X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(115 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(102)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(89%)
(10%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Durable and puncture resistant.
by Anonymous

This tire is the best puncture resistant tire I've used. I have been riding for over 50 years and this tire for it's price point is definitely worth considering. Highly recommend it.

Reviewed 9/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have used Hardshells for years without having any problems and very few flats.
by Nick H
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA

I use Hardshells on all of my wife's and my bikes, and our tandem, and have done so for years.

Good mileage and very good flat protection.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire at a reasonable price.
by sconway
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA

When I first installed the tires on my Mavic rims, at about 60psi one popped out of the rim bead and the inner tube blew. I reseated the tire and haven't had a problem since. I really like these tires, because they fit the tight clearance my frame requires for the tread height.

I have about 500 miles on the tires now with no flats and they provide wonderful control.

Reviewed 6/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GREAT tires!
by mrkgrysngr
Cycling Enthusiast
All voer the country

I am not a racer. I just love riding. I ride 180-200 a week and have been doing that for many years now. After trying many combinations I found the Gator hardshell tires combined with a puncture resistant tube helps keep flats to a minimum. I have only had about 4 flats in years since going to this comb. the tires last anywhere from 3000 to 3500 miles depending on the quality of the roads I ride.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
fantistic
by dennyburnham
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacrament ca area

Just a great tire, I have been using for years and at 79 yrs old still love to ride. Last year rode 5543 miles, but missed my goal of 6000 mi. Have used this tire for years and 90lbs in the rear and 80 upfront. Cannot remember my last flat

denny

Reviewed 8/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gator Skins
by Laura
Fl

Love +++! Have used for years and will continue!

Reviewed 9/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, smooth rolling road bike tire.
by Cycle Tourist
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ

I've used Continental tires on my road bike for years. More recently, I've been using the Gator Hardshell folding tire, and I find that I get about 10,000 miles use from a pair of these tires. I rotate them once a year, & I ride them on a variety of terrain mountain roads, city & bike trails. I like the two 'dots' that allow me to gauge the remaining tread on the tire. I count on these tires on several tours a year, whether domestically in the U.S. or in Europe.

Reviewed 7/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great ride fora great price.
by Clydesdale Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah

The ride of these tires is really good. I have about 500 miles on them now with no flats. Wahoo!

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tire
by Al
Competitive Racer
Boise, ID

Not the most supple tire out there, but if you have goathead (thorns) problems in your area this is your tire. I've been using these for a year now and no flats so far. They are long wearing too. They stand up well to chip sealed roads.

Reviewed 8/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable is an understatement
by Jacobus
Danville CA

The road in the Bay Area have gotten more problematic. Ive went through two different sets of tires (Michelins and Vittoria) in the last couples months. The tires were destroyed by box cutters and broken glass. No tire would survive these. I do have a piece of mind with the Continental gator hardshell tires. They are also fast for the weight.

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome tire
by Sean
Jackson

switch to the Conti after i kept flatting with the Schwalbe one. This tire provides excellent grip, rolls fast, and is cut resistant.. my new tire of choice

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No Flats in Years
by KAT
Cycling Enthusiast
Greensboro, NC

I'm not the best mechanic, I can change a flat - but don't like to. I ride 10K a year. I chose Gator Hardshell after wading through flats from other tire companies. I have worn out 3 sets of 'Hardshells without a single flat. Currently, I ride without a repair kit or tubes, that's how confident I am in these tires. The ratings say they aren't the fastest - but they are certainly the most reliable.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Every day rider!
by Matk
Ash Flat, AR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I teamed this tire up with puncture resistant tube and have only had 3 flats in about 3 1/2 years. I get about 3500 miles out of each set of the Hardshell tires

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth Ride
by SNespo
Cycling Enthusiast
South Bend, Indiana
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I replace my tires about once a year and have found out that the Continental Gator Hardshell works out very well for me. I got a quick delivery and the tire is very easy to put on and my bike. Thank you for your service.

Steve

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best tough training tire
by Doug
Tucson AZ
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I live in Tucson and ride nearlt everyday. There are myriad road obstacles, debris and sharp pointy things to puncture my ride, and thats why Ive gone back to gatorskin hardshell. I rode other continental products here and while they are as road gripping on downhills and across sand and gravel, they punctured far more than the gatorskins. Ive been riding the hardshell 25's now for a year or so and see the difference in tracking and softness on the road. Weight issues dont effect me as Im not racing and the small difference doesnt seem to effect climbing mt. Lemmon or flying down the mountain on the way hime. Not too clear on the difference between hardshell and standard gatorskin but seems like the hardshell has more sidewall protection which seems to help stop rock punctures when riding on gravel ( which I do everyday to get from my house to the main road). In any case, I recommend these tires to all my friends and so far, Ive heard nothing but positive comments..

Reviewed 9/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome tires
by Odie
Aurora CO

These tires are great easy to put on and a joy to ride on

Reviewed 8/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires, like the ride and durability.
by Hckj
Cycling Enthusiast
Smyrna, de

Have been running gator hardshell for years, however, the past tires were 23mm wide, wanted a wider tire, and this tire worked perfectly.

Changed to gator hard shells after a three week tour, the riders with tire had fewer flats than the rest of us using various brands.

Reviewed 7/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bike Tire Ever
by 209DavidT
Sacramento, CA
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gatorskin Hardshell tire happens to be the most versatile tire ever. I use them on my road bike, commuter bike and fixed gear bike.

The tire compound rides aliitle harder than most but durability and cornering cancel the harder ride. I ride at 225 lbs and have lowered tire pressure FR to 95 psi and tires perform flawlessly! They hug the road even in wet conditions. Highly recommend for all road riding bikes.

Reviewed 10/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Favorite tire for years due to reliability, cornering and puncture protection.
by Chuckee
Cycling Enthusiast
Kamas, Utah
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I have used the tire for several years for both training and racing, averaging about 3500 miles per year. I don't remember the last time I had a pinch flat and have found it to be extremely puncture resistant - fulfilling the promise of increased flat protection. The tires have excellent sidewall strength and reliability, never having any issues with cracks or ruptures due to potholes, cattle guards or hitting any other obstructions. The wear indicators (two small holes on the tire tread) are reliable in indicators in determining when to change out the tire. I normally change the tires after 2000 miles regardless to be safe. Only downsides are the price and weight. I try to buy when the tires are on sale to save a few bucks since they are pretty expensive. The added weight due to the flat protection is a concern, but not overly so. I am somewhat of a weight weenie, so the concern is a psychological one, I'm sure.

Reviewed 8/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires ever...
by Type2Dcycler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these Gator hard shells for a charity ride in April-May. We rode from Key West, FL. to Jacksonville, FL, over 500 miles and I had zero flats!

Everyone else on my ride had to deal with flats but they didn't have Gators...soo, get you some!!!

Reviewed 4/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page