CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(530 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(439)
(72)
(5)
(8)
(6)
(83%)
(14%)
(1%)
(2%)
(1%)

User submitted reviews

Review by GLRowe

These are the best tires around
by GLRowe
Cycling Enthusiast
Davis CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Grand Prix 4-Season are highly resistant to flats, which is important to me because it is extremely difficult to remove tires from the Rolf wheels on our new tandem bike. Getting fewer flats is the best way to avoid that problem. The Grand Prix 4-Season may weigh a bit more than other tires, but the security of avoiding flats is the payoff.

Reviewed 9/28/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Steve

Great tire, no flats
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Massachusetts
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding Grand Prix 4-Season Tires for several years now and have had zero flats. They also handle well and get great mileage. At the start of every outdoor season I move the rear tire to the front then replace the rear with a new tire. These are well worth the money in my opinion.

Reviewed 5/6/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Larry in Austin Tx

Get the Best,
by Larry in Austin Tx
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin TX
42 of 46 customers found this review helpful.

I am 83 and have been riding since the Truman administration. Now I ride 30 miles three times per week at speeds from 13 to 15 mph on a decent road bike. I am no expert on anything but I believe in trying to get the best when it comes to tires for obvious reasons. I have used this and other high end Continental tires for at least 15 years and never had a problem of any kind with the tires. This GP 4 Season sounded like it had the very best features for my particular riding style, safety over speed. In years past I have tried racing tires with no problem but did not notice any significant advantage and they don't last as long and do not give me the feeling of safety that I need. My opinion is if less weight is desired there are better ways to reduce weight than shaving a little weight off of the tires. I do care about speed but you can go a faster when you are not thinking about a fragile tire blowing out on you. I did have a blow out flat one time and it was coming down a steep hill and was able to bring it to a stop without spilling over. Just keeping calm and steady; I was never a really strong rider. I think my fastest ever long distance closed loop road ride was 18.5 mph average, but I can't even do 15 mph these days. Seriously, don't skimp on your tires and enjoy some serious riding at your own level. I am not against racing tires...they are just not for someone like me. One last thing, I take 18 seconds and check both tires before every ride. Although it is rare to find anything, I remove any little rock that is sticking to the tire. I am not an expert on tire technology; I just think the All Season sounded like the best for me, the safest most trouble free, a serious tire.

Reviewed 10/29/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Shocked
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Chicago
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these in 2021. Only put about 2500 miles on this bike. My rear tire is split down the middle for about 10 inches. Guy at the bike shop said he never saw anything like this. The front tire is fine. Wasted a lot of money now time because now I have to buy another tire.

Reviewed 3/5/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

For me, its the Goldilocks tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
CT
26 of 27 customers found this review helpful.

Im a 61 year old recreational cyclist. I ride about 20 miles a day during the week and enjoy rides of up to 60 miles on the weekend. Im not fast, I dont own a heart monitor and I dont use a power meter. I ride simply for the joy of it, so I choose my equipment to maximize that joy. I ride an endurance bike and I prefer tires that are quiet, comfortable and durable rather than fast and delicate. For what do, these tires are perfect. They slot in I rly between the GP5000 (faster, but not as durable) and the Gatorskin (more durable, but less comfortable and slower). I currently have these tires on two road bikes and will shortly put them on two hybrids (range of available sizes is another plus). The only two cautionary notes I have are 1) Conti tires all seem to run at last 1mm large - if your frame clearance is tight, beware of this - and 2) There is a black version of this tire and, while it may be my imagination, I think the black sidewall is stiffer than the natural one. Other than that, great tires!

Reviewed 4/8/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wally

goes the distance on the rear
by Wally
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Illinois
10 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I'm 76, ride for distance, solo, 5000 miles per yr, lots of centuries.

I used many, many different tires and have come to rely on the 4-Season as my go to REAR tire.

I know this can be very subjective, but in my experience is this is the most reliable rear tire to get me home w/o flatting. Or worse, cutting/blowout. There are a lot of bad roads and debris out there.

You will notice I specify rear. I have found different behavior/types of flats between front and rear, and use different tires on the front..

Reviewed 3/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by T Sedillo

Excellent Tires
by T Sedillo
Cycling Enthusiast
Hawaii
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

Balanced and Tough Spin without any wobble adjustment needed. I run 100 - 110 psi - hit potholes and rolled over gravel roads without any cuts or punctures.

Stiff and Grip My average weight is 175lb - have never ran them at the 120 psi max. Feel rock hard at 110 and 100 perfect for commuting and night rides for those sneaky bumps and cracks in the road. The grip to the road is superior, instilling confidence to take turns as fast as you can handle.

Highly recommend these tires and this company - Shipping was fast, (once order was processed) price matching was fast and easy, and the selection, reviews, testing, specs, videos, etc. allow you to research a deep a rabbit hole as you want. Will definitely order from y'all again.

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by spinthosecranks

these tires are perfect for my daily rides here in Denver; durable with great grip and traction; easty to install.
by spinthosecranks
Denver, Colorado
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm 68, I ride daily 10-20 miles per day 365 days per year; performance road bike cyclist, city and foothills tours; occasional mountain tours and mtn. pass ascents. These are my fav. tires currently. Great value when they are available on discount. SPINTHOSECRANKS!

Reviewed 12/22/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Irish in CA

Great training tire for the off season
by Irish in CA
Competitive Racer
Santa Clarita, CA
19 of 21 customers found this review helpful.

I race on the GP4000SII5000 tires and enjoy the performance to weight ratio of those tires. They hold really well in corners and then during club rides they are super fun to descend on and fare really well against flats when compared to the performance provided. When the race season ended this last season I slapped a pair of these 4 Season 28's on the bike and have really enjoyed them. They can handle gravel and sand, they are almost bomb proof riding on roads with highway bits and pieces of metal, and they can be run at lower pressures to make those long training days a bit easier on the body. Rockysemi-paved trails that will occasionally cut the sidewalls of my GP4000SII's are easily handled with these tires.

The one thing I do have to watch for, however, is the grip when descending. I've come loose in a couple of corners and drifted the back wheel at high speed riding them like the GP4000SII's, which is not the best feeling in the world. Totally my fault for pushing the tires beyond what they were designed to really handle, but I throw that out there as a word of caution to just take it a bit easier when on these tires and pointing the bike through some tight corners at high speed. There is necessarily a small drop off in handling when you are getting the durability built in to these wonderful, purpose built tires. I will definitely buy another pair when my current pair finally give up the ghost.

Reviewed 12/5/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JapaRider

Rarely flats
by JapaRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Westchester/Putnam NY
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using Gator Skins for years. The name changes a bit sometimes, but these are basically Gator Skins with a little more flatting protection. That's why I use them! No one wants to get a flat, even if you're a Pro. I usually go for about 3000 miles before changing them and sometimes without getting even one flat! I just check to see if they look like they could use changing or 3000 miles, whichever comes first. They're not the lightest tires on the market but I'm not racing with them either. So all good!

Reviewed 1/26/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Maybe I just have bad luck
by Anonymous
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've been running Continental tires back to the Grand Prix 4000 days and always had good luck with them. Fast, grippy and very few punctures. I tried a set of 4-Seasons for winter riding and had several flats over the first month of using them. I switched back to the GP 5000s and am no longer having flat issues. Maybe I have bad luck or I ended up with a bad batch, but these tires just didn't work for me. It's my fault for straying from the GP 5000, which I think is the best tire out there. YMMV of course.

Reviewed 2/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DF

Great!
by DF
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I exchanged gator skins for these babies. The exchange process was outstanding due to great customer service!

Reviewed 3/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ohio biker

The best tire I have for on rough and chip seal roads. one three sets of wheels.
by Ohio biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Ohio
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Quiet, fast and handles assuredly on rough country roads. Works ok on dirt paths also. I have it on road bike, and hybrids.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Josh C

Really Dependable & Safe
by Josh C
Middlesex, NJ

I never have to worry about flats with this tire on what can often be unforgiving and urban roads here in NJ. You will sacrifice some speed relative to other options, but that�s not my focus for a northeast winter.

Reviewed 11/25/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sisophous

Best Road Bike Tire
by Sisophous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Rochelle, NY
13 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

I've yet to get a failure with this tire and I am on my second set. I change my tires roughly every 3,200 miles to be safe but could get substantially more had I wanted to. The 4000s kept getting sidewall failures so I gave up on them. The 4-Season is much more durable and gives an equivalent ride to the 4000s. I was told if durability is your main priority then go with the Gator Skins but if you want solid tires that delivers performance then the 4-Season is the best option. For added protection, I also suggest adding Stans sealant to your tubes and make sure they have removable cores. Careful not to remove the valve cores when taking off the pump nozzle like I did and got 2 ounces of sealant in my face. (Pumps with pressure release buttons will avoid this. )No flats since doing this in over a year and I now ride with peace of mind.

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anita

Great tire, year round
by Anita (TriSports.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
23 of 25 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Grand Prix 4-Season on both my road racing bike and my commute bike, it handles well, and offers more puncture protection than a race tire. These are great tires, rain or shine, which is especially good for those long winter months (here in Portland, OR, anyway). If you find yourself faced with snow in winter, a studded winter tire is more up your alley.

Bottom line, this tire handles nearly as well in rain as it does on dry ground. It's a great purchase for anyone who rides in all conditions, and wants a durable tire that feels good.

Reviewed 10/1/2010
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

These Conti tires are outstanding
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Continental road tires for years. I bought these to use on my gravel bike on a rails-to-trails path, which was a mix of crushed limestone and packed dirt. They were excellent. Plenty wide enough, but lightweight and easy rolling. And the puncture resistance proved effective, as I did not have any flats during the course of the 66-mile journey. And I'm still using them on recreational paths, both paved and gravel.

Reviewed 10/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by CD

Robust tire with good handling quality.
by CD
Competitive Racer
chicago, Illinois
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I really enjoy riding on Continental tires. Typically in nice conditions I'll be on Conti GP4000IIs tires but, when I know conditions will be poor and the road may not be very nice, I like to slip on these Conti GP4-Seasons.

I've used these tires for when I'm going to do a long ride in the rain or when I'm going to be going over more difficult roads. I feel quite confident taking these tires through a slightly rough gravel trail section without having to worry about a puncture.

I also used these for a criterium which took place in the rain. A few guys fell in a set of technical corners but I was able to get through with confidence with these tires.

All in all, I would recommend having a set of these 4-seasons on hand in case you are going to be riding in off weather. Or if you expect to be riding on mixed roads, they are quite robust in terms of puncture resistance.

Reviewed 5/23/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Don Spencer

Very best toughy tires for longevity, puncture resistance, grip, plus simple artistic tread design.
by Don Spencer
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
38 of 39 customers found this review helpful.

As a 71 year old retiree I have the privilege of riding a titanium Habanero crosstour bike with disk brakes for 150 to 250 miles each week. Plus the Continental tired Habanero takes me on 2 or 3 tours of 300 to 400 miles each summer. I pack light (- 40 lbs) and the 4 Season 28 mm tires carry that total 225 lbs over country roads and hard packed gravel with ease. I buy a new set for the summer tours then ride them out in the wet falls and winters of the Willamette Valley. They flat seldom. Unavoidable road debris cuts the tread but the tough core protects the tube. The slight increase in tire weight provides a security tread for all conditions increasing my confidence in cornering at high speeds. Yes, 71 year olds can attain high speeds and corner without causing heart attacks or strokes. I trust this tire more than any (and I have bought and replaced many tires). I could but wont' name a few duds that cost about the same.

Reviewed 3/24/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great grip and no flats
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Tires ride comfortably, provide confidence when cornering and I�ve had zero flats in 6000 miles. The best combination for training tires.

Reviewed 9/6/2022
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page