X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(105 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(90)
(10)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(86%)
(10%)
(2%)
(3%)
(0%)
NICE Tires!
by jpgiug
Cycling Enthusiast
Beaverton, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great training tire, a bit heavy but worth the comfort and reliability.

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires! So far - very pleased with the tires.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Des Moines, Iowa

Only put a few hundred miles on the tires so far but I have been very happy with them. They provide a much better feel and grip than my previous tires.

Reviewed 8/31/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long lasting and tough
Spanish Springs

Been buying Gatorskins for a while but the black edition looks great and give you lots of flat free miles.

Reviewed 9/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Almost bullet proof
by D.Penfield
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Angeles, Washington
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've been riding Gatorskins for about 5 years now. They are my "go to" tire. Let me say, I don't race. These are the best tires for daily riding, group rides and touring! I generally ride 4 days a week, 25 to 60 miles. I hate flats! While they do weigh a bit more the light weight tires, i'll take that any day or getting a flat! In our area we have a lot of "chip seal" roads and other road debris especially during and just after winter, these take it all in stride! Most riders in our group are using these as well! They are tough to put on.

Reviewed 5/31/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A tire that makes you feel confident
by BigRingJoe
Cycling Enthusiast
Kunkletown, PA

The tires mounted without issue, I did a bare-handed install. So far so good, I've only put a few hundred miles on these tires in both wet and dry conditions. The tires ride smooth and seem to have good traction, while not picking up road debris. I'm very satisfied with them and I would recommend them

Reviewed 8/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great
by Anonymous
Alabama Gulf Coast

Nice looking tire,, ridden about 200 mi

performing great. I have always been able to depend on Gatorskins for 12 yrs +.

Reviewed 9/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I highly recommend these tires. They we recommended to me by a friend who rode a lot. He swore by them so I thought I'd give them a try. I've had them on my road bike ever since.
by Anonymous
salt Lake City

These tires ride extremely well, and provide good traction under a variety of weather conditions. They are very durable. I have not had a flat since I started using these.

Reviewed 9/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires, flats tires are a thing of the past
by Anonymous
woodbridge va

Great for local roads and bike trails, ride all season pretty much flat free. Awesome value

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
by Bob
Seattle

Great looking, great performance and awesome puncture resistance.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Repeat Purchases
Cycling Enthusiast
Land O Lakes, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Both my wife and I have these tires on our road bikes - both of which are Trek cycles. Years ago (maybe ten) we started using Gatorskin tires after multiple flats using another brand of tire - which clearly was not as puncture resistant as the Gatorskins. They usually last use a couple years - I ride about 1,500 miles a year and my wife rides about 1,800 miles a year.

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent protection from flats
by MrNaturalMaui
Cycling Enthusiast
Kihei, HI
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Gatorskins provide excellent protection against a large percentage of flat-causing debris on the road. No tire is perfect, but these really offer everything you could hope for. They may be slightly heavier than optimum, but really aren't that many grams heavier than GP4000s, which are a terrible tire, wear-wise.

I usually get about 2500-2800 mi on rear Gatorskin, and over 6000mi on front tire.

I'm 180# and majority of roads I ride are pretty smooth pavement.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires, fair price
by Huddy
SoCal
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I ride an average of 500 miles/month. The tires don't even seem to wear. Never had a flat yet. Since riding with these I have not purchased any other road tires. I have several bikes and use various sizes of 700c and all are excellent. I prefer the folding tires

Reviewed 6/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality, and size and weight.
by Juan C. Morales
Competitive Racer
Miami, Fl

Very good quality, and size and weight vs price. Hard to punch it if you use the correct pressure.

Reviewed 8/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Black Edition: Gatorskin With a New Look
by Velo Geezer
Cycling Enthusiast
NY Metro Area
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using Gatorskins for years because they are durable and smooth rolling. The Black Edition rides just like the originals. Hopefully,these will continue the Gator reputation for durability. The only difference so far is the lack of a brown waffling pattern on the sidewalls. Don't miss that one bit. Reduced sale price made these a really good value.

Reviewed 6/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tight when they're new but they loosen up quickly.
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

When I initially mounted the Black Edition Gators on some DT SWISS R460 rims, it was a little tough and required pretty good torque on my levers. After about a month of riding on them, I noticed the directional arrow on the side of the tire was wrong. So here was a good opportunity to correct it and see if the tires had stretched out a bit. Too my surprise, they had definitely loosened up. Now they are not only very easy to get off the rim with my wimpy levers, but I can get them back on with bare hands ! ( Just start putting the 2nd bead of the tire on the rim at 180' opposite of the valve stem and finish at the valve stem).

I have them on my rain bike and they handle very well on Portland's leaf-slop streets.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product, better sidewalls that non-black orig
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Jose
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've run original gatorskins for years as I do a combination of 40m commutes and long weekend rides. Biggest complaint with originals was sidewalls unraveling before tread wore out. Black edition seems to address that issue, at least has no visible mesh on sidewalls like original.

Beyond that, with about 1K miles, wear is great and ride is about the same (overall good). Seems the tread is less sticky, but just my visual impression - no issues with loss of traction.

Reviewed 10/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far no flats
by gwwilliams22
Cycling Enthusiast
Annandale VA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have put about 1300 miles on them with no flats. I just use them for general riding. I do like the looks of the black edition.

Reviewed 10/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Virtually Flat Free - watch your mileage though...
by Leslie K
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I do a lot of solo riding long distance, and the most debilitating thing about any ride is a mechanical or a puncture. The Gatorskin Blacks are trusted and tested to deliver me to the end goal every time. I've been riding about 1600k a month lately, so I do keep an eye on the road mileage. When the front tire gets a flat, that's when I know it's time to change them out before I do another century. I buy them in advance, so I always have a back up pair or two on hand. Note: Yes - they are heavier than racing tires, but the time I lose in climbing speed, I make up for, by not having to stop for a puncture. So if you change terrain over the course of one ride: glass, gravel, poor road quality, sand, pine needles, city garbage, etc... and you hate to change out a flat (ladies?) This tire is for you. The regular yellow sidewall Gators are also as durable, but the blacks are prettier. ;)

Reviewed 8/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to winter tire
by Kielbasa
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

These are my go to winter tires for riding in Colorado. The local county here puts gravelsand down over the winters that will shred most other tires. But the Gatorskins stand up and I can normally get 2 winters out of a set, or about 2,500 miles. This year I've kept them on for the summer and have been taking them on gravel roads and dirt, without any puncture issues. I hope they keep making the black limited edition because they look so much better than the standard gator skins. I'm also 6'4 and 195 lbs so I'm on the heavier end of things.

Reviewed 7/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire
by Tomboy
St. Louis
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent tire I've used them a great deal.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page