X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Varia UT800 Smart Headlight

GarminVaria UT800 Smart Headlight(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(40 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(9)
(5)
(0)
(1)
(63%)
(23%)
(13%)
(0%)
(3%)
A very good choice, especially for Garmin Edge users
by Alchemyrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Kuala Lumpur
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the Garmin Varia UT800 Smart Headlight to replace my Garmin Varia HL500 Smart Headlight, which is now discontinued.

The HL500 was a very good headlight, but for one design flaw. The power button is made of a rubber-like material which degrades over time and eventually breaks off. This is the same design flaw that affected the Garmin Edge 100 bicycle computer.

The power button on the UT800 is much sturdier solid plastic. Just like the power button on the Edge 1030.

The UT800 emits a maximum of 800 lumens at the high setting. 400 lumens and 200 lumens modes are user selectable. Garmin says the 200 lumens mode provides 6 hours of lighting time. The UT800 also has two flashing modes.

The UT800 is certainly bright enough for the nighttime road riding that I do. I usually run the light on the low setting, only switching to high when there is no street lighting.

Which brings me to my favourite thing about the UT800. It can be turned on and off, and switched between modes from a Garmin Edge cycling computer. So no fumbling in the dark for the button on the UT800.

My minor gripe is with the locking ring mount used to attach the UT800 to the supplied out-front mount. If the locking ring is not aligned with the quarter-turn fitting on the out-front mount, the light will not be securely fixed to the out-front mount. There is no positive sign - like an audible or tactile click - to alert you that the UT800 is securely attached to the out-front mount. I found this out the hard way when my UT800 fell onto the road after I hit a couple of bumps.

To its credit, the UT800 survived its fall onto the tarmac with just a couple of scratches.

The UT800 is not the cheapest headlight, but it works as advertised. I think it is worth the price premium for the convenience of being able to control it from my Edge 1030.

Just make sure that locking ring is properly secured before you head out onto the road or trail.

Reviewed 1/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Product - Super Bright, But Some Pairing Difficulties
by MudBone
Cycling Enthusiast
Delaware Valley

Bought this light because the reviews online were solid, and importantly, it seamlessly mounts on the same Garmin Out Front mount (included in Varia box) that my Garmin 1030 bike computer does. The light performs exactly as it is advertised with multiple modes to accommodate both low light and daylight conditions. I mostly ride a high end road bike in daylight conditions on suburban roads, so the bright, flashing daylight mode is perfect to grab the attention of boneheaded motorists approaching me. Have only had the light for less than a month and roughly 15 hours of outdoor riding, but it has yet to need recharging, and is still throwing out intense light on the daylight flashing mode. The only issue that I have had with the the light is that it does not seem to pair with my Garmin 1030 as expected. Not a big deal, because I really only wanted the daylight flasher and Garmin Out Front mount option anyway.

Reviewed 4/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty Good
by AndyMc
Tucson AZ

As a light it works great. The battery life is great for flashing daytime which is primary use this time of year. The light feels heavy and that concerns me as it is mounted to expensive carbon bars. Getting the light attached to mount can be cumbersome at times. I debated with myself as to whether or not to keep the light and I am but I do have some buyers remorse.

Reviewed 4/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty Good
by AndyMc
Tucson AZ

As a light it works great. The battery life is great for flashing daytime which is primary use this time of year. The light feels heavy and that concerns me as it is mounted to expensive carbon bars. Getting the light attached to mount can be cumbersome at times. I debated with myself as to whether or not to keep the light and I am but I do have some buyers remorse.

Reviewed 4/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I Agree
by Dan
Philadelphia
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have to agree with many of the other reviewers. It's a nice light. It syncs up with your Garmin. It changes intensity depending on speed like it's supposed to but the battery life is not good for $100 light. I commute 45min to and from work. Going home is in the dark. After 5 minutes I lose 1 of the 5 bars on my battery life. After 15min I'm down 2 bars. When I'm 10min from home I get the warning flash indicating that the battery is low. It's just disappointing that it doesn't last longer. My L&M lights can get 2 days on a charge on high at 1000 lumens. If Garmin can get the battery to last longer, this is a home run.

Reviewed 12/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
perfect for a garmin setup
by jmc
Cycling Enthusiast
spokane, wa

needed a new bike headlight and wanted to get one that is compatible with my garmin edge 530. like the fact that it sits under the bike computer and off the handlebar. also, like on the sides it shows the illumination so you are not leaning over the handlbars to see what light mode you are in. it does work automatically and nice it shuts off automaticallty when you put the computer in rest mode. especially like the flashing mode while riding in the daytime. the battery deplete after about two hours.

Reviewed 12/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best light I have purchased
by carl
Cycling Enthusiast
ventnor nj

very visible , battery has a good life.Very stable on the bike.

Reviewed 4/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for a Garmin setup
by HO
Cycling Enthusiast
Detroit
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a very nice light, bright and well built. It also has a good battery reserve, lasting for multiple long rides in near-freezing weather. It is too expensive by itself, however. The price only makes sense if you have a Garmin set for it to integrate with. It can then change brightness, mode and distance based on speed and ambient light. I have an Edge 820, and the rear radar, and the full set works well and is worth the cost. Of course, the one problem is Garmin's tech issues (ridiculously clunky if not inept for a tech company), but once figured out (or worked around), it works well.

Reviewed 12/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light but....
by Anonymous
california
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride about 40 miles in the morning before the sun comes up and will say, this light is amazing with how bright it is and how the beam gets stronger the faster you peddle. With that said, I really wish the battery life was better. For the price, it's a bit of a headache to be riding in the dark and the light go out without warning. I charge it after every ride now but still, for as expensive as it is I probably would've bought something cheaper knowing what I know now

Reviewed 11/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best light out there!
by Mark Harris
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City, UT

This is a great headlight. the mounting to the underside of the out-front mount is fantastic as it removes connections of gear on your bars. The connectivity to my edge 530 is awesome. turns on automatically, adjusts the beam intensity for speed. Combine this with the Garmin rear view radar/tail light for the best possible set up. I thought this light was so good that i bought one for my wife as well. looks great. The windows which provide light to the sides is a great feature for visibility.

Reviewed 8/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A smart Headlight
by jboehlke
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

This is an awesome headlight and if you have a Garmin it will mount underneath the ahead mount saving prime real estate on your handlebar tops. Cannot go wrong, fantastic purchase, highly recommended.

Reviewed 11/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light for safety on the roac
by JErvin
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Valley, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This light performs and keeps me safe while on the road. I wish the battery lasted longer so that I could use the light in its full-on settings. I always use it in the daylight blinking mode. It lasts me then on my long rides.

It's been the best light though that I've ever used.

Reviewed 11/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
More realestate while being safe
by jboehlke
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is an awesome pairing. Secure undermount to your Garmin and saves valuable handlebar real estate. Not only great for dusk or evening commutes, it is always on when riding roads, I skip it for gravel riding as I do not ride early morning or dusk for gravel but an awesome safety measure in town, would not ride without it.

Reviewed 11/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love this light so much
by Anonymous
USA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Such high quality. I paired it with my Garmin 1030, so I can control it from the computer. I have it in a mount that fits in the stem-no more clutter on my handlebars! I am so happy.

Reviewed 10/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Light
by Ragemann
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Ive used this bike for about 1,000 miles in sunshine and dark morning rides. First the good, it is compact and mounts well to a GoPro style mount well. I have had to really synch it tight to keep it from slipping down when I hit bumps but as long as I do it works great. The beam at night is really bright and the road is well illuminated I can be seen and see very well. In daylight I use the flashing mode to be seen and to conserve battery. My riding buddys tell me its really visible from a long distance and the flash mode Really catches the eye, which is why I bought it and use it every ride. switching modes manually is reallyeasy with the large tactile button. My rides are 2-3 hours long and I have no battery problem with 1 hour steady and 2 hours flashing. I have not syncd with a cycle computer as mine was not compatible, yet. It takes a while to recharge and once fully charged slowly discharges over time. I charge mine after every ride and if I go a couple of days without use it will lose about 30% of its charge so I have to top off the charge the day of ride if I plan to go long. Hence the 4 not 5 stars. all in all, I would recommend this light.

Reviewed 11/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great white light!
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida

The UT 800 is bright and paired with my Edge 1030 Plus works seamlessly. I use it for night rides in trail mode and get 2.5 hours out of the batteries.

Reviewed 1/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light for commuting and road
by Neil
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver

The light is really nice. I use it mainly for bike paths and some road rding...mostly for visibility but also to light up the road. It is very adequate for that and the illumination is good. I like how it integrates with my mount at the bottom.

Reviewed 10/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very bright light, long battery life, variable intensity and flash.
by Cyco Grand Dad.
Cycling Enthusiast
South Central Pa.Mountains and hills.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm 72 ride 18 mph in Pa. mountains and hills 50-90 miles a week. It's heavy, not sure of the weight but heavier than my last light. It is very bright, the mount allows for my Garmin computer to mount on top and aim the light downward so as not to blind on coming drivers. Don't want to give cyclists a bad name..but I can reach down and pull it up if someone is pulling out or not watching out for me. It gets their attention quickly.

Reviewed 8/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well; great for daytime running light and getting caught out past sunset.
by Jpn931
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, V A
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Gets the attention of drivers in urban areas. I have a smaller front light for daytime, but I have used this light in more congested areas. Also works well at night.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ok on bar not on helmet
by Adur
Claremont

I was hoping I could use in my helmet but way too heavy, sometimes solid isn't sold and I returned it

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page