Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Empire ACC Road Shoe

GiroEmpire ACC Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(88%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great shoe with added style of laces.
by Huntsman
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like these shoes as they give a very relaxed fix compared to some higher end road shoes, with the flexibility of the laces. You aren't left wanting for a stiffer sole in out out of the saddle during hard efforts, they do require a little adjustment to get the fit correct but once you do there great. I like the color the reflective model adds a bit of style to your kit, I find this shoe great as I tend to have an odd fit with pressure on the top of my foot but the laces give me the ability to really fine tune the fit.

If your thinking of purchasing these I highly recommend you do.

Reviewed 5/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe, takes a while to break in
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Sole is as stiff as you'd expect from a high end shoe, power transfer to the pedals feels great. They can feel a little tight at the front of the foot at first but they break in after a while. Laces offer great customization of fit.

Reviewed 2/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most comfortable bike shoes I've ever owned
by psychoch
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a road bike rider, and have owned shoes from a number of different brands-Sidi, Fizik, Diadora. These are extremely light, and very comfortable. After a hilly 200k ride, no hot spots or foot discomfort.

Reviewed 2/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So light, so comfortable.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I absolutely love my Empires. I upgraded form a pair of Republics and had high expectations for these given the price. They exceeded all of my expectations in fit, comfort and style. Would absolutely recommend!

Reviewed 7/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely an eye catcher and well made shoe for any event.
by Joey
Competitive Racer
Indio, Ca
Review for Giro 2014 Empire ACC Road Shoe
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Have been using these Giro 2014 Empire AC road shoe for past three weeks (criterium and club rides) and are very comfortable. Definitely made a big difference on the hills lightweight and snug fit. The classic look also brought a lot of attention to fellow cyclists. Would recommend to anyone!

Reviewed 8/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks fantastic
by Anonymous
Tampa
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These shoes are cut small and a lot little closed in. They look great. I am a 10 normally in regular shoes. I returned these and got the Giro Slx Empire. Love them. I got the 44. 5 11 US men's. They fit good and are the most comfortable shoes I've ever had I wire Sidi Ergo for years in 44.5 but these are more comfort. I have a wide foot so stretched these out gently with a wooden spoon when I got them. The slx is super light and comes with a variety of insole. I would recommend these for comfort and lightness and adjustability and go up at least a half size. I don't wear anything else since I got my Giro Empires.

Reviewed 6/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable shoes for long, steady rides.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Suburbs of Chicago

This shoes is very comfortable and the laces allow for precise fit. The adjustable arch support in the foot bed is excellent. Not sure how this shoes will perform in racing, especially sprinting and crits, as it's hard to get it to fit tight.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light, stiff and comfortable
by Anonymous
la Mirada CA

The Empire ACC works for me. I like that adjusting the laces makes the fit more customized. I don't think about the shoes or my feet while riding. They're lightweight, stiff and comfortable I like the looks too. Best shoes I've tried, and I'm picky.

Reviewed 2/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light, stiff and comfortable
by Anonymous
la Mirada CA

The Empire ACC works for me. I like that adjusting the laces makes the fit more customized. I don't think about the shoes or my feet while riding. They're lightweight, stiff and comfortable I like the looks too. Best shoes I've tried, and I'm picky.

Reviewed 2/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable, and look great.
by BigKat
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco

I use these shoes for 50 mile rides a few times a week. They are very comfortable.

Reviewed 1/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice shoes!
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Portlandia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was a little hesitant to order shoes online, just because I didn't know how they'd fit, but these shoes fit perfectly (I have fairly narrow feet). They are super light, and have a very stiff sole. The laces really add to the snug fit.

And they are beautiful! I bought the silver ones, and the finish glows in low light, almost like they have their own light source. All in all, a fabulous shoe!

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These giro road shoes are the best comfortable shoes in the market. Not to mention if you ride in the evening the reflector material is a safety feature for vehicles to see you.
by [email protected]
Daily Commuter
Texas

These are some of the lightest shoes i have worn for cycling.

Reviewed 1/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No more doubts about shoes w laces
by Steve
Daily Commuter
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've always had shoes with ratcheting buckles or hook-and-loop straps. I was motivated to buy these because they are fully reflective (which is amazingly bright and effective) but had my doubts about the convenience and comfort of cycling shoes with laces. After several months, those doubts are gone. In fact, I will be sticking with laced shoes (so long as they're available, I suppose). It's easy to get them comfortably laced up, the lace garage is easy to use, and I've had zero problems with the laces. These are also my first Giros and they are stiff and fit well. I found the size charts mystifying, but I wear size 12 sneakers and went with size 47s (even though the chart recommends 46) because I wear 47s in Sidis and Shimanos. The 47s work perfectly for me.

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro outdid itself. Light, comfortable and well made road cycling shoe.
by BoB
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The only dislike is they run small. So if you wear a size 10, order 10 12 Europe equivalent. Very comfortable and come with supports for anyone with external or internal knee issues. Its nice to get back to a lace-up design. Additionally, the outer is reflective, which helps with visibility. Very important with todays driving style.

Reviewed 11/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like a old friend
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NC

Worried about laces taking so much time to put on. Does take a little longer to get on but it is worth the time. Have a few hundred miles on the Giro's and can't tell much difference between first time I put them on. Break in time was very short. Feet don't hurt anymore after a ride.

Reviewed 5/22/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beautiful and well-made
by SC_SoCal
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Monica, California

I am a big enough fan of the Giro Empires that I own four pair. The laces allow for customization of fit that is terrific....a little tighter or looser wherever you want. No worries about the laces coming undone as Giro has produced laces that do not come undone. They are light, they are comfortable, and they look great.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy and Built to Last
by cascadebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Sometimes it is helpful to get the perspective of someone who has actually been using a product for awhile. I've used these shoes almost exclusively through 10,000 miles of riding- they are outstanding. Super stiff sole and easily adjustable fit to adapt to wide or narrow feet and thin or thick socks depending on the weather. When I first considered purchasing these I was worried primarily about two things 1) The laces would flop around and get caught in the chainring, and 2) I'd have to keep stopping during a ride to readjust as there is no way to just reach down and ratchet a little up or down like with most other bike shoe fastening systems. I can't recall a single time either happened. The laces are slightly rigid and once they are tied and placed through the lace garage loop don't move at all. It is also amazing that after you tie these up prior to starting your ride, minor shifts of your foot position just shift the lace pressure to give you room where you need it. Love these shoes.

Reviewed 4/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable and look great
by Larry
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX

I bought the black version and I think they look and feel great. I was at the store and tried on the Sidi's as well as the Fizz's with the Boa system but these were by far the most comfortable and best looking. I love the laces as you can fine tune your adjustment, if you have a tight area, just loosen up the laces a little. Another great thing about these is they clean up really easy. The material they are made of almost has a rubber feel to it so I literally just hose them off when I am hosing off my bike. I highly recommend these!

Reviewed 3/10/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoes, but a little narrow
by Dangerous_Dave
Competitive Racer
N. Florida
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I love the shoes, but I've got just slightly wide feet that spread out over a long ride. These shoes get a little cramped, making my toes fall asleep. It's bearable, but I just wish there was a little more space in the toe box.

I took a shoe horn and tried stretching the toe box out, it helped some but may need to keep the shoe horn in there for a few days to get the upper to stretch fully.

The adjustibility of the laces is wonderful. Feet a little tight and your arch higher than usual? You can loosen the middle laces and still have a comfortable fit. The heel cup is perfect and with the eyelets you can really lock your feet into the shoe.

Reviewed 6/9/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit true to size 49/14. Stiff and Light weight. Laces are better than buckles. Who would have thunk?
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sonoma

Road bike. Love em.

Reviewed 5/17/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page