X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Grand Prix 4-Season Road Tire

ContinentalGrand Prix 4-Season Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(483 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(397)
(71)
(5)
(4)
(6)
(82%)
(15%)
(1%)
(1%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Great winter tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Have always had good luck with Continental tires, and I especially like the GP 4-Seasons for my winter bike due to its nice ride quality, excellent grip on wet pavement, and decent flat resistance. The tread compound does seem fairly soft, which is undoubtedly why they grip so well, so they may not last as long as tires with a harder compound - but for me that's a worthwhile trade-off. I'm happy to get 1,500 - 2,000 miles on a set of tires and the GP 4-Seasons will do that easily.

Reviewed 2/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
flat out tired of flattering flats
by p00p
Cycling Enthusiast
Mature area of Detroit
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

so far, went very far without a depressing sidewall! I'd roll the dice & roll these on the road a second chance with no flip flop flop flopping worries.

Reviewed 6/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
very durable
by danielvcampbell
Daily Commuter
Nevada County, Ca.
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I am a daily rider, 20 to 30 miles. I have been using Conti GP 4-season's for years. Fronts last me 12000 to 15000 miles, rears 8000 to 9000 miles. There is not a thing I don't like about them.

Reviewed 6/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best tire available for tough roads
by LR
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida Keys
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

If you ride on a road with lots of radial wire, glass, and rocks, this is the best tire you can use. great puncture resistance and great sidewall protection, so much better than the 5000 tires that have very weak sidewall protection and wear resistance is also very good

Reviewed 3/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire, year round
by Anita (TriSports.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
21 of 23 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Grand Prix 4-Season on both my road racing bike and my commute bike, it handles well, and offers more puncture protection than a race tire. These are great tires, rain or shine, which is especially good for those long winter months (here in Portland, OR, anyway). If you find yourself faced with snow in winter, a studded winter tire is more up your alley.

Bottom line, this tire handles nearly as well in rain as it does on dry ground. It's a great purchase for anyone who rides in all conditions, and wants a durable tire that feels good.

Reviewed 10/1/2010
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The luxury model.
by Mark (TriSports.com Staff)
Competitive Racer
Portland, Or, USA
126 of 129 customers found this review helpful.

It's packed with features! The Vectran is tops for preventing flats without ruining your road feel. The Duraskin helps prevent sidewall cuts. The extra soft rubber compound makes the tire grip exceptionally in bad weather. ...and all this without weighing a ton or feeling like a training tire. It's great! But somebody's got to pick up the tab, and it's a bit pricey for a training tire. If you have the means, I highly recommend picking one up.

Reviewed 4/1/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bulletproof good riding tire.
by Merlin
Portland OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a Bulletproof good riding tire. I use them year round including my rain bike. Its been the tire of choice for 5 years now.

Reviewed 3/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My personal favorite road tire
by OaklandMark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

I have tried a variety of tires over the years - Michelin, Vredestein, Vittoria, and several other Conti tires too, but these Grand Prix 4 Season strike the perfect balance between grippiness and durability. I do about 3 rides a week, 20-40 miles., usually in mild dry weather, but often on wet roads. There is often debris ranging from rocks to glass, and these tires are the most resistant to flats of any tire I have ever ridden.

As for mileage, I have squeezed over 3000 miles from them, but that wasn't a good idea. After 2000 -2500 they do start to feel less grippy to the point that even with some decent tread left, it makes more sense to change them. Not unsafe, just less grippy than you'd want.

They are expensive, but if you buy on sale and hold them until you need them, they are not unreasonable.

Reviewed 4/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable
by WabiFGSS
Cycling Enthusiast
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Have been riding, training and racing on tubular road tires for the past few decades. 1st set of road clinchers since the early 80's. Picked up a set of 25mm for the FGSS bike. Running relatively low psi (85-90psi for my 58kg mass) for the last 2000km over gravel to smooth roads. Tires after 4000km are fine. A bit square and tread worn. Not the high level of performance (cornering, rolling resistance, supple ride, mass) of a high quality tubular. But for my specific use the tire is more than adequate. Liked them enough to purchase a set of 28mm. Sort of enjoy gravel grinding&128539,.

Recommend these tires if in need of a durable, decent performing, easy to mount training or general use tire. Bit pricey off the shelf. A good value considering wear after the number and type of km. put on these tires.

Reviewed 11/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Phenomenal, Reliable Tire
by WKellerM
Cycling Enthusiast
Manhattan, NY
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the GP 4-Seasons (28mm) to use on my '92 De Rosa for general riding, which includes solo training rides, club rides and medium touring (rear rack & panniers). I've put 1,000 miles on them since June, with zero flats. Hit a few rain pockets and traction was excellent. Loved them so much, I bought the same set for my Moots, which I just built-up at the end of July. I have 600 miles, with same type of riding (training & touring), and they've been nothing short of perfect.

Reviewed 9/4/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
one more fan
by tal
Cycling Enthusiast
NorCal
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Like many other reviewers I am a big fan of these tires. The only improvement I'd like Conti to make is to go one size wider. If I could I'd ride a 28 on the front and one size wider in the rear during the winter months when I'm commuting in the dark.

Reviewed 8/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 2,000+ miles a year (on roads,never racing) and these tires last great. I don't want to jinx it but no flats. A little pricey but well worth it.

Reviewed 4/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These tires have a nice ride with excellent flat protection.
by Rob Hill
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando, FL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I used to run a tire that rode great and looked fantastic on my bike but oh man, flat city. So I changed to a bulletproof Schwalbe. No more flats but the tires were significantly heavier and they felt that way. I opted for a bit less flat protection for a better ride. These tires delivered big time. Way better ride quality and, so far, no flats. I'm a happy rider again.

Reviewed 11/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really good bike tire for a road bike.
by Hani
Syracuse, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been commuting 25 miles almost daily for 13 years. Definitely best bike tire for road bike commuting. Grips to road. Almost no flats even with broken glass from recycling all over city streets.

Reviewed 11/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ride
by MH900e
Carlsbad Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are awesome! Ride nice and smooth, however are tough and do not puncture. I have yet to be on the side of the road with a flat with the 4 season, I have buying them for years! I highly recommend them .

Reviewed 11/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire - exactly as the name implies
by Ronaldo
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

First time needing new tires on my Cannondale Quick2 that I use for moderate rides 15-50 miles, usually a combo of paved path and hard gravel. I wanted something lightweight but sturdy against punctures, and with a lighter tread. This is seeming to fill the bill quite nicely. Mounted easily.

Reviewed 10/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beware of size change without spec change 2018
by bikerider
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Beware of size change without spec change 2018

My road bike's brakes used to fit 28mm Continental Grand Prix 4 Season Road Bike Tires, now they don't. Seems Continental changed the size of the tires without changing the numbers or names or actually telling anyone. If your framebrakes used to barely fit the 28 size, the new revision will be too big.

How to tell the difference

Older 28c is embossed MAX. INFLATE TO 116 PSI - 8.0 BAR

Newer 28c has MAX LUFTDRUCKINFLATION 8.5 BAR - 115 PSI.

Flattened out bead to bead dimension of the newer 700x28c version has increased by 5mm. That extra 5mm of perimeter is enough to make them intermittently rub on SRAM Red caliper brakes on recent Bianchi carbon frame.

Reviewed 6/4/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Conti�s are KILLER! Proved themselves for over 2000mi as rear tandem tire! Great Pricing never hurts!
by Phi47
Cycling Enthusiast
Lebanon, NH

All around rider of top-line equipment, I appreciate the durability and QC of all Conti�s. Ride quality is superb. I still prefer smaller 23/25c tires for my road riding, but I don�t hesitate to use these on the many dirt/gravel/rail sections which are parts of my usual loops.

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for a great price.
by Bob G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Longview, WA

My new(er) bike's tires were pretty tired. I DO NOT want a flat because I pushed the life of the tires that came on the bike. The Cont. Grand Prix are tight on the corners and smooth on the straightaways. Mine are 28mm because I'm a serious recreational rider.

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent road tire
by Anonymous
Sioux Falls, SD
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Conti 4 Season Grand Prix on my weather bike - the one I ride when it is raining or just wet out. These tires grip the road in wet conditions, and they are tough enough with the Vectran to handle the extra grit that gets on everything in wet weather. We have an extremely hard quartz in our area, and this stuff is used everywhere on the roads. It is loose on the surface of paved roads, and sharp bits are embedded in the tar. The Grand Prix 4-season tires don't slice, tear, or puncture very easily so they are working out perfectly for me.

Reviewed 5/9/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page