X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Giro Aether Spherical MIPS Helmet

GiroAether Spherical MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(58 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(48)
(5)
(2)
(2)
(1)
(83%)
(9%)
(3%)
(3%)
(2%)
Lightweight, great fit, nice updates!!!
by KeithD
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A bit expensive........? Yes! TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. This is going to protect you to the max and THAT is the best investment you can make in a a helmet. This one is top of the game: lightweight, max protection, easy adjustability, pony tail clearance, mine is the flat black with light reflection so cars can see you better............good looking. This is the helmet for me.........

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An Excellent Helmet
by Lexington biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lexington, MA

I am a recreational road rider, with most rides in the 20 to 30 mile range, and occasionally twice that. I like the lightness, ventilation, and compactness of this helmet. Even on sale, it is not cheap, but it looks great and fits my head very well. Over the last 15 years, I have used both high end Giro helmets and Laser Helmets. For a number of years Laser had a definite edge in fit and comfort, but now I prefer the Aether. I think the big difference is how the helmets handle the MIPs technology. I find that many MIPs helmets exert a wierd torque on my hair. Aether does not.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Helmet!
by AG88
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Giro helmets for years, the recent being an Atmos. I really like the Aether. The adjustments are very good and easy to make. It is very comfortable and light. I like the new safety features, which is why I upgraded...it had been about 8 years since I had a new helmet and my wife was suggesting I get up to speed with the new technology to protect my head.

I would highly recommend this helmet. Expensive, but when one considers the importance of head and brain safety, it was worth the spend!

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking helmet and a custom fit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville SC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet is high quality and fits really well. If you havent used a MIPS helmet it's a tad larger on the sides than the older style Giro I had for years, but it looks great and is not noticeably different in size while riding. It sits lower around the brow area so it can apply slight pressure to your riding glasses, but not a big deal at all after adjusting for it. Now other riders helmets appear to sit too high on the head I have noticed. Great rubber grippy spot to put your riding glasses if out near dark. I would purchase this helmet again.

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Probably saved my life
by Anonymous

On a group gravel ride and was going over a cattleguard when the front tire went into the vertical slits and sent me over the handlebars and onto my head and shoulder. The helmet took quite a shot and I ended up with a blackeye but that was the worst thing that happened to my head. To top it off Giro gave me xx% off a new helmet.

Reviewed 5/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great comfortable helmet
by PhxStar
Phoenix
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Is there a helmet more awesome than a Synthe? The Aether is it. Super comfortable, lite, and ventilated. I held off buying a first gen MIPS helmet so I can't compare, but the Aether is the best helmet I have owned.

Reviewed 1/31/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exceptional Helmet
by MasterGunny
Cycling Enthusiast
Marfa, TX
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

Put it though the paces last week with a 36-miler and today with a 100K (cold, wet miserable ride)....perfect fit and extremely light, great ventilation coupled with solid aerodynamics. My ONLY compliant, this is the only high end helmet (yes, at this price point...it is high end) out of too many to count in the past 3-years that DID NOT come with replacement sweat pads.....Come on Giro...

Reviewed 10/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet - incremental improvement from last one
by TimT
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This fits like the prior Synthes, overall. It allows great air flow and I love the neon yellow color. I had a 4 year old non-mips Synthe that is beyond it's useful life, thus bought this. The straps are secure and don't collect sweat. The padding is light but supportive. The two-part design is something I don't notice at all, hope that's a good thing. The only gripe is the front plastic part of the cage leaves some indents on my forehead when I use it, even allowing sun in to give me an odd forehead sunburn during summer. Fall riding so far has been good, not needing a beanie hat so far and still very breathable.

I would purchase again, although expensive, I'm trusting the safety tech is worth it.

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well ventilated, good looking, but a more difficult fit and allows more sweat down the face
by JonJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Brenham, TX

Pros: Well ventilated, cutting-edge MIPS, good looks, great straps and adjustments

Cons: Difficult to fit versus prior Giros, allows sweat down the forehead.

I used the sizing chart as recommended given the different MIPS design and it said medium. Medium felt tight at the rear sides of my head -- like a flat spot pushing against the helmet. Tried large but it was HUGE on my head. I ended up with the medium -- very snug, almost too tight, but when I ride I do not notice this. I wear large in other helmets with no issues. The fit of this one is DIFFERENT, so hopefully it fits you better than me.

The front padding is from temple to temple which is nice but it is very thin. It takes very little sweating to saturate the pad and have sweat running down your forehead even with wearing a thicker skullcap such as Headsweats. This is much more of a problem with this helmet than any of my other helmets.

Summary: nice looking helmet with great tech and features, but the fit is more difficult and the front padding is not as absorbent and allows more sweat down the forehead -- perhaps a function of the tighter fit of the helmet on my head.

Reviewed 8/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it
by Anonymous
Hyannis

This helmet fits great and is well vented. It is also very lightweight. When wearing a skin cap, I sometimes forget I even have a helmet on. It's that comfortable

Reviewed 5/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Cool and Comfortable
by Luvs2Bike
Cycling Enthusiast
San Antonio, TX
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The fit of this helmet in size Small is the same fit for me as my Giro Synthe (non-mips). I feel it is true to size. I bought the helmet for the added safety and also hoping that it would be cooler than my Giro Aeon or Synthe in the Texas heat. I wore my new Aether tonight in 92-95 degree heat and I could feel the cool air flowing across my head. It was almost like an air conditioner! The helmet is noticeably cooler than my Giro Aeon. I will continue to reserve my Giro Synthe as my winter helmet. The Aether is very comfortable and I certainly did not notice the few extra grams (apx 35) between it any my other Giro helmets. Adjusting the helmet is super easy and I love the new Roc Loc and the sun glasses holder. Highly recommend!!!!

Reviewed 5/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice upgrade over the Synthe
by Joe
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, wa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My Giro Synthe helmet was ready to be replaced and I had been drooling over the Aether, so, at a big % off, it was great deal. The Aether has the MIPS technology built in to the helmet instead of being attached to the already made helmet, so the entire interior of the helmet rotates to absorb shock in case of a crash. This seems much better than the Synthe. Fit is very good. I've only had one ride in 85 heat and the ventilation was good.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a GREAT helmet
by Billmars04
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use the helmet on all my rides. It is light and comfortable, and fits my head without any undue pressure points. It works with all my Oakley sunglasses. I have used several winter caps under it, and with a twist of the knob it adjusts for a perfect fit.

I crashed once, but did not get to test the helmet as there was no head contact with the ground. I hope to not test the helmets crash worthiness.

Reviewed 3/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Helmet to date from Giro!
by ForGreaterGood
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii and Iowa
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ive been an avid cyclist for 35 years averaging 500 miles per weekalways with a helmet properly attached to my head! Over the years Ive had every top-end helmet produced by Giro. The Aether is by far the best helmet Ive had! While I cannot attest to its crash durability and protection, this helmet is very comfortable, easy to fit, and highly ventilated. In all previous models, I had to wear a headband to prevent sweat from getting into my eyes but not so with the Aether. Its air channeling is simply the best. For those who ride at night, a taillight and headlight can be attached to the helmet without interfering with the MIPS liner.

Reviewed 2/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet I've every owned
by BikerBoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Novato, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've worn Giro helmets for as long as I can remember, and the thing that is most outstanding is the fit. However, in recent years some of the retention materials of Giro helmets have become marginal and I find the useful life of these expensive helmets to become quite limited. Having said that, someone at Giro must have gotten the message because the Aether helmet is definitely built with much better quality and materials. The design of the helmet within a helmet is revolutionary and makes this not a superior safety device but more comfortable for long rides as well. I must say you pay dearly for these features, as this is more than I've ever paid (or hoped to pay) for a bicycle helmet. But considering all the safety and quality, I say it's pricey but definitely worth it.

Reviewed 2/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Giro helmet
by Anonymous

Very light and comfortable.

I went from a giro synthe mips that is about 4 years old to the aether mips. Both are size medium.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good design
by Bill
nj

Looks good and fits well. Others have said they fit too far down on the forehead but that is not an issue for me. Innovative MIPS design.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A wonderful helmet
by JohnB
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I spend a fair amount of time on my bike and find this helmet to be very comfortable. So much so, I don't even think about it being on my head. It is well made and easy to adjust. I like the technology behind it and will hopefully never have to rely on it! I would not hesitate to buy another one.

Reviewed 12/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Aether MIPS - Pretty slick helmet
by CB
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use this for road riding and am pleased with the helmet's performance (although I haven't tested it for it's intended purpose of crash protection). I like the ventilation at the front of the helmet, the air coming through the vents is very noticeable although it seems like the airflow over the back of my head is not quite as plentiful as on other helmets I own (Bell Zephyr, Giro Aeon). The fit is great for me (I wear a medium) and the roc loc system works well. This helmet seems to sit further down on my head than others and I like the additional coverage but it sits low enough that it interferes with one pair of sunglasses with larger frames. While I read they claimed it is less bulbous than it's predecessor, from a style perspective it still hews to the mushroom head look.

Reviewed 7/31/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The mips helmet advanced design to have, and hopefully never to utilize.
by Colorado mountain cyclist
Silverthorne, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have enjoyed the comfort of the Giro Foray mips helmet for sometime. However, when I recognized the technological advancement of the Giro Aether mips model, from a safety standpoint, the only logical conclusion was to purchase the Aether model.

Since purchasing the Aether model, I have worn this helmet dozens of times over hundreds of Colorado roads this summer. The Aether helmet is noticeably lighter and more comfortable than my Giro Foray helmet, yet fits snuggly with the adjustable wheel at the back of the helmet. As advertised, the flow through ventilation of the helmet has kept me cool, even on some hot afternoon rides.

When you read the advanced safety features of the Aether model mips design, you realize this is the design to wear, but hopefully never to depend upon. One problem with this helmet now I have to purchase the Aether helmet for the rest of my family cyclists.

Reviewed 7/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page