Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Edge 820

GarminEdge 820(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(41 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(11)
(1)
(2)
(2)
(61%)
(27%)
(2%)
(5%)
(5%)
Meets and exceeds expectations
by Jesterrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Illinois
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using my Garmin Edge 820 for about six weeks, including a trip in the Canadian Rockies. I have found the Edge 820 to be very accurate in the data that it provides (speed, distance, heart rate, elapse time, course, altitude), and very reliable. The battery life is better than my Edge 800. I do not usually answer my phone or respond to messages while I am riding, but the blue tooth connection to my smart phone is very convenient in telling me who is messaging or calling me, thus allowing me to answer or respond if I need to.

Reviewed 9/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better but still a few bugs
by TC
Cycling Enthusiast
nj

I may have reviewed this already but I don't see it and now I have been using it for about a month. I agree with people that say the touch screen is not something for Garmin to be proud of. It can take several taps to get it to respond. It, therefore, is not up to date in this technology. That said, it otherwise works extremely well. I am not sure it is worth the upgrade to a so-so touchpad from the button 520 model, but it is very good. The one thing to note is that the beeper (if you are using a Garmin Varia with it) is quite faint. Use the included handlebar mount and I can't hear it at all. However, use it with a 3rd party mount that is metal and open in the back and I can hear the beep every time. Another minor problem is how long it takes for the incline percent to measure correctly. Not that important but it should respond better. Overall, despite that, very happy with it. Also, there are many display options to make it better set up for you.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
How great it is!
by J. F.
Michigan

I absolutely love my new Garmin 820. The pinpoint accuracy, all the available readings, the ease of setting it up and moving from one bike to the other, the Bluetooth and the map is great... just need to get used to a small map.

Reviewed 1/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not up to Garmin Standards
by Jetdiesel
Competitive Racer
Spokane, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Transitioned from Garmin Edge 510 to this 820. Hasn't been a smooth transititon. Syncing via BT to iphone is clugey and inconsistnt, syncing with Garmin Connect, much the same. Have twice satarted a ride after pulling 820 off charger, only to have it die 3 minutes into ride. Apparently when synced to BT, it may not power down, or apears to power off then doesnt fully, so continues to run down-even connected to charger! Calling Garmin service support has been a nightmarish experience as well. In the past, customer support has been GREAT, but current hold times are in the hours. They may or may not call you back with experienced support. Thank goodness for google and you tube. Unless the 820 improves, likely my last Garmin device.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great investment and very easy to use
by Anonymous
Bend, Oregon

Very user friendly,easy to download routes and the turn by turn instructions are easy to read and follow

Reviewed 7/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great computer
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Garmin 820 meets all my expectations,

Reviewed 9/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new 820 is just pefect for my cycling training-
by USPSTREK
Cycling Enthusiast
COLORADO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Moving up from my Garmin 500 to the Garmin 820 is night and day, I only have more pros than cons since I only had it only 2 months in use, but its definitely technology in the right direction.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent GPS
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you're as tied into Garmin for your training needs like I am, then this is a great addition. The data and its integration with Garmin Connect and other sites is great. The only downside is the touchscreen is not that great. The 800 was better but the 800 doesn't integrate with Varia Vision

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to operate Garmin
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

While smaller than the 1000 it has all the features you need and easy to operate. The buttons are easy to access, touch screen works well and easy to read.

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Display is nice, but I wish it was the size of the 800.
by jimifan73
Competitive Racer
Indiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had a 510 that worked fine but I wanted to upgrade. The upgrades were the color touch screen, improved maps, and a few minor software things. The display is good, but essentially the same size as what I had. IMHO the 1000 is too big and the 510 is too small. The 800 seemed to be Goldilocks, but for some reason Garmin didn't stick with it.

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just what I was looking for
by Old and in the way
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee

I purchased the 820 to replace my 800 with map card. It is a little smaller and I like the new features like how it links to my iPhone. It came with an out front mount which was a nice touch. I like lots of data as I helps me focus on something other than how tired I am.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Updated with crisper controls and more features.
by Flash Bazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I previously owned a Garmin Edge 1000. I use the computer for training rides and racing - occasionally venturing out on long exploring rides. The map on the 820, although smaller, works just as well as the 1000 ever did. Sharp resolution. And the control buttons on the 820 are much more crisp and positive. I also prefer the smaller size.

Reviewed 5/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid product
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Traded up, finally, after years with the 500. Works well but with two minor quibbles. First, the screen is more difficult to see in bright light. And secondly, when wiping sweat droplets off the screen, I sometimes inadvertently change pages, which can then be difficult to swipe, especially on the fly. That alone makes me almost prefer buttons instead. A little pricey compared to competitors, but okay if you catch a sale.

Reviewed 3/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice, full featured compact unit
by Kbogey
Cycling Enthusiast
Surrey, BC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I really like this unit so far. It has a nice, compact size that blends nicely with the front of my bike, it picks up gps signals almost instantly and has been very reliable so far.

The mapping works well but don't buy this unit if you're big on mapping because it is simply too small. Go for the Edge 1000 instead.

Reviewed 2/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good navigation in a small package
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Francisco
9 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I also have an old Edge 500 (bombproof!) and an Edge 1000. The new 820 has a longer battery life than the 1000. The navigation is of course not quite as visible, given the 820's smaller screen size, however, it still navigates well...even on dirt trails. They have improved the software, with the latest update allowing 3 different 'sensitivity' settings for the touch screen.

Reviewed 1/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Don
southern california
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love the Edge 820. This has to be the best bike gps on the market. It's calculates everything, gives u a map of ur rides, and when ur friends get 1 u can challenge and have fun with them. I never thought my friends would get one because there so expensive but one did and now we try and beat each other's times when we're not riding together. So, If ur thinkin abt getting one, get it. U won't regret it.

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Touch screen is great!
by PAA Wine guy
Montebello, CA

Returned the Edge 520 go the Edge 820, both worked fine, however I wanted the touchscreen. This was an upgrade from the Edge 500.

Saving your data when paired to your cell phone is fast, getting you kudos from friends on Strava.

Im still figuring out all of the features it did cause an alert to my emergency contact when I stopped for an adjustment.

Love my Garmin.

Reviewed 2/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great route planning functions when it works, but with frustrating flaw
by DGonzales
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use(d) the 820 Edge (and previously a 520) to plan routes on my computer using Ridewithgps and then transferring them to my garmin device. Also to log my rides by transferring data back to my computer. Unfortunately, the Garmin devices have a persistent problem communicating with PCs, which is well documented in online forums. After a while, the PC will not recognize the Garmin when it is plugged in. I returned my 520 twice ($99 each time) for replacement refurbished ones. The 820 is approximately 6 months old and I have already returned it once for a replacement. The support page has a procedure for fixing the problem, but it does not work consistently. I really like the thing when it works, but it is useless to me when it doesn't.

Reviewed 1/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome product
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great product features. Good size, combines touchscreen functionality of garmin 1000 with the size of the 520. Rides upload immediately to StravaGarmin Connect via your phone or WiFi, you can see incoming texts and calls. Touchscreen though was abit of a setback. Abit difficult to use especially when riding. Does not perform like the smartphone screens to which so many of us have become accustomed. But overall, Im very pleased with the product, still a recommended buy.

Reviewed 1/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous

Great product from garmin

Reviewed 1/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page