X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroAether Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(73 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(63)
(6)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(86%)
(8%)
(3%)
(3%)
(0%)
Long Term Issues
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles

This is great helmet out of the box -- light, comfortable, etc. But over time -- a little over a year -- a few problems creep in. First, the fitting mechanism in the rear is secured together by tiny plastic pins that wear down and then become useless -- the mechanism will still tighten, but it isn't held together so it slips around. Second, the plastic that comes around each side to a point in the front of the helmet peels off from the front and sticks out (pointy and sharp). Several riders in my group have this helmet and I've noticed that the same thing has happened to them.

It is less than two years now and I'm shopping for a new helmet. Disappointing for such a high-end lid. This helmet is probably best for pros who would get their helmets replaced frequently, but for a regular rider looking for a helmet that lasts, not so much.

Reviewed 6/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Another great Giro helmet
by Jsprague56
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, OR

Giro helmets fit my BIG head really well and the spherical technology feels better than the thin MIPS helmets (which are also nice)

Adjustability is good and great ventilation.

Reviewed 6/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet
by Thomas Longen
Washington

Great helmet on my second helmet as a replacement from original purchase back in 2015. Try others brands but

l'm back to this particular helmet.

Reviewed 6/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Anonymous
Texas

Fits well. Very light. Cooler than a lot of helmets.

Reviewed 6/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Expensive, but an excellent road biking helmet.
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH

This is a fantastic-fitting helmet, with a wealth of adjustment points and long enough straps that it's good for my big melon. I love the Spherical addition to the MIPS liner this has to help with impact dispersion in a potential crash, which I hope I never have to test. It's also very light and airy, making it a joy to ride with because you don't hardly know it's there and it breathes well on hot days. Looking forward to trying the companion light for it.

Reviewed 4/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I like my helmet
by maxseven
Cycling Enthusiast
NM
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It will fit Aether Helmets. Bought 2 Aether helmets & 1 light. I would not fit on my wife's helmet but would fit on mine with a loud click. the defect is in the Rock Lok system. Hers is a few millimeters thinner than mine. So upon another reviewer's review he Velcro'd the light to the Rock Lok 5. I did the same. IF you buy the Rock Lok 5 light & it will not properly snap into place. Use the 7/8" square Velcro tabs then cut them in 1/2. Attach to light first then to Rock Lok where it is suppose to go.

Reviewed 3/15/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love it!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta

Easiest helmet I have adjusted to, yet. It's quiet, it fits right, everything it's supposed to be.

Reviewed 6/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a great helmet.
by JohnM
Cycling Enthusiast
N. Texas

The Aether MIPS is a great helmet if it fits you well. Helmets are somewhat like saddles. You have to find the right shape/size for your head and various brands are different. For me Giro has always fit well and I have had several. I worked my way up to the Aether and currently own two. I'm back buying another with the current sale. For me the Aether is lightweight and comfortable. I put it on and forget about it. Like saddles, if you are thinking about it during a ride it probably isn't right. If you ride without ever thinking about it and forget it's there then it's working for you. It also holds my glasses - either Oakley or Rudy Project very securely when not on my face.

I did have the pads wear out in mine over time but I found replacements available for order. A second set of pads should get me to the "expiration date" of helmet when retirement is due.

Reviewed 3/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great flitting helmet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

I am an avid cyclist. My rides are long and often. I have not ridden with this helmet yet, but the size is perfect. I am between a medium and a large and chose the large for when I need extra warmth for my head. The retention system works great and is very easy to adjust. I highly recommend this helmet to anyone who is wanting a fantastic helmet.

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Don P
Port Angeles, Washington

I've been looking to up grade my helmet for some time. I wanted the extra protection of mips , light weight, good looking, comfortable and with good ventilation. This checked all of those boxes.. I would recommend to a friend

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great comfortable helmet
by PhxStar
Phoenix
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Is there a helmet more awesome than a Synthe? The Aether is it. Super comfortable, lite, and ventilated. I held off buying a first gen MIPS helmet so I can't compare, but the Aether is the best helmet I have owned.

Reviewed 1/31/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exceptional Helmet
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Reviewed 10/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet delivers.
by Kamas
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

True to all the other Giro helmets I have owned this helmet checks all the boxes. Fit is similar to the older Synthe it is replacing but there does seem to be something to the Spherical tech business. Seems the higher up you go the helmet is also lighter. No neck issues on longer rides. Grey straps may show less fading, I hope, than standard black. Good sunglass holders and wide vents are good for head scratching.

Reviewed 1/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An Excellent Helmet
by Lexington biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington, MA

I am a recreational road rider, with most rides in the 20 to 30 mile range, and occasionally twice that. I like the lightness, ventilation, and compactness of this helmet. Even on sale, it is not cheap, but it looks great and fits my head very well. Over the last 15 years, I have used both high end Giro helmets and Laser Helmets. For a number of years Laser had a definite edge in fit and comfort, but now I prefer the Aether. I think the big difference is how the helmets handle the MIPs technology. I find that many MIPs helmets exert a wierd torque on my hair. Aether does not.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet!
by AG88
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Giro helmets for years, the recent being an Atmos. I really like the Aether. The adjustments are very good and easy to make. It is very comfortable and light. I like the new safety features, which is why I upgraded...it had been about 8 years since I had a new helmet and my wife was suggesting I get up to speed with the new technology to protect my head.

I would highly recommend this helmet. Expensive, but when one considers the importance of head and brain safety, it was worth the spend!

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking helmet and a custom fit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville SC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet is high quality and fits really well. If you havent used a MIPS helmet it's a tad larger on the sides than the older style Giro I had for years, but it looks great and is not noticeably different in size while riding. It sits lower around the brow area so it can apply slight pressure to your riding glasses, but not a big deal at all after adjusting for it. Now other riders helmets appear to sit too high on the head I have noticed. Great rubber grippy spot to put your riding glasses if out near dark. I would purchase this helmet again.

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Nick
sf bay area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced an older mips giro with this one. The MIPS is totally integrated and out of the way. Fit perfectly right out of the box. Several months of use and seems great. Last Giro mips saved me from any head injury in a 55kph crash!

Reviewed 11/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet - incremental improvement from last one
by TimT
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This fits like the prior Synthes, overall. It allows great air flow and I love the neon yellow color. I had a 4 year old non-mips Synthe that is beyond it's useful life, thus bought this. The straps are secure and don't collect sweat. The padding is light but supportive. The two-part design is something I don't notice at all, hope that's a good thing. The only gripe is the front plastic part of the cage leaves some indents on my forehead when I use it, even allowing sun in to give me an odd forehead sunburn during summer. Fall riding so far has been good, not needing a beanie hat so far and still very breathable.

I would purchase again, although expensive, I'm trusting the safety tech is worth it.

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits great and feels comfortable.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Metro Atlanta hot and humid.

My head , somewhat like a softened rectangle rather than round, has alway fit better in Giro helmets (Atmos, Aeon) rather than Bell helmets. The Aether maintains that same feel. Unsure about the real value of MIPS when my head would always slide around a little inside the helmet anyway and would be much more comfortable paying $100 less but the helmet feels great.

Reviewed 10/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well ventilated, good looking, but a more difficult fit and allows more sweat down the face
by JonJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Brenham, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Pros: Well ventilated, cutting-edge MIPS, good looks, great straps and adjustments

Cons: Difficult to fit versus prior Giros, allows sweat down the forehead.

I used the sizing chart as recommended given the different MIPS design and it said medium. Medium felt tight at the rear sides of my head -- like a flat spot pushing against the helmet. Tried large but it was HUGE on my head. I ended up with the medium -- very snug, almost too tight, but when I ride I do not notice this. I wear large in other helmets with no issues. The fit of this one is DIFFERENT, so hopefully it fits you better than me.

The front padding is from temple to temple which is nice but it is very thin. It takes very little sweating to saturate the pad and have sweat running down your forehead even with wearing a thicker skullcap such as Headsweats. This is much more of a problem with this helmet than any of my other helmets.

Summary: nice looking helmet with great tech and features, but the fit is more difficult and the front padding is not as absorbent and allows more sweat down the forehead -- perhaps a function of the tighter fit of the helmet on my head.

Reviewed 8/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page