X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Rally Pedal Mail-In Rebate — Learn More
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(78 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(57)
(10)
(1)
(7)
(3)
(73%)
(13%)
(1%)
(9%)
(4%)
Previous Page
Plush ride - Goodbye tubes.
by DickRN
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I use the 5000 TL 28s on my road bike and Bontrager XXX 4 wheels, (Domane SL). A little difficult to install, stretching the final bit, and worth the effort. I'm using Orange Seal and the punctures I have received, construction staples, sealed quickly allowing me to continue my rides. I ride in Central Oregon and this setup smooths out the ride and allows me to descend at speed, with confidence. Instead of pointing out the gravel at intersections we can ride right through. No loss of speed in the pace line and I'm getting PRs over my previous tube setup (28s) and previous 25s on my former bike. I'm getting 1500 miles on the rear tire with 75 pounds of pressure. I changed the front at about 2K miles. My wife, much lighter 135 vs my 199 pounds, is using 70 pounds of pressure front and back. I found I needed the extra pressure due to my torque on the wheels, and my massive thighs causing the brake rotors to rub at 70 pounds. I use 72 pounds in the front tire for the same reasons.

Reviewed 9/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Impressive (but not easy to set up)
by RTPDX
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was hesitant to trust tubeless on the road but it's been pretty bomb proof. One puncture that wouldn't seal (a slice, really) in over 10K km of riding. Those are far better results than I expected. I feel like these wore more quickly than the 4000/4000s clinchers I've used the past few seasons, but I'll trade that for the dependability, traction and overall excellent performance. Mounting these on my ENVE 5.6 rims was brutal. So much so that when I sliced that tire, I took it to a shop to install the new one (and, while they did it in about 15 mins, they commented that it was really tough to do). So 5 stars for riding performance minus a star for being so tough to mount.

Reviewed 9/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Oustanding tubeless tire
by Bullet
FoCo
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Bought a set and mounted them on Hed Ardennes in March. Struggled a little getting them on but they pump right up because the tight fit makes a good seal. Had to replace the rear tire due to a sidewall tear in June. Front tire lasted all summer >4000 miles! Overall I love these tubeless tires for relative ease of use, plush ride at correct psi, grippy in corners, and durability.

Pro tip - leave in direct sunlight for 20 minutes prior to mounting.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple to set up tubeless on Roval SLX 24 wheels
by dazer1virginia
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I heard these were hard to mount...on the contrary, I did it with a floor pump. I don't have many miles on them yet, but hope they will last. Seem to be smooth rolling and fairly sticky. I initially got the 32mm, but they would not clear my front fork, something to keep in mind if your bike is a few years old (mine 2016). These are perfect though. I might have been able to go with a 27mm, but knew the 25mm would work. Fast return of the ones that did not fit and credit.

Reviewed 9/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good brand. Good reputation
by Thomas Cussen
Tyler

I have used Continental for years this is the first time I have used the 5000 TL. Time will tell. It was easy to install, that's a real plus.

Reviewed 1/6/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic tires but were hard to mount on my Easton rims
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is the 4th set of tubeless tires that I have mounted and they were the most difficult. After seating the tires on Easton R90 SL Disc rims with an AirShot canister at 100 psi the tires beads came off the rim when the pressure was released and the tires could not be reinflated after inserting the valve cores. I tried about 8 times with no success. I tried running the tires with tubes for a few days to help them to conform better to the rim and I tried letting them sit overnight with sealant while maintaining pressure from the AirShot but neither helped. I gave up and asked my LBS to help me and they had little difficulty using a compressor. This could certainly be due to the rims rather than the tires.

After getting them mounted I have been very happy with these tires. I am running them at 75 psi front82 psi rear (I am around 200 lbs) and they are very comfortable, fast, and they grip very well.

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My first tubeless setup. Spinergy FCC47
by ReyBeltran
Competitive Racer
RSM, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my first tubeless setup. I used a new set of Spinergy FCC47 wheels. They were easy to install and they ride very well, lots of grip in the corners and smooth over rough pavement. I run 75PSI-F 80PSI-R on 25mm.

Reviewed 6/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
There is a reason this the most talked about tire of the 2020 season
by tefloncat
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

ber gription, YES STICKY (even in wet conditions), tough (used on road, small aggregate fire road, easy single track...so far), available in tubeless model (this is the model I'm writing about), NOT SUPER light but acceptable, mounted relatively easy BY HAND and pumped up with REGULAR floor pump, with NO sealant, on a 2015 Reynolds Blacklabel 29er XC wheelset (I did add sealant post mounting...why tempt fate). I've never been a big Continental fan but this tire has changed my mind, at least for this model 5000 TL 32mm

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast rolling, superior handling, excellent tire
by Aaron
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NoPlaceLikeNebraska
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Having just moved to tubeless, I wanted a fast rolling, yet durable tire. Research shows the 5000 TL is one of the fastest on the market today. Having previously ridden its tubed predecessor, a 25mm GP 5000, I knew Conti made a quality tire, yet it always felt stiff. I left that model for the buttery smooth ride of a 28mm Vittoria Corsa with skin walled cotton casing. Now I'm back to Conti for a 25mm GP 5000 TL. Set up tubeless, as it is intended, this tire strikes the balance it's fast, it's got incredible grip through corners, and it rolls really nice as well. It is not as supple as cotton casing, but a racier feel that is still comfy. I'm 5'9, 150lb, & run the tires 75psi front & 90 back, with a full Stan's set up.

Reviewed 5/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not hard to mount, at least for me.
by rwperk
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have ENVE SES 3.4 wheels and I can mount them with my hands and pump them up with my floor pump. Before that I was using Fulcrum Zero Carbon wheels and didn't have trouble mounting on those either although I did use a air compressor to inflate . As with mounting regular clinchers the ease of mounting depends a lot on the model of the wheel. Regardless it is VERY IMPORTANT to use the right technique. I have been very happy with the grip, durability and GREAT rolling resistance. I had been using Schwalbe Pro One Tubeless, I was almost as happy with them BUT the last pair I bought were manufactured inconsistent, one mounted very easy and the other one was tight. The one that mounted easy was very hard to inflate and seal with the air compressor.

Reviewed 2/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
At least two great things
by Bob Ward
essex, ct
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

1 - these tires set up tubeless on HED Belgium rims very easily. Virtually no swearing at all involved. Seal with floor pump. Have kept air pressure very well and although under 500 miles of use, no leaks or flats

2 - the ride is very comfortable and confidence when braking and turning is unmatched except with my tubed version on another bike

Reviewed 5/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
doesn't fit on my rims
by JN
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest, USA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I could not get these Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL 32C tires to fit on my rims - Roval CLX 32 Disc. My previous tires (Specialized Turbo Cottons) fit easily without tire levers but these were impossible. If I'm on the road and get a puncture there's no way I'd want mess with this tire, it's got to be easy enough to get on and off on the roadside.

Reviewed 5/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast rolling & flat-free
by PA
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NoPlaceLikeNebraska
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Made the switch to tubeless about a year ago with these and was not disappointed. Fast rolling and NO flats. The rear tire went 3200 miles before showing casing; I've changed it out. The original front tire is still going with the dimple wear marks looking fine. Overall: fast, grippy, & a bit stiff, but no complaints since no flats.

Reviewed 5/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good
by WheezyRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Las Cruces, NM
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I switched both my front and rear tubeless road tires to these. Installation was not difficult. Rolling resistance seems significantly better the the other brand of 25mm tires I was using. Time will tell how they hold up over many miles, but, if they hold up like other Continental tires I've used, they should be fine.

Reviewed 4/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough install
by CXColink
Competitive Racer
Boston
1 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Truth, I haven't ridden these yet. But, they better be the best tubeless tires I have ever ridden. I have been riding tubeless for years (Schwalbe 4*, Maxis 4*, Specialized 0*).

Loved my Contis as tubies for road racing years ago, clinchers later were good.

These Contis are by far the hardest TBL tire I have ever installed. If these flat, I am ripping them off rims and trashing...they that hard to install.

TBC....

Reviewed 3/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tubeless tires; durable and with great traction
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Northampton, MA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They're the only tires I ride on

Reviewed 10/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire. Difficult to mount
by BB in AZ
Cycling Enthusiast
AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Second set of these tires. 1400 miles on last set. Good grip, fast.

Difficult to mount. Lots of soapy water and struggling.

Sealant took care of punctures on previous set. Would not want to try and insert a tube and pry tire back on rim along the roadside in case of a puncture that sealant couldn't handle.

Reviewed 2/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far, great!
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, Wisconsin

I put these on new wheels and noticed an improvement in comfort and handling, compared to my Continental Gran Prix 4 Season. I have only about 400 miles on these new tires to date, but they have worked well on both roads and gravel. Mounting on Bontrager Aeolus XXX 4 wheels was a challenge.

Reviewed 11/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires in that immediately noticed increased speed -- e.g., coasting downhill I a have 4% more speed.
by Gordon S.
Casual Cyclist
Santa Barbara, CA

I use these tires on an endurance bike (Giant, Defy, Adavanced 2), which is probably not as "fast" or responsive as traditional road/racing bikes. But these tires have helped me keep up with others.

Reviewed 11/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for my road bike
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Illinois
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought my first road bike last year and had to replace the tires that came with the bike after 500 miles. A friend suggested I try the Conti 5000 tubeless ready tires and I like them so much I bought another pair this summer even though the current Conti tires on my bike look and ride great. I like the smooth ride and confidence I have when taking corners on these tires.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page