X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Edge 530 Bundle GPS Computer

GarminEdge 530 Bundle GPS Computer(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(198 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(135)
(47)
(10)
(2)
(4)
(68%)
(24%)
(5%)
(1%)
(2%)
Previous Page
Much better over other competitor GPS units
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Fairfax, VA
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

I was skeptical about moving to a Garmin from my existing GPS since all of my other cycling friends are not using Garmin. After making the leap to Garmin I am very satisfied with the touch screen, the interface with Garmin Connect, reminders for hydrating, weather forecast, and ease of linking routes from other apps. At first it took some time getting used to the interface and setting it up, which would be expected for going to a new product. I do love the bluetooth interface with my Shimano di2 where I can use my shifter buttons to navigate between the different screens. So far I've ridden about 1000 miles with the unit and it has saved me with its re-routing feature whenever I get lost on a solo ride. Definitely a life saver.

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bike computer I ever owned
by DaveZ
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

Great bike computer with many new functions. I really like the climbpro as you get all the etails of the climb and know how much longer you have to go in the climb. Please note that you must be following a pre-loaded course for climbpro to be enabled. Wish it would work on a new ride where I'm doing a climb for first time and don't have the course loaded in. The GPS is very accurate and works well. Several feature that have been flaky for me are the livetracker and incident detection. The livetracker sometimes notifies my contacts but not always, not sure why. I tried the test for incident detector and it does not work.

I paired my 530 with cadence/speed and HR monitor(all ant) with no problems. Recently added the Varia radar and love it as I'm notified of cars approaching from behind. All in all a great computer and well worth the price.

Reviewed 9/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well, great battery life and GPS connectivity. Does the job I need it to do
by Michael
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

I am a denizen of the Garmin universe, having purchased two Garmin running watches, track efforts on Garmin Connect, including cycling. Purchased Garmin 530 mainly for navigation for organized gravel rides and travel. Tried using GPS on my iphone and it was less than optimal primarily due to poor reception and poor battery life. Enter Garmin 530, so far have been very happy. There is a bit of a learning curve but am now pretty familiar with downloading and creating routes with Strava or Ride with GPS and loading onto Garmin. Very easy to use, like the push button controls rather than touchscreen, battery life and GPS reception are excellent. Use almost exclusively in navigation/map mode, like that the screen tells me where I am and what roads are coming up ahead, even if i am not following a set route. Bought a second 530 for riding with my wife, now we both have downloaded routes to follow, no more arguing over directions, no worries about one of us having to wait for another or one of us rushing ahead in the wrong direction. Garmin Connect is useful to track rides and syncs with Strava. There are many other bells and whistles that seem helpful but i dont really use anything other than navigation. Solid and functional, it just works.

Reviewed 9/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Garmin Edge 830 is perfect for me
by svinson
Competitive Racer
Bellevue, WA
Review for Garmin Edge 830 Bundle GPS Computer

The Garmin Edge 830 is perfect for me. I use this on my road, track and my tandem bikes. The display is bright and simple to use and the data is seamless with the download of the GarminConnect app on my smart phone. Getting the bundle was also a money saving bonus too. I highly recommend.

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A huge step up from the 820
by rstarCA
Cycling Enthusiast
CA
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

I replaced an 820 and this is a huge step up - lower power GPS chip, much quicker user interface response, and better battery life. The user interface is totally different than the 820 and I still haven't figured it out, but I have a basic setup that works for my various bikes.

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much improved from the last model
by Control Freak
Cycling Enthusiast
East Tennessee
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

The Edge 530 replaces my 5-yr. old Edge 820. I am much happier with the 530 because: 1, my screen would go haywire in the rain; 2, much faster processing with routes; 3, better looking screen that does not reminds me of my Palm Pilot; 4, much better battery life. The new firmware is also less buggy so, yeah, I am glad that Garmin (finally) up their game. I was seriously considering switching to a Wahoo Element or a Karoo Hammerhead. I would have given it 5 stars if the screen has better resolution and color-there is not excuse in 2021 to have a screen from a 20 yr. old flip phone!

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A proven winner
by drewkora
Cycling Enthusiast
Patterson, NY
Review for Garmin Edge 830 Bundle GPS Computer
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I cross-shopped the 830 with the new Hammerhead Karoo 2, which is lauded for its super bright, high resolution display. As gorgeous as the K2 screen is, however, I felt it had too many flaws in the everyday functionality to make it worth the investment. The Garmin 830, by comparison, has proven performance that just works. It's smaller, lighter and has an incredibly long last battery. Strava integration is seamless, and you can dial in and customize all of your data screens for different bikes and riding styles.

Many reviewers felt the 830s screen is pixelated and feels dated. While it's no iPhone, I was pleasantly surprised by the sharpness of the screen. It's plenty crisp and clear to read, especially for something I'm only glancing at during a ride. It's bright, too. In full sun I have no problem seeing the display. Virtually no glare. The touch screen is very responsive, even with my gloves on and with some light rain. And the battery is fantastic! I rode a century last weekend. The effort took around 8 hours, and the screen was on the entire time. At the end of the ride, I had more than 50% battery left. Not bad!

Gripes? Well, the menu system is a little confusing. I'm still learning all the functions, many of which are buried in sub-menus or tied to the iPhone apps in hard-to-understand ways. So don't expect to figure it out for the first time during a ride, and don't expect to fiddle with it 15 minutes before a big ride or you'll be frustrated. Be patient with it when you're not rushed and it'll start to make sense.

Overall, I'm very happy with this unit. The bundle is an excellent value. The speed, cadence and heart rate senors sync up flawlessly. And the bundle comes with three mounts (inlcuding the awesome "out front" mount), so I can use this on any of my three bikes. Garmin packed a lot into this featherweight unit.

Reviewed 5/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent upgrade from 520
by MJGSCLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunnyvale, CA
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

I decided to upgrade to the 530 when it was on sale and I am glad I did. Battery lasts longer it connects sooner. No more waiting for the satellite connection. Display is good as I can scroll through the various screens easily though I have settled on the main display with heart rate and the usual metrics. All I know is Garmin. I compared other devices my friends had and they seemed fine but I stayed with what I know and what already fit my bikes. No regrets.

Reviewed 8/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Difficult setup and fragile - but great device when working
by ZimZim
Cycling Enthusiast
Sandpoint, Idaho
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Use the Edge 530 for gravel and road rides. Creating a course on Garmin Connect is a bit of a chore but is easy to follow once uploaded to the 530. My eyes are not working so well now and I really appreciate the easy to read data screen. I was using a Wahoo Bolt but just could not see the screen. I passed it on to my daughter and purchased the 530. The 530 is a huge step up in the display over the Wahoo.

After a month of use I dropped the 530 from a height of about 2 feet. No visible damage but the screen no longer worked. Garmin did send a refurbished device for a $130 charge. The 530 is quite fragile - certainly not a robust as a Wahoo device. I now have a silicon sleeve that, hopefully, will preclude damage should the 530 be dropped. My experience with the 530 is really great; with exception of the fragility. a silicon protective case is, in my view, an absolute necessity.

Reviewed 7/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely choose the 530 for longer battery life
by manholemagnet
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

I received a Garmin 520 Explorer as a gift. On the first ride, the extremely short battery life caused the unit to shutdown after approximately 3.5 hours. Big surprise and quite annoying. I returned the device and upgraded to the 530. The battery life is significantly better--approximately 3 to 4 times longer between charges. The Garmin 530 does what it is supposed to do, so there's that. The illumination is good --especially when riding at night or in dim natural light. My main disappointment is the learning curve necessary to manage the various functions. It is anything but an intuitive process and the "get started" booklet is basically a waste of paper; entirely insufficient. Users who want to actually use the device will need to download the more detailed manual from the Garmin website. The GPS works fine although it takes me a few minutes to locate a satellite signal; better to wait before pedaling down the driveway. I find that the post-ride map/graphic of the route is very general; vague and not helpful. All in all, I believe that the 530 provides the best value for the money. For casual riders, a wireless cycle computer still may be a simpler way and less expensive way to go.

Reviewed 8/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely choose the 530 for longer battery life
by manholemagnet
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

I received a Garmin 520 Explorer as a gift. On the first ride, the extremely short battery life caused the unit to shutdown after approximately 3.5 hours. Big surprise and quite annoying. I returned the device and upgraded to the 530. The battery life is significantly better--approximately 3 to 4 times longer between charges. The Garmin 530 does what it is supposed to do, so there's that. The illumination is good --especially when riding at night or in dim natural light. My main disappointment is the learning curve necessary to manage the various functions. It is anything but an intuitive process and the "get started" booklet is basically a waste of paper; entirely insufficient. Users who want to actually use the device will need to download the more detailed manual from the Garmin website. The GPS works fine although it takes me a few minutes to locate a satellite signal; better to wait before pedaling down the driveway. I find that the post-ride map/graphic of the route is very general; vague and not helpful. All in all, I believe that the 530 provides the best value for the money. For casual riders, a wireless cycle computer still may be a simpler way and less expensive way to go.

Reviewed 8/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid upgrade over the Garmin 520 Edge
by Tailwind
79015
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

Really like the larger screen & is much faster than the 520 Edge. Also, the ability to load proper maps is a big plus. Battery life seems to be quite good as well.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Improvement from 820
by Rudyt28
Miami, FL
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer

My first Garmin was the 810, later the 820, and now the 830. I used them all for road and MTB. The 810 got the ring and sold it. The 820 I was so disappointed on the battery life on a 8 hours ride that I sold it. The 830 has a better battery life. The screen is a great improvement since it doesn't move when is raining, my 820 used to go all over the place under the rain. The touch screen has the right sensitivity with all the familiar features of the 800 series. Even though it contains a lot of things I don't use, it doesn't glitch or discard my rides as its predecessor.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very impressed!
by Marin biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Mill Valley, Ca
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

Better screen resolution, faster, much better battery and more capabilities as compared to my 2 year old Garmin 520+!!

Reviewed 8/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great GPS, NIce step up from edge 520
by Vafishinpa
Competitive Racer
South East PA
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

My bike computer for the last 5 or 6 years has been the Edge 520. LOVE that computer but the battery life had dropped dramatically in cold weather so... For Father's Day I received the Edge 530. Wow. This has all the mapping features I wanted, such as zooming in/out, and I didnt have to get the touchscreen 800 series. I ride in the rain and sweat a lot, so I WANT Buttons. The new metrics the 530 provides are great too! Heart Rate Variability, training value, etc. Most of my time is spent on a road bike but prefer mountain biking... I am still trying get the hang of the Grit and Flow scores, but the jump estimates are cool!

After using the Edge 530 for a month, I gave the 520 to a my father in law... The Edge 530 is AWESOME

Reviewed 8/4/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
upgrade from the Garmin Edge 130
by jcw - ( o)==::
Daily Commuter
York, PA
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer

This was kind of a "crime of opportunity". The 530 was on sale, and I wanted to see what extra features the 530 came with.

If you started out with the Edge 130, there is a bit of a learning curve:

-some of the buttons are in different places

-some of the functions work a bit differently

-you have to choose your type of ride (road, gravel, commuting, etc.) at the beginning of the ride rather than at when you save the ride at the end

Overall, I like the Edge 530. I moved my 130 to the commuter bike, and I'll probably get another 530 for my wife when she is ready for a new one.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous
So Cal high desert
Review for Garmin Edge 530 GPS Computer
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very happy with this computer. Great battery life. Impressive graphics. Big upgrade from my 520.

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great improvement over the Edge 820
by The Caped Crusader
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
Review for Garmin Edge 830 GPS Computer
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced my Garmin Edge 820 with the 830. The 830 is quite an improvement over the 820. It finds sensors much, much quicker. Satellite acquisition is a whole lot better. Screen is bigger. There's just too many improvements to mention them all. The only thing I wished Garmin would do for all the Edge models is to be able to "program" the Edged pages, configurations and options from a web page which then could be uploaded directly to the Edge. This would be much simpler for the end user and an obvious feature to employ. Bur that doesn't take away from the Edge 830. The Edge 830 is a nice product.

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Unit and package price
by pdep52
Cycling Enthusiast
So Jo, UT
Review for Garmin Edge 530 MTN Bundle GPS Computer

I went from an edge 510 to this and couldn't be happier with it. I haven't ridden on the road with it yet so I can't speak for how the road mapping works, but on the trails, it is awesome. It has the trails preloaded on the device so it tells you what trails are coming up at as you approach splits in the trail. That means no more stopping to use the trailforks app on my phone to make sure I am going on the right path for new trails I haven't ridden. One thing my 510 has that I haven't figured out on the 530 is the ability to label specific bikes. I'm not saying it doesn't have it for sure, I just haven't figured out how to do it or not does have it. I ride MTB, road, fat, tt, and cross and have sensors on all my bikes. On the 510 I would select which bike it was and the sensors would sink up as long as I didn't forget to do it before I started the ride. Speed was always recorded at least by GPS, and by the sensor if I had one on that specific bike, if I forgot to select the bike it would recognize the cadence or power sensors for example and wouldn't record that data. So far what I have noticed on the 530 is the bike choices are set up more like genres like road, MTB, gravel, etc. I am hoping that since I have paired all the various sensors to the unit that it will automatically connect to the sensors once I get going. It is winter now so I am only riding my fat bike so I haven't been able to determine if that is the case. I will admit that I haven't invested much time into playing around with it because I just assumed it would work like the 510, well it doesn't so I need to put some time into learning more about it. The Bluetooth seems to have better functionality than the 510 especially with call and text notifications.

Reviewed 2/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
AWESOME, FANTASTIC, GREAT! I LOVE IT.
by Retired HPD Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson, NV
Review for Garmin Edge 520 Plus
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

The Garmin Edge 520 Plus has been the most important item I have purchased for my bicycle. I ride around 16 miles a day, and I has improved my skill and speed on the bike. I love that it keeps a record of every ride so that I can track my progress. I also like that I can read incoming texts while riding.

Unfortunately I had an accident one dark morning on a isolated bike trail, where I dropped a chain, cracked my carbon fiber frame, and injured my right knee. When I came to a stop the Garmin sent an emergency text to my contacts, alerting them I had an accident, and before I could get up from the ground I received a phone call from one of them. It was really reassuring that I could get help if I was total disabled in a crash. I'm riding again and will always have my Garmin with me.

I highly recommend other bicyclist get a Garmin Edge 520 Plus, because it could save your life.

Reviewed 11/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page