Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Aeon Helmet

GiroAeon Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(104 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(85)
(19)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Classic lightweight option
by GDS-PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I was debating between this and the Lazer Z1. I went with the Lazer because it fit my head just a little better. But I have nothing bad to say about the Giro. Its super light, great airflow and has a classic look that works for me!

Reviewed 4/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best
by dbnm
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico

I live in New Mexico. The weather is hot 9 months out of the year. This helmet provides terrific ventilation and is light enough not to aggravate a neck injury. Plus, it looks great.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Expensive, but worth it. Light as a feather.
by bumpermeat
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA

Excellent helmet, light as a feather on my big head. The new(er) Roc Loc 5 retention system is much, much better than previous models. It fits very well against my shaved head, and its adjustments allow me to wear varying thickness levels of neoprene skull caps underneath when it is cold. And, you will need to wear a skull cap underneath it when it's too cold for you as the air flow through this helmet is phenomenal. I expect this will be a huge improvement over every other previous helmet I have owned come summer (or late spring) here in CA when it's hot. The airflow should help keep my head cool when.

Also, it's far more aero than any other previous Giro or Kali helmet I've owned.

Reviewed 2/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet meets expectations as advertised
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
MI
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Likes - Lightweight and cool on a hot day. It is amazingly easy to adjust and is very comfortable. Dislikes - None

Reviewed 10/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
by Anonymous
denver

Bought to replace an atmos that was just getting old. Agree with others on the roc loc feeling less substantial, but no issues with adjustability or durability. Great fit and super light.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still the best helmet you can get.
by Pierre
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose CA

I have used the Giro Aeon for a few years. I thought it was time to update to a more recent helmet, so I tried the Kask Mojito and the Giro Synthe MIPS, the latter being the newest top-of-the-line from Giro. Both were at a huge discount after Thanksgiving so it was a good occasion.

- Kask Mojito fits nice, but the leather chin strap lacks flexibiliry. Also people mention that this helmet makes them sweat a lot, and I tend to sweat a lot, so this was a negative point

- Giro Synthe MIPS fits nice, and it has the latest technology.

HOWEVER both newer models weigh 60g more than the Giro Aeon (size L). My Giro Aeon is 250g, both Kask Mojito and Giro Synthe MIPS weigh 310g. This is 'only' 60g, but it is more than 20% heavier, and this makes a HUGE difference. It makes me notice the helmet much more on my head. So latest technology or not, I'm going to stay with the Giro Aeon for the time being.

Reviewed 1/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super light and cool helmet!
by Scarlet
Cycling Enthusiast
Sonoma County, CA

Exclusively road riding, it's warm here and my neck is ruined so having a super light helmet that's also very airy is great. Saving the 40 grams from my last helmet is definitely noticeable. Plus the on-sale price was unbelievable! I really like it!

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One of the Best Helmets ever.
by KMannix
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Florida

I have been a big fan of Giro helmets over the years. I have three of these Aeon helmets and they are very light and well ventilated. Giro sizes are consistent and seem to always fit well. In addition, I had a recent crash that resulted in a shoulder fracture and a bump on my head. The helmet held up well and no injury to my head. Thank you Giro. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 6/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, comfort, ventilation and light
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a second one in a different color. I have been using Aeon for the last couple of years and been extremely happy with all aspects of it. I have not crashed with it to report on its structure but have done so with it predecessor and it literally gave up its life for me. The pads are shaped and placed properly and direct the stream of sweat to the middle front. Ventilation is one of the critical elements of a helmet for me and Aeon does provide the required stream through the helmet without sacrificing the structure of the helmet. I have a big head and the large size is a great fit. I highly recommend it.

Reviewed 8/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Lid
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlotte, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

What's not to like? It's very light. Vented well for my tastes. And it works. I know bc I had an Aeon that protected my mellon in a serious crash. My head bounced on the road, about the temple area. Helmet cracked all the way through in 2 places...doing it's job!! Maybe a slight headache at the worst.

So, I needed a replacement and considered other options. But decided to get another Aeon, bc it's light, looks cool, and it worked for me. Hard to argue wthat. A little bulbous, but easily overlooked considering how nice it is to ride wit. Barely notice it's there, then when called into action, it works..(I may have said that already)

Reviewed 8/14/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What's your head worth?
by RoadYeti
Cycling Enthusiast
ColoradoUtah canyons

Always have had a great fit for my melon with Giro, starting with the original Ventoux(which got busted in a road race). Here to talk about it. Retention system, Roc Loc 5, easily adjustable even with cold weather gloves. Great ventilation hot days and adjusts to accommodate a head band or skull cap in cold weather.

Reviewed 2/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best hemet I have had... great fit, cool and looks good
by cjf
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester NY

I use this helmet for both road and mtb.... the last Giro I owned probably saved my life in a 25 mph road bike crash. Helmet was badly damaged but saved me from serious head injury. I place my trust in Giro helmets.

Reviewed 9/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My second Aeon and still love it
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Newport, RI

Like the way it fits and feels on a ride.

Reviewed 9/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light weight and Good ventilation
by RiverCity Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Normal, IL

I get enough ventilation (most of the time) to prevent sweat from going into my eyes.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Stay cool in the heat
by Anonymous
so cal

I have a ridge on the top of my head so finding a helmet is very difficult and this helmet fits great! It is also the coolest helmet I've ever had too. On those long hot summer days you can really feel the wind blowing through your hair.

Reviewed 3/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits like a glove
by RLX88
Cycling Enthusiast
Suisun, CA

ExcellentSuper Light weight.large vent for cooling.great price.so I bought another.

Reviewed 6/6/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet. Great fit, air flow, very light.
by Teds
Cycling Enthusiast
Florence, KY

Like appearance, weight, fit and comfort, light weight, paint, value. Don't like nothing

Reviewed 5/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet!
by Mike
San Francisco Bay Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great fit, sits nicely on head, yet provides plenty of ventilation. Great fit adjustment for straps.

Reviewed 5/4/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
really light!
by steveindanville
Danville, CA

Easy to adjust and fits fine. Needs more padding on the front-forehead but I'll work on it. Great price and delivery.

Reviewed 4/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
5 Star just perfect
by Charley
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Its the perfect helmet light and well ventilated. Highly recommended!

Reviewed 4/3/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page