X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Edge 530 Bundle

GarminEdge 530 Bundle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(163 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(111)
(39)
(7)
(2)
(4)
(68%)
(24%)
(4%)
(1%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Happy I upgraded
by Damonpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Review for Garmin Edge 530

Upgraded from Edge 130 and very happy.

Able to move seamlessly from my trainer to my road bike with different profiles. (Original edge 130 does not allow this).

Screen much larger than 130.

Love that it uploads my ride via WiFi on trainer rides. When I get home from a ride it seems I have to link via phone to Garmin Connect instead.

Haven't taken advantage of climb pro yet because I typically don't download routes.

Still wonder whether touch screen would be better, but I wear full finger gloves much of the year, so that might be problematic with touchscreen.

I did buy a silicone cover on Amazon in case I drop it as the glass is otherwise unprotected. The Garmin cover is about double the cost of others.

Reviewed 6/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
AWESOME, FANTASTIC, GREAT! I LOVE IT.
by Retired HPD Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, NV
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

The Garmin Edge 520 Plus has been the most important item I have purchased for my bicycle. I ride around 16 miles a day, and I has improved my skill and speed on the bike. I love that it keeps a record of every ride so that I can track my progress. I also like that I can read incoming texts while riding.

Unfortunately I had an accident one dark morning on a isolated bike trail, where I dropped a chain, cracked my carbon fiber frame, and injured my right knee. When I came to a stop the Garmin sent an emergency text to my contacts, alerting them I had an accident, and before I could get up from the ground I received a phone call from one of them. It was really reassuring that I could get help if I was total disabled in a crash. I'm riding again and will always have my Garmin with me.

I highly recommend other bicyclist get a Garmin Edge 520 Plus, because it could save your life.

Reviewed 11/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One Great Upgrade
by BruceCurt
Cycling Enthusiast
Saratoga, NY
Review for Garmin Edge 530

This was an upgrade from an old Edge 500 and I have to say that the difference is like night and day. The unit is so much more customizable, has many more features and color graphics. Like the 500 you can add screens and format them as you wish, but it also has modes for a road bike, a trainer or a mountain bike right out of the box. Pair it with a set of power meter pedals and you'll be overloaded with data during and after your ride. Then when you're done with your ride the 530 provides you an evaluation of your effort and provides a summary. Brilliant!

Reviewed 5/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Unit and package price
by pdep52
Cycling Enthusiast
So Jo, UT
Review for Garmin Edge 530 MTN Bundle

I went from an edge 510 to this and couldn't be happier with it. I haven't ridden on the road with it yet so I can't speak for how the road mapping works, but on the trails, it is awesome. It has the trails preloaded on the device so it tells you what trails are coming up at as you approach splits in the trail. That means no more stopping to use the trailforks app on my phone to make sure I am going on the right path for new trails I haven't ridden. One thing my 510 has that I haven't figured out on the 530 is the ability to label specific bikes. I'm not saying it doesn't have it for sure, I just haven't figured out how to do it or not does have it. I ride MTB, road, fat, tt, and cross and have sensors on all my bikes. On the 510 I would select which bike it was and the sensors would sink up as long as I didn't forget to do it before I started the ride. Speed was always recorded at least by GPS, and by the sensor if I had one on that specific bike, if I forgot to select the bike it would recognize the cadence or power sensors for example and wouldn't record that data. So far what I have noticed on the 530 is the bike choices are set up more like genres like road, MTB, gravel, etc. I am hoping that since I have paired all the various sensors to the unit that it will automatically connect to the sensors once I get going. It is winter now so I am only riding my fat bike so I haven't been able to determine if that is the case. I will admit that I haven't invested much time into playing around with it because I just assumed it would work like the 510, well it doesn't so I need to put some time into learning more about it. The Bluetooth seems to have better functionality than the 510 especially with call and text notifications.

Reviewed 2/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice head unit
by Anonymous
NYC
Review for Garmin Edge 830

Great upgrade from the 520 which only fault was battery life. Typical Garmin learning curve needed.

Reviewed 6/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Get the Edge
by AML Pro Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Burlingame, CA
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus

My new Garmin Edge 520 Plus is my third Garmin device.

As far as I am concerned, Garmin is the only way to go. You can get any and all ride information that you could possibly imagine. And I download this direct to my Strava account. This is a great computer, and I strongly recommend it.

Reviewed 5/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Many good features compacted nicely
by Anonymous
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus

Enough features for this novice cyclist. User guide could do better for linking speed & cadence sensors but after-market on-line help is available and very helpful.

Reviewed 6/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks great on my bike.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New England
Review for Garmin Edge 530

Very stylish. Loaded with lots of stuff I'll probably never use. I believe that Garmin is phasing out support for 500 so I decided to upgrade to the 530. I had great success with the Garmin 500. It had just the right amount of basic functions. The 530 has all the 500 has and lots more, more than I really need. I can link the 530 to my IPhone and get my ride results immediately. That I like. It's a little bigger and heavier, but it has a very nice look on the bike.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
awesome device!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
oregon
Review for Garmin Edge 830

great stats and trailforks maps....what else do you need?

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the routing and data
by Carey
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
Review for Garmin Edge 530

I've had a Garmin 500 for some time, about 5 years, which has worked just fine with no issues. But... the 530 gives me so much more, especially nice is the routing. Yet then there are the other stats, training options and status updates which are great too. And simply put, I don't mind the setup even though it takes a little time to figure out. I've even configured the Activity Profiles individually by bike (4) as well as for the specific activities such as Indoor Training, so I can break out the data more easily.

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Significant Improvement over the 820
by FuelFool
Competitive Racer
Blue Ridge Mountains, NC
Review for Garmin Edge 830

Believe it or not, I had still been using my trusty old 500 because I so disliked the 820. It was difficult to read in bright sunlight and it constantly changed pages and settings when I dripped sweat on it no matter how I tried to tweak the settings! A friend implored me to get a new 830, assuring me that it was vastly improved over the old 820. I took his advice and must admit that he was right. Not only is the screen noticeably larger, it is also easier to read in bright sunlight. The touchscreen is way more usable and it boots up three times faster. The sweat-dripping thing is still a problem, however. I'm either going to have to quit working so hard, or reposition the unit so it is more out of the way.

Reviewed 4/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great features - almost too many
by VeloSteve
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey, California
Review for Garmin Edge 830
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

First of all I'm a tough rater. I don't give five stars unless something is nearly perfect, so don't take 4 stars as a bad sign. This is a great computer overall.

First, some positives. This computer does everything I could ask for. Strava live segments work well, though sometimes segment starts appear when I'm just passing on an adjacent road or trail. Pairing power meters and other devices is seamless. and the data quality is very good. I have the system set to upload rides automatically when I hit the stop button, and they uploads are done faster than my garage door can open. The screen may not be like a top-of-the line phone, but it's a huge upgrade from any bike computer I have had before. The customizable data screens are old news, but really useful, and easy to configure once you get through the first time.

On the negative side, Garmin's software has a few weak spots. At first the computer battery totally drained several times. This wasn't exactly a battery life problem. The computer was getting into a state where it looked off but was actually using full power. Getting the beta firmware solved this. Oddly, the improved firmware hasn't been rolled out to production, though months have passed.

Another one-time problem was updates to the GPS software. It auto-updated during a ride, causing about half of the ride to lose data. Not the end of the world, but it was disconcerting since it was only my 2nd ride or so.

Smaller issues crash detection is a nice idea, but I have triggered it falsely a couple of times, once while simply accelerating from a stop light. I'm not THAT fast. Sorry, everyone, I'm not going to crash myself intentionally to see if it works in that case. The sharp turn warnings have never been useful. The tone either comes after you have already passed the apex, or just before when it would be unsafe to look down to read the message.

This is not really a pro or con, but just be aware that some functions are several levels deep in the menu system. The touch feature is generally very good, but some things may be nearly impossible when flying down a rough road or trail.

Reviewed 5/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All you need in one compact unit.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Ohio
Review for Garmin Edge 530
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I upgraded to the 530 because I appreciated it's functionality over my older 520. Lots of training dynamics data, maps galore should you want to consult them, and an easy-to-read screen. I prefer a smaller display than the 1030 range, more compact in cockpit and lighter. Good visual interface with Garmin Varia radar. Only drawback is that the battery may require more frequent recharging, depending how many features you activate.

Reviewed 6/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid, compact, do-it all bike computer
by HalloweenEagleBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Swedesboro, NJ
Review for Garmin Edge 530
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

The Edge 530 has been a great addition to my cycling. With the integration w Garmin Connect, its very easy to create training workouts, custom routes, and also more detailed performance stats from each of my rides. I've used it for both road, gravel, and mountain biking and its well suited for each discipline. The battery life is solid. I've only done 1 longer (5 hours) ride with it, but had no concerns of it dying somewhere along the way. Normally, I use it for several 60-90 minute rides a week and typically only charge it once every other week. It integrates seamlessly with all of my sensors (garmin speed and cadence), heart rate strap (garmin chest strap), and lights (garmin varia headlight, garmin varia radar). It has changed my cycling experience. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that periodically there are some small annoyances like auto downloads restarting your ride, but these are few and far between.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great cycling computer and a nice bundle for MTB
by Joe H
Cycling Enthusiast
San Rafael, CA
Review for Garmin Edge 530 MTN Bundle

The Edge 530 has been excellent--it provides really usable data, the ability to customize screens to give me just what I want to see while I'm riding, and easy connectivity with HR strap and my trainer when I use it indoors. It has been an excellent training tool and a way to log my workouts, let my family know where I am on the trail, and more. The bundle gave me everything I needed to outfit three bikes--my mountain bike (with the MTB-specific mount) as well as a road bike and my tri bike.

Reviewed 3/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great
by Sherry
Nebraska
Review for Garmin Edge 830 Bundle

I like this product. It does pretty much everything I would want except serve pizza!

Reviewed 5/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good choice if you don't need the latest Garmin tech
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus

Replaced my 10 year old Garmin 800 Edge with this unit. works fine! I do miss the swipe and touch capability of the 800....but not the 800 price. Does all you expect a Garmin head unit to do. the bluetooth link up to the Iphone is nice - no more running to the laptop to upload data. comes with the incident notification feature - which does work, based on personal experience. A good value if you want a Garmin unit and are willing to use some slightly older tech.

Reviewed 1/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Huge upgrade from 820
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA
Review for Garmin Edge 830
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used a Garmin 820 for years and the 830 is a huge upgrade. The screen is much more responsive, the battery life is so much better and the screen is sharper. If you like the 820 you will love the 830.

Reviewed 12/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good size & battery life
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Garmin Edge 530
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

So far so good after a month. No problem using my 4yr old speed/cadence sensor & quickly find GPS. Customizing data screens can be tedious but you get use to it. Nice to be alerted that a sharp curve was ahead. Can't wait to get a smart trainer to pair to and re-ride a previous course.

Reviewed 4/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality piece of equipment
by MattO.
C L E
Review for Garmin Edge 530

I mainly purchased this for navigational purposes, but also use it on local rides. Interface is user friendly and easy to get accustom to. Climb profile is a neat touch! Navigation has been pretty spot on. Happy with the purchase

Reviewed 4/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page