CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Race Light Road Tube

ContinentalRace Light Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(152 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(108)
(33)
(4)
(2)
(5)
(71%)
(22%)
(3%)
(1%)
(3%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Hornbeam

Bad batch?
by Hornbeam
Cycling Enthusiast
St Pete,FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I used these tubes with Continental GP5000s. From the start they lost a lot of air overnight and lost more air the older they got. For example, if I ran my tires for a ride at 80psi the tubes would gauge at 40psi the next day. I took them out to check for leaks and all of the tubes I bought (save one that I just decided not to use) had thin patches in which there were literally 10s of little bubbles where the air was seeping through. I wonder if these sat too long in a warehouse and the butyl became degraded, or if this was a manufacturing error.

Reviewed 5/24/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Justin

For a Butyl tube, can�t beat it.
by Justin
Rancho Cucamonga Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not the absolute lightest tube you can get. But these are light enough to be used on your lightweight project but used in most road conditions. They are durable, easy to pack in a small toolbag , and aren�t expensive. These have been my go to for many years and will not switch unless I decide to dive into TPU tubes. But I�m good with these until then.

Reviewed 3/10/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Matthew

Excellent Tubes.
by Matthew
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have these mounted inside my Conti GP5000s and they have held up perfectly over the last 452.7 miles (when I installed them with my new tires). They are a solid product, light, compact, and thus easy to carry. I always have 3 tubes on me because I ride long distances every week, and you never know when a friend is going to need a tube. They hold air perfectly. After a 68+ mile ride today I checked the pressure when I got home. The pressure was still just above 90 PSI as I had inflated it before I left my home.

Reviewed 4/26/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rob

Nice tubes
by Rob
ny
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like these lightweight tubes, they hold air really well and are not prone to punctures like many lightweight tubes out there.

Reviewed 11/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andrew S.

A good quailty light race tube.
by Andrew S. (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR.
73 of 76 customers found this review helpful.

Use these tubes in a racing or training application. They have a great feel, and conti makes their tubes without seams which makes patching a breeze.

Reviewed 9/10/2009
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike W

My Go To road tube
by Mike W
Casual Cyclist
California
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is my go to road tube, its light weight and a good deal when on sale. I might get 1 or 2 flats a year but usually can patch it and lasts. I would recommend this tube for road riding but be sure to bring glueless patches with you.

Reviewed 7/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GSpear

by GSpear
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Tube failed quickly. I know I didn't pinch it on installation, because it went on entirely without tools, using just the heel of my hands, AND it was slightly inflated and I was really careful. Plus, when it went flat in a few days, the problem turned out to be a pinhole on a flashing line with no sign of a crease. I think that's close to 100% chance that it was a manufacturing defect.

I've also noticed that both tires are losing air slowly (bad tube replaced), and they're only a few weeks old.

These tubes went on with brand-new Michelin racing tires, by the way, and rims and spoke tape were checked carefully before installation.

Reviewed 10/13/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great inner tubes
by Anonymous

Great quality and puncture resistance

Reviewed 11/17/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MoBetter

Works well as a good training level tire.
by MoBetter
Cycling Enthusiast
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I had no problems installing these tubes, and so far about 1500 trouble free miles on them. To insure no twists or pinches or other seating problems, after installation I always pump my tires up to 20-40 psi initially, then deflate them all the way to let the tubes resettle naturally on the rim and within the tire casing. I then pump them up to full pressure. This seems to work for me as a standard practice. For backstory, I have new 700x23 continental 5000 tires on a Giant TCR with with Easton aluminum rims with 20K miles (on the bike and rims), and I'm about 160lb rider (on a good day). Between rides (every day or two) these tubes may lose a couple of psi, but certainly not much. Before every ride I inflate the rears to 120psi and the fronts to 115psi. I know this is high by most peoples standards, but I have ridden thousands of miles, hitting occasional potholes and road debris, with essentially zero flats, no broken spokes, by following these simple procedures. I honestly can't remember the last time I got a flat, and so far (1500 miles) these tubes don't disappoint.

Reviewed 12/3/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bobj

Most reliable tubes
by Bobj
mass

I've been riding for nearly half a century, and these are my go to tubes..

Reviewed 8/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Quality tubing feom Conti
by Anonymous

First thing noticed was the light weight of the tube. Durable and a quality product

Reviewed 8/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris

Gets the job done
by Chris
Portland, OR

Good tube that is light and easy to install.

Reviewed 10/27/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SeaBiker

Only tube that works
by SeaBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have Zipp 404 NSW wheels. These are the only tubes that fit without valve extenders. I ordered the the 80mm length and they work great with my 58mm rims.

I had been an exclusive Michelin tube person but their longest tube is 60 mm and it doesnt work with my 404s.

It is really nice not to have to bother with valve extenders.

Reviewed 3/7/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by mootsrider

Weight Savings not worth the Risk you are taking using them!
by mootsrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Campbell. CA
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Have been using these tubes for few years and now have had 3 of them just blow when riding which blows the tire off the rim when this happens. Two days ago I had just put new tires on my bike and 8 miles into the ride on a steep hill descending the front tube blew instantly. Bang it went at 20 mph I was on the ground in a flash on my left side. After a visit to ER room and multiple stitches in left knee and right hand I took a look at the bike to see if I could tell what happened. Tire bead was good and no damage on it. Rim OK no damage. Tube had 6 inch slit in a straight line were it blew. It was not twisted when installed. So my advice is the weight savings is not worth the risk of these blowing and causing a crash. I now have a lot of damage to my 10,000 bike to repair besides months off the bike recovering. I see other riders had the tubes blow also on a ride. I would not trust this product!

Reviewed 9/11/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by WBW fan

Ok, but stem lengths vary
by WBW fan
East Caost

They are good tubes & decent quality. Oddly, the stem lengths vary up to 5mm. If this matters, suggest you account for it.

Reviewed 8/27/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BikeLA

My favorite tubes, and best value upgrade
by BikeLA
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA

Compared to standard tubes (e.g., Conti Race) the Lights save 30g and about 1 watt per wheel (per bicyclerollingresistance.com). All for a couple of bucks extra. That's amazing value for money. I am using Conti Lights on both my road bikes, paired with 25mm GP4000 SII and GP5000 tires. I find the Lights to be very reliable, and not noticeably more prone to flats than standard weight tubes. I do always check to make sure the core is securely installed - I have had a couple of flats, with other tubes, caused by removable cores that weren't tight and leaked.

Reviewed 5/12/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Big Deisel

Super!
by Big Deisel
VERMONT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have been relying on Conti. For decades.

Great products, reputation and reliability.

Reviewed 5/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Defyguy19

Great tube
by Defyguy19
mpls

I've been running these tubes for a few years now and I've had zero issues.

There's a reason I keep using them. I used them on my old bike and liked them so much that when I started running tubes again on my new ride I bought these specific tubes.

Reviewed 5/19/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Worth every penny.
by Anonymous
mpls

When I upgraded to conti 4000 SII a number of years ago, I also started riding w these tubes. They had great reviews and they did not disappoint. I've been buying these tubes ever since and have never had an issue, even after upgrading to conti 5000s a couple seasons ago. Still running that setup. Don't plan on changing.

Reviewed 3/19/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Crypto Que

Absolutely the best tubes
by Crypto Que
Daily Commuter
Fairfield County
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After ordering these tubes I did lots of reading about how lightweight race tubes are horribly unreliable & require daily inflation. Nothing could be more untrue about these contis I got them as a set with Ultra Sport II Folding tires & I ride every day. The rim has bottoms out sometimes twice a day, and I dread a pinch flat each time it happens, but so far the tubes have held up lovely. I've begun stocking up on tubes & conti tires bc I think they have the best product & reputation in the sector.

Reviewed 10/5/2018
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page