Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(69 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(60)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(87%)
(10%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Awesome tire
by Pmello
Southern California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been researching all makes and models of tires for the past several months and finally decided to go with the Gator Hardshell. I've had them for several weeks now and they have surpassed my expectations. They ride much better than the stock rubber that came with my Specialized and offer fantastic grip. I highly recommend them.

Reviewed 7/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough, Stable, and Durable
by SunCityTXBiker
Central Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Using other brands and non-hard shell I've experienced flats several times a year. Since using these hard shells, I have experienced no flats. Riding on rough country roads with cactus needles, glass, sharp small stones, pot holes, and bad expansion joints have never caused a flat. I can easily get over 4,000 miles on the rear tire.

Because of the heat and rough roads, I do change both tires yearly can never be too careful

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rolls great!
by tim1457
Aiken, SC

Wanted some peace of mind from road hazards while training on our not so perfect highways. Tires roll great and ride well. Very satisfied with purchase.

Reviewed 7/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't fit on rims
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I tried this tire on two different rims. It will not go on without brute force. I destroyed two tubes trying. Would not be able to do a roadside change.

Reviewed 6/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bike Tire Ever
by 209DavidT
Sacramento, CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gatorskin Hardshell tire happens to be the most versatile tire ever. I use them on my road bike, commuter bike and fixed gear bike.

The tire compound rides aliitle harder than most but durability and cornering cancel the harder ride. I ride at 225 lbs and have lowered tire pressure FR to 95 psi and tires perform flawlessly! They hug the road even in wet conditions. Highly recommend for all road riding bikes.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires, best price!
by 240rwilk
Cycling Enthusiast
Avila Beach Ca.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Road biking. Have used this brand for years. Never had a problem.

Reviewed 6/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Favorite tire for years due to reliability, cornering and puncture protection.
by Chuckee
Cycling Enthusiast
Kamas, Utah
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have used the tire for several years for both training and racing, averaging about 3500 miles per year. I don't remember the last time I had a pinch flat and have found it to be extremely puncture resistant - fulfilling the promise of increased flat protection. The tires have excellent sidewall strength and reliability, never having any issues with cracks or ruptures due to potholes, cattle guards or hitting any other obstructions. The wear indicators (two small holes on the tire tread) are reliable in indicators in determining when to change out the tire. I normally change the tires after 2000 miles regardless to be safe. Only downsides are the price and weight. I try to buy when the tires are on sale to save a few bucks since they are pretty expensive. The added weight due to the flat protection is a concern, but not overly so. I am somewhat of a weight weenie, so the concern is a psychological one, I'm sure.

Reviewed 8/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires ever...
by Type2Dcycler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these Gator hard shells for a charity ride in April-May. We rode from Key West, FL. to Jacksonville, FL, over 500 miles and I had zero flats!

Everyone else on my ride had to deal with flats but they didn't have Gators...soo, get you some!!!

Reviewed 4/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough & Reliable - Commuter's Delight
by CDLvelo
Daily Commuter
Surrey, BC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Solved my problem with my flats on commutes! After 2 flats in 8 years using Gatorskins (even ran on rear tire through to the cords), I had forgotten how important it was to have a tough tire for commuting! I got a new bike last year, flatted twice on the Schwalbe tires that came with the bike, so I changed to Conti GP -Season (great handling tire) but flatted 5 times in 8 weeks!! (lots of tough paths, sidewalks, etc.) - so I wanted Gatorskins, but decided to go to the new, even tougher Gator Hardshell tires - 12 weeks later no flats, no worries - perfect for my commute! A little difficult to install compared to other Conti tires, but well worth the effort. Highly recommended for commuting, tandem, and any application where durability is paramount.

Reviewed 2/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best puncture proof I've found
by Rourkenroll
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These were on sale and a great deal as they are my favorite puncture resistant road bike tire I have found...

Reviewed 5/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great long distance tire
by Anonymous
Grover Beach, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Nice to have the Kevlar and avoid flats on ultra distance rides but best part is being able to change these ones on the fly. As a women with not as much strength in the hands some Kevlar tires are very difficult to change without a tool but these with a softer edge I can manage without a problem.

Reviewed 4/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best long distance tire I've ever used
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I have used this tire specifically for long distance multiple day rides. Not one flat on a 7 day ride with over 550 miles!

Reviewed 4/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy
by Anonymous
VA

Ive used these a lot and have found them to be dependable and long lasting

Reviewed 4/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Tire Ever
by nanfourteen
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado

I've used Gatorskins in all weather and a lot of different terrain and it never disappoints and they last forever! I was a courier for 10 years and I got the least flats of anyone...maybe 1 every 6 months and that is with riding 9 hours a day!! Ready to head out on a tour with some new Gatorskins! I'll let you know!!

Reviewed 3/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flat free
by Fat Daddy
Casual Cyclist
Rowlett,Tx

Casual rider, not concerned with weight or rolling resistance, just hate getting flats. They were hard to get on HED wheels. So far so good.

Reviewed 3/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flat free
by Fat Daddy
Casual Cyclist
Rowlett,Tx

Casual rider, not concerned with weight or rolling resistance, just hate getting flats. They were hard to get on HED wheels. So far so good.

Reviewed 3/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable Training Tire
by AvidCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Hillsboro, Oregon

No more flat tires since using Gator Hardshell tires. Had multiple flats previously due to the gravel the city spreads on the roads during winter. They are easy to mount if you know the proper technique.

Reviewed 3/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire for reducing flats
by Mikebiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO

I hate having to fix flat tires while in the middle of nowhere. I've been using the Gator Hardshells for quite a few years now and my number of flats has quite nicely. They are long wearing so I don't need to replace them very often (I rode over 10,000 miles last year).

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tore
by Anonymous
texas

Road on these for years,no flats

You can't go wrong,very dependable

Reviewed 2/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire - no flats (about 1,100 miles), fast and rides reasonably well.
by RiverCity Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Normal, IL

There is nothing to dislike about this tire. I use it on my touring bike (700x28) and have been using the 700x25 version for many years on my Roubaix (rear tire - the front tire is Conti 4000S). I've never had a puncture flat (I've had a couple of pinch flats) on my Roubaix in countless thousands of miles. I'm getting the same results with the 700x28 on my touring bike so far.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page