Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(364 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(290)
(46)
(7)
(10)
(11)
(80%)
(13%)
(2%)
(3%)
(3%)
BEST BALANCE OF, DURABILITY, MILEAGE, PERFORMANCE AND VALUE...
by MightyG
Cycling Enthusiast
Beverly Hills, CA
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Like many cyclists, I've tried a lot of different high performance tires looking for that one tire that excels at everything. In the end, I use GP4000's on all of my wheels. A few tires have a more supple ride, a few corner better. Other tires are miserable to fit or have weak side walls or get lousy mileage or are prone to flats. GP4000,s just inspire confidence. They corner well in wet and dry, I get excellent mileage, (3,000 mi. plus), average about 1 flat per year, never had a side wall problem and they have relatively low rolling resistance. I've hammered these tires on So. California roads and the GP4000.s always get me home safely.

Reviewed 10/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best road tire fortaining andcompetition
by Jacob
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Altos

The Continental GP4000s delivers, it can be more expensive than other tires but you get what you pay for.

I highly recommend it and Bikestiresdirect has the best prices and service.

Reviewed 4/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One of the best road tire now with high visibility stripe. Good grip with relatively low rolling resistance.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Omaha, NE

The tires are on a set of ENVE wheels. Regular road use. Great grip. I use the 4000 S tires on all my clincher wheels

Reviewed 4/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire
by Thomas
Vegas Valley

I always stock up on a few of these tires whenever they are on sale. They are light and durable. I use them for races and training. Rarely will they flat, and that is usually caused by steel wire from steel belted tires that litter our roads.

Reviewed 4/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
by Ronald Borgwardt
Conejo Valley California

I got 3000 miles on these tires with no flats.

Reviewed 4/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
by Ronald
Thousand Oaks

I've put 3000 miles on these tires with no flats.

Reviewed 4/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire that is surprisingly fast for something this tough
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Flyover country the GREAT state of Minnesota
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have ridden on this tire for 18 months in 28 width. Have always ridden 23 to 25 but after doing some more research decided to try the 28's. As with many things in life it's hard to admit that everything you thought you knew was right is proven wrong when you finally give in and try. These tires are not slower, they might be a little heavier but not enough to make a difference for most riders. Their toughness is amazing. I finally decided after a summer of riding to buy another set in preparation for spring. The current set has multiple slices that would have flattened other tires.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GP 4K Reflex
by gambler
Ca

I do alot of riding at night and these tires are perfect for us. They reflect really well and are nice and sturdy.

Reviewed 3/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Spider-Man tyres
by Tommy
Atlanta
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

If Spider-Man rode a bicycle instead of using webs he would be on a set of Continental GP 4000's enough said!

Reviewed 7/21/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GP4000S II inflates to wider than sidewall spec
by morningglass
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

GP 4000S II inflates to wider than sidewall spec. After blog search, purchased GP4000S II to ride in Tour of Flanders Sportive. Blog recommendations were to use wider tires inflated to lower pressure to take out some of the harshness of riding on the Flemish cobbles. Measured width of forks, chain stays, and seat stays (eight year old Fondriest carbon frame and Easton fork) and determined not wide enough for 28mm but 25mm should fit. Purchased and mounted 700x25 GP4000S IIs and inflated to 95 psi. Measured width of inflated tires (digital micrometer) was 27.75mm leaving about 1 mm clearance each side between tires and fork and stays. Tires rode well on the cobbles - comfortable, good traction in the damp, and most importantly NO PUNCTURES. Remounted 700x23 other brand tires that had been removed to mount the GP4000s IIs to regain tire-to-forkstays clearance and will use the GP4000s IIs on another bike with greater forkstay widths. Great tires, next time this bike needs tires will probably buy another set of GP4000s IIs in 23mm width.

Reviewed 5/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great reliable road tire
by EMerckx
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA

These tires are very well made, run straight and hold up to abuse well. A great compromise of good handling and long-wearing

Reviewed 2/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
superb all around tire for all conditions
by longtimerider
Cycling Enthusiast
berkeley, ca
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

a very well handling, light, responsive tire. I am using the 25C version and they actually measure out to 27 mm when inflated to 98 psi which is what I run the rear at, the front I run at 92. I weigh an even two bills and have found these tires to be ideal for all seasons as they also provide excellent puncture resistance with the high strength belt Conti uses. Durability is also good, you do want the tire to show wear over time as this indicates the suppleness of the tread. Check 'em out.

Reviewed 4/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
About the best race tire on the market that is rugged enough to train on.
by chickenl
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I use these for riding, racing all of it. I've never found a tire that performs this well and also holds up to regular riding on imperfect roads.

There are many tires that perform this well, but none are as flat resistant and durable as the GP4000SII

Reviewed 2/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I like the reflecting option for my training bike.
by Michael B
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area

Conti GP4000s are known for their low rolling resistance, and my own personal spin-down tests on my training rollers confirm this. The supple sidewalls come with a price, however-they are a little more prone to punctures if you accidentally drop your bike into a pavement crack and snag the sidewall. Easy to do in bad lighting conditions. That's where the reflective version comes in. The reflective strip provides a little more sidewall protection and helps cars see you in the dark. They are very handy on bike tours when you have to negotiate your way back to your tent at night using a headlamp-you just have to look for those big bright double circles.

Reviewed 3/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ive used these tires with good results.
by Bob

Tires performed well

Reviewed 3/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
excellent tire
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

Pricey, but excellent speed tire. Good grip (I only ride on dry roads). Wife has 1500 miles on hers with one flat (staple). I have about 400 miles on mine, no flats slight wear. As good as my other top tire - Schwalbe One.

Reviewed 1/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire.
by Anonymous
Boise Idaho
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is not the smoothest rolling tire. It My last set made it over 3000 miles. For the money, to get a durable fast rolling tire, this one is hard to beat.

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Grand Prix 4000S 700C
by Rob Brent
Pleasanton, CA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Have used for years. Continentals are dependable, love the wear indicator dimples & roll & corner efficiently.

Do wish access to longer stem presta 60mm tubes was easier. Why don't more manufacturers make such? With the increase in carbon wheels, longer stems is necessary. And I prefer non-threaded smooth stems so the grommet in my air pumps are not worn out by the thread abrasion faster. Please consider this.

Reviewed 1/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My 'go to' tire!
by Jill C
Competitive Racer
Pittsburth, PA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I love this tire for a number of reasons. First, it's one of the few I can find that come in the 700 x 20 size. While I have read and understand the logic behind the physics of a bigger tire, I'm a firm believe in the 20s and will continue to use them until I cannot purchase them any more. These Continentals are consistently reliable and I am always confident when riding on them. I race with these as well as do high mileage distance rides and really get a ton out of these tires. I rarely have blowouts which gives me an even greater confidence to ride hard when racing. I've found 20s in other tires that haven't lasted nearly as long as the Continentals. It's a solid, consistently well performing tire that I will continue to purchase.

Reviewed 1/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GP 4000 tires are my favorite tires for racing.
by MBA266
Competitive Racer
Tennessee and Arizona
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use this product for crit racing. The tire conforms to the corners well and have good flat resistance on the open road.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page