CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(126 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(96)
(11)
(5)
(3)
(11)
(76%)
(9%)
(4%)
(2%)
(9%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Ian A

Best combination of tubeless performance and durability -- in my experience
by Ian A
Cycling Enthusiast
New York, NY
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a pretty big guy (190lbs), I ride in and around New York City (lots of less-than-ideal road surfaces, to put it kindly) and I rack up meaningful mileage (~9,000 miles/yr). So I am a destroyer of tires. I'm not really road racing right now, but I still prefer the road feel of a good race tire.

Other tires I have run (all in 28mm tubeless, mostly on ENVE rims) :

Schwalbe Pro One - it's been a few years, but the pair I had got cut up faster than any other tire I had used to date

Enve SES - loved the road feel of these tires, but have never gone more than 100 miles without puncturing a rear tire. Front tire was ok for a decent amount of time.

Vittoria Corsa Pro and variations: loved the way these rolled, but not durable enough for me

Hutchinson Secteur: a very durable tire that rolled acceptably, but seems to be gone now?

Teravail Rampart: durable, but honestly I didn't realize how terrible a road tire could feel! It was like riding in mud

Once I landed on the GP5K S TR, I have not looked back, except to occasionally test out other tires. They are really nice on the road, and, in my experience, have been more durable than other tires.

Punctures happen, and not generally in consistent ways, so I am careful not to blame a new tire if I happen to puncture early in its service. But when a tire consistently punctures early in its life, over multiple tires, that's when I say goodbye.

Reviewed 4/9/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CYinPA

Long time user, won't be swapping
by CYinPA
Competitive Racer
PA

This is my go-to go-fast tire. I know there are models that supposedly measure faster spinning on a drum somewhere protected from the real world, but I don't see the point in possibly saving a couple of watts, especially if the margin of error is more than the measured savings.

Anyway, I digress, these tires are great. I don't have the wear issues some have noted, I'm a light rider though, 152 pounds or so, maybe that's the trick. They are tough to get on almost every rim I've used them on, my trick is to leave them in the driveway on a sunny day, let them get toasty, and then get them on. I can do it with my thumbs, no levers, but it is a bit of a chore at the end. I have also inflated them with a normal floor pump and they pop right into place.

They roll fast enough for me, they definitely are more comfy than my daily driver tires (Cinturato Velo). Those tires are tough as nails, but noticeably slower.

I do run these tubeless, to protect me from some of the easy ones. I really don't have anything negative to say about them. Catch a sale to even out the price so you don't have to eat Corn Flakes for 2 weeks saving up. They weigh very close to the numbers posted too, which I appreciate not from a weight savings standpoint, but from a QC standpoint. You won't get the Friday afternoon special as frequently.

Give them a go, there's a reason they have tons of reviews, it's one of those situations where everything else tries to compare to this tire, just buy THIS tire and save the headaches.

Reviewed 5/13/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MK

Smooth, fast-rolling, and durable
by MK
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern CA

I had great experience using Contintental's GP line of clincher tires and this tire in tubeless configure delivers on that promise. These were easy to seat on the initial install. These tires perform just as well as the Vittoria Corsa TLRs that preceded them and they seem to be a bit more durable as well. Even on sale, they are pricey, hence only 4 stars on value.

Reviewed 5/23/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ben T

Perfect all rounder
by Ben T
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX

Much easier to mount than my previous GP5k TL tires. Still far from the easiest, but not nearly as many cuss words, beer and planetary alignment required to get these things on. Fast as always, pretty resistant to punctures and a nice ride. Conti continues to impress me.

Reviewed 5/23/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Six-O

32mm Rolling great at 1500 miles
by Six-O
Cycling Enthusiast
SE Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am riding on the 32mm wide version of this tire on Zipp Firecrest 303 wheels (25mm inner diameter) at 50/52 psi F/R. I weigh 185 lbs. They are both wearing well after 1500 miles use. The front tire still shows a trace of the casting seam in the middle of the contact surface, but not the back. Wear dimples are still visible on both tires. I have only found two tiny nicks from road trash in the contact patch of the rear tire. Sidewalls are in pristine condition. They roll very well and are extremely comfortable. I thought I was on a new bike after replacing 28mm tubed Conti GP5000 S tires on Mavic rims with 17mm ID. I expect the front tire to last for over 6,000 miles, perhaps much more. One of my Conti GP5000 S tubed 28mm tires lasted 10,000 miles before I replaced it. I have front and back ones still rolling with 8400 miles. I hope to get similar life out of these tubeless ready tires.

Reviewed 4/20/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Tire
by Anonymous

If it�s good for Pogacar It�s good enough for me. Get the black it�s faster.

Reviewed 5/24/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast tire
by Anonymous

Fast but fragile!

Reviewed 5/23/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast and grippy
by Anonymous
seattle wa

Bought two sets of 32s and have set these up tubeless on two of our bikes (Canyon Endurace with DT Swiss wheels and Trek Domane with Bontrager Aeolus wheels). I was able to mount them by hand on both sets of wheels but it does take some effort. They certainly feel faster than stock tires and are grippy in dry and wet conditions. Fast, smooth, and comfortable.

Reviewed 5/16/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great Tires
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Colorado

Came back to these after a year on a cheaper set from a different brand. I was immediately reminded how much tire choice impacts the quality of your ride. These are excellent. Expensive, but no more so than other premium tires.

Reviewed 5/18/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Michigander

Impressive quality out of the box
by Michigander
Ann Arbor, MI

This is my first time using the GP 5000 S TR, and right out of the packaging, these tires are super impressive. They a supple, which made installation easy and effortless. I was able to get them seated on my carbon rims with a floor pump. I�m a novice mechanic at best, and it took me less than 30 minutes to get them installed, filled with sealant, and out on the road. That�s a win for me. The ride is plush and I feel like I�m on rails when entering turns at speed. Really impressed with these tires. Aesthetically, they look fantastic, too.

Reviewed 4/11/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Feels great, wears out kind of quick, probably still worth it.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

After about 1500 miles the rear has plenty of cuts and a decent amount of wear, more than half way to the garbage can. The front still looks pretty good. Got a few flats on the rear in the last couple hundred miles.

Reviewed 4/25/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by David B

Smooth riding tough tire.
by David B
Cycling Enthusiast
Nesbit, MS

Impressed with the overall performance of the 5000 series tires. Have been riding them for several years and have no complaints.

Reviewed 5/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast- not durable. Great for race day
by Anonymous
9 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

Really love the feel of these, they�re light and fast. Unlike the schwalbes and the enves they seem to retain their speed after the first hundred miles.

Very susceptible to small punctures- definitely not as durable as the schwalbes. Probably equivalent to the enves.

Reviewed 10/13/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Very Happy with These
by John
NYC Area
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I got these in 28mm and mounted them on HED Ardennes LT+ TR rim brake rims (21mm interior width). Replaced a set of tubed GP4000s. Like other commenters note, the 28mm tubeless look like my former 25mm tubed tires, but I haven�t measured them. I didn�t have any trouble mounting these, though I used tire levers to mount them. They�re a pleasure to ride; tubeless is always a little plusher than tubed, but these are a bit silkier than other tubeless I�ve ridden. It may be my imagination but they seem a little faster than my previous GPs. I�ve ridden about 300 miles on them over all kinds of surface, including milled asphalt, crappy NYC streets, and dirt, and I�ve had no flats and no premature wear. Expensive but I expect to get every penny out of them.

Reviewed 9/18/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great all-around tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
California
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Fast pace group rides.

Have been using these and the previous model for years now. For me the overall feel is what I like best. Connected to the road but very supple. I seem to get about one flat a year with these and most of the time the sealant keeps the tire from going flat. They do not last as long as some harder tires but the handling and feel are well worth it. I now run about 90psi in the back and 85 up front in the 25s. I get almost two to one on changes front to back.

Reviewed 12/11/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SaGriff

Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire
by SaGriff
Cycling Enthusiast
Ohio

So far so good, these tires were recommended to me by a bike club member and I am happy I made the switch. Hoping to get some good mileage out of them.

Reviewed 4/25/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great tire.
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I avg over 10,000 miles every year, these GP 5000 STR tires are far the best tires I�ve ever used.

Reviewed 4/19/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by frizbking

Dependable and grippy
by frizbking
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Oregon
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The tubeless journey started with the MTB tires and then I tried the road tires. This new version of the Grand Prix is superb. I have acquired the appropriate tools and I can now change this tire in my garage in 5-10 minutes. Check out the Park Tool wheel block, it makes it much easier to get the needed leverage. I have been using Orange Seal Endurance without incident. The occasional puncture gives off a little spray and then seals. I'm talking 4k miles this year without a ride ending flat. I ride in Central Oregon on chip seal and on local mountain roads with debris and pot holes and snow plow gouges. I continue to lower the pressure on the tires until this year 64 front and 70 rear. I'm 189 pounds and this has significantly softened the ride.

Reviewed 11/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Santo

Fast and Grippy
by Santo
Federal Way, WA USA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The tires are great. For a point of reference, I ride them on a Canyon Endurace - carbon fiber frame, aluminum wheels and Di2 drivetrain. 700x28. They are fast but, still smooth. A more comfortable ride than Gatorskins. They�re very grippy. I�m taking corners and descending with these like perhaps and old man shouldn�t. I did over time end up with gashes that wouldn�t seal and had tubes in both tires before the wear indicators were all the way down. It�s my third set so, I definitely like them. I weigh 210 lbs (95ish kg) and they last me 1500 to 2000 miles.

Reviewed 11/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by daveK Scientist

QC issues
by daveK Scientist
Daily Commuter
Chicago in the City
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I outfitted my new dream road bike with these pricey tires, and I have nearly 1400 mi on these 28C tires without a single flat, despite frequently being unable to avoid rolling through broken glass on Chicago streets, so I'm impressed with the puncture resistance. Indeed, the tires are remarkably unscarred considering the miles. Similarly, the rear tire is showing minimal wear despite my 215 lbs, so I'm also impressed with tread wear. Together with the sweet ride, these are the best-performing Contis I've ever ridden, and I anticipate that they will serve me well beyond my typical life cycle of 2500mi for road tires except... Unfortunately, the loss of 2 stars in my rating is due to the regular appearance of threads peeling from the sidewalls approximately 5mm from the rim on my Enve SES 3.4s at what appears to be a subtle seam line. The threads of up to several inches in length fray from the sidewall of both front and rear tires, indicating the issue is not unique to a single tire. I trim away the loose ends, rather than pulling them due to concern for somehow compromising the tire. I've ridden mostly Contis for the last 40,000mi, and I've never experienced this issue with Conti road tires or any other tires on any of my bikes. Very disappointing for a pricey tire that's otherwise worth every penny!

Reviewed 10/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page