X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 5000 S TR Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(2)
(75%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(25%)
Impossible to mount
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
9 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

Absolutely impossible to mount on Rovals. Literally, will not go on. Tried everything including a tire jack and heating the tire. Took it to LBS; couldn't do it, either. Would give it zero if I could since it's useless.

Reviewed 5/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
How do you mount these?
by JW
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Frankly, I have given up trying to mount these. A lot of anguish and the effort to mount them even drew blood. What a waste of money!

I am a long time cyclist and not a rookie at putting tires on rims. This is not the first difficult time I've had with Continentals but even though the others were difficult this is the one I finally gave up on. I had to give it one star as zero isn't an option.

Can I have my money back?

Reviewed 6/2/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pleased so far.
by Bob T
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding Continentals for the past 7 years. This is my first pair of TR tires. I used Conti 5000 25C with tubes previously and thought I would try tubeless. Mounted the 28C 5000 S TR on new Hunt Rims without much ado after watching a couple videos. Was able to inflate with a regular floor pump (possibly due to design of tire and rims). I have a Trek Domane and ride exclusively on the road. After 600+ miles I can say I have had no issues and the ride and handling are great. I am confident in the tire.

Reviewed 6/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best road tire I've ever ridden
by gbd
Competitive Racer
US Southeast

I've had about all the Conti road tires over the past 20yrs riding and racing. Clinchers, tubulars, & tubless. I was not a big fan of the 4000s and thought the 5000s were not bad. But then I ordered these TLs (28mm) & mounted on a set of Cadex 42s and am still shocked at how amazing they feel. I thought tires are tires, but these ride like tubulars on another level. I run around 80psi and the grip on corners is noticeable even in the wet. I used to dread chip & seal road surface but now look forward to it as these tires will make it feel like fresh pave. I've only had them for about 1K miles but have had zero problems. They are well worth the price. Ordering another set.

Reviewed 6/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GP 5000 STR
by David
San Antonio
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are way easier to mount with much less finger damage and swearing the the GP 5000 TLs. I've only ridden a few hundred miles without any issues so far, but clearly not enough to speak to longevity. So far, seems to have a similar ride feel to the previous GP 5000 TL. These tires are very hard to come by. Waited about 4 months for the set.

Reviewed 4/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best
by Anonymous
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Simply the best road tubeless tire. Performance. Durability. Quality. The best just got better with the GP 5000 S TR.

Reviewed 4/6/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Product!! The only tire that I will run on my bike.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Anaheim, CA
3 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I have been running TL tires now for several years and found the Continental Grand Prix 5000 TL to be the best tire around. Great performance in both training rides and races and peace of mind knowing I am running a great tire. Highly recommend this tire, it may be a little pricey but well worth it.

Reviewed 1/6/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hookless Rim Compatable GP5000 - Finally!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
11 of 20 customers found this review helpful.

ENVE approves only hookless rim compatible tires for use on their hookless rims, so I'm glad I can now safely try a GP5000 set. (I know a number of people have gone through the difficulty of mounting the earlier hooked GP5000 tire version on ENVE hookless rims, so these new tires ought to make them much happier too.)

https://www.enve.com/learn/tire-compatibility/

Reviewed 11/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.