X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Giro Syntax MIPS Helmet

GiroSyntax MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(6)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(79%)
(16%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)
Great, entry-level helmet
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist

Helmet is exactly what I wanted, looks and fits great at an affordable price point.

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A solid helmet
by rtarrago
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I really like this helmet. It fits and is comfortable. Compared to other Giros I've owned, it covers a bit more of my forehead but has great ventilation. The RolLoc system works great as usual. It's sleek and light. Would definitely buy this again.

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just right!
by Anonymous

Great fit and light. Exactly what I was looking for.

Reviewed 7/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A nice helmet for anyone wanting trusty MIPS protection at a very economical price point - a no-brainer!
by nsellars98
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest Arkansas
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using the Giro Syntax MIPS helmet for road riding for almost a month now and my impressions are positive. This is my first helmet from the Giro brand and I'd thought I would see what all the hype was about. Many of my riding buddies use Giro helmets (especially the higher end models) and even my dad has this helmet. The large size seems to fit perfectly to my big melon right out of the box and with no adjustments to the straps. The dial at the back of the helmet is easy to adjust on the fly and I can usually get the right fit in about 16-20 clicks. Since I have a full head of hair and usually wear a cycling cap or headband, the airflow seems on par with my previous Bell Stratus and LG Quartz helmets, though, I personally don't think the helmet lacks any airflow - your experience may vary. I got the red and black color to compliment that of my bike and shoes. It looks much better in person but the picture online is pretty close. One thing I find lacking due to the vent placement is a place to securely put sunglasses when not wearing. Despite that small detail, the helmet is comfortable enough to wear all day even with sunglasses on and AfterShokz headphones. It's really light and sometimes I don't even notice I have it on. The deeper coverage of the helmet allows it to sit more forward on my head, and riders I know wished their Specialized and Bell helmets had this same feature. The helmet seems pretty durable over the long-term and I trust that it will keep me from getting seriously injured in the event of another crash. 2020 has not been too kind as I have already had three this year.

Overall, I would buy this helmet again and would recommend it to anyone. What you get when compared to other helmets is simply a no-brainer at this price point. I did quite a bit of research and definitely read my share of reviews before buying. For the sake of your noggin and making informed decisions, I recommend you do the same.

Reviewed 9/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just what I was looking for.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL

The helmet is exactly what I was looking for to replace my many years old Bell Helmet. I wanted one that is light, cool, fits well, has the latest safety technology, and wasn't too expensive. I was not concerned with the make or model or colors, although I like the colors on this one and the it's a Giro. I would buy this again and would recommend it. The only thing I might change is getting a helmet with a visor to shade the sun, but that's personal preference.

Reviewed 6/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Value but Medium Appeal
by Nvcycler
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia

I long have used Giro helmets, this one is not among my favorites. As prices of all helmets have risen it is tough finding great quality and fit, style and a price that one would like to pay. I do not like the buckle system on this as it in my view is not as good as some other models of a few years back.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable fit
by JR
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany, NY

I have alway purchased Giro bike helmets because they fit nicely. This model sits a little lower on the head and feels more secure and very comfortable. This could be because of the MIPS feature.

Reviewed 7/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable fit
by JR
Cycling Enthusiast
Albany, NY

I always buy Giro bike helmets because they fit well. The Syntax MIPS model sits lower on my head and feels more secure. The MIPS feature could be the reason for this. The straps hold the helmet firmly on my head.

Reviewed 7/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice helmet at a great price!
by RAP49
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City

Wanted a reasonably priced helmet with MIPS and High Viz in it but not completely High Viz in color. Could not have found a more perfect helmet. Comfortable, easily adjusts and not heavy. Very satisfied with this purchase.

Reviewed 6/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet!
by Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really loved this helmet from day one. It was super light weight, comfortable, perfect fit on my very small head, and it looked great too! Unfortunately, today I can write a full review... This helmet literally saved my head/life. I fell of my bike around 16 mi/hr directly on to my left shoulder and my head hit the ground pretty hard as I slid on the road. Not a scratch or bruise on my head, the helmet held up really well, minimal damage to the foam on the inside. I�m giving it 5 stars because it performed really well when I needed it, and the price is good too. The ONE reason I am considering buying a different model is because I can�t fit my sunglasses on it.

Reviewed 11/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great purchase
by Doug
Cycling Enthusiast
Lubbock, TX

Got the helmet to replace an old Giro that the plastic side piece broke. Wanted to try MIPS because just in case. Very happy with how it fits further down over my head even with cap underneath. Comfortable and easy to adjust with knob at back. Not overly expensive which I like. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed 5/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
MIPS. Affordable. Light. Cool. Trusted.
by pidginbil
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've worn Giro Helmets since the 80's. Thankfully my accidents never included a head impact. We'll leave it to others to comment on head protection. But Giro has done a good job on the other important features over the years. Things like airflow, weight, visibility, MIPS technology, adjustability, and strap comfort. So I remain loyal. My one alert to everyone is verify size. I'm a larger guy (200lbs) with a regular size head (59cm) that is on the cusp between medium and large. It took a try on to verify the right size was (surprisingly) medium.

Reviewed 10/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
by Bobk
New England

Bought this helmet to replace my Specialized helmet that was nine years old. My concerns were that it would be comfortable, well ventilated for summer months, and had the new MIPS technology. It met all those needs and find it to be a great replacement helmet at a good price.

It is rated well as a safe helmet as tested by Virginia Tech for a bike helmets.

Reviewed 10/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or

Great fitting helmet. Very comfortable. Excellent ventilation.

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great product
by cow go moo
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

been using this helmet for a few months now i really like the fit.

Reviewed 5/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good helmet, ventialtion a bit lacking
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA

I'm a road rider, and needed to replace my aging Giro. Not wanting to spend a fortune, I picked this one. As expected, the fit was perfect, as I know from experience that Giro helmets fit me extremely well. My head measures right in the middle of M range, and I can pretty much wear the thing straight out of the box.

My only quibble was that after a couple of rides I felt the ventilation was really lacking. If you're riding for a few hours in hot weather, you really don't want your head to roast any more than necessary, and mine was.

I ended up giving the helmet to my son, to his delight, and ordering the Aether, on sale. It also fit perfectly, AND had good ventilation.

If you're just tooling around, the Syntax is a great helmet. But if you're out for a ride of a few hours, you might want to look at something with better vents.

Reviewed 9/16/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Nice Fit
by Jim Shannon
Cycling Enthusiast
Knoxville, TN

The helmet feels solid and well made. Too to tell how well the straps attachments fair. The buckle seems a bit small compared to the last Giro I have. Squeezing the release part goes better with the left hand than the right do to the direction of the release points.

Reviewed 12/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect helmet
by Anonymous

The sales people were great to work with. Their recommendations were great, which made me purchase the helmet. I love it and it fits perfectly.

Reviewed 11/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Not a budget helmet, not an expensive helmet, but a great helmet! This thing has really good ventilation and is super light. I had a hard time finding a good helmet for my noggin due to a large ridge on the back of my skull. Most helmets weren't able to go down far enough below the ridge, but THIS helmet fit so well. Would recommend.

Reviewed 6/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Saved My Head Twice
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast

I ride frequently and this helmet has saved my head several times!

Reviewed 11/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page