Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(410 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(321)
(52)
(11)
(10)
(16)
(78%)
(13%)
(3%)
(2%)
(4%)
Comfort
by Anonymous
alaska

After too much research I decided to go with GP4000s for a middle distance triathlon. After several hundred miles tires are still in great shape. It appears there is a reason most triathletes use them - seems like the best combination of durability and speed (not that a tire impacts my speed much). If they are good enough for the pros they are good enough for me.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely a watt saving tire.
by brad824
Competitive Racer
Loganville Ga

I usually ride the Gatorskin's, but no more. This tire is around a 10 watt saving.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast Down Hill
by Daniel
Daily Commuter
Massachusetts

I bought these tires to replace Conti all season tires which I loved in preparation for a race. Have used them for a week. I have not ridden them in the rain. I have noticed that they roll more quickly down hill than the 4 season tires. They grip well on the road. The ride is smooth. No complaints thus far.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for the money
by Anonymous
seattle, WA

This has always been my go to tire. After riding the Gaterskin tire for the winter its even more of a pleasure to get back on the 4000S tires.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Poor quality and workmanship
by Candoall1
USA

Have used Continental 4000S II since they hit the market and Continental 4000S previously. Usually get 2500-3000 miles on the tires. 1 tire the side wall blew out with only 250 miles on it. Another blew out with only 180 miles on them. My opinion is both tires were defective in workmanship. Now trying to determine which tire brand to use.

Reviewed 7/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sidewall failed
by CG
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado

Nice tire except the sidewall failed (tear) after only 1200 miles. No obvious cause - smooth road. Too bad - I liked it otherwise. Seems like it had goodlow rolling resistance on my kind of roads. Won't buy it again because of the failure.

Reviewed 7/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
spectacular tires!
by Oregon Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lebanon OR

My go to tire! Great traction and a good balance between durability and performance.

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My only issue is this tire is prone to sidewall punctures which renders the tire unusable. I have had several!!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

My only issue is this tire is prone to sidewall punctures which renders the tire unusable.

Reviewed 7/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really wanted to like this tire... but can not recommend
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I decided to switch over to the 4000S after reading all the positive reviews for a summer of riding in the Mountains of Western North Carolina. The tires felt fast and smooth... very nice riding. Unfortunately, after a few hundred mikes I had a sidewall blowout (very dangerous on mountian rides!). I purchased another 4000S from a local LBS, only to have a 2nd sidewall blowout about 7 weeks later. After my first blowout, I started regularly checking my tires for cuts prior to rides and saw nothing. Talking to 2 members of my cycling group they also experienced sidewall blowouts before on these tires. Maybe just bad luck, but based on personal experience and comments form others I will not use these tires again. I have been riding Michelin and Specialized tires (both prior and after) on the same wheels without incident...

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
major problems with these tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
salem, oregon

First of all, I have bicycled consistently for 59 years (I am 66 now), including racing in the various categories on various single and tandem bicycles (and wheel sets). I learned how to repair sew-ups when I was in my teens and have used probably every tubular and clincher tire on the market. Other Continental tires never gave me any problems. These specific tires-2 in a row using different brands of tubes-blew out while riding around 45 miles. I purchased 2 tires initially, for the front and back. While riding, the tire literally separated along the bead (first time I have experienced that) and subsequently the tube blew. I reordered the same brand, using a new tube, and after about 45 miles, this tire also blew out-separated along the bead (same place, same problem). This was not the case of a pinched flat or underinflation or torn sidewall or bad tube (I used two brand new tubes, different company-and not thins- and the right size). So, I concluded that there was a manufacturing flaw. I will not give up on Continental tires but will give up on this specific model.

Reviewed 7/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
BEST BALANCE OF, DURABILITY, MILEAGE, PERFORMANCE AND VALUE...
by MightyG
Cycling Enthusiast
Beverly Hills, CA
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

Like many cyclists, I've tried a lot of different high performance tires looking for that one tire that excels at everything. In the end, I use GP4000's on all of my wheels. A few tires have a more supple ride, a few corner better. Other tires are miserable to fit or have weak side walls or get lousy mileage or are prone to flats. GP4000,s just inspire confidence. They corner well in wet and dry, I get excellent mileage, (3,000 mi. plus), average about 1 flat per year, never had a side wall problem and they have relatively low rolling resistance. I've hammered these tires on So. California roads and the GP4000.s always get me home safely.

Reviewed 10/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great handling and reliability!
by Anonymous
Denver, CO

I decided to try these tires instead of the 4 Season. They handle better and are still very durable and puncture resistant.

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tireBetter price
by Kenny Gober
McGehee, Arkansas

These tires are the best on the market today! Theyre fast & smooth as well as long lasting!

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Mileage, Best Puncture-Proof, Best Grip
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles,CA

Use on the front and rear road bike...best tire in all respects... maybe only drawback -- THE WEIGHT....

Reviewed 6/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire that is surprisingly fast for something this tough
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Flyover country the GREAT state of Minnesota
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have ridden on this tire for 18 months in 28 width. Have always ridden 23 to 25 but after doing some more research decided to try the 28's. As with many things in life it's hard to admit that everything you thought you knew was right is proven wrong when you finally give in and try. These tires are not slower, they might be a little heavier but not enough to make a difference for most riders. Their toughness is amazing. I finally decided after a summer of riding to buy another set in preparation for spring. The current set has multiple slices that would have flattened other tires.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice ride and good wear.
by Peter
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas

I bought these as my everyday tires and for an upcoming ride across the length of Kansas. 565 miles, some of it on secondary roads, not flats, no problems.

Reviewed 6/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I trust this tire
by Starke Raving
Virginia

I have been riding on Grand Prix 4000 for many years! I have never had any problems and I am 210 pounds.

I normally ride around 3000 miles each year. Not too bad for 75?

I just switched my front tire to the rear only because I like to keep a new tire on the front. The tire I moved had over 4000 miles on it and still had plenty of mold dimples showing!

I have read several reviews on this tire that says that they dont last?

I am heavy and ride rough Virginia roads and even some gravel roads, but these tires hold up for me! Just one old farts opinion!

Reviewed 6/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still the best
by JPL
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego

I have tried many tire brands over the years but in the end I always come back to the 4000 S. Rolls great and is far more puncture resistant than almost anything else I have tried except perhaps for Conti's Gatorskins

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gp4000sll
by David
Ijamsville Md

These tires ate awsome. They were delivered right on time. Easy to put on. I have put about 200 miles on them no flats. And the bike handles better and is actually faster with these tires on it.

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rollin resistance and performance.
by ezbentrider
Cycling Enthusiast
Vail, AZ

Performance and rolling resistance are excellent. My only issue is this tire is prone to sidewall punctures which renders the tire unusable.

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page