Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 TL Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(472 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(381)
(57)
(11)
(8)
(15)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Gold Standard
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Continental is still the gold standard in cycling tires. I use them on all 4 of my bikes. Gatorskins on my commuter bike, 4 Seasons on my winter road bike and these on my race bikes. The ride quality is superb. The handling is excellent. These won't last as long as the Gatorskins or 4 Seasons but that would be true of any premium tire. Get them on sale and they become a good value.

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Grip!
by zbassdude
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Switching from a completely smooth road tire to a grippier one was the best switch. Massively versatile for a road tire.

Reviewed 11/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for 2018
by Spartan Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Conti GP 4000 S II, great all around tires. I've been using these for racing and riding for the past two years. I would say I get about 2000-3000 miles out of a tire, so they do last a good while. They handle great and are nice and fast.

They also provide very good puncture protection for a high performance tire. I know there are other 'racing' tires on the market, but they are very light and thin and certainly put you at risk for flats. From my past experience, there are few things that take you out of a race as fast as a flat tire.

If you balance price, performance and protection I don't think there is currently a better tire on the market.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all purpose tire
by Dsquared
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is my go-to tire. It's a fast tire and they feel stable when I'm screaming down a descent. I've tried other tires that are more puncture resistance but I find that the Conti 4000S tires are faster. I ride in the SF Bay Area where the roads (and bike lanes) are in terrible condition with a lot of debris. I've had a run of bad luck lately with this tire though. In the past 2 months, I experienced 12 flats, mostly from broken glass and one flat from a goathead.

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very favorable impression
by T. Johnson
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to replace a set of Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires specifically because I was looking to reduce weight and rolling resistance. Based on research, this tire seemed to check both of those boxes while still providing reasonable puncture resistance.

These tires run incredibly smooth and effortless. As for puncture resistance, I just returned from a weeklong bike trip covering 500 miles of rural roads littered with sharp rocks and steel belted tire shards and didn't have one puncture. I even did a little gravel riding (less than 10 miles). I cannot comment on traction in the rain as I plan to use my Schwalbes for winter commuting, however due to the low weight and very low rolling resistance, I very highly recommend these tires for any type of distance riding (multiple day trips, or centuries), they exceeded my expectations.

Reviewed 9/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Continental Grad Prix 4000S II road tire is the Go To Tire for cyclists.
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I run the Continental Grand Prix S II road tire on three of my four road bikes. They simple are the best tire for the money. Good rolling characteristics, puncture resistant and long lasting. I have tried other brands with no where the success of these fine tires. Highly recommended for your road cycling both racing and training.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best
by Runcoop
omaha ne
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I researched tires before I bought these and they were the highest rated. They did not disappoint. Roll smooth and quick and are surprisingly durable.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire - improved ride
by Philip
Philadelphia
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This tire has just the right amount of road-gripping firmness while delivering a very comfortable ride. I'm very happy with the feel and handling. Its a big improvement over what was on my road bike previously.

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable. Just reliable
by Boll Weevil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas Delta
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The only puncture I've ever had with Conti GP4000s was a pinch flat - my bad. For my road bike, I can't imagine a better investment, especially when they're on sale!

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Superb
by Steve F.
Boston
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These really are great tires, I now use these with latex tubes and my average speed has definitely increased - I'm still slow of course but I'll take any improvement I can get. The reflective strip is a nice touch too, now cars can undoubtedly see me from any angle. I have at least a few hundred miles on them and no flats even after accidentally riding through broken glass, there are small cuts on the tread but no flats so the puncture protection is good as well.

Reviewed 10/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great flat protection and excellent rolling resistance. The perfect tire.
by Bob Mac
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia, PA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very smooth riding tire. Have been using since 2016. Have gotten between 2000 and 5000 miles per tire.

Reviewed 11/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires have been great and were a much needed updated from the stock tires.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Roanoke, VA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

The tires have much better grip than the stock tires and the bike feels more stable.

Reviewed 11/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No better performance clincher
by Max
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

This tire has become the go-to tire of all my cycling friends. It is fast and comfortable, lasts longer than most performance tires, and is relatively flat-resistant. Of course, this is a race tire, so it's not going to be as bullet proof as a beefy commuter tire. But as an all-around performer, it's hard to beat.

Reviewed 10/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Impressive
by SramShimanoCampyrider
Daily Commuter
Utah
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Our rough roads have eaten every tire I have tried (Michelin, Panaracer, including previous Continentals and a list of others). These were on sale and decided to give them a try, they are holding up better than expected with the use of kevlar liners and puncture resistant tubes-I spend time riding not repairing. I have been very impressed with the road feel of these tires and after a long ride I usually have slight cuts in the outer tire casing and so far no cuts.

Reviewed 9/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can A Tyre Really Make That Much Difference?
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Still in break in mode with these tyres, but I noticed the difference after just one ride!

Mounted and inflated, these tyres have a rounder profile than the Tendrils and that seems to make a world of difference. It is almost like riding on a tubular. They corner great, rolling resistance seems less I had previously, acceleration is measurably improved, and because of the rounder profile, shock transmission is lessened. They have not been on the bike long enough to really say if they are more flat resistant, but no problems . . . so far.

The folding bead fits mt Vision rims securely, yet I can could mount the tyre without and mechanical assist. I presume taking the tire off the rim will be just as simple. While classed as a racing tyre, I have no hesitation using these on a daily basis.

All around excellent choice and money well spent.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Race worthy, but robust enough to train on, durable and puncture resistant warrior.
by Richard
Competitive Racer
Winter Garden, FL
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

This is the third or fourth season using GP4000 versions of clinchers . They give a smooth roll, hold up to all road conditions, tread is durable. I have them on two different wheel sets. One for training on my tri bike and another climbing wheel set for hilly rides on my road bike.

Reviewed 9/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire i've used so far
by cathleen
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I switched from gatorskins a year ago and immediately felt the difference. They rolled much easier and felt lighter. Had a puncture cause I fell off my trainer so I had to go back to the gatorskin for a short time. I could really feel the difference. Not as smooth and didn't roll as well. Gatorskin is a great tire but the 4000 is far and above in my opinion. The price was great for the value. If you want a great rolling tire without breaking the bank buy these, you will love them.

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
BEST BALANCE OF, DURABILITY, MILEAGE, PERFORMANCE AND VALUE...
by MightyG
Cycling Enthusiast
Beverly Hills, CA
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

Like many cyclists, I've tried a lot of different high performance tires looking for that one tire that excels at everything. In the end, I use GP4000's on all of my wheels. A few tires have a more supple ride, a few corner better. Other tires are miserable to fit or have weak side walls or get lousy mileage or are prone to flats. GP4000,s just inspire confidence. They corner well in wet and dry, I get excellent mileage, (3,000 mi. plus), average about 1 flat per year, never had a side wall problem and they have relatively low rolling resistance. I've hammered these tires on So. California roads and the GP4000.s always get me home safely.

Reviewed 10/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire that is surprisingly fast for something this tough
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Flyover country the GREAT state of Minnesota
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Have ridden on this tire for 18 months in 28 width. Have always ridden 23 to 25 but after doing some more research decided to try the 28's. As with many things in life it's hard to admit that everything you thought you knew was right is proven wrong when you finally give in and try. These tires are not slower, they might be a little heavier but not enough to make a difference for most riders. Their toughness is amazing. I finally decided after a summer of riding to buy another set in preparation for spring. The current set has multiple slices that would have flattened other tires.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Tri Tire
by MKD
NY
Review for Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

I have used Conti 4000 for I would say over 20 years. They have always performed and lasted exceptionally well. And there's a lot to be said for a tire that's been around that long!!

Reviewed 10/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page