Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(80 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(71)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(89%)
(9%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Keeps Rolling
by Kevin
North Carolina

I ride 15 hours per week, on average. These tires lasted 1 year with no stopping to fix a flat!

Reviewed 10/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Have used Gatorskin Hardshells for a couple years.... Last set zero flats with over 4000 miles on the rear and more on the front.
by Colnitz
Daily Commuter
St Petersbug Florida

I use these tires for everyday commutes and hard training

Reviewed 9/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best tough training tire
by Doug
Tucson AZ

I live in Tucson and ride nearlt everyday. There are myriad road obstacles, debris and sharp pointy things to puncture my ride, and thats why Ive gone back to gatorskin hardshell. I rode other continental products here and while they are as road gripping on downhills and across sand and gravel, they punctured far more than the gatorskins. Ive been riding the hardshell 25's now for a year or so and see the difference in tracking and softness on the road. Weight issues dont effect me as Im not racing and the small difference doesnt seem to effect climbing mt. Lemmon or flying down the mountain on the way hime. Not too clear on the difference between hardshell and standard gatorskin but seems like the hardshell has more sidewall protection which seems to help stop rock punctures when riding on gravel ( which I do everyday to get from my house to the main road). In any case, I recommend these tires to all my friends and so far, Ive heard nothing but positive comments..

Reviewed 9/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth Ride
by SNespo
Cycling Enthusiast
South Bend, Indiana

I replace my tires about once a year and have found out that the Continental Gator Hardshell works out very well for me. I got a quick delivery and the tire is very easy to put on and my bike. Thank you for your service.

Steve

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent No Flats
by JV
Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My 4 th set. No the lightest or most confortable but Great tires.. But above all worry free from flats. Use it daily rought road , no problem. Never had a flat and ride daily over 40 miles. Would no use it for racing or if looking for a light tire. But if you want a quality dependable tire no better choice.

Reviewed 9/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They're great
by Anonymous

This was my second purchase of these tires after looking for a tire that was flat resistant, long lived, and rolled fast. It's been a great all around tire!

Reviewed 10/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bike Tire Ever
by 209DavidT
Sacramento, CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gatorskin Hardshell tire happens to be the most versatile tire ever. I use them on my road bike, commuter bike and fixed gear bike.

The tire compound rides aliitle harder than most but durability and cornering cancel the harder ride. I ride at 225 lbs and have lowered tire pressure FR to 95 psi and tires perform flawlessly! They hug the road even in wet conditions. Highly recommend for all road riding bikes.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Favorite tire for years due to reliability, cornering and puncture protection.
by Chuckee
Cycling Enthusiast
Kamas, Utah
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have used the tire for several years for both training and racing, averaging about 3500 miles per year. I don't remember the last time I had a pinch flat and have found it to be extremely puncture resistant - fulfilling the promise of increased flat protection. The tires have excellent sidewall strength and reliability, never having any issues with cracks or ruptures due to potholes, cattle guards or hitting any other obstructions. The wear indicators (two small holes on the tire tread) are reliable in indicators in determining when to change out the tire. I normally change the tires after 2000 miles regardless to be safe. Only downsides are the price and weight. I try to buy when the tires are on sale to save a few bucks since they are pretty expensive. The added weight due to the flat protection is a concern, but not overly so. I am somewhat of a weight weenie, so the concern is a psychological one, I'm sure.

Reviewed 8/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
durable tire
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
san diego

when my tires become slick I replace them with new ones!!!

Reviewed 9/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
700c x 28mm at 100psi
by KC
Cycling Enthusiast
Lowell, Mass

They take the road divots well...Great now for Fall road biking!!

Reviewed 9/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires ever...
by Type2Dcycler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these Gator hard shells for a charity ride in April-May. We rode from Key West, FL. to Jacksonville, FL, over 500 miles and I had zero flats!

Everyone else on my ride had to deal with flats but they didn't have Gators...soo, get you some!!!

Reviewed 4/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Have used Gatorskin Hardshells for a couple years.... Last set zero flats with over 4000 miles on the rear and more on the front.
by Colnitz
Daily Commuter
St Petersbug Florida

I use these tires for everyday commutes and hard training

Reviewed 9/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rolls great!
by tim1457
Aiken, SC

Wanted some peace of mind from road hazards while training on our not so perfect highways. Tires roll great and ride well. Very satisfied with purchase.

Reviewed 7/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't fit on rims
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I tried this tire on two different rims. It will not go on without brute force. I destroyed two tubes trying. Would not be able to do a roadside change.

Reviewed 6/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough & Reliable - Commuter's Delight
by CDLvelo
Daily Commuter
Surrey, BC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Solved my problem with my flats on commutes! After 2 flats in 8 years using Gatorskins (even ran on rear tire through to the cords), I had forgotten how important it was to have a tough tire for commuting! I got a new bike last year, flatted twice on the Schwalbe tires that came with the bike, so I changed to Conti GP -Season (great handling tire) but flatted 5 times in 8 weeks!! (lots of tough paths, sidewalks, etc.) - so I wanted Gatorskins, but decided to go to the new, even tougher Gator Hardshell tires - 12 weeks later no flats, no worries - perfect for my commute! A little difficult to install compared to other Conti tires, but well worth the effort. Highly recommended for commuting, tandem, and any application where durability is paramount.

Reviewed 2/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome tire
by Pmello
Southern California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been researching all makes and models of tires for the past several months and finally decided to go with the Gator Hardshell. I've had them for several weeks now and they have surpassed my expectations. They ride much better than the stock rubber that came with my Specialized and offer fantastic grip. I highly recommend them.

Reviewed 7/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough, Stable, and Durable
by SunCityTXBiker
Central Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Using other brands and non-hard shell I've experienced flats several times a year. Since using these hard shells, I have experienced no flats. Riding on rough country roads with cactus needles, glass, sharp small stones, pot holes, and bad expansion joints have never caused a flat. I can easily get over 4,000 miles on the rear tire.

Because of the heat and rough roads, I do change both tires yearly can never be too careful

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
by Gary Burger
Des Moines
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My new Gator Hardshell tires are the best set of tires I've ever used on my Trek 5500 road bike. I have over 20,000 miles on my bike and gone thru a variety of road bike tires. None are better than the Hardshells

Reviewed 8/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires, best price!
by 240rwilk
Cycling Enthusiast
Avila Beach Ca.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Road biking. Have used this brand for years. Never had a problem.

Reviewed 6/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the ultimate rear tire. i ride every day rain or snow , and i hate getting a flat, especially in th rain
by Scott
Competitive Racer
Berkeley.CA

rear wheel, it is bullit-proof.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page