Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet

GiroSynthe MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(66 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(58)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(88%)
(11%)
(0%)
(0%)
(2%)
Well designed high end helmet with good construction, attention to a rider's expectations.
by Jim McCloskey
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest New Jersey

Have been riding for 30 plus years and have had prior Giro helmets. This product is very light, almost to the point where when wearing it is not noticeable, does not move around the perimeter of the head, has little to no interference with the rider's view from side to side. The enclosure is very snug and well fitting, though without any need to overtighten to bind to the rider's head shape. Giro has finally figured out how to create a helmet that even after long rides of over two-plus hours, the unit does not feel heavy, cumbersome, or need continual adjustments - something I have had with other high-end helmets and gear. The straps are not too long and are easy to adjust, the same for the dials to set the inner enclosure.

Reviewed 10/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great upgrade to my old Giro
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Southeast PA

I spend 300 hours a year on my road bike. We've had a number of crashes in my club this year and it made me think about the MIPS technology. I'm in right on the cusp of medium and large. Did the measurement and went with medium, which turned out great. Have just enough room for head cover if needed.

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit and protection.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Brunswick, ME

I'm on my third Giro Synthe Mips. They fit me really well, are incredibly lightweight, and protect your head really well. I've had a couple of serious knocks in the head, serious enough to warrant a new helmet, and the Synthe Mips protected me head really well.

Reviewed 9/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love my new helmet.
by madoc41850
Cycling Enthusiast
Marco Island, FL

I ride between100 and 150 miles a week. My helmet is very comfortable and extremely light. The airflow helps keep my head cool. The interior lining is comfortable and the helmet can be easily adjusted. I recommend this helmet wholeheartedly.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
From Atmos to Synthe MIPS.
by avmartel
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis, MN

After 5years of use had to retire my trusty GIRO Atmos...Hello Synthe! Lightweight, good aero profile while very well vented and MIPS tech upgrade are all quite welcome. The interior is well cushioned and the straps are snug and comfy on your face. the dial ratchet is really adjustable and works better than the Atmos press-on system. Color schemes of all types avail..my white red orange gets plenty of nice lid remarks during training rides.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect upgrade
by Peter P
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA

I stick with Giro helmets as they always seem to fit me well, and this was an upgrade from my last helmet. It's light, fits great with or without hatsheadbands underneath, keeps nice and cool, and the color scheme I bought is a great match for my bike. Only has a couple of the removable inner pads, which frankly I like as there is less to lose, and there is no compromise in comfort. I couldn't be happier with this one!

Reviewed 10/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Poor construction with poor customer support
by Michael M
Cycling Enthusiast

While the helmet design, fit, and finish is fine. The solution to keep the sweat pads on the helmet doesn't last. It could be a flaw in a run or simply a storage related issue, but half the retainer fitted dots fail on one side. Even worse, Giro has customer support level that replies haphazardly if they even pick up the phone or respond to any messages.

For myself, Giro and the family of brands that are along with them doesn't meet the standards of product quality and support for what is being presented as a superior quality product. This particular helmet is the very first to give me such an issue and the support ensured that I would not purchase another one of their products in the future.

Reviewed 10/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice and light weight
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

After I ordered, I wished I had a visor for when I go mountain bike riding, but really I wouldn't change a thing. This helmet was a HUGE upgrade than my current helmet.

Reviewed 10/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Giro Synthe really lives up to it's claims
by Old Man on Wheels
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Washington
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This is the second Synthe I have owned. I tested my first one and competitors for cooling in a makeshift way at the Portland warehouse store. Cooling was a high priority for my selection since I ride hot in the summer. I use a Giro cap under it for cooler weather. On my first ride while going down a fast hill I had descended many times before, I had the distinct sense that my head felt more free in the passing air. My speedometer confirmed a small but noticeable gain. The other reason I chose this helmet was the very comfortable fit. The best I found for me.

So why am I on my second helmet in two years? It was the other reason for selecting the Synthe that I simply took for granted. I crashed at 18-20 mph. It seemed like a perfect 5 point landing and had the bloody scrapes on my knees, elbow, hip and shoulder to prove it. I thought I might have glanced my head, but the helmet seemed to have only minor cosmetic damage. I wore the helmet on the next ride and laid it on the table at the break. One of my fellow riders noticed that the helmet was now split at the back. It likely saved me from a concussion or worse, and I did not even know it. I am sold on this helmet!

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Even MORE comfortable than the Savant
by PJF
Cycling Enthusiast
Essex, CT

I had been using a Savant MIPS, upgraded to the Synthe MIPS when there was a sale, and love it. It's so comfortable I hardly even think about it while riding, other than occasionally adjusting the micro adjuster, which I can do on the bike. The micro adjuster is extremely handy to compensate for the change when I put a skullcap on or off in the winter. I also like that the height of the rear band mount is adjustable, easy to get the fit snug but not tight. The sunglasses dock seems mainly useful for pros (who have sunglasses sponsors) or folks who wear cheap sunglasses. Me, I need glasses to see where I'm going so (a) I'm not going to take them off while riding and (b) even if I did, they are Transitions Progressive lenses, which are FAR too expensive to risk leaving perched on the helmet where they might fall to the ground if I forgot they were there when I removed my helmet. And if they fell off and broke, finding my way home would be a problem! So I just keep my glasses on and fasten the helmet straps over them.

Reviewed 4/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet, Great Fit
by Bengee
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey

I ride 20 miles on the weekdays (2-3 days per week) and 35-50 miles a day on the weekends, so I am in my helmet quite a bit. I love the fit of the cage on this helmet - it is very snug. I also like the materials that are used for cusion - they are not absorbant and seem very durable. About the only negative I can find is that there is a structural band that goes from left to right across the helmet that limits attaching lights to your helmet if you do early morning or late night riding.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent fit
by gregorio
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin

The helmet does have an excellent fit...best I've experienced among three brands. I gave it 4 stars mainly because I feel the ventilation could be better.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This helmet stays put and does not ride back on my head.
by ORrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Sisters, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this helmet on road and gravel rides. This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned going back over 20 years. I wear a large Giro Synthe MIPS Helmet, and my hat size is XL or 7 58 - 7 34. I have had a problem in the past with helmets riding back on my head and exposing my forehead. I do not have that problem now and the helmet stays down and protects my forehead. I like the style look of this helmet. I always wear a cycling hat and they integrate together nicely. If I had to purchase another helmet, this would be the one. Perfection.

Reviewed 7/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Nice Lid
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains NC

Not cheap, but the really good stuff rarely is. Relatively light, minimalist semi-aero profile. Overall, a nice lid, especially if you can catch a good sale.

Reviewed 7/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Synthe MIPS
by Anonymous

Great fit, excellent air flow

Reviewed 6/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I really love this helmet
by GDS-PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

The Giro Synthe is an all around great helmet. It's light and breathable, yet it feels really secure on your head. It can easily accommodate a cap with the visor flipped up, yet somehow also sits nicely low on my forehead. The venting is very good yet the helmet it quiet and does not create a lot of wind noise. I'm very impressed!

Reviewed 6/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy
by Dpgoodman
Vancouver

Comfortable helmet, looks nice, and appreciate the sun glasses holder. Luckily havent experienced the helmet ina wreck, but Im sure it will work.

Reviewed 6/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet I owned
by Anonymous

Very light helmet, well ventilated for hot summer rides, also like the dedicated holes for sunglasses holding.

I previously owned a Giro helmet with similar retention system so cannot really compare with other helmets. But for me the fit is perfect and knowing that the MIPS gives extra protection to the brain is reassuring.

little bit expensive but you can find good discount online.

Reviewed 6/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
this is best safe helmet that i have bought and will use it every day as i will be retired soon! ted bell
by ted
Cycling Enthusiast
New England Rhode Island

Plan do a ride every morning before start my days activities .This helmet will keep me safe and cool with the nice air vents.!

Reviewed 6/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have owned nothing but Giro helmets for years and this is the best yet.
by [email protected]
Kansas

Very comfortable. Like the secure feeling and adjustment with the MIPS system.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page