X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(562 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(452)
(70)
(12)
(10)
(18)
(80%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Previous Page
GP4000S II inflates to wider than sidewall spec
by morningglass
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

GP 4000S II inflates to wider than sidewall spec. After blog search, purchased GP4000S II to ride in Tour of Flanders Sportive. Blog recommendations were to use wider tires inflated to lower pressure to take out some of the harshness of riding on the Flemish cobbles. Measured width of forks, chain stays, and seat stays (eight year old Fondriest carbon frame and Easton fork) and determined not wide enough for 28mm but 25mm should fit. Purchased and mounted 700x25 GP4000S IIs and inflated to 95 psi. Measured width of inflated tires (digital micrometer) was 27.75mm leaving about 1 mm clearance each side between tires and fork and stays. Tires rode well on the cobbles - comfortable, good traction in the damp, and most importantly NO PUNCTURES. Remounted 700x23 other brand tires that had been removed to mount the GP4000s IIs to regain tire-to-forkstays clearance and will use the GP4000s IIs on another bike with greater forkstay widths. Great tires, next time this bike needs tires will probably buy another set of GP4000s IIs in 23mm width.

Reviewed 5/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast and tough enough
by Anonymous
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Love these tires. They are fast and puncture resistant enough for every day use. Prefer these to the 5000s for training.

Reviewed 12/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tires, great price
by GR Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids, MI
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I like the 4000 S II 700C tires well enough that they're the only ones I buy. I bought two on sale at half price to keep in reserve for when the others wear out-eventually. The price was too good to pass up on tires I prefer.

Reviewed 7/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
superb all around tire for all conditions
by longtimerider
Cycling Enthusiast
berkeley, ca
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

a very well handling, light, responsive tire. I am using the 25C version and they actually measure out to 27 mm when inflated to 98 psi which is what I run the rear at, the front I run at 92. I weigh an even two bills and have found these tires to be ideal for all seasons as they also provide excellent puncture resistance with the high strength belt Conti uses. Durability is also good, you do want the tire to show wear over time as this indicates the suppleness of the tread. Check 'em out.

Reviewed 4/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go-to tires.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Humid, Florida
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

All tires involve trade-offs, but these require very little sacrifice in road feel and handling to get good flat-protection and respectable longevity. When they're discounted, they're a steal.

Reviewed 7/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
About the best race tire on the market that is rugged enough to train on.
by chickenl
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I use these for riding, racing all of it. I've never found a tire that performs this well and also holds up to regular riding on imperfect roads.

There are many tires that perform this well, but none are as flat resistant and durable as the GP4000SII

Reviewed 2/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My 'go to' tire!
by Jill C
Competitive Racer
Pittsburth, PA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I love this tire for a number of reasons. First, it's one of the few I can find that come in the 700 x 20 size. While I have read and understand the logic behind the physics of a bigger tire, I'm a firm believe in the 20s and will continue to use them until I cannot purchase them any more. These Continentals are consistently reliable and I am always confident when riding on them. I race with these as well as do high mileage distance rides and really get a ton out of these tires. I rarely have blowouts which gives me an even greater confidence to ride hard when racing. I've found 20s in other tires that haven't lasted nearly as long as the Continentals. It's a solid, consistently well performing tire that I will continue to purchase.

Reviewed 1/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C
by Rob Brent
Pleasanton, CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Have used for years. Continentals are dependable, love the wear indicator dimples & roll & corner efficiently.

Do wish access to longer stem presta 60mm tubes was easier. Why don't more manufacturers make such? With the increase in carbon wheels, longer stems is necessary. And I prefer non-threaded smooth stems so the grommet in my air pumps are not worn out by the thread abrasion faster. Please consider this.

Reviewed 1/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Soft and tacky
by Anonymous
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great for races, climbing, and descending. Probably a little soft for commuting.

Reviewed 6/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing tires
by JP
Cleveland, OH
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Great tires. They are my go to tire for training and racing

Reviewed 5/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tires
by Anonymous
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent tires

Reviewed 11/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go-to fav
by BBcross
Bellingham
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love these until I start getting flats....then I get a new one.

Reviewed 11/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice tires
by Bernie
Cycling Enthusiast
RI
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replace an older set of tires with these I notice an improvement in the ride and handling overall a very nice tire. I purchased another set of these tires for my other road bike and will be installing this winter for the riding season next spring.

Reviewed 11/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good performer for both the avid cyclist and racer.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I have used these tires for both recreational riding, racing and race training. They have been good performers with reasonable wear and are solid in the corners for both criteriums and high speed descents.

Reviewed 3/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road tire
by NorthBayBiiker
Casual Cyclist
NorthBay, Bay Area, Ca USA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These a long lasting, durable road tires that perform great and live up to the hype. The longevity of these tires also make them a great value. I use them on a daily basis for training rides in all conditions. Because of geographic considerations where I ride and live, I typically climb 3000 ft. on any given ride. These tires provide light weight for climbing and great stability when descending Highly recommended.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Runs large
by Anonymous
New York
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Running 28s on a Specialized Roubaix (2014 carbon frame) they rubbed. When calipered at 100psi they read 32mm. Changed to the 25s and had perfect clearance. The 25s measured 27mm at 100psi.

1400 miles in 6 months (40-100 F) on smooth to chipped surfaces with occasional pot holes

No issues and minimal visual wear

Reviewed 12/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great all around tire with excellent durability
by SFBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is very predictable tire. I performs great on the dry and on the wet.

I really value the wear like predictability. I typically get about 1500 miles from

a pair of these tires. I weight about 175lbs and I i climb about 100K ft a year.

After abandoning other brands since they were very unpredictable as to there

wear out cycle, these are the only tires I will run. I ride about 1500 miles a year.

Reviewed 12/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires out there for day in and day out use.
by drsonny
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Road riding 4-6K year x 16 years...this is my favorite tire for all around performance. Good handling, long wearing, puncture resistant. Almost a race tire but lasts longer. I always come back to these tires.

Reviewed 12/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires are fantastic changed to the 25mm tire I have been grabbing KOM's since the change!!!
by Strava nut
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern MN
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
22 of 24 customers found this review helpful.

Last summer I rode the Conti GP 4000 25mm tires and they lasted for ever (4000)mi. I changed them out to see if I was missing on the sprints because of the slight extra weight. I switched to the new GP 4000 2 which road very smooth and handled very good. Now I have just switched back to the 25mm in the new version and they are so smooth the bumps are easier the high speed cornering feels so secure. I'm flying without seeming like I'm putting in the effort. Because they handle so good you can fly with much more confidence. Second day on them and I just topped my best top speed on a little hill by hitting a hair under 47mph my old best was just under 44 mph. Day before I collected 3 KOM's on strava.

Reviewed 8/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gold Standard
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Continental is still the gold standard in cycling tires. I use them on all 4 of my bikes. Gatorskins on my commuter bike, 4 Seasons on my winter road bike and these on my race bikes. The ride quality is superb. The handling is excellent. These won't last as long as the Gatorskins or 4 Seasons but that would be true of any premium tire. Get them on sale and they become a good value.

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page