X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(124 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(109)
(10)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(88%)
(8%)
(2%)
(2%)
(0%)
Best puncture-resistant performance tire for commutes or training rides
by DCbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you're a road bike rider used to lightweight all-season or racing tires, these will have a numb road feel initially. But the added protection will give you peace of mind in the fall-winter-early spring commutes or training rides, and without adding excessive weight or rolling resistance. Traction on wet pavement is excellent and puncture resistance is impressive if not bulletproof. These tires cost more, but they're worth the extra cost if you do a lot of riding and need a tough, reliable tire that performs extremely well in all conditions.

Reviewed 4/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Three months review in the PNW
by sully v
Daily Commuter
Pacific Northwest
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Hi - been riding on the Continental Gatorskin Black tires for the last three months after a piece of metal destroyed my 6-month old Vittoria Rubino Pro back tire. I liked the Vittoria, but felt they didn't "roll" as well as other brands that I've used.

The Continental Gatorskin Black's are amazing. There seems to be less resistance than the Vittoria, I like the tread, and the traction is very good, since I've been using these tires in the cold mixed with snow rain soaked Pacific Northwest. Like all of the other "million" reviews, buy with confidence. And like always, Bike Tire Direct is my go to vendor...

Reviewed 3/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great winter tires...or year round
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashland, OR

Thought these tires would be heavy and stiff but haven't found that to be the case. I love them. The ride is more supple than I thought and I find them comfortable to ride on...so much so that I think I'll be using them year round. So far no flats and I've gone through some really bad road debris. Fingers crossed that I don't get a flat because the one thing I don't like about them is that they are extremely difficult to get on and off the rim.

Reviewed 2/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This tire hit the sweet spot between durability and ride quality
by John A
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Mostly a road bike rider averaging 135 miles per week on the typical trash and glass strewn roads in the San Fernando Valley area of Los Angeles. My previous tire of choice was the Continental GP5000. If I lived outside of a big city I likely would have stayed with that tire. While the GP5000 had a slightly smoother ride and may have even been slightly faster (emphasis on slightly), I eventually became tired of getting flats. I would estimate that I easily get 60 to 70% fewer flats on the Gatorskins than on the GP5000. The evidence is anecdotal, but that's all got. I went with the black edition strictly based on appearance.

Reviewed 1/27/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Resilient to glass, and an overall good tire
by JoeS
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got these for their resistance to blowouts. I read many reviews that rated them highly for that. I live and ride in Florida, so "cold" weather use is the low 40s. Thus far I've put 1,375 miles on these tires. The rear one is just showing signs of wear, but it looks only about 1/3 worn. So my estimate right now is 3,500-4,000 miles. Not bad.

These ride well and corner well in wet conditions. I've had no indication of slippage at all when the roads are wet. I do ride on some roads that have been sealed, and I've previously slid out on other tires when they were wet. These hold tight.

I've run over road glass, not on purpose, but the recycling truck near me dumps little piles of glass here and there and I've hit a few. The tires show no signs of being cut or punctured. Previous tires would have been flat on me.

Reviewed 1/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tires!
by elpastor71
Competitive Racer
laredo, texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm the type of rider that is very used to GP5000 (mounted on my campys wto 45)and after reading reviews about gatorskins tires I decided to click the button, this tires are tough!, I chose this tires for my winter/rough roads to prevent flats and they haven't disappointed me , I mounted them on a spare wheel set (bontrager aeolus 35)which was not difficult, they rolls good , they are not as fast as GP5000 but the intention is prevent flats and keep me training on winter.

Reviewed 11/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough as Heck
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OREGON

Got tired of punctures in my previous road tires, so figured I'd switch to these. Are they as light, zippy, and responsive? Well, no. But they're more than adequate for the sort of riding I do. And they're virtually bombproof. I no longer spend every ride wondering, in the back of my head, whether I'll have to stop and repair a flat.

Reviewed 3/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
NICE Tires!
by jpgiug
Cycling Enthusiast
Beaverton, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great training tire, a bit heavy but worth the comfort and reliability.

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rides Long
by Tall Paul
SoCal

I switched from the Michelin Race tire many years ago after a flat landed me on the road after the sidewalls collapsed in a turn - too thin & weak.

This tire has stood the test of time - it rarely flats, gives a smoother ride, grips well in turns and on wet roads.

Reviewed 2/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ride is smooth and they look great.
by Douglas Boggie
Raleigh,NC

I have been riding Cont's for years and have been pleased with the durability {no flats}. I was concerned about the gator skins durability because of smooth tread. So far no problem and they are smoother, smoother equals faster?, feels like it anyway.

Reviewed 2/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ride is smooth and they look great.
by Douglas Boggie
Raleigh,NC

I have been riding Contis for years and have been pleased with the durability {no flats}. I was concerned about the gator skins durability because of smooth tread. So far no problem and they are smoother, smoother equals faster?, feels like it anyway.

Reviewed 2/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Almost bullet proof
by D.Penfield
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Angeles, Washington
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've been riding Gatorskins for about 5 years now. They are my "go to" tire. Let me say, I don't race. These are the best tires for daily riding, group rides and touring! I generally ride 4 days a week, 25 to 60 miles. I hate flats! While they do weigh a bit more the light weight tires, i'll take that any day or getting a flat! In our area we have a lot of "chip seal" roads and other road debris especially during and just after winter, these take it all in stride! Most riders in our group are using these as well! They are tough to put on.

Reviewed 5/31/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
tough and dependable
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Pacific NW
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Road riding in the PNW always comes with wet gritty tires. These hold up to the road conditions and I have only gotten a couple flats in the decade I've ridden with a set of these tires on my bike.

Reviewed 1/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast, Smooth & Reliable
by Kevin
Lancaster

Really just the best all around. Don't be fooled they ride as well as any more expensive tires just last longer, with fewer to No Flats. Made in Germany

Reviewed 4/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gatorskins are the best
by Anonymous

Changing the Gatorskins every 2000 miles and have not had a flat in almost 9700 miles

Reviewed 4/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Favorite tire for the rides I do
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, alit

I like this tire on the Rear of both my bikes, and my wife's bike. It almost never gets a flat, and lasts a long time.

I use a 5000 on the front. The Gatorskin Black is not quite as performance oriented as the 5000, but has extra side protection that the 5000 does not have. And from my experience, I get more miles from the Gatorskin than the 5000.

Reviewed 1/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely Durable Tire
by paulp
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh

These tires ride very well and last forever. With over 5000 miles I will finally replace the tires even though there is probably a few more mile in them. With over 5000 miles on the set, I have had zero flats!!

Reviewed 1/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent protection from flats
by MrNaturalMaui
Cycling Enthusiast
Kihei, HI
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Gatorskins provide excellent protection against a large percentage of flat-causing debris on the road. No tire is perfect, but these really offer everything you could hope for. They may be slightly heavier than optimum, but really aren't that many grams heavier than GP4000s, which are a terrible tire, wear-wise.

I usually get about 2500-2800 mi on rear Gatorskin, and over 6000mi on front tire.

I'm 180# and majority of roads I ride are pretty smooth pavement.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough as a
by RoseOfCimarron
Cycling Enthusiast
Lower Alabama

I mostly ride on a flat paved trail that has some boardwalk sections, and not to mention some real gators. So the ride is not as smooth as riding on the road, nor is it a fast-paced course. I had the bike shop install the tires to save me that frustration of installing them myself, and then went for a ride. I was very pleased with the smoothness of the ride. I could feel it. These are some great tires and worth the price.

Reviewed 11/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tight when they're new but they loosen up quickly.
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

When I initially mounted the Black Edition Gators on some DT SWISS R460 rims, it was a little tough and required pretty good torque on my levers. After about a month of riding on them, I noticed the directional arrow on the side of the tire was wrong. So here was a good opportunity to correct it and see if the tires had stretched out a bit. Too my surprise, they had definitely loosened up. Now they are not only very easy to get off the rim with my wimpy levers, but I can get them back on with bare hands ! ( Just start putting the 2nd bead of the tire on the rim at 180' opposite of the valve stem and finish at the valve stem).

I have them on my rain bike and they handle very well on Portland's leaf-slop streets.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page