Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(508 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(409)
(64)
(12)
(8)
(15)
(81%)
(13%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Runs large
by Anonymous
New York
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Running 28s on a Specialized Roubaix (2014 carbon frame) they rubbed. When calipered at 100psi they read 32mm. Changed to the 25s and had perfect clearance. The 25s measured 27mm at 100psi.

1400 miles in 6 months (40-100 F) on smooth to chipped surfaces with occasional pot holes

No issues and minimal visual wear

Reviewed 12/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always a classic
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Diego CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

You can't go wrong with these tires. They're my favorite for both racing and training.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire would buy again
by Pam spotts
virginia
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Good quality and a nice ride. Have been riding for years.

Reviewed 1/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Confident with comfort
by Rich L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I have been riding Continental tires for about twenty years. They have only improved their products and I appreciate the durability.

My latest tires are 700 x 25 and it has made a noticed improvement without any disadvantages. The ride is even better.

Reviewed 1/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Tire!
by summerboy
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I've been riding on these tires for many years. They are simply the best!

Reviewed 1/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best tires
by kulioh
Casual Cyclist
san francisco
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I have been riding for about 4 years and these are the best tires I have used.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Tire
by Anonymous
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Recently switched from 23s to 25s. I like the ride quality better. The 25s in this brand is very good. No flats yet and smooth ride.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire at a great price
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

This has been my standard road bike tire for the past 5 years. Good durability.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very favorable impression
by T. Johnson
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to replace a set of Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires specifically because I was looking to reduce weight and rolling resistance. Based on research, this tire seemed to check both of those boxes while still providing reasonable puncture resistance.

These tires run incredibly smooth and effortless. As for puncture resistance, I just returned from a weeklong bike trip covering 500 miles of rural roads littered with sharp rocks and steel belted tire shards and didn't have one puncture. I even did a little gravel riding (less than 10 miles). I cannot comment on traction in the rain as I plan to use my Schwalbes for winter commuting, however due to the low weight and very low rolling resistance, I very highly recommend these tires for any type of distance riding (multiple day trips, or centuries), they exceeded my expectations.

Reviewed 9/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for 2018
by Spartan Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Conti GP 4000 S II, great all around tires. I've been using these for racing and riding for the past two years. I would say I get about 2000-3000 miles out of a tire, so they do last a good while. They handle great and are nice and fast.

They also provide very good puncture protection for a high performance tire. I know there are other 'racing' tires on the market, but they are very light and thin and certainly put you at risk for flats. From my past experience, there are few things that take you out of a race as fast as a flat tire.

If you balance price, performance and protection I don't think there is currently a better tire on the market.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still A Great Tire
by Burt
Cycling Enthusiast
Foster City, CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Been using this tire for years. A great tire at a special Black Friday price. I always keep an extra set in my garage.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A prolific tire for good reason
by Zach S.
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Not much more can be said about this tire than has already been said. There is a good reason you see it on so many bikes. The GP 4000 is a solid all arounder tire for enthusiasts. Plenty of grip and relatively high durability. Plus it looks good on the bike.

One thing to note is that my 28mm pair measures to about 32mm on rims with 19mm inner width so be careful on bikes with limited clearance.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
the tires were as good as advertised
by mJ
Competitive Racer
phoenix AZ
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I put them on my triathlon bike, replacing old tires. the y are grate on to test rides of 25 miles.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for a great price makes for a great ride
by GB Argon 18
Cycling Enthusiast
Surrey BC
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I used to ride exclusively on another brand of tire. A riding buddy said I should consider Continentals. The pair I ordered from Western are my reserve tires. The first set I bought ARE STILL GOING STRONG....5000kilometers ( about 3000 miles) ....NO FLATS !!!

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far, great.
by Will
Las Vegas
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Made a nice improvement (faster, more cushion) compared to the 23c size i was running. Really like the reflective stripe that helps visibility. No cuts on the few times ive hit landscape gravel.

Reviewed 1/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great summer tires that roll fast
by davidshiloh4
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I use these tires every summer because they roll fast and wear well. During the winter months I use their 4 season tires that wear great for the tougher weather.

Reviewed 1/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Continental Grad Prix 4000S II road tire is the Go To Tire for cyclists.
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I run the Continental Grand Prix S II road tire on three of my four road bikes. They simple are the best tire for the money. Good rolling characteristics, puncture resistant and long lasting. I have tried other brands with no where the success of these fine tires. Highly recommended for your road cycling both racing and training.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable. Just reliable
by Boll Weevil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas Delta
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The only puncture I've ever had with Conti GP4000s was a pinch flat - my bad. For my road bike, I can't imagine a better investment, especially when they're on sale!

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire - improved ride
by Philip
Philadelphia
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This tire has just the right amount of road-gripping firmness while delivering a very comfortable ride. I'm very happy with the feel and handling. Its a big improvement over what was on my road bike previously.

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gold Standard
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Continental is still the gold standard in cycling tires. I use them on all 4 of my bikes. Gatorskins on my commuter bike, 4 Seasons on my winter road bike and these on my race bikes. The ride quality is superb. The handling is excellent. These won't last as long as the Gatorskins or 4 Seasons but that would be true of any premium tire. Get them on sale and they become a good value.

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page