X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(549 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(441)
(70)
(12)
(9)
(17)
(80%)
(13%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Generally very good despite recent defect
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I have been riding these tires for years, with absolutely no issues - not even a flat. However, recently installed a new set on Zipp carbons just 200 miles ago and had a bead failure (bead material snapped completely, punctured 3 tubes before pinpointing the issue). These are excellent when they work - hopefully this is an anomaly. These are amazing value at the current pricing as they are being replaced with the 5000s.

Reviewed 8/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A GREAT Tire
by Dog''s Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
All of Oregon
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using Grand Prixs for about 10 years. Great traction & few tire-related problems.

While the 5000 was recently released, and is 'new & improved,' there was nothing wrong with the 4000 IIs and the reduced price commonly found on them now makes them a really great deal. I will continue to run them on my road bike for years to come.

Reviewed 4/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still the best
by Gene Kriegsmann
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using GP4000 tires since their introduction, for a total of somewhere in excess of 25000 miles. They are tough, light, and terrific at cornering in all road conditions. I generally get about 3000 miles out of a set of these tires before the wear dimples disappear. This riding over largely chipseal roads. The only problem with these tires has been pointed out by a few reviewers, has to do with the sidewalls being somewhat fragile. I have only had to throw away one tire due to a sidewall puncture. It was upsetting due to it being a brand new tire, but I doubt that any tire would have survived that particular road hazard. I consider these to be about the toughest tire out there. I will continue to use them as long as they are available.

Reviewed 5/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brand new & put to the test!
by uXpected62
Competitive Racer
Flower Mound, TX
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just purchased these in April - 2nd set on my Trek Emonda SL6 w Aeolus 5s - I purchased the reflective tires this round - they are awesome at making you even more visible & my first ride out, I picked up a carpenter's finishing staple. No tube puncture or anything! I highly recommend these. I'll probably upgrade to the 5000s on the next round.

Reviewed 5/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good performer for both the avid cyclist and racer.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used these tires for both recreational riding, racing and race training. They have been good performers with reasonable wear and are solid in the corners for both criteriums and high speed descents.

Reviewed 3/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tires, great price
by GR Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids, MI
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I like the 4000 S II 700C tires well enough that they're the only ones I buy. I bought two on sale at half price to keep in reserve for when the others wear out-eventually. The price was too good to pass up on tires I prefer.

Reviewed 7/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sidewall separated from bead
by Tim
Cycling Enthusiast
N Seattle Metro
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Been riding Conti GP4000's for over 10 years without issue. Just put a new one on in June and had about 34 of sidewall separate from the bead after 400 miles. Riding on a paved trail, no debris hits, no warning...just went bad.

Reviewed 8/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go-to tires.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Humid, Florida
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

All tires involve trade-offs, but these require very little sacrifice in road feel and handling to get good flat-protection and respectable longevity. When they're discounted, they're a steal.

Reviewed 7/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very favorable impression
by T. Johnson
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to replace a set of Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires specifically because I was looking to reduce weight and rolling resistance. Based on research, this tire seemed to check both of those boxes while still providing reasonable puncture resistance.

These tires run incredibly smooth and effortless. As for puncture resistance, I just returned from a weeklong bike trip covering 500 miles of rural roads littered with sharp rocks and steel belted tire shards and didn't have one puncture. I even did a little gravel riding (less than 10 miles). I cannot comment on traction in the rain as I plan to use my Schwalbes for winter commuting, however due to the low weight and very low rolling resistance, I very highly recommend these tires for any type of distance riding (multiple day trips, or centuries), they exceeded my expectations.

Reviewed 9/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Soft and tacky
by Anonymous
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great for races, climbing, and descending. Probably a little soft for commuting.

Reviewed 6/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for 2018
by Spartan Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Conti GP 4000 S II, great all around tires. I've been using these for racing and riding for the past two years. I would say I get about 2000-3000 miles out of a tire, so they do last a good while. They handle great and are nice and fast.

They also provide very good puncture protection for a high performance tire. I know there are other 'racing' tires on the market, but they are very light and thin and certainly put you at risk for flats. From my past experience, there are few things that take you out of a race as fast as a flat tire.

If you balance price, performance and protection I don't think there is currently a better tire on the market.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable. Just reliable
by Boll Weevil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas Delta
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The only puncture I've ever had with Conti GP4000s was a pinch flat - my bad. For my road bike, I can't imagine a better investment, especially when they're on sale!

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Continental Grad Prix 4000S II road tire is the Go To Tire for cyclists.
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I run the Continental Grand Prix S II road tire on three of my four road bikes. They simple are the best tire for the money. Good rolling characteristics, puncture resistant and long lasting. I have tried other brands with no where the success of these fine tires. Highly recommended for your road cycling both racing and training.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire - improved ride
by Philip
Philadelphia
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This tire has just the right amount of road-gripping firmness while delivering a very comfortable ride. I'm very happy with the feel and handling. Its a big improvement over what was on my road bike previously.

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing tires
by JP
Cleveland, OH
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Great tires. They are my go to tire for training and racing

Reviewed 5/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rides well, wears well, my whole bike group uses them.
by Rob from Rhode Island
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhode Island
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I ride 100 miles a week on 3 different bikes and all 6 rims have the Conti 4000.

Reviewed 7/1/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around, high mileage tire
by William
CAMAS
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Great tire for the money. I rode these tires hard for 1500 miles. Great performance and minimal flats. But once they're done, they're done. Just pulled the rear tire off this week as I had a slow leak in the tire. It was time to replace.

Reviewed 6/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Two tires, five rides, three flats, hole in each tire.
by rondickinson
Cycling Enthusiast
Council Bluffs
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

Totally disappointed.

holes in both front and back tire.

multiple flats. Riding on roads, highway, chip seal, etc.

I'm done with these after less than 100 miles.

Going back to Schawlbe Tires

Reviewed 6/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
BEST BALANCE OF, DURABILITY, MILEAGE, PERFORMANCE AND VALUE...
by MightyG
Cycling Enthusiast
Beverly Hills, CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
11 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

Like many cyclists, I've tried a lot of different high performance tires looking for that one tire that excels at everything. In the end, I use GP4000's on all of my wheels. A few tires have a more supple ride, a few corner better. Other tires are miserable to fit or have weak side walls or get lousy mileage or are prone to flats. GP4000,s just inspire confidence. They corner well in wet and dry, I get excellent mileage, (3,000 mi. plus), average about 1 flat per year, never had a side wall problem and they have relatively low rolling resistance. I've hammered these tires on So. California roads and the GP4000.s always get me home safely.

Reviewed 10/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good performer for both the avid cyclist and racer.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I have used these tires for both recreational riding, racing and race training. They have been good performers with reasonable wear and are solid in the corners for both criteriums and high speed descents.

Reviewed 3/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page