X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Varia UT800 Smart Headlight

GarminVaria UT800 Smart Headlight(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(53 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(14)
(6)
(1)
(2)
(57%)
(26%)
(11%)
(2%)
(4%)
Previous Page
Pretty Good
by AndyMc
Tucson AZ

As a light it works great. The battery life is great for flashing daytime which is primary use this time of year. The light feels heavy and that concerns me as it is mounted to expensive carbon bars. Getting the light attached to mount can be cumbersome at times. I debated with myself as to whether or not to keep the light and I am but I do have some buyers remorse.

Reviewed 4/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent light
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to attach to the Garmin computer dual mount without taking up space on the handlebars. Also, very easy to turn on andor adjust mode while riding. It has a reasonable operating time before required recharging. It is also water-resistant as I found out when I was caught in a rainstorm. The headlight continued to function properly while my taillight (another brand) was not able to handle the deluge. However, the Varia is more expensive than other headlights of similar wattage.

Reviewed 8/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Good light but not perfect
by Dr. Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
FT. Lauderdale FL

Downgraded to 4 stars because the connection with the Garmin head unit can be finicky. At times one needs to remove the sensor and reinstall. Other than that great light.

Reviewed 1/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A smart Headlight
by jboehlke
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is an awesome headlight and if you have a Garmin it will mount underneath the ahead mount saving prime real estate on your handlebar tops. Cannot go wrong, fantastic purchase, highly recommended.

Reviewed 11/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light for safety on the roac
by JErvin
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Valley, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This light performs and keeps me safe while on the road. I wish the battery lasted longer so that I could use the light in its full-on settings. I always use it in the daylight blinking mode. It lasts me then on my long rides.

It's been the best light though that I've ever used.

Reviewed 11/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
More realestate while being safe
by jboehlke
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is an awesome pairing. Secure undermount to your Garmin and saves valuable handlebar real estate. Not only great for dusk or evening commutes, it is always on when riding roads, I skip it for gravel riding as I do not ride early morning or dusk for gravel but an awesome safety measure in town, would not ride without it.

Reviewed 11/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love this light so much
by Anonymous
USA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Such high quality. I paired it with my Garmin 1030, so I can control it from the computer. I have it in a mount that fits in the stem-no more clutter on my handlebars! I am so happy.

Reviewed 10/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light for commuting and road
by Neil
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver

The light is really nice. I use it mainly for bike paths and some road rding...mostly for visibility but also to light up the road. It is very adequate for that and the illumination is good. I like how it integrates with my mount at the bottom.

Reviewed 10/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very bright light, long battery life, variable intensity and flash.
by Cyco Grand Dad.
Cycling Enthusiast
South Central Pa.Mountains and hills.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm 72 ride 18 mph in Pa. mountains and hills 50-90 miles a week. It's heavy, not sure of the weight but heavier than my last light. It is very bright, the mount allows for my Garmin computer to mount on top and aim the light downward so as not to blind on coming drivers. Don't want to give cyclists a bad name..but I can reach down and pull it up if someone is pulling out or not watching out for me. It gets their attention quickly.

Reviewed 8/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Garmin has put out a finished great product this time.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington D.C.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After 6 month of use i really like this product. The only thing I could knock would be light adjustable angle pincher screw mount. Sometimes when going over rough road the light will loosen and change angles. I do not want to over tighten it do to the mount is plastic. Garmin should go to a grooved lock design that will stay put.

Reviewed 6/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light for long rides
by Ardul
kansas City, MO
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Long battery. Perfectly paired with garmin computer one holder for all.

Reviewed 1/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light that works wth Garmin
by Bryan
Cycling Enthusiast
Rogers AR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Run this light on my road and gravel bike. Easy to sync with my Garmin and like how the speed effects the brightness of the light saving power. I run it in flash mode during the day and its bright.

Reviewed 11/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the headlight
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
San Dimas, CA

Overall it works great. Plenty of features that are easy to set up. Love that it is paired with my bike computer. It is seamless when operating the light with the computer

Reviewed 5/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bright, convenient, good battery life, takes up no room on your handlebar
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area CA

The best thing about this light is that it doesn't clutter your handlebar with another gadget, but fits under a Garmin in a dual mount. I don't ride at night, but went to Europe and felt comfortable in the long, dark tunnels.

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best light I have purchased
by carl
Cycling Enthusiast
ventnor nj

very visible , battery has a good life.Very stable on the bike.

Reviewed 4/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good, not great
by Anonymous

Nice beam, but there are some Bontrager and Light & Motion lights that have better ones. Good battery life, but when you use the smart life features the battery can burn through in 1.5 hours or less. Not incredibly expensive, but also not a great deal.

Reviewed 3/9/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Look elsewhere
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Francisco Area
7 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

On its highest setting you'll be lucky to get 45 mins of light. Probably less. But wait there's more... when you sync the light up to your Garmin cycling computer using the smart technology be prepared to have the cycling computer completely freeze up and require a factory reset. That's right..... you'll need to re-program all your screens, personal data, etc... On the plus side, it looks nice.

Reviewed 2/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great light when combined with head unit
by RideAK
Cycling Enthusiast
Anchorage, AK

I have the light mounted to my helmet using a GoPro system. The light works well and the battery life has been very good. When connected to a Garmin head unit, the light will turn onoff automatically and will get brighter with speed. Light coverage is good for the trails I am riding. I generally have a light on the bars plus this one on the helmet.

Reviewed 2/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great white light!
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida

The UT 800 is bright and paired with my Edge 1030 Plus works seamlessly. I use it for night rides in trail mode and get 2.5 hours out of the batteries.

Reviewed 1/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well; great for daytime running light and getting caught out past sunset.
by Jpn931
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, V A
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Gets the attention of drivers in urban areas. I have a smaller front light for daytime, but I have used this light in more congested areas. Also works well at night.

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page