Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4000 S II 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(451 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(361)
(56)
(11)
(8)
(15)
(80%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
(3%)
Great tire for 2018
by Spartan Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Conti GP 4000 S II, great all around tires. I've been using these for racing and riding for the past two years. I would say I get about 2000-3000 miles out of a tire, so they do last a good while. They handle great and are nice and fast.

They also provide very good puncture protection for a high performance tire. I know there are other 'racing' tires on the market, but they are very light and thin and certainly put you at risk for flats. From my past experience, there are few things that take you out of a race as fast as a flat tire.

If you balance price, performance and protection I don't think there is currently a better tire on the market.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Continental Grad Prix 4000S II road tire is the Go To Tire for cyclists.
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Scottsdale, AZ
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I run the Continental Grand Prix S II road tire on three of my four road bikes. They simple are the best tire for the money. Good rolling characteristics, puncture resistant and long lasting. I have tried other brands with no where the success of these fine tires. Highly recommended for your road cycling both racing and training.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire - improved ride
by Philip
Philadelphia
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This tire has just the right amount of road-gripping firmness while delivering a very comfortable ride. I'm very happy with the feel and handling. Its a big improvement over what was on my road bike previously.

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire i've used so far
by cathleen
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I switched from gatorskins a year ago and immediately felt the difference. They rolled much easier and felt lighter. Had a puncture cause I fell off my trainer so I had to go back to the gatorskin for a short time. I could really feel the difference. Not as smooth and didn't roll as well. Gatorskin is a great tire but the 4000 is far and above in my opinion. The price was great for the value. If you want a great rolling tire without breaking the bank buy these, you will love them.

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable. Just reliable
by Boll Weevil
Cycling Enthusiast
Arkansas Delta

The only puncture I've ever had with Conti GP4000s was a pinch flat - my bad. For my road bike, I can't imagine a better investment, especially when they're on sale!

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can A Tyre Really Make That Much Difference?
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ

Still in break in mode with these tyres, but I noticed the difference after just one ride!

Mounted and inflated, these tyres have a rounder profile than the Tendrils and that seems to make a world of difference. It is almost like riding on a tubular. They corner great, rolling resistance seems less I had previously, acceleration is measurably improved, and because of the rounder profile, shock transmission is lessened. They have not been on the bike long enough to really say if they are more flat resistant, but no problems . . . so far.

The folding bead fits mt Vision rims securely, yet I can could mount the tyre without and mechanical assist. I presume taking the tire off the rim will be just as simple. While classed as a racing tyre, I have no hesitation using these on a daily basis.

All around excellent choice and money well spent.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Impressive
by SramShimanoCampyrider
Daily Commuter
Utah

Our rough roads have eaten every tire I have tried (Michelin, Panaracer, including previous Continentals and a list of others). These were on sale and decided to give them a try, they are holding up better than expected with the use of kevlar liners and puncture resistant tubes-I spend time riding not repairing. I have been very impressed with the road feel of these tires and after a long ride I usually have slight cuts in the outer tire casing and so far no cuts.

Reviewed 9/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The only ones
by Anonymous
Princeville hawii

These tires are on my everyday bike and my race bike , Ive been using them for years and the new rendering is better than the old ones which are great

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tires
by Strax

Ive been using these for awhile now and I am very happy with them. I recently tried the Attacks but the road cut them up bad, probably not the tires fault. I am back to the 4000s though, better karma.

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These Tires has never disappointed!
by CMC Ken
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah

Great road tire

Reviewed 9/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect
by [email protected]
West palm beach

It was what I was expecting

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best all rounder
by Anonymous

I race all types of road races and train 8-12 hrs a week. This is a great tyre for training and racing. Its light weight, durable, and fast rolling.

Reviewed 9/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great balance- training vs durability
by RoboKrause
Competitive Racer
Manhattan, KS

This tire doesn't disappoint. It offers a perfect balance of durability but is still light enough for quick training. It could even be a solid tire for race days.

Reviewed 8/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great products
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Shipping was fast, price was good, they matched the price to another competitor, and Im completely happy

Reviewed 8/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great riding tire.
by Clyde Hohn
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My new Canyon came mounted with these tires, in the 28 width. I run them at 100 psi. , on DT Swiss wheels. Even more comfortable than my Mavic 25s on Ksyrium SLS rims. Ive had one puncture since I started riding the Continentals, maybe at 2000 miles. I did have a very hard time getting the tire off the rim. Vittorias and Mavics are much easier.

There are 2 little wear indicators on these tires. Looks like the rear will last the whole miles. I bought 4 when they were on sale, so Im committed.

Reviewed 8/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
BEST BALANCE OF, DURABILITY, MILEAGE, PERFORMANCE AND VALUE...
by MightyG
Cycling Enthusiast
Beverly Hills, CA
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

Like many cyclists, I've tried a lot of different high performance tires looking for that one tire that excels at everything. In the end, I use GP4000's on all of my wheels. A few tires have a more supple ride, a few corner better. Other tires are miserable to fit or have weak side walls or get lousy mileage or are prone to flats. GP4000,s just inspire confidence. They corner well in wet and dry, I get excellent mileage, (3,000 mi. plus), average about 1 flat per year, never had a side wall problem and they have relatively low rolling resistance. I've hammered these tires on So. California roads and the GP4000.s always get me home safely.

Reviewed 10/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I purchased sets of 25 and 28mm, cutting the side wall of each set on the rear within 250 miles, disappointed.
by Bob
Competitive Racer
Washington D.C.

I both race and do long distance Randonneuring, so I purchased the 25mm to race and 28mm for the long distance rices. In the past I've had great success with Continental tires. Unfortunately not with these tires, cutting the side wall of the rear tires of each set within 250 miles of use - disappointed.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great tire.
by Stan
Upper Marlboro, MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are by far the best road tires I've ever ridden. The roads in my area are riddled with debris as a result of all the rain we've had here on the east coast so having tires with extra puncture protection is a must. I realize no tire is completely impervious, but these up your chances of not having a flat.

Reviewed 8/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great all around tire that is surprisingly fast for something this tough
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Flyover country the GREAT state of Minnesota
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have ridden on this tire for 18 months in 28 width. Have always ridden 23 to 25 but after doing some more research decided to try the 28's. As with many things in life it's hard to admit that everything you thought you knew was right is proven wrong when you finally give in and try. These tires are not slower, they might be a little heavier but not enough to make a difference for most riders. Their toughness is amazing. I finally decided after a summer of riding to buy another set in preparation for spring. The current set has multiple slices that would have flattened other tires.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for training but reflective stripe was flawed
by Giro4934
New Jersey

I ride early mornings so reflective stripe made sense. After about 100 miles I noticed a half inch separation which I reattached with glue. No problems otherwise.

Reviewed 8/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page