X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(2)
(72%)
(11%)
(0%)
(6%)
(11%)
The Best Tubeless So Far!
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried multiple brands of tubeless or tubeless ready tires and mounting them and getting them to seal can be very frustrating-not so with the Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL. I've mounted 6 of them on various bikes and they have sealed & inflated every time the first time that I tried. Perhaps not quite as cushioned as other brands but their resistance to flats is excellent. They also seem to be more long-wearing than many of the other TL or TLR brands. Grip is also excellent! It's the best tubeless I've encountered so far!

Reviewed 3/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
by Ikey
Cycling Enthusiast
Enola, PA.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After 1,200 miles on this most recent set of tires. Most of the miles have been over the winter and this spring, lots of debris on the side of the roads. I can't tell you how many people I have passed on the side of the road fixing flats, not me. These Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tires do not get flats. I used to be that guy, I'd get 4 or 5 flats a year. After getting ENVE 3.4 tubeless rims and these Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tires (I ran the 4000's before these) I haven't had a flat in over two years and 12,000 miles. The ride is more compliant and the handling is the best.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My first tubeless setup. Spinergy FCC47
by ReyBeltran
Competitive Racer
RSM, CA

This is my first tubeless setup. I used a new set of Spinergy FCC47 wheels. They were easy to install and they ride very well, lots of grip in the corners and smooth over rough pavement. I run 75PSI-F 80PSI-R on 25mm.

Reviewed 6/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GP5000 TL don't fit Mavic Pro UST wheelset
by Steve Lester
Cycling Enthusiast
Issaquah, Washington

I have been a fan of Continental 4 Season tires for years and years, commuted with them year 'round . So, when I went tubeless, I choose the Conti GP5000 TLs. Unfortunately, these do not fit on Mavic Pro UST wheel sets. Trust me, I tried all the tricks for hours and 2 different bike shops also tried without success. These GP5000 TLs simply don't fit. Extremely disappointed.

Reviewed 6/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
There is a reason this the most talked about tire of the 2020 season
by tefloncat
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

ber gription, YES STICKY (even in wet conditions), tough (used on road, small aggregate fire road, easy single track...so far), available in tubeless model (this is the model I'm writing about), NOT SUPER light but acceptable, mounted relatively easy BY HAND and pumped up with REGULAR floor pump, with NO sealant, on a 2015 Reynolds Blacklabel 29er XC wheelset (I did add sealant post mounting...why tempt fate). I've never been a big Continental fan but this tire has changed my mind, at least for this model 5000 TL 32mm

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Got these after 2 sets of Bontrager R3 tubeless both suffering punctures. The 5000s have a great ride and hold the pressure.
by Old rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Greensboro, NC

Nice ride, seem to be durable, hold there tire pressure better than others Ive used.

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast rolling, superior handling, excellent tire
by Aaron
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NoPlaceLikeNebraska

Having just moved to tubeless, I wanted a fast rolling, yet durable tire. Research shows the 5000 TL is one of the fastest on the market today. Having previously ridden its tubed predecessor, a 25mm GP 5000, I knew Conti made a quality tire, yet it always felt stiff. I left that model for the buttery smooth ride of a 28mm Vittoria Corsa with skin walled cotton casing. Now I'm back to Conti for a 25mm GP 5000 TL. Set up tubeless, as it is intended, this tire strikes the balance it's fast, it's got incredible grip through corners, and it rolls really nice as well. It is not as supple as cotton casing, but a racier feel that is still comfy. I'm 5'9, 150lb, & run the tires 75psi front & 90 back, with a full Stan's set up.

Reviewed 5/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very pleased
by Anonymous

Outstanding tires.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Continental tire, their best yet!
by MadfiberRider
Seattle
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These are amazing tires and i have used several widths of the GP5000TL. I use several brands Schwalbe, Conti, Michelin, Specialized, and Clement. For road use, these GPs are my favorite. Amazingly fast and comfortable ride with great cornering. One funny thing with the size. The 32mm just barely fits in my 2019 Tarmac on the rear. A 28mm Durano doesn't since it rubs the seat tube. Also, the 32mm GP5000TL is very tight. I know all the tricks and i barely got it on. The 28mm copy of the same tire was great, very easy to mount. The 25mm copy was a little tight but not nearly so as the 32mm. These were all on the same wheel, a carbon Roval that came with the Tarmac. Also, running 50PSI in that 32mm rear rides like a Buick but still handles like a dream.

Reviewed 4/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire - with one caveat...
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Gold Canyon, AZ
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I had wanted to go tubeless road for quite awhile and in fact had tried another tire with little satisfaction. Then these Conti's came along at a great price and I decided to give em a go. All in all I am very pleased with how they ride and their durability (so far). Therein lies the caveat - I did get a sidewall slice in the rear tire and needed to replace it. I was a little surprised, but do know for sure that it was a sharp rock that caused the issue. A tip - warm these tires up in the sun or another warm location before mounting as they are a bit tough to get on the rim. Also some soapy water helps slip them over the rim lip. Once mounted, they popped right into place about 95 psi. They hold air as well as any tubed tire I've ever had and provide a very nice ride. I am 6-1, 190 pounds, 25mm tire width, 90 psi. Mavic Ksyrium Elite rims, DT Swiss valve and Stan's sealant.

Reviewed 4/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires are just the best I've found.
by DonCallme
Cycling Enthusiast
Durham, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm getting a lot of miles on these tires. They hold up very well and are worth the cost in the long run. I'm a big fan of tubeless tires, I have these tires on a set of Campy BORA 45 wheels.

Reviewed 4/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Tubeless Tire
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona Indiana
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

2nd set of these tires. Loved the first set and bought these as replacement. On sale, great buy and value. No mileage figure on first set. Still running them

Reviewed 4/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
500 mile update
by losmorob
Cycling Enthusiast
Nor CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm the previous review explaining how hard these are to mount. But after 600 miles I really like these tires! They roll fast and corner well. No surprises, a very predictable tire. I'm a heavier guy and one of my peeves regarding Continental tires is how quickly they 'square off' or develop a wide flat area . Not with these Conti's. Wear is good, better then the slightly faster but fast wearing Schwalbe Pro-Ones I used to use. If I can find an easier way to mount them I'm all in when it comes time to replace. Zero flats. Zero 'punctures' Well, that's the tubeless experience part.

Reviewed 4/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great purchase
by Cesar Medina
Houston TX
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great quality and prompt delivery

Reviewed 3/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Mounting issues
by losmorob
Cycling Enthusiast
Nor CA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

As noted in other reviews these tires are extremely hard to mount. Mavic Kyserum wheels. 60 years old cycling all my life and running tubeless about 4 years now. I almost returned them. The hardest tires I have EVER installed. But I ran 4000's and Gatorskins for years before going tubeless and I so wanted to try the new Conti Tubeless. I even heated them up in the oven. (don't tell the wife) Finally success with brute strength, tire levers, soapy water and wondering if I was going to bend my rims with the effort it took to mount. I have about 50 mile on them now. The ride is very nice and plush but firm, compared to the OEM Mavic tires (surprisingly good) and Hutchinson Fusion's (fragile, ripped a sidewall). Rolling resistance seems to be extremely good. I really like them, but not sure if I would go through the ordeal it took to mount them. I think slipping an emergency tube on the road would be extremely had to do. 5 stars for the ride.

Reviewed 1/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Performance and Reliability
by Beth
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

After using French manufactured tires for a couple seasons, I've returned to Continentals after I got stranded on the side of the road one too many times with gashes in the sidewalls. I'm running the 28s on Bontrager Aeolus rims. The handling is fantastic, and I haven't had any issues despite riding them in winter conditions with gravel on the roads. The tires stick in curvey mountain descents, but the ride is still comfortable.

Reviewed 1/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't get them on the rims
by steve
Competitive Racer
Miami
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I have Mavic UST tubeless Cosmic wheels and the came with the Mavic tires. Those tires are pretty easy (for tubeless) to get on and off but the puncture easily and I though I would try the Conti 5000s. Broke 2 levers, hands are hamburger and I still could not get them on the rims. You gotta know that when they fail to seal (and that DOES happen) it won't be any easier on the side of the road.

Reviewed 12/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire - used on my race wheels all summer
by fastrs4
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA

Light, fast, good traction, never punctured. Held air for days with a light amount of sealant. Paired with Enve SES 3.4s. Admittedly I use GP 4-Seasons for winter riding.

Reviewed 11/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.