CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Syntax MIPS Helmet

GiroSyntax MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(50)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(81%)
(16%)
(2%)
(0%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Tennessee Phil

Giro Syntax MIPS Helmet
by Tennessee Phil
Knoxville

I purchased this helmet as a replacement for my last Giro Syntax helmet that was 5 years old. This helmet is light in weight, cool on my head and is highly adjustable to ensure a great fit on your head.

Reviewed 6/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AnonymousBikeGuyYeah

This helmet saved my life.
by AnonymousBikeGuyYeah
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

I was riding my bike along a greenway in N Portland and was run over by an f-150. The actual wheel of the truck rolled over my head with this helmet on and it did it's job like you'd hope it would, kept my melon intact. 10/10 would recommend

Reviewed 5/5/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SJD

Quality helmet
by SJD
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I was looking for a new helmet and was driving myself crazy with all of the different choices out there. I read various reviews of the 2 or 3 that I had narrowed it down to and still couldn't make up my mind. I then noticed the Giro Syntax MIPS. I don't know how I had missed it before but I'm glad that I found it. The reviews I read on it were better than the ones for the helmets I was considering. On top of that, there was a great sale price available, so I took the plunge. I have been using it for almost 2 months now and I am very pleased with it. It is quite light weight. I hardly know it's there. It fits well and has a University of Virginia 5-star rating. Who could ask for more? For anyone who might be wondering about size, the size chart seems to be correct. My head measures about 58.5 cm so I ordered a medium and it is perfect.

Reviewed 10/15/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by nsellars98

A nice helmet for anyone wanting trusty MIPS protection at a very economical price point - a no-brainer!
by nsellars98
Cycling Enthusiast
Northwest Arkansas
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using the Giro Syntax MIPS helmet for road riding for almost a month now and my impressions are positive. This is my first helmet from the Giro brand and I'd thought I would see what all the hype was about. Many of my riding buddies use Giro helmets (especially the higher end models) and even my dad has this helmet. The large size seems to fit perfectly to my big melon right out of the box and with no adjustments to the straps. The dial at the back of the helmet is easy to adjust on the fly and I can usually get the right fit in about 16-20 clicks. Since I have a full head of hair and usually wear a cycling cap or headband, the airflow seems on par with my previous Bell Stratus and LG Quartz helmets, though, I personally don't think the helmet lacks any airflow - your experience may vary. I got the red and black color to compliment that of my bike and shoes. It looks much better in person but the picture online is pretty close. One thing I find lacking due to the vent placement is a place to securely put sunglasses when not wearing. Despite that small detail, the helmet is comfortable enough to wear all day even with sunglasses on and AfterShokz headphones. It's really light and sometimes I don't even notice I have it on. The deeper coverage of the helmet allows it to sit more forward on my head, and riders I know wished their Specialized and Bell helmets had this same feature. The helmet seems pretty durable over the long-term and I trust that it will keep me from getting seriously injured in the event of another crash. 2020 has not been too kind as I have already had three this year.

Overall, I would buy this helmet again and would recommend it to anyone. What you get when compared to other helmets is simply a no-brainer at this price point. I did quite a bit of research and definitely read my share of reviews before buying. For the sake of your noggin and making informed decisions, I recommend you do the same.

Reviewed 9/30/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by gdfoley

Excellent value
by gdfoley
Portland, OR Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This road helmet was an excellent value (even more so as I got it on sale) and it feels very similar to the top end Giro helmet that I have. I think it looks good as well - it fits relatively close to your head. MIPS, good looking, comfortable, affordable... what's not to like?

Reviewed 12/11/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mechfishy

Giro Syntax MIPS Helmet
by mechfishy
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

A very good value for a nearly perfect helmet. I would have given a 5 star overall rating if it didn't sit quite so low on my forehead. I like to ride in an aero tucked position on my road bikes. So the helmet slightly obstructs my ability to look upwards with it sitting so low on my head. If you ride on the hoods this situation would not apply to you. And in fact it is a good design for those who do ride on the hoods.

Reviewed 9/22/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kleep

Good
by Kleep
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It�s not quite the quality I was hoping for, particularly, the strap and clasp, but worth the sale price.

Reviewed 1/18/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Frank

Giro quality
by Frank
Dallas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great helmet at an unbeatable price. Compact, great ventilation, fits perfectly on a roundish head. My favorite brand.

Reviewed 7/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Just right!
by Anonymous
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Great fit and light. Exactly what I was looking for.

Reviewed 7/12/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mph66

Gettin' Air
by mph66
Competitive Racer
SoCo, RI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet replaced an Oakley I'd bought previously. This helmet is much better. There are so many air vents that on a cool day in New England, I have to put on the shower cap. We've just had a mini-heat wave in Spring here, and I can already see how this helmet will be fantastic for riding in the warmer weather. Get one on sale if you can!

Reviewed 4/15/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Just what I was looking for.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The helmet is exactly what I was looking for to replace my many years old Bell Helmet. I wanted one that is light, cool, fits well, has the latest safety technology, and wasn't too expensive. I was not concerned with the make or model or colors, although I like the colors on this one and the it's a Giro. I would buy this again and would recommend it. The only thing I might change is getting a helmet with a visor to shade the sun, but that's personal preference.

Reviewed 6/18/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great helmet!
by Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I really loved this helmet from day one. It was super light weight, comfortable, perfect fit on my very small head, and it looked great too! Unfortunately, today I can write a full review... This helmet literally saved my head/life. I fell of my bike around 16 mi/hr directly on to my left shoulder and my head hit the ground pretty hard as I slid on the road. Not a scratch or bruise on my head, the helmet held up really well, minimal damage to the foam on the inside. I�m giving it 5 stars because it performed really well when I needed it, and the price is good too. The ONE reason I am considering buying a different model is because I can�t fit my sunglasses on it.

Reviewed 11/1/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by pidginbil

MIPS. Affordable. Light. Cool. Trusted.
by pidginbil
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I've worn Giro Helmets since the 80's. Thankfully my accidents never included a head impact. We'll leave it to others to comment on head protection. But Giro has done a good job on the other important features over the years. Things like airflow, weight, visibility, MIPS technology, adjustability, and strap comfort. So I remain loyal. My one alert to everyone is verify size. I'm a larger guy (200lbs) with a regular size head (59cm) that is on the cusp between medium and large. It took a try on to verify the right size was (surprisingly) medium.

Reviewed 10/10/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bobk

Great Helmet
by Bobk
New England
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this helmet to replace my Specialized helmet that was nine years old. My concerns were that it would be comfortable, well ventilated for summer months, and had the new MIPS technology. It met all those needs and find it to be a great replacement helmet at a good price.

It is rated well as a safe helmet as tested by Virginia Tech for a bike helmets.

Reviewed 10/2/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jospina

Great fit
by Jospina
Boise, Id
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a great helmet that is light and has very good ventilation.

Reviewed 11/11/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by OaklandMark

Good helmet, ventialtion a bit lacking
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a road rider, and needed to replace my aging Giro. Not wanting to spend a fortune, I picked this one. As expected, the fit was perfect, as I know from experience that Giro helmets fit me extremely well. My head measures right in the middle of M range, and I can pretty much wear the thing straight out of the box.

My only quibble was that after a couple of rides I felt the ventilation was really lacking. If you're riding for a few hours in hot weather, you really don't want your head to roast any more than necessary, and mine was.

I ended up giving the helmet to my son, to his delight, and ordering the Aether, on sale. It also fit perfectly, AND had good ventilation.

If you're just tooling around, the Syntax is a great helmet. But if you're out for a ride of a few hours, you might want to look at something with better vents.

Reviewed 9/16/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent Helmet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Not a budget helmet, not an expensive helmet, but a great helmet! This thing has really good ventilation and is super light. I had a hard time finding a good helmet for my noggin due to a large ridge on the back of my skull. Most helmets weren't able to go down far enough below the ridge, but THIS helmet fit so well. Would recommend.

Reviewed 6/24/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great helmet
by Anonymous

Giro helmets are what I buy and they are light, airy and the white color is very sharp looking. Get one, you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed 6/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bicycletime

Fits great, comfortable, easy to adjust
by bicycletime
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I needed a new helmet and I went with this Giro helmet that is a "mid-price" helmet. It is very comfortable, has an easy adjuster on the back of the helmet (great for days when you have a hat or skull cap), and has a lot of ventilation. I got white for summer riding. Great value at this price.

Reviewed 1/17/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fitness Rider

Excellent product and customer service.
by Fitness Rider
Casual Cyclist
Grand Rapids, MI
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased the Giro Syntax MIPS Helmet to replace an old, out-dated, Bill City helmet. The Giro Syntax MIPS Helmet appears to be a quality product. I ride a fitness bike on city streets and bike paths. It perfectly fits my purpose. It also perfectly fits my head. The helmet is reasonably priced. Ordering was easy and shipping was timely.

Reviewed 1/17/2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page