Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Garmin Edge 820

GarminEdge 820(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(9)
(1)
(1)
(2)
(64%)
(25%)
(3%)
(3%)
(6%)
How great it is!
by J. F.
Michigan

I absolutely love my new Garmin 820. The pinpoint accuracy, all the available readings, the ease of setting it up and moving from one bike to the other, the Bluetooth and the map is great... just need to get used to a small map.

Reviewed 1/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid product
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC

Traded up, finally, after years with the 500. Works well but with two minor quibbles. First, the screen is more difficult to see in bright light. And secondly, when wiping sweat droplets off the screen, I sometimes inadvertently change pages, which can then be difficult to swipe, especially on the fly. That alone makes me almost prefer buttons instead. A little pricey compared to competitors, but okay if you catch a sale.

Reviewed 3/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Touch screen is great!
by PAA Wine guy
Montebello, CA

Returned the Edge 520 go the Edge 820, both worked fine, however I wanted the touchscreen. This was an upgrade from the Edge 500.

Saving your data when paired to your cell phone is fast, getting you kudos from friends on Strava.

Im still figuring out all of the features it did cause an alert to my emergency contact when I stopped for an adjustment.

Love my Garmin.

Reviewed 2/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome product
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great product features. Good size, combines touchscreen functionality of garmin 1000 with the size of the 520. Rides upload immediately to StravaGarmin Connect via your phone or WiFi, you can see incoming texts and calls. Touchscreen though was abit of a setback. Abit difficult to use especially when riding. Does not perform like the smartphone screens to which so many of us have become accustomed. But overall, Im very pleased with the product, still a recommended buy.

Reviewed 1/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great route planning functions when it works, but with frustrating flaw
by DGonzales
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use(d) the 820 Edge (and previously a 520) to plan routes on my computer using Ridewithgps and then transferring them to my garmin device. Also to log my rides by transferring data back to my computer. Unfortunately, the Garmin devices have a persistent problem communicating with PCs, which is well documented in online forums. After a while, the PC will not recognize the Garmin when it is plugged in. I returned my 520 twice ($99 each time) for replacement refurbished ones. The 820 is approximately 6 months old and I have already returned it once for a replacement. The support page has a procedure for fixing the problem, but it does not work consistently. I really like the thing when it works, but it is useless to me when it doesn't.

Reviewed 1/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous

Great product from garmin

Reviewed 1/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far loving it.
by Anonymous

Like the graphs the way ot looks on the bike

Plus easy to navagate.

Reviewed 1/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice upgrade
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
08033

All computers seem overpriced since upgrades are needed more often than I would like. Watch for sales. Others have complained about the sensitivity of the touch screen but it seems just right to me including when using gloves. The stop and onoff buttons are located on the bottomside to prevent accidental touches. Garmin seems to continue to lead all others in the field.

Reviewed 1/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new 820 is just pefect for my cycling training-
by USPSTREK
Cycling Enthusiast
COLORADO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Moving up from my Garmin 500 to the Garmin 820 is night and day, I only have more pros than cons since I only had it only 2 months in use, but its definitely technology in the right direction.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent GPS
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you're as tied into Garmin for your training needs like I am, then this is a great addition. The data and its integration with Garmin Connect and other sites is great. The only downside is the touchscreen is not that great. The 800 was better but the 800 doesn't integrate with Varia Vision

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to operate Garmin
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

While smaller than the 1000 it has all the features you need and easy to operate. The buttons are easy to access, touch screen works well and easy to read.

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Display is nice, but I wish it was the size of the 800.
by jimifan73
Competitive Racer
Indiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had a 510 that worked fine but I wanted to upgrade. The upgrades were the color touch screen, improved maps, and a few minor software things. The display is good, but essentially the same size as what I had. IMHO the 1000 is too big and the 510 is too small. The 800 seemed to be Goldilocks, but for some reason Garmin didn't stick with it.

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Just what I was looking for
by Old and in the way
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee

I purchased the 820 to replace my 800 with map card. It is a little smaller and I like the new features like how it links to my iPhone. It came with an out front mount which was a nice touch. I like lots of data as I helps me focus on something other than how tired I am.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Updated with crisper controls and more features.
by Flash Bazbo
Competitive Racer
Middle Tennessee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I previously owned a Garmin Edge 1000. I use the computer for training rides and racing - occasionally venturing out on long exploring rides. The map on the 820, although smaller, works just as well as the 1000 ever did. Sharp resolution. And the control buttons on the 820 are much more crisp and positive. I also prefer the smaller size.

Reviewed 5/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good but not great
by Anonymous
Little Rock, AR

I've had the 820 for about a year now and here are my thoughts.

Things it does well

Connect to a bunch of sensors flawlessly and easily, connect to phone via BT much better than my Garmin 510, group connect works well, navigation works well and workout screens are ok. Connect IQ apps for training peaks is very nice to have.

What I don't like

The touchscreen sensitivity annoys the hell out of me and if the 520 had group connect I would never have bought the 820.

Reviewed 12/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good but not great
by Anonymous
Little Rock, AR

I've had the 820 for about a year now and here are my thoughts.

Things it does well

Connect to a bunch of sensors flawlessly and easily, connect to phone via BT much better than my Garmin 510, group connect works well, navigation works well and workout screens are ok. Connect IQ apps for training peaks is very nice to have.

What I don't like

The touchscreen sensitivity annoys the hell out of me and if the 520 had group connect I would never have bought the 820.

Reviewed 12/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Everything you need and more.
by Anonymous

Great unit. Customizing data screens is easy and can be changed mid-ride. Havent had to use navagation, but tested it out on local route and was very easy to use. Touch screen works good and I added screen protector and still works good.

Reviewed 12/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Significant Upgrade from the 810 well designed touch screen, super sensor connections, more intuitive menus
by PDXjohn
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I'm not a techie, so the fact that I could set up on my own without instructions says a lot. I love the voice navigation via iPhone, map has section with turn-by-turn directions, courses work well and the ability to put in a destination and the app guides you there is pretty great. A must-have for anyone who wants a very usable bike toycomputer )

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Significant Upgrade from the 810 well designed touch screen, super sensor connections, more intuitive menus
by PDXjohn
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I'm not a techie, so the fact that I could set up on my own without instructions says a lot. I love the voice navigation via iPhone, map has section with turn-by-turn directions, courses work well and the ability to put in a destination and the app guides you there is pretty great. A must-have for anyone who wants a very usable bike toycomputer )

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Small with big features
by JC_NJCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
New Jersey

This is my 4th Garmin device going back to the 705 and all of them arewere very good. This newest one (for me) tops them all with all its features and connect options including being able to connect to your phone and to other Garmin devices. Maps are also very intuitive and has never given me any issues.

Reviewed 11/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page