Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet

GiroSynthe MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(46 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(89%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great helment
by bikepsych44
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA

The helmet is light in weight with great ventilation. The fit is very comfortable with a great place to store your glasses. The one minor drawback is a somewhat difficult to work buckle.

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet! Saved my melon!
by Pat H.
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Fit and feel of this helmet is great. Aero, but not too hot.

The reason I really love this helmet is that it saved me from a crash at 30mph. Downhill, sharp turn, wet leaves, into a wire fence, you know the scenario... Hit my head and didn't even know it until I saw the damage on the front of the helmet at the end of the ride. No concussion, no loss of consciousness, no head pain at all in fact. helmet smashed up on the front, but still intact. Ordering a new one again!

Reviewed 3/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ventilated and effective at saving your skull!
by adinmem
Competitive Racer
Memphis, TN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second Synthe, as the first one did its job last year and kept me away from the neurosurgeons when a car took out our paceline (do NOT reuse a helmet that has been in a crash!)

I live where heat is an issue, which is why I bought the original helmet. The colors I ordered matched my then-bike well, and the design was not at all displeasing. Function with style. My noggin did not overheat, and even though I am a little follically challenged, no sunburns up there.

The straps are easy to adjust as is the dial adjuster in back. I race (amateur) and am pretty sure that the helmet is as aero as Giro claims it to be any marginal improvements other brands may make would certainly need someone much closer to the pro ranks to see enough of those gains to make a meaningful measurement.

As stated above the helmet served its purpose and saved my skull from a closer encounter with asphalt that it did have. I was so impressed with the helmet's performance before and during (in retrospect) the crash that I knew another was in my future. Now I have MIPS, so its even better! I don't have a $20 head, so I spend money on helmets.

Good crash protection, very aero, comfortable, and cool.

Reviewed 3/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Giro Synthe really lives up to it's claims
by Old Man on Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Washington
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second Synthe I have owned. I tested my first one and competitors for cooling in a makeshift way at the Portland warehouse store. Cooling was a high priority for my selection since I ride hot in the summer. I use a Giro cap under it for cooler weather. On my first ride while going down a fast hill I had descended many times before, I had the distinct sense that my head felt more free in the passing air. My speedometer confirmed a small but noticeable gain. The other reason I chose this helmet was the very comfortable fit. The best I found for me.

So why am I on my second helmet in two years? It was the other reason for selecting the Synthe that I simply took for granted. I crashed at 18-20 mph. It seemed like a perfect 5 point landing and had the bloody scrapes on my knees, elbow, hip and shoulder to prove it. I thought I might have glanced my head, but the helmet seemed to have only minor cosmetic damage. I wore the helmet on the next ride and laid it on the table at the break. One of my fellow riders noticed that the helmet was now split at the back. It likely saved me from a concussion or worse, and I did not even know it. I am sold on this helmet!

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most Comfortable Helmet EVER.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Silver Spring, MD

I've been using Giro helmets since the first model came out with the hairnet cover. At least two mountain bike helmets, a couple of Atmos, and now the Synthes followed.

I bought my first Synthe MIPS because it was so damn comfortable finally a helmet that fits!

I bought my second Synthe MIPS because when I crashed the first one very hard I had never felt a softer landing from a helmet (and Ive broken 4-5 over the years.)

Added plus I like the color (matte whitesilver) and I got it on sale. A whole-hearted recommendation.

Reviewed 3/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Even MORE comfortable than the Savant
by PJF
Cycling Enthusiast
Essex, CT

I had been using a Savant MIPS, upgraded to the Synthe MIPS when there was a sale, and love it. It's so comfortable I hardly even think about it while riding, other than occasionally adjusting the micro adjuster, which I can do on the bike. The micro adjuster is extremely handy to compensate for the change when I put a skullcap on or off in the winter. I also like that the height of the rear band mount is adjustable, easy to get the fit snug but not tight. The sunglasses dock seems mainly useful for pros (who have sunglasses sponsors) or folks who wear cheap sunglasses. Me, I need glasses to see where I'm going so (a) I'm not going to take them off while riding and (b) even if I did, they are Transitions Progressive lenses, which are FAR too expensive to risk leaving perched on the helmet where they might fall to the ground if I forgot they were there when I removed my helmet. And if they fell off and broke, finding my way home would be a problem! So I just keep my glasses on and fasten the helmet straps over them.

Reviewed 4/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved my head in a crash
by Bike Dogter
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am sold on MIPS after crashing and seeing how the impact force was distributed. Broke the helmet and didn't feel the impact as much as I had expected. I immediately replaced the helmet with a new Synthe MIPS. My prior helmet was a Giro Pro-light which was not as heavy as the Synthe, but I consider this a fair trade-off, though I do miss the lighter helmet.

Reviewed 8/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most comfortable helmet I have ever worn
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

This is definitely the best helmet I have owned. Very comfortable and nice looking.

Reviewed 1/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet
by TexasCyclist
Competitive Racer
Texas

This is a great light helmet with excellent ventilation and improved safety utilizing the MIPS system. This is my everyday helmet and I recently wore it while racing at the National Senior Games in Birmingham, AL finishing on the podium twice.

Reviewed 7/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's an awesome helmet.
by Waldemar
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Hi, I've had this helmet-in all black-for a few months and I've really enjoyed it's quality. It's very breathable and comfortable. If you happen to be considering buying one, I have no regrets with my purchase of it, and if you do get one, you shouldn't have any regrets either.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Road Helmet
by Anonymous
USA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Did a lot of research on road helmets and this particular one is at the top. Fit and adjustments is outstanding. Ventilation is amazing. Aerodynamics again is at the top. I am really glad I made the purchase and would recommend for serious riders.

Reviewed 7/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet I have owned.
by mbrooks
Cycling Enthusiast
Savannah GA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Lightweight. Cool. Great airflow. Great helmet for south GA heat. Best helmet I have owned.

Reviewed 6/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet-exceptional fit and visibility
by Anonymous
westport,ct
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This was a replacement mips helmet.

I had a POC MIPS Orange helmet that was compromised on a charity off road event.

This helmet fits better, and feels like you are not wearing one. Bought the yellow which has great visibility.

Had not had a Giro helmet for many years.

I am a fan again!

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet Ive ever had as far as keeping head cool.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Alabama

Im a 9-10 hour a week rider that lives in the Hot, humid SE USA.

Reviewed 12/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for big heads
by mlongman
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

It just looks fast! I love this helmet. I inherited my mothers large head so it looks like a normal sized one when I wear it. Excellent styling and stoked about MIPS.

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great investment!!
by BRF
Competitive Racer

I love the helmet. I can barely tell it is on, very comfortable and light.

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfort, looks great
by Henrya
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm desert, ca

Use every time I ride my bikes,adjusts very easy, lite weight and painting is nice on the helmet

Reviewed 6/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Henrya
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm desert, ca

Use it every time I ride bikes, lite weight, cool when using, adjust ease, looks good.

Reviewed 6/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Feels a little on the smaller side, but still solid
by K-Rad
Washington, DC

I wore two Giro Savant helmets over the last 4 years but recently decided to upgrade to the Synthe. I chose the Synthe because it seemed to have a cool, sleek, more modern feel to it, and the color choices were excellent to boot. After riding with this helmet daily for a few months now, I can say for certain that its awesomehowever, Im not sure Id purchase a helmet online again without trying it on in person since this helmet feels just slightly smaller than my old Savant did, even after adjusting both the rear dial and chin straps. That said, Id still recommend this helmet to anyone looking for a higher quality upgrade.

Reviewed 12/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
MIPS saved a concussion
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Had accident on bike where helmet structure cracked upon impact, but I received no concussion.

The MIPS probably takes the credit for my good luck.

Reviewed 4/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page