X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(124 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(111)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(90%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Best training tire around
by Paul Brand
Central Louisiana

I used hardshell tires for the last five years. No complaints , very few flats, always got a season plus. Before replacing.

Reviewed 6/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire at a reasonable price.
by sconway
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

When I first installed the tires on my Mavic rims, at about 60psi one popped out of the rim bead and the inner tube blew. I reseated the tire and haven't had a problem since. I really like these tires, because they fit the tight clearance my frame requires for the tread height.

I have about 500 miles on the tires now with no flats and they provide wonderful control.

Reviewed 6/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires
by BG
San Diego

Great tires. Long wearing, puncture resistant , okay handling and an overall good value.

Reviewed 5/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still enjoying the ride!
by PC Alex
Cycling Enthusiast
Stuart, Fl

Purchased a set of these tires for my road bike and I'm really happy with them. I now have just over 650 miles with no interruptions to my rides due to flats which is a great relief compared to the Continental 5000 set I previously had which had me roadside with 3 flats in a 3 week period. They are slightly heavier but in my opinion, this outweighs the inconvenience of not riding due to punctures. Get some and enjoy the ride!

Reviewed 3/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth Ride
by SNespo
Cycling Enthusiast
South Bend, Indiana
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I replace my tires about once a year and have found out that the Continental Gator Hardshell works out very well for me. I got a quick delivery and the tire is very easy to put on and my bike. Thank you for your service.

Steve

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best tough training tire
by Doug
Tucson AZ
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I live in Tucson and ride nearlt everyday. There are myriad road obstacles, debris and sharp pointy things to puncture my ride, and thats why Ive gone back to gatorskin hardshell. I rode other continental products here and while they are as road gripping on downhills and across sand and gravel, they punctured far more than the gatorskins. Ive been riding the hardshell 25's now for a year or so and see the difference in tracking and softness on the road. Weight issues dont effect me as Im not racing and the small difference doesnt seem to effect climbing mt. Lemmon or flying down the mountain on the way hime. Not too clear on the difference between hardshell and standard gatorskin but seems like the hardshell has more sidewall protection which seems to help stop rock punctures when riding on gravel ( which I do everyday to get from my house to the main road). In any case, I recommend these tires to all my friends and so far, Ive heard nothing but positive comments..

Reviewed 9/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good tire for not the best roads
by loves2ride
Cycling Enthusiast
upstate NY

The metal recycle trucks drive up and down my favorite routes. I used to have LOTS of flats. I was told that this tire would slow me down. Well, FLATS SLOW ME DOWN. Now, maybe get one or two flats a season. I can live with that.

Reviewed 2/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very durable tire for the money!
by Brad
Cycling Enthusiast
Southwest Oklahoma
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are the most durable and puncture resistant road tires I've used thus far. Stout sidewalls that are not easily cut and excellent construction limit punctures tremendously.

Reviewed 4/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bike Tire Ever
by 209DavidT
Sacramento, CA
12 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gatorskin Hardshell tire happens to be the most versatile tire ever. I use them on my road bike, commuter bike and fixed gear bike.

The tire compound rides aliitle harder than most but durability and cornering cancel the harder ride. I ride at 225 lbs and have lowered tire pressure FR to 95 psi and tires perform flawlessly! They hug the road even in wet conditions. Highly recommend for all road riding bikes.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Favorite tire for years due to reliability, cornering and puncture protection.
by Chuckee
Cycling Enthusiast
Kamas, Utah
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I have used the tire for several years for both training and racing, averaging about 3500 miles per year. I don't remember the last time I had a pinch flat and have found it to be extremely puncture resistant - fulfilling the promise of increased flat protection. The tires have excellent sidewall strength and reliability, never having any issues with cracks or ruptures due to potholes, cattle guards or hitting any other obstructions. The wear indicators (two small holes on the tire tread) are reliable in indicators in determining when to change out the tire. I normally change the tires after 2000 miles regardless to be safe. Only downsides are the price and weight. I try to buy when the tires are on sale to save a few bucks since they are pretty expensive. The added weight due to the flat protection is a concern, but not overly so. I am somewhat of a weight weenie, so the concern is a psychological one, I'm sure.

Reviewed 8/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires ever...
by Type2Dcycler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
5 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these Gator hard shells for a charity ride in April-May. We rode from Key West, FL. to Jacksonville, FL, over 500 miles and I had zero flats!

Everyone else on my ride had to deal with flats but they didn't have Gators...soo, get you some!!!

Reviewed 4/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tires were awesome!
by Roger
Cycling Enthusiast
Quad Cities USA

Gatorskin Hardshell tires are awesome. I have not had a flat using them!

Reviewed 3/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have used Hardshells for years without having any problems and very few flats.
by Nick H
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use Hardshells on all of my wife's and my bikes, and our tandem, and have done so for years.

Good mileage and very good flat protection.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, smooth rolling road bike tire.
by Cycle Tourist
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Continental tires on my road bike for years. More recently, I've been using the Gator Hardshell folding tire, and I find that I get about 10,000 miles use from a pair of these tires. I rotate them once a year, & I ride them on a variety of terrain mountain roads, city & bike trails. I like the two 'dots' that allow me to gauge the remaining tread on the tire. I count on these tires on several tours a year, whether domestically in the U.S. or in Europe.

Reviewed 7/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ride fora great price.
by Clydesdale Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The ride of these tires is really good. I have about 500 miles on them now with no flats. Wahoo!

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No Flats in Years
by KAT
Cycling Enthusiast
Greensboro, NC
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I'm not the best mechanic, I can change a flat - but don't like to. I ride 10K a year. I chose Gator Hardshell after wading through flats from other tire companies. I have worn out 3 sets of 'Hardshells without a single flat. Currently, I ride without a repair kit or tubes, that's how confident I am in these tires. The ratings say they aren't the fastest - but they are certainly the most reliable.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Every day rider!
by Matk
Ash Flat, AR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I teamed this tire up with puncture resistant tube and have only had 3 flats in about 3 1/2 years. I get about 3500 miles out of each set of the Hardshell tires

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If you have an E-Bike, this is the tire to use!
by Giant e-biker
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride a 44 lb Giant Road E1. Big battery and big motor to haul my 220 lb carcass up so pretty steep grades and I really didn't wanna have to fix a flat on that bike. I picked the Gator hardshells cause I heard they were the most puncture resistant tires out there, short of an off road knobby tread tire. Weight isn't a prob using an e-bike. I knew the rear would wear faster than a lighter rider on a carbon frame, but I still got 2500 miles out of the rear considering the wattage being put down with 260 lbs. combined weight. No flats the whole time and the tread looked pretty clean with no gashes or cuts. I'd get this tire again. Get this tire if you just don't want flats and can put up with a slightly heavier tire. I had no prob mounting these, didn't even have to use a tire lever! It just depends on the rim you have, not the tire so much.

Reviewed 10/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very nice training tire! Heavy and it grips well!
by Itri2
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I try to change my tires at least once a year if not twice. I have been using these tires for a while. When they are new they are fantastic.

Good deal and I like how they hold up.

Reviewed 8/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid training tire
by Anonymous
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I get about 3000 miles out of a set before they are ready to be replaced. Heavy and hard.

Reviewed 6/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page