Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Giro Aeon Helmet

GiroAeon Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(112 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(91)
(21)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(19%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great For Hot Days, But An Odd Quirk . . .
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA

This is a great helmet for the hot, humid summer days we experience here in SE Virginia. It has excellent ventilation, it's light and the large size fits my 59cm head quite nicely. However, after three outings I've noticed an odd quirk - a strange, whistling or humming sound. I'm not sure what to call it. A wind tunnel effect? There is something about the configuration of the lower side openings that channels the moving air in such a way as to produce a sometimes annoying whistling sound. At other times it's a low moan, like a cold wind in the winter time on the beach. I haven't been able to tune it out yet. Perhaps over time I'll be able to, but for now it's a bit of a bother.

Reviewed 9/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut

Very nice helmet. Lightweight and comfortable. Padding and adjustment straps are very good. Very happy with the lookstyle as well.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light weight and great ventilation
by Dominic
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC

I've used many Bell and Giro helmets over the past 34 years of cycling. The Aeon is the lightest I've worn and because it sits a bit above the top of your head air flow is excellent keeping me cool. I tested it today on a very humid day and usually my head sweats like crazy. The Aeon kept my head from sweating like it usually does with most other helmets. I didn't even have to wear a skull cap which I usually use to absorb sweat.

The Aeon is great for warmhumid climates. Wearing it during the winter might keep my head too cool. I will find out next winter.

Reviewed 7/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very lightweight and easy to adjust.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
The Villages, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got this because I was having some neck problems. This helmet is so light you hardly know it is on. It is also extremely easy to adjust.

Reviewed 7/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light and well ventilated
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area

Good sweat pads too.

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Helmet
by WiscoBiker
Competitive Racer
Madison, WI

Third Giro Aeon Helmet I have purchased and I find that they are a great value.

Reviewed 5/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So light and so comfortable
by Jarad
Colorado
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Needed to replace my old atmos after 8 years. This helmet is so comfortable and light its like it feels like Im not wearing anything. Love it!

Reviewed 5/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet meets expectations as advertised
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
MI
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Likes - Lightweight and cool on a hot day. It is amazingly easy to adjust and is very comfortable. Dislikes - None

Reviewed 10/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love this helmet. Incredibly comfortable and lets air flow well even on hottest days.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great helmet.

Reviewed 5/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, comfort, ventilation and light
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a second one in a different color. I have been using Aeon for the last couple of years and been extremely happy with all aspects of it. I have not crashed with it to report on its structure but have done so with it predecessor and it literally gave up its life for me. The pads are shaped and placed properly and direct the stream of sweat to the middle front. Ventilation is one of the critical elements of a helmet for me and Aeon does provide the required stream through the helmet without sacrificing the structure of the helmet. I have a big head and the large size is a great fit. I highly recommend it.

Reviewed 8/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Lid
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlotte, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

What's not to like? It's very light. Vented well for my tastes. And it works. I know bc I had an Aeon that protected my mellon in a serious crash. My head bounced on the road, about the temple area. Helmet cracked all the way through in 2 places...doing it's job!! Maybe a slight headache at the worst.

So, I needed a replacement and considered other options. But decided to get another Aeon, bc it's light, looks cool, and it worked for me. Hard to argue wthat. A little bulbous, but easily overlooked considering how nice it is to ride wit. Barely notice it's there, then when called into action, it works..(I may have said that already)

Reviewed 8/14/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Classic lightweight option
by GDS-PDX
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was debating between this and the Lazer Z1. I went with the Lazer because it fit my head just a little better. But I have nothing bad to say about the Giro. Its super light, great airflow and has a classic look that works for me!

Reviewed 4/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super light and cool helmet!
by Scarlet
Cycling Enthusiast
Sonoma County, CA

Exclusively road riding, it's warm here and my neck is ruined so having a super light helmet that's also very airy is great. Saving the 40 grams from my last helmet is definitely noticeable. Plus the on-sale price was unbelievable! I really like it!

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One of the Best Helmets ever.
by KMannix
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Florida

I have been a big fan of Giro helmets over the years. I have three of these Aeon helmets and they are very light and well ventilated. Giro sizes are consistent and seem to always fit well. In addition, I had a recent crash that resulted in a shoulder fracture and a bump on my head. The helmet held up well and no injury to my head. Thank you Giro. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 6/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best
by dbnm
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico

I live in New Mexico. The weather is hot 9 months out of the year. This helmet provides terrific ventilation and is light enough not to aggravate a neck injury. Plus, it looks great.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Expensive, but worth it. Light as a feather.
by bumpermeat
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent helmet, light as a feather on my big head. The new(er) Roc Loc 5 retention system is much, much better than previous models. It fits very well against my shaved head, and its adjustments allow me to wear varying thickness levels of neoprene skull caps underneath when it is cold. And, you will need to wear a skull cap underneath it when it's too cold for you as the air flow through this helmet is phenomenal. I expect this will be a huge improvement over every other previous helmet I have owned come summer (or late spring) here in CA when it's hot. The airflow should help keep my head cool when.

Also, it's far more aero than any other previous Giro or Kali helmet I've owned.

Reviewed 2/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What's your head worth?
by RoadYeti
Cycling Enthusiast
ColoradoUtah canyons

Always have had a great fit for my melon with Giro, starting with the original Ventoux(which got busted in a road race). Here to talk about it. Retention system, Roc Loc 5, easily adjustable even with cold weather gloves. Great ventilation hot days and adjusts to accommodate a head band or skull cap in cold weather.

Reviewed 2/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
by Anonymous
denver
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought to replace an atmos that was just getting old. Agree with others on the roc loc feeling less substantial, but no issues with adjustability or durability. Great fit and super light.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still the best helmet you can get.
by Pierre
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used the Giro Aeon for a few years. I thought it was time to update to a more recent helmet, so I tried the Kask Mojito and the Giro Synthe MIPS, the latter being the newest top-of-the-line from Giro. Both were at a huge discount after Thanksgiving so it was a good occasion.

- Kask Mojito fits nice, but the leather chin strap lacks flexibiliry. Also people mention that this helmet makes them sweat a lot, and I tend to sweat a lot, so this was a negative point

- Giro Synthe MIPS fits nice, and it has the latest technology.

HOWEVER both newer models weigh 60g more than the Giro Aeon (size L). My Giro Aeon is 250g, both Kask Mojito and Giro Synthe MIPS weigh 310g. This is 'only' 60g, but it is more than 20% heavier, and this makes a HUGE difference. It makes me notice the helmet much more on my head. So latest technology or not, I'm going to stay with the Giro Aeon for the time being.

Reviewed 1/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best hemet I have had... great fit, cool and looks good
by cjf
Cycling Enthusiast
Rochester NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this helmet for both road and mtb.... the last Giro I owned probably saved my life in a 25 mph road bike crash. Helmet was badly damaged but saved me from serious head injury. I place my trust in Giro helmets.

Reviewed 9/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page