X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Donnelly Tires PDX Tubeless Ready Cyclocross Tire

Donnelly TiresPDX Tubeless Ready Cyclocross Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(70%)
(10%)
(20%)
(0%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Kicks [Gr]ass! And Mud... and Sand...
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Loveland, CO

These are a durable, excellent all-around cross-tire that performs superbly on grass - I had been struggling around with a file-tread tire until these arrived, but once I put them on, they have been fast, light, and stable.

I don't have much experience racing CX, but I feel confident learning and practicing using these tires and wouldn't hesitate to jump into the nearest training race with them. They seem to be OK for gravel rides in a pinch, but I wouldn't put them to the limit due to the narrow size and higher pressures towards which they lean.

Reviewed 11/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Pretty good
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle

Tread is good. But, man, the sidewalls are really stiff. So the tire doesn't have that really nice feel to it like some of the Challenge or Schwalbe tires I've used. But, the tread is really nice in the mud and not bad at all on the hard packed stuff, too

Reviewed 11/17/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by suydam

Perfect all-around CX tire
by suydam
Competitive Racer
Michigan

Great all around CX tire for collegiate CX season in the southeast USA. I will buy these again next year I'm sure.

Reviewed 11/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Impossible to setup tubeless
by Anonymous
Portland, OR

These things are so difficult to set up tubeless, it keeps happening and it's driven me to leave a negative review. Every one of these I've bought I feel like I'm going to injure myself just getting them onto the rim, and then they don't seat half the time because they're so tightlywound, which is nothing short of ironic. I'm just going to switch to Challenge tires for good.

Reviewed 11/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great in the mud but still rolls fast
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
St. Louis
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love Donnelly tires and the MXP has always been my go to for CX season. However, I got some PDX tires for those few muddy races that end up popping up every year and was surprised at how fast they roll. They are pretty outstanding and I can't wait to rip them in a race this season.

Reviewed 6/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tommy

Hermosa tubular tubular
by Tommy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Perfecto para carreras en barro. Se puede seguir entrenando despus de la temporada de cuidados. Se recomendara sellador para los paseos de entrenamiento.

Reviewed 11/20/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by FuriousD

Mud Rippers
by FuriousD
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Given the weather in the Pacific Northwest, these are my go to tires. I've raced and ridden the Donnelly PDX's in a variety of conditions, from dry to down right mud-fest. The tires grip when needed on those crazy off-cambers, and roll fast when speed is required. Easy to set-up and no issues running pressures as low as 25 psi.

Reviewed 11/15/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jenzar

Great cx tires
by Jenzar
NJ

These are great cyclocross tires and work well Im all conditions especially muddy races!

Reviewed 12/19/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RabbitsEatCarrots

classic tread, heavier new construction
by RabbitsEatCarrots
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

Here are a bunch of details that might help weigh some trade-offs. First, the PDX tread pattern is fantastic. You can run these in dry conditions, or mud, or in-between. A file tread would roll slightly faster dry, but these are nearly as fast. A full mud tire would hook up marginally better in full slop, but these hold their own (and don't pack up as there is lots of space between the treads, which is key). On a course with some mud, some pavement, some gravel, etc, the PDX can't be beat. Now the variations. I loved my old, non-tubeless, foldable, 120 tpi PDX's. They were super supple and 270g (add 90g for a latex tube) but of course couldn't go too soft w/o worrying about pinch flats. Then earlier this fall I briefly had a Clement-branded PDX tubeless version (probably mfg'd roughly a year ago but sold in 2018) which weighed in at 430 g (not including the Stan's sealant I used) and had a much thicker, less supple casing than the non-tubeless version. First hard use (a CX race at low pressure), I somehow damaged the casing (never done that before - I'm 150lbs). It had no visible cuts or tears, but it had developed a significant bulge at one location (yes it was seated evenly). Finally I got the currently-selling Donnelly-branded PDX tubeless version. It's 495g on my scale. Yikes. The casing is even thicker, quite a bit more slipperyplastickyrubbery, and less supple than the older stock Clement PDX tubeless. The ride quality is comparable to the older tubeless version and not as good as the much-suppler, lighter, grippier non-tubeless 120tpi version. Both the Clement and Donnelly-branded tubeless specimens mounted tubeless w/o an air compressor on Ritchey WCS Zeta Disc rims, however both allowed some air to escape for a number of days despite sloshing a fair amount of sealant around in there, as evidenced by air bubbles coming thru the casing when viewed underwater. That's my experience. Hopefully they'll make a race-worthy tubeless PDX soon.

Reviewed 11/11/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by markmcmpdx

Ease of use.
by markmcmpdx
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Mounted these tires with a floor pump, no problem. Went on my rims with ease. My go to tires for PNW mud.

Reviewed 11/10/2018
Thank you for your feedback.