X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(79 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(66)
(8)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(84%)
(10%)
(3%)
(4%)
(0%)
Maybe good but nearly impossible to mount
by Rob
arkansas

I had Gatorskins as my last tire and got 6000 plus miles I replaced the rear with one of these and it was so tight to get over the rim I went through 5 inner tubes over the last 3 weeks. My son had to pick me up 3 times. Something is wrong with the sizing on these.

Reviewed 2/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Maybe good but nearly impossible to mount
by Rob
arkansas

I had Gatorskins as my last tire and got 6000 plus miles I replaced the rear with one of these and it was so tight to get over the rim I went through 5 inner tubes over the last 3 weeks. My son had to pick me up 3 times. Something is wrong with the sizing on these.

Reviewed 2/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Maybe good but nearly impossible to mount
by Rob
arkansas

I had Gatorskins as my last tire and got 6000 plus miles I replaced the rear with one of these and it was so tight to get over the rim I went through 5 inner tubes over the last 3 weeks. My son had to pick me up 3 times. Something is wrong with the sizing on these.

Reviewed 2/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent protection from flats
by MrNaturalMaui
Cycling Enthusiast
Kihei, HI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Gatorskins provide excellent protection against a large percentage of flat-causing debris on the road. No tire is perfect, but these really offer everything you could hope for. They may be slightly heavier than optimum, but really aren't that many grams heavier than GP4000s, which are a terrible tire, wear-wise.

I usually get about 2500-2800 mi on rear Gatorskin, and over 6000mi on front tire.

I'm 180# and majority of roads I ride are pretty smooth pavement.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Only the best
by Anonymous
St. Clair Shores

Love continental. Best tires out there.

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tight when they're new but they loosen up quickly.
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

When I initially mounted the Black Edition Gators on some DT SWISS R460 rims, it was a little tough and required pretty good torque on my levers. After about a month of riding on them, I noticed the directional arrow on the side of the tire was wrong. So here was a good opportunity to correct it and see if the tires had stretched out a bit. Too my surprise, they had definitely loosened up. Now they are not only very easy to get off the rim with my wimpy levers, but I can get them back on with bare hands ! ( Just start putting the 2nd bead of the tire on the rim at 180' opposite of the valve stem and finish at the valve stem).

I have them on my rain bike and they handle very well on Portland's leaf-slop streets.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding!!!
by Grizzly1
Cycling Enthusiast
So. Cal
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

40+ years of riding, training & racing, a certified master mechanic since 1978 . I can tell you this much, Try to do better. Performance+ Price+ Durability+ Hand Made in Germany= Value beyond comparison.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic ties
by Larrylupe15
Layton Utah

I love these tires. They are tough as nails and give me the traction I need in dry and wet conditions. I would recommend them to anybody who wants a tire with great traction and great puncture resistance

Reviewed 1/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product, better sidewalls that non-black orig
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Jose
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've run original gatorskins for years as I do a combination of 40m commutes and long weekend rides. Biggest complaint with originals was sidewalls unraveling before tread wore out. Black edition seems to address that issue, at least has no visible mesh on sidewalls like original.

Beyond that, with about 1K miles, wear is great and ride is about the same (overall good). Seems the tread is less sticky, but just my visual impression - no issues with loss of traction.

Reviewed 10/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far no flats
by gwwilliams22
Cycling Enthusiast
Annandale VA

I have put about 1300 miles on them with no flats. I just use them for general riding. I do like the looks of the black edition.

Reviewed 10/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gator Skins
by Geoff
Saline, Michigan

I have always used Gator Skins. I ride a Trek Domane. My color is yellow with black trim. The black gator skins go great with my bike and black rims. Gator skins hold up great riding on Michigan roads.

Reviewed 1/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to winter tire
by Kielbasa
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

These are my go to winter tires for riding in Colorado. The local county here puts gravelsand down over the winters that will shred most other tires. But the Gatorskins stand up and I can normally get 2 winters out of a set, or about 2,500 miles. This year I've kept them on for the summer and have been taking them on gravel roads and dirt, without any puncture issues. I hope they keep making the black limited edition because they look so much better than the standard gator skins. I'm also 6'4 and 195 lbs so I'm on the heavier end of things.

Reviewed 7/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lets you keep riding
by Old and in the way
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee

Nothing will mess up your group ride like a rider with a flat and the down time while the tube is replaced. I replace these tires out about every two years of riding (about 6,000 miles). I very rarely flat with these tires. I admit that I am a bit anal when I clean my bike and I do look for and remove glass, metal and rocks from the little cuts it get in the normal course of riding.

Reviewed 12/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
color blind
by wah
Cycling Enthusiast
up in the mountains

just like the "regular" gator skin, best daily tire for riding. just buy them, either/or, been on gator skins since late '80's, incredible pieces of work.....i ride 5-7 days a week 12 months a year, with or without a bike tour. best tire, that is NOT A TOURING TIRE!!! i guess if you carry no gear, and just ride it'll do well for you ... best touring tire is schwalbe...

Reviewed 12/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Virtually Flat Free - watch your mileage though...
by Leslie K
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I do a lot of solo riding long distance, and the most debilitating thing about any ride is a mechanical or a puncture. The Gatorskin Blacks are trusted and tested to deliver me to the end goal every time. I've been riding about 1600k a month lately, so I do keep an eye on the road mileage. When the front tire gets a flat, that's when I know it's time to change them out before I do another century. I buy them in advance, so I always have a back up pair or two on hand. Note: Yes - they are heavier than racing tires, but the time I lose in climbing speed, I make up for, by not having to stop for a puncture. So if you change terrain over the course of one ride: glass, gravel, poor road quality, sand, pine needles, city garbage, etc... and you hate to change out a flat (ladies?) This tire is for you. The regular yellow sidewall Gators are also as durable, but the blacks are prettier. ;)

Reviewed 8/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Go-To Tire
by Jon S
rhode island, usa

The continental gator skin tire is my go-to tire for most of the year. Being able to ride in the messier months is a must for me and these tires hold up to some of the worst weather and roads covered in anything from sand to salt.

Reviewed 12/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Nice Tires!
by J scott
ne portland oregon

It has gotten increasingly difficult to purchase the necessities for bicycling on the fly in the moment.

That's where bikeworks came in. A few simple clicks later, I was able to collect my purchases in a safe manner. Not only were these tires in a deep discount, they were also ready for me in short time.

Thank you bikeworks. I'll be seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 12/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nothing better
by Bwig
Cycling Enthusiast
Hood River, OR

These are the best all-around tires money can buy, only tires I have purchased for the last, who knows how many years. How could Continental make these tires any better? BAM! black sidewalls!

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic ties
by Larrylupe15
Layton Utah

I love these tires. They are tough as nails and give me the traction I need in dry and wet conditions. I would recommend them to anybody who wants a tire with great traction and great puncture resistance

Reviewed 11/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gatorskin's are the gold standard for urban comuting. great tires.
by WZ
Daily Commuter
Atlanta

Great tires, with great service from bitetiresdirect!

Reviewed 1/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page