CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire

ContinentalGatorskin Black Edition 700c Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(194 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(170)
(17)
(3)
(3)
(1)
(88%)
(9%)
(2%)
(2%)
(1%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by Steve W

I can no longer trust these tires
by Steve W
Cycling Enthusiast
Lakewood Ranch, FL
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After riding Gatorskins on my road bike exclusively for the past seven years, I have had three sidewall blowouts so far this year. The last, which was yesterday, after only 280 miles of use. In each example, I could not find a specific cause. Up until yesterday, I had loved these tires. So I�ll be switching to another brand because I�m tired of being stranded miles from home.

Reviewed 8/21/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob

Tough, seem to be more precisely built than previous version
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, or

I've used Gatorskins for several years. Since our city (Portland, OR) no longer seems to care to maintain its bikepaths and bikelanes, I need a tougher tire than the Rubino Pros I used to rely on. Only drawback with Gatorskins was that when they were brand new, they often didn't seat in the rims at first, causing unexpected blowouts a few minutes after inflation. Sometimes it took several attempts to get them to seat properly. These new black edition tires -- for whatever reason -- did not have that problem. I've installed several, all perfectly on the first go. They are hard to mount/dismount, especially when new and/or cold, so unless you have hands of Hercules, pack a couple tire levers in your repair kit.

Reviewed 8/2/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent wearing and value
by Anonymous
S. Ore

Tire wear well and are an excellent choice for training especially for the value conscious rider.

Reviewed 1/1/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Shazini

No flat tires for the winter
by Shazini
Cycling Enthusiast
Folsom CA

I use these tires all winter long with no flats. My original set last me two winters

Reviewed 12/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anthony

Excellent road tire
by Anthony
Cycling Enthusiast
Katy, Tx

I love everything about Gatorskins. They are a very durable tire and have never let me down. Excellent for these Texas back roads!

Reviewed 12/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by The Count

Bomb Proof
by The Count
Competitive Racer
NYC

Always a durable product and now even better with improved sidewall protection.

Reviewed 12/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GJ

Reliable, long wear
by GJ
SoCal

Used these tires for years, have had good luck with them, long wearing, and a decent tire for hard, competitive riding. Can�t beat the price when on sale.

Reviewed 12/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MD rider

Great tire for not so great roads.
by MD rider
Cycling Enthusiast

Tired of getting flats and even worse during winter evening rides. So far no flats on these threads over a couple of hundreds miles.

Reviewed 12/22/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MD rider

Great tire for not so great roads.
by MD rider
Cycling Enthusiast

Tired of getting flats and even worse during winter evening rides. So far no flats on these threads over a couple of hundreds miles.

Reviewed 12/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DCbiker

Best puncture-resistant performance tire for commutes or training rides
by DCbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington DC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

If you're a road bike rider used to lightweight all-season or racing tires, these will have a numb road feel initially. But the added protection will give you peace of mind in the fall-winter-early spring commutes or training rides, and without adding excessive weight or rolling resistance. Traction on wet pavement is excellent and puncture resistance is impressive if not bulletproof. These tires cost more, but they're worth the extra cost if you do a lot of riding and need a tough, reliable tire that performs extremely well in all conditions.

Reviewed 4/5/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by sully v

Three months review in the PNW
by sully v
Daily Commuter
Pacific Northwest
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Hi - been riding on the Continental Gatorskin Black tires for the last three months after a piece of metal destroyed my 6-month old Vittoria Rubino Pro back tire. I liked the Vittoria, but felt they didn't "roll" as well as other brands that I've used.

The Continental Gatorskin Black's are amazing. There seems to be less resistance than the Vittoria, I like the tread, and the traction is very good, since I've been using these tires in the cold mixed with snow rain soaked Pacific Northwest. Like all of the other "million" reviews, buy with confidence. And like always, Bike Tire Direct is my go to vendor...

Reviewed 3/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great winter tires...or year round
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Ashland, OR

Thought these tires would be heavy and stiff but haven't found that to be the case. I love them. The ride is more supple than I thought and I find them comfortable to ride on...so much so that I think I'll be using them year round. So far no flats and I've gone through some really bad road debris. Fingers crossed that I don't get a flat because the one thing I don't like about them is that they are extremely difficult to get on and off the rim.

Reviewed 2/28/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John A

This tire hit the sweet spot between durability and ride quality
by John A
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Mostly a road bike rider averaging 135 miles per week on the typical trash and glass strewn roads in the San Fernando Valley area of Los Angeles. My previous tire of choice was the Continental GP5000. If I lived outside of a big city I likely would have stayed with that tire. While the GP5000 had a slightly smoother ride and may have even been slightly faster (emphasis on slightly), I eventually became tired of getting flats. I would estimate that I easily get 60 to 70% fewer flats on the Gatorskins than on the GP5000. The evidence is anecdotal, but that's all got. I went with the black edition strictly based on appearance.

Reviewed 1/27/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NickSlyness

Favorite commuter/high mileage tires
by NickSlyness
Daily Commuter
St Paul

Been running Continental Gatorskins for years. I feel like they provide excellent flat protection without sacrificing ride quality. I run them on road bikes, single speeds and gravel bikes for high mileage, commuter, on-road riding.

Reviewed 6/12/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JoeS

Resilient to glass, and an overall good tire
by JoeS
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got these for their resistance to blowouts. I read many reviews that rated them highly for that. I live and ride in Florida, so "cold" weather use is the low 40s. Thus far I've put 1,375 miles on these tires. The rear one is just showing signs of wear, but it looks only about 1/3 worn. So my estimate right now is 3,500-4,000 miles. Not bad.

These ride well and corner well in wet conditions. I've had no indication of slippage at all when the roads are wet. I do ride on some roads that have been sealed, and I've previously slid out on other tires when they were wet. These hold tight.

I've run over road glass, not on purpose, but the recycling truck near me dumps little piles of glass here and there and I've hit a few. The tires show no signs of being cut or punctured. Previous tires would have been flat on me.

Reviewed 1/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by elpastor71

great tires!
by elpastor71
Competitive Racer
laredo, texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm the type of rider that is very used to GP5000 (mounted on my campys wto 45)and after reading reviews about gatorskins tires I decided to click the button, this tires are tough!, I chose this tires for my winter/rough roads to prevent flats and they haven't disappointed me , I mounted them on a spare wheel set (bontrager aeolus 35)which was not difficult, they rolls good , they are not as fast as GP5000 but the intention is prevent flats and keep me training on winter.

Reviewed 11/11/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Really good tire
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Irvine, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They ride very well, good puncture resistance. They feel faster than my thinner gator skins

Reviewed 11/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mart

Gatorskins: flat resistant and durable
by Mart
Fair Oaks

I commuted between 20 and 60 miles a day to work for 15 years and did double centuries for most of that time recreationally. These were and still are my go-to tires for my road bikes. You'll get less flats with these.

Reviewed 4/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chilebrown

Flat Free with Confidence
by Chilebrown
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area

It is so nice to have some peace of mind that I will not be getting a flat. These tires are tough and still give a smooth ride. They will puncture but then it usually means it is time to get a new tire. I am a big fan of these tires.

Reviewed 4/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Phillipb81

Great Tires
by Phillipb81

Ive been using Gatorskins for a while now. Ive had other brands come stock on bikes and usually wind up with punctures quickly. Fingers crossed but i when switching to Gatorskins I've yet to puncture them. I highly recommend these tires. And the fact that you get the choice of two different sidewall colors is a plus too.

Reviewed 4/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page