CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroAether Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(95 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(81)
(9)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(85%)
(9%)
(2%)
(3%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Great helmet
by Anonymous

This helmet fits like and glove and feels super light light. Highly recommend!

Reviewed 4/15/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fit and Comfort are Exceptional
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City MO

As an avid road cyclist this helmet is perfect. Getting a good deal on it was a bonus!

Reviewed 4/1/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Wow amazing helmet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

For the price, this is the best value in town! I love all the tech that is provided by this helmet. When it comes to keeping safe, you should not avoid trying new innovations!

Reviewed 2/29/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by wheelwing

Good helmet, fits differently than older Giro
by wheelwing
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

Finding the helmet lightweight and well-ventilated, though I haven't had the chance to wear it in hot weather yet. The fit is a bit more circular, less oval, than my previous Giro helmets, which is something of a bummer, as it leaves a little wiggle room around the temples that can't be adjusted snug. Still, it does not seem to slide around or be less secure because of it. I love the reflective finish -- truly eye-catching to drivers when riding in the dark. Also like the fact that a custom-fit rear blinky light is available for this helmet -- though that product has its own issues (Giro Roc Loc 5 LED Rear Helmet Light).

Reviewed 3/27/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PhxStar

Great comfortable helmet
by PhxStar
Phoenix
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Is there a helmet more awesome than a Synthe? The Aether is it. Super comfortable, lite, and ventilated. I held off buying a first gen MIPS helmet so I can't compare, but the Aether is the best helmet I have owned.

Reviewed 1/31/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MasterGunny

Exceptional Helmet
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Reviewed 10/20/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Lightweight, comfortable and visible helmet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington KY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The helmet is lighter weight than others that I have owned in recent years. The MIPS design gives me a sense of safety and I chose the bright colors to be visible to motorists. The tightening mechanism works fine. The chinstrap closure could be more high end, it is very basic.

Reviewed 11/5/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Long Term Issues
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

This is great helmet out of the box -- light, comfortable, etc. But over time -- a little over a year -- a few problems creep in. First, the fitting mechanism in the rear is secured together by tiny plastic pins that wear down and then become useless -- the mechanism will still tighten, but it isn't held together so it slips around. Second, the plastic that comes around each side to a point in the front of the helmet peels off from the front and sticks out (pointy and sharp). Several riders in my group have this helmet and I've noticed that the same thing has happened to them.

It is less than two years now and I'm shopping for a new helmet. Disappointing for such a high-end lid. This helmet is probably best for pros who would get their helmets replaced frequently, but for a regular rider looking for a helmet that lasts, not so much.

Reviewed 6/17/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by nhmtnbkr

Expensive, but an excellent road biking helmet.
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH

This is a fantastic-fitting helmet, with a wealth of adjustment points and long enough straps that it's good for my big melon. I love the Spherical addition to the MIPS liner this has to help with impact dispersion in a potential crash, which I hope I never have to test. It's also very light and airy, making it a joy to ride with because you don't hardly know it's there and it breathes well on hot days. Looking forward to trying the companion light for it.

Reviewed 4/7/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by maxseven

I like my helmet
by maxseven
Cycling Enthusiast
NM
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It will fit Aether Helmets. Bought 2 Aether helmets & 1 light. I would not fit on my wife's helmet but would fit on mine with a loud click. the defect is in the Rock Lok system. Hers is a few millimeters thinner than mine. So upon another reviewer's review he Velcro'd the light to the Rock Lok 5. I did the same. IF you buy the Rock Lok 5 light & it will not properly snap into place. Use the 7/8" square Velcro tabs then cut them in 1/2. Attach to light first then to Rock Lok where it is suppose to go.

Reviewed 3/15/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JohnM

This is a great helmet.
by JohnM
Cycling Enthusiast
N. Texas
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The Aether MIPS is a great helmet if it fits you well. Helmets are somewhat like saddles. You have to find the right shape/size for your head and various brands are different. For me Giro has always fit well and I have had several. I worked my way up to the Aether and currently own two. I'm back buying another with the current sale. For me the Aether is lightweight and comfortable. I put it on and forget about it. Like saddles, if you are thinking about it during a ride it probably isn't right. If you ride without ever thinking about it and forget it's there then it's working for you. It also holds my glasses - either Oakley or Rudy Project very securely when not on my face.

I did have the pads wear out in mine over time but I found replacements available for order. A second set of pads should get me to the "expiration date" of helmet when retirement is due.

Reviewed 3/9/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rick

Great Helmet
by Rick

First of all it fits my head. I have a medium. It doesn't feel like I'm wearing a helmet yet it fits snug against my head. I wear it in the cold & in the heat. It's ventilation works very well, including my glasses don't fog with this helmet. I feel confident that my headvit protected.

Reviewed 4/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Really good comfortable helmet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania

Good price for a quality product in result. Feels great on head, light, and does everything it's supposed to do. My old helmet simply wore out after quite a few years of use, so it was time for a fresh replacement. This one handles that perfectly.

Reviewed 4/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bruce

Comfortable and great fit
by Bruce
bellingham, WA

I was surprised at how well this helmet fit and it is very comfortable. I like reflective surfaces as they are bright at night but subtle during the day. Very happy with the item and prompt delivery

Reviewed 3/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great Helmet.
by Anonymous
NW Arkansas.Mt. Bike Capital USA

Have been using Giro helmets for years. This helmet is light and airy. Great price.

Reviewed 9/12/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Lexington biker

An Excellent Helmet
by Lexington biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington, MA

I am a recreational road rider, with most rides in the 20 to 30 mile range, and occasionally twice that. I like the lightness, ventilation, and compactness of this helmet. Even on sale, it is not cheap, but it looks great and fits my head very well. Over the last 15 years, I have used both high end Giro helmets and Laser Helmets. For a number of years Laser had a definite edge in fit and comfort, but now I prefer the Aether. I think the big difference is how the helmets handle the MIPs technology. I find that many MIPs helmets exert a wierd torque on my hair. Aether does not.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

nice helmet, high end
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
new york

I have used Giro helmets in the past, as well as Kask. I really liked this one. Great fit! I have a small head. Unfortunately, the buckle snap was sticking and I thought it might be difficult to take off while on the road, especially with gloves. So I returned it. Had they had another one, I would have loved a replacement. I am still looking for another one.

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AG88

Excellent Helmet!
by AG88
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Giro helmets for years, the recent being an Atmos. I really like the Aether. The adjustments are very good and easy to make. It is very comfortable and light. I like the new safety features, which is why I upgraded...it had been about 8 years since I had a new helmet and my wife was suggesting I get up to speed with the new technology to protect my head.

I would highly recommend this helmet. Expensive, but when one considers the importance of head and brain safety, it was worth the spend!

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good looking helmet and a custom fit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville SC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet is high quality and fits really well. If you havent used a MIPS helmet it's a tad larger on the sides than the older style Giro I had for years, but it looks great and is not noticeably different in size while riding. It sits lower around the brow area so it can apply slight pressure to your riding glasses, but not a big deal at all after adjusting for it. Now other riders helmets appear to sit too high on the head I have noticed. Great rubber grippy spot to put your riding glasses if out near dark. I would purchase this helmet again.

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Richard S.

Excellent premium helmet
by Richard S.
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO/Boulder, CO

Helmets are subjective, right? My deal: Longtime Giro user who switched to Kask Protone in '20. Really liked the comfort and look of the Protone and Protone Icon but had TWO consecutive Icons with a defective retention dial. First one right out of the box, second one after two months of use so switched back to Giro. Aether fits me well and feels better ventilated than the Icon. No crashes in either so cannot speak to relative protection.

Reviewed 1/12/2023
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page