a helmet, but I have no regrets. For starters, the Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet is a good looking helmet, and it feels great on. But this summer I realized the true benefit of buying a helmet at this level. I was doing my usual daily ride on the Burlington bike path, a beautiful, paved 7-mile stretch that parallels the shoreline of Lake Champlain. I'd ridden this route hundreds of times on my road bike.

At the north end of the route, where the bike path merges with a neighborhood street, there's an optional curb cut that puts you right onto the street. I always take it. But if you approach that curb cut from the street side, there's a 3/4-inch-high curb you have to get over. There were a couple of other riders approaching me on the bike path that day, so I took that curb cut at a sharper angle than I normally do. I was out of the saddle at the time. The curb caught my front tire and threw the bike toward the pavement. My head struck the ground with enough force to crack the interior of the helmet. But remarkably, I didn't suffer even a minor concussion. MIPS did it's job beautifully. When I got home, I ordered two more Giro Synthe MIPS helmets in different colors.

Reviewed 11/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved my life- twice
by HelmetCracker
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've had two of these helmets. Bought the first one in 2015 and about a year after purchasing went down on some train tracks it the rain. My head bounced of the track pretty good and the helmet took the brunt of it. Got a replacement through Giro's crash replacement program, which at 40% MSRP. Went over the bars today landed hard, and cracked the second one in two places. Can't say enough about this helmet or Giro in general. I have been wearing them from 25 years as they just fit my head really, really well right out of the box so that's huge as far as protection is concerned. I have probably owned 20 Giro helmets (road and mountain) since 1992 and the Synthe is a great helmet, not noticeable when you wear it, very comfortable. I've wanted to check out POC and Kask but have had such good luck with Giro, there's really no reason for me to switch. Typically I'll average between 3-4000 miles a year on a bike, depending. Going to get another one of these or maybe an Aether.

Reviewed 11/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great quality product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

comfortable fitting and lightweight, adjusts as indicated in item description

Reviewed 1/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well designed high end helmet with good construction, attention to a rider's expectations.
by Jim McCloskey
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest New Jersey
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have been riding for 30 plus years and have had prior Giro helmets. This product is very light, almost to the point where when wearing it is not noticeable, does not move around the perimeter of the head, has little to no interference with the rider's view from side to side. The enclosure is very snug and well fitting, though without any need to overtighten to bind to the rider's head shape. Giro has finally figured out how to create a helmet that even after long rides of over two-plus hours, the unit does not feel heavy, cumbersome, or need continual adjustments - something I have had with other high-end helmets and gear. The straps are not too long and are easy to adjust, the same for the dials to set the inner enclosure.

Reviewed 10/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit and protection.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Brunswick, ME

I'm on my third Giro Synthe Mips. They fit me really well, are incredibly lightweight, and protect your head really well. I've had a couple of serious knocks in the head, serious enough to warrant a new helmet, and the Synthe Mips protected me head really well.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
From Atmos to Synthe MIPS.
by avmartel
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis, MN

After 5years of use had to retire my trusty GIRO Atmos...Hello Synthe! Lightweight, good aero profile while very well vented and MIPS tech upgrade are all quite welcome. The interior is well cushioned and the straps are snug and comfy on your face. the dial ratchet is really adjustable and works better than the Atmos press-on system. Color schemes of all types avail..my white red orange gets plenty of nice lid remarks during training rides.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love my new helmet.
by madoc41850
Cycling Enthusiast
Marco Island, FL

I ride between100 and 150 miles a week. My helmet is very comfortable and extremely light. The airflow helps keep my head cool. The interior lining is comfortable and the helmet can be easily adjusted. I recommend this helmet wholeheartedly.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet!
by rgarner
Cycling Enthusiast
Mobile, AL

Purchased a small for my wife. I think the MIPS system makes the fit a little tighter, which is good for her. The red and white color is very nice.

Reviewed 11/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fitting helmet
by Anonymous

Same as above

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very light and comfortable.
by Steve F.
Saugus, MA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet Is as good as advertised, the ventilation is superb and you barely notice you're wearing it. Of course it looks really nice as well, great design all around.

Reviewed 5/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet
by normanusa
Cycling Enthusiast
Scarsdale, NY

Been using Giro for years very good helmets.. nice lightweight. Saved me from a concussion several times.

Reviewed 5/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really, really good fit
by Alajandro
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston

Probably the worst that I can say about the Giro Synthe MIPS is that I have to check make sure I am wearing it. Its a great fit and easy to adjust and coupled with its low weight, can forget that I'm wearing it.

Also MIPS adds additional confidence in reducing severity of injury.

Reviewed 10/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet
by norman
Cycling Enthusiast
Scarsdale, NY

I have used this helmet for years. they have saved my head on three occasions. they saved me from concussions.

Reviewed 10/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Giro Synthe really lives up to it's claims
by Old Man on Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Washington
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second Synthe I have owned. I tested my first one and competitors for cooling in a makeshift way at the Portland warehouse store. Cooling was a high priority for my selection since I ride hot in the summer. I use a Giro cap under it for cooler weather. On my first ride while going down a fast hill I had descended many times before, I had the distinct sense that my head felt more free in the passing air. My speedometer confirmed a small but noticeable gain. The other reason I chose this helmet was the very comfortable fit. The best I found for me.

So why am I on my second helmet in two years? It was the other reason for selecting the Synthe that I simply took for granted. I crashed at 18-20 mph. It seemed like a perfect 5 point landing and had the bloody scrapes on my knees, elbow, hip and shoulder to prove it. I thought I might have glanced my head, but the helmet seemed to have only minor cosmetic damage. I wore the helmet on the next ride and laid it on the table at the break. One of my fellow riders noticed that the helmet was now split at the back. It likely saved me from a concussion or worse, and I did not even know it. I am sold on this helmet!

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight and very comfortable helmet
by Chuckee
Cycling Enthusiast
Kamas, Utah

Use it for road biking generally every day - 100 to 150 miles weekly. The Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet is probably the most comfortable helmet I have worn in over 35 years of cycling. The adjustable knob in back makes fitting helmet to head extremely easy. The light weight is super - you don't fell like you are even wearing a helmet. There is nothing I don't like about the helmet.

Reviewed 10/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Even MORE comfortable than the Savant
by PJF
Cycling Enthusiast
Essex, CT

I had been using a Savant MIPS, upgraded to the Synthe MIPS when there was a sale, and love it. It's so comfortable I hardly even think about it while riding, other than occasionally adjusting the micro adjuster, which I can do on the bike. The micro adjuster is extremely handy to compensate for the change when I put a skullcap on or off in the winter. I also like that the height of the rear band mount is adjustable, easy to get the fit snug but not tight. The sunglasses dock seems mainly useful for pros (who have sunglasses sponsors) or folks who wear cheap sunglasses. Me, I need glasses to see where I'm going so (a) I'm not going to take them off while riding and (b) even if I did, they are Transitions Progressive lenses, which are FAR too expensive to risk leaving perched on the helmet where they might fall to the ground if I forgot they were there when I removed my helmet. And if they fell off and broke, finding my way home would be a problem! So I just keep my glasses on and fasten the helmet straps over them.

Reviewed 4/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love this helmet
by Tedk
Middle of Nowhere

I have tried several helmets in the past and this is by far my favorite. The last one I had cracked during a mountain bike accident but my head survived in tact.

Reviewed 9/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page