X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(55 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(34)
(4)
(3)
(3)
(11)
(62%)
(7%)
(5%)
(5%)
(20%)
Fast- not durable. Great for race day
by Anonymous
4 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Really love the feel of these, they�re light and fast. Unlike the schwalbes and the enves they seem to retain their speed after the first hundred miles.

Very susceptible to small punctures- definitely not as durable as the schwalbes. Probably equivalent to the enves.

Reviewed 10/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worse Tire Ever
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. George, UT
7 of 23 customers found this review helpful.

I've been riding road bikes for 25 years and used many different brands and styles of tires within brands. I generally like Continentals but these are the hardest tires to mount and dismount on rims I've ever encountered. It took me half an hour trying to mount these stubborn tires on my front rim and longer on the back rim. I can usually change a flat in less than two minutes. Pinched a tube on the back, broke a tire lever, tore up my hands, and scratched my rims. I could not imagine trying to change these on the road. Do yourself a favor and do NOT even consider these. Besides they are priced so high.

Reviewed 9/30/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Happy with These
by John
NYC Area
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I got these in 28mm and mounted them on HED Ardennes LT+ TR rim brake rims (21mm interior width). Replaced a set of tubed GP4000s. Like other commenters note, the 28mm tubeless look like my former 25mm tubed tires, but I haven�t measured them. I didn�t have any trouble mounting these, though I used tire levers to mount them. They�re a pleasure to ride; tubeless is always a little plusher than tubed, but these are a bit silkier than other tubeless I�ve ridden. It may be my imagination but they seem a little faster than my previous GPs. I�ve ridden about 300 miles on them over all kinds of surface, including milled asphalt, crappy NYC streets, and dirt, and I�ve had no flats and no premature wear. Expensive but I expect to get every penny out of them.

Reviewed 9/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These things sing and fly over pavement
by Andrew T.
San Francisco

I got a 25mm pair put on my ENVE 3.4s and did my normal training route and at the end of my ride, I had a feeling of utter joy and mind you, I've done this is the training circuit countless times for several years!

I have the 25mm in tubeless on both my bikes in black and transparent. This new version of the 5K S TR is really just bliss. My set that is now one year old shows no little to no cuts, and has never needed a dynaplug, knock on wood!

I really love these tires and they rank just above the Schwable Pro One tubeless setup.

My advice is that you will need a slick of soap in the stubborn part of the tire to get it up and over the rim wall lip. These tires are certainly hard to put on but after using a tiny bit of soap and my rubber palm mechanics gloves from climbing the cables on Half Dome in Yosemite. The tire snapped right into my rim brake ENVE 3.4 SES with a few hard goes of gripping the tire with my palm shove method, my thumbs alone weren't strong enough.

Added some Orange Seal Endurance, blasted them with my Lezyne chamber pump and hit my hilly training circuit with more joy than words can describe.

The tires were smooth, supple and confident. I really loves the feel of them and now have them on both my road bikes!

Reviewed 1/9/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worst tires ever
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these to replace my worn out Schwalbe pros. I've used GP tires in the past eg...GP4000 clincher, GP5000 clincher etc...Decided to try the new GP5000 TLR since I've heard great reviews of their previous version. Mounting was easy for my specific rim. Everything was going ok . After a couple hundred miles, notice the pressure wouldn't hold as well as the Schwalbe's did. Probably lose around 30-40 psi per week. Unfortunately one day I ran over maybe 11 thorns on my usual 40 miler. Must be bad luck. 8 out of the 11 sealed. I always carry a hand pump so eventually limped home. Used soap and bubble to find the tiny punctures. Decided to check the side walls too and low and behold found multiple micro leaks on both sides. Checked the other tire and same thing. Switched to Pirelli's and so far so good.

Reviewed 12/15/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pricey, but THE tire for Hookless rims
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ventura Cty CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Super fast rolling tire.

I use 28mm size

Use a good sealant like the Silca stuff and they are fantastic.

I have had a 5mm hole in the tread when I used Stan's and they would not seal to anything above 25/30psi.

No match for broken glass on a sidewall though.

but I stress that these are fast and sticky tires!

Only "problem" is the price, however if hookless rims are what you use, this is THE tire to beat.

Reviewed 12/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not durable.
by Wyoroady
WY CA

I liked the first iteration of these and waited for the second iteration. Mistake. Ruined 2 new tires with in weeks. One sidewall and one big cut. Didn't seem to have much protection. Unfortunately I have several left in stock. Will run them as front tires now.

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to mount. No more punctured tubes.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Corvallis, Oregon
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Although I'm old and have weak, arthritic hands, these tires mounted easily, without tools. I have almost 2500 miles on my current set, and will likely ride them for a few hundred more.

I live in a small west coast city where about 1/2 the population is now homeless, living in a variety of tents, tarp shacks, and lean-tos made out of stolen building materials. As a result, all the bike paths and lanes are littered with broken glass, needles, and other various bits of sharp junk that cause punctures. These tires have had at least 10 punctures (small and large), but they have always sealed. They have saved me many times, coming or going from work, from having to change a tube, on a dark, isolated bike path.

I will most certainly buy these tires again.

Reviewed 12/1/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires hands down
Orange CA

I use the 5000 s TR for my Zipp wheels which provide so much security against flats. All type of roads don't stop these babies. It's been hard to get but now I'm fully stock. They're so consistent with air pressure especially after refill of tire sealant

Reviewed 1/11/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Tires
by Anonymous
san Diego

I've used Continental tires for years and was relieved that they offered the tubeless, hookless version for my new Zipp wheels!

From my experience the Continental tires are durable and easy to get on and off my wheels!

Reviewed 1/12/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires.
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have the Grand Prix 5000 tubeless and feel it worth every penny.

Got a puncture/ slash last week which was leaking. But�. It sealed itself after a while and I�ve been riding consistently.

I�m a fan.

Reviewed 11/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires, Easy to mount with Tubeless Setup! A++++
by Jesus
Cycling Enthusiast
Long Beach, CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Very happy with the tires. I was able to mount myself and actually complete a successful tubeless setup. Love these tires. Purchased a few for backups. The Tan walls are beautiful!!! I will purchase again.

Reviewed 10/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Seems durable and easy to seat!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Too early to say how durable this will be over the long run. The one thing that stood out was how easy it was to get this seated on my tubeless rim - no sweat at all. Definitely not the case for the Vittoria Corsa tire it was replacing which was next to impossible for me to seat.

I have used similar Continental road tires for years with tubes, so I expect great results.

Reviewed 12/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improve confidence
by hilbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Hercules, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This replaces my old GP5000 TL 700x30 with 2500 miles and rubber is starting to get harder.

I ordered STR in 700x28 and immediate notice improve handling and confidence and allow me to take a corner faster. I had a accidentally rollover some glass and sharp rocks and this Conti kept me rolling.

Tried other tires like Pirelli PZero TLR, flats within 300 miles, Schwalbe Pro 1, GY, but GP5000 STR is the best for me so far for reliability, speed and handling.

Reviewed 11/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does the Job
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay Area
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

So far so good. I'm running a tubeless set up with vittoria inserts around 75psi. Grip and road feel are great. I haven't tested it in the rain (since I live in CA). About 500 miles and no issues other than having to repump the psi more often than I would like to do. To be fair I don't know if that's the tire our my sealant. I would had rated higher if prices were a bit lower.

Reviewed 10/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
What happened Continental!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Florida
10 of 21 customers found this review helpful.

Compared to their older version, these are trash. The rolling resistance is bad, feels like they drag and go slower unlike the originally gp5000 tubeless. Way over priced. I was excited for a gum wall tubeless conti tire.

If you read an unpaid review site, they found continental took off a layer on the base of the tire to save on weight. But realistically that drops puncture protection. I went with a Schwalbe pro one and what a difference, felt like a rocket ship on butter.

https://www.bicyclerollingresistance.com/road-bike-reviews/continental-grand-prix-5000-s-tr

Reviewed 7/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast but fragile
by KC Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas City, MO
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Really wanted to love these tires but after 500 or so miles I have to give these a thumbs down. 99% of my riding is on rough/old pavement but I don't ride where there is a lot of glass or debris. Set up tubeless at 30mm these tires should be more durable but instead I get constant punctures including two big enough to require tubeless repair with Dynaplug.

Pros: very fast, comfortable, and light

Cons: extremely prone to puncture, still too difficult to mount tubeless

Reviewed 9/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Do not buy these tires!!
by Darkmatterguy
Orchard Park, NY
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

First.

I have ridden Continental 5000 tube tires for 15 years. Loved them.

Between my wife and I we crushed 3 pairs of the Continental 5000 TL tubeless tires. Run into the cords without a single flat! Super great.

The new version Continental 5000TR is plain awful. We had six of them two months ago. One went 650 miles without a flat - the record. The other five failed within 150 miles. None are repairable.

These tires cut like playdoh. No hole is too small to fail.

I�m tempted to cut a plug and run a test to see if there is any aramid (Kevlar) cord. I think there is none.

My advice - buy the 5000 TL if you find it. Never buy the 5000 TR. bad bad bad

Any claims of product improvement are lies. These suck.

Reviewed 9/12/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great set of tires...
by tyjacks
Competitive Racer
Memphis, TN
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Great set of tires, for me that is.... Waited quite a while for these and they were worth the 3 month wait. 700x28 tires roll effortlessly smooth, great grip wet/dry, very durable on city streets. Running these on ENVE 6.5 wheels with Silca latex tubes on a 2022 S-WORKS SL7. Very easy to mount on ENVE SES 6.5 wheels, no issues. This is s phenomenal wheel/tire/tube combination, performance and durability with tubes. Will eventually try a tubeless setup, but this is working great for crits and road races. Two thumps up... Will purchase another set when available from backorder...

Reviewed 9/6/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so wonderful
by Fcotanis
northernVA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Context: 2021 enve ar 45 - hookless and tubeless, inner diameter of rims 25mm. Tire I ordered 28mm black conti s tr. Previous tire Michelin Power road tlr.

Installation: they went on the easiest.

Aero: measured with my caliper and the total tire width is about a mm less than previous - so more aero on this rim.

Ride quality: on a different level better than the previous tire.

Grip: confidence inspiring in the dry. No wet running for me and no plans for it.

Longevity,Puncture resistence: TDB

Air holding in tubeless running: very good - same as previous tire.

Reviewed 9/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page