Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(515 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(416)
(64)
(12)
(8)
(15)
(81%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
best tires
by kulioh
Casual Cyclist
san francisco
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding for about 4 years and these are the best tires I have used.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very favorable impression
by T. Johnson
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to replace a set of Schwalbe Marathon Plus tires specifically because I was looking to reduce weight and rolling resistance. Based on research, this tire seemed to check both of those boxes while still providing reasonable puncture resistance.

These tires run incredibly smooth and effortless. As for puncture resistance, I just returned from a weeklong bike trip covering 500 miles of rural roads littered with sharp rocks and steel belted tire shards and didn't have one puncture. I even did a little gravel riding (less than 10 miles). I cannot comment on traction in the rain as I plan to use my Schwalbes for winter commuting, however due to the low weight and very low rolling resistance, I very highly recommend these tires for any type of distance riding (multiple day trips, or centuries), they exceeded my expectations.

Reviewed 9/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Runs large
by Anonymous
New York
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Running 28s on a Specialized Roubaix (2014 carbon frame) they rubbed. When calipered at 100psi they read 32mm. Changed to the 25s and had perfect clearance. The 25s measured 27mm at 100psi.

1400 miles in 6 months (40-100 F) on smooth to chipped surfaces with occasional pot holes

No issues and minimal visual wear

Reviewed 12/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road tire
by NorthBayBiiker
Casual Cyclist
NorthBay, Bay Area, Ca USA

These a long lasting, durable road tires that perform great and live up to the hype. The longevity of these tires also make them a great value. I use them on a daily basis for training rides in all conditions. Because of geographic considerations where I ride and live, I typically climb 3000 ft. on any given ride. These tires provide light weight for climbing and great stability when descending Highly recommended.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for 2018
by Spartan Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Conti GP 4000 S II, great all around tires. I've been using these for racing and riding for the past two years. I would say I get about 2000-3000 miles out of a tire, so they do last a good while. They handle great and are nice and fast.

They also provide very good puncture protection for a high performance tire. I know there are other 'racing' tires on the market, but they are very light and thin and certainly put you at risk for flats. From my past experience, there are few things that take you out of a race as fast as a flat tire.

If you balance price, performance and protection I don't think there is currently a better tire on the market.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always a classic
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
San Diego CA

You can't go wrong with these tires. They're my favorite for both racing and training.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire would buy again
by Pam spotts
virginia

Good quality and a nice ride. Have been riding for years.

Reviewed 1/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Confident with comfort
by Rich L.
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster, PA

I have been riding Continental tires for about twenty years. They have only improved their products and I appreciate the durability.

My latest tires are 700 x 25 and it has made a noticed improvement without any disadvantages. The ride is even better.

Reviewed 1/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Tire!
by summerboy
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina

I've been riding on these tires for many years. They are simply the best!

Reviewed 1/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth and Strong
by Elyse
Houston

Great tires for endurance riding. I was using Gatorskins on the past three century rides. The Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c road tire rocks. I can get better speed for sure.

Buy them.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Performance & Durability!
by Nisswa Bob
Brainerd MN

As a heavier rider (200 lbs), but one that likes to ride as fast as these old legs can do, Im always looking for a performance tire, but yet one that will last me 1000 miles. Ive found these tires in a 700c X 25mm the best for me after trying several Michelin & Schwalbe Tires as a alternative. In 4000 miles of seasonal riding my flats are usually limited to 3 - 5 (not bad?).

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Road Bike Tire for the performance and money
by Calvaradousa
San Diego

I have been using Continental Grand Prix 4000 for years for its reliability, superior performance and price. I ride 5K-10k miles a year. I have tried other tires but always found my self gping back to use continental Grand Prix, a bike tire I trust without breaking my budget.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sticky and Tough!
by Tim
Competitive Racer
Morris County, NJ

I know all my buddies are excited about the new 5000 tire, but really... how much better can it be? I grew-up on Italian rubber, but these tires just give you so much confidence!

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love em
by rm10036
Competitive Racer
NYC

Perfect for the road. Im a big boy and use the 700 x 25. Hey no tire is 100% perfect but I get a good life from these

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The only road tire I use!
by Mark12
Downers Grove, IL

Been using these tires for years. Fast, supple and better then most regarding flats. That reflective stripe is very sharp especially with aero wheels.

Reviewed 1/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Tire
by Anonymous

Recently switched from 23s to 25s. I like the ride quality better. The 25s in this brand is very good. No flats yet and smooth ride.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire at a great price
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA

This has been my standard road bike tire for the past 5 years. Good durability.

Reviewed 1/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Continental Grad Prix 4000S II road tire is the Go To Tire for cyclists.
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I run the Continental Grand Prix S II road tire on three of my four road bikes. They simple are the best tire for the money. Good rolling characteristics, puncture resistant and long lasting. I have tried other brands with no where the success of these fine tires. Highly recommended for your road cycling both racing and training.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable. Just reliable
by Boll Weevil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas Delta
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The only puncture I've ever had with Conti GP4000s was a pinch flat - my bad. For my road bike, I can't imagine a better investment, especially when they're on sale!

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire - improved ride
by Philip
Philadelphia
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This tire has just the right amount of road-gripping firmness while delivering a very comfortable ride. I'm very happy with the feel and handling. Its a big improvement over what was on my road bike previously.

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page