X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(97 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(84)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(87%)
(11%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Tough & Reliable - Commuter's Delight
by CDLvelo
Daily Commuter
Surrey, BC
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Solved my problem with my flats on commutes! After 2 flats in 8 years using Gatorskins (even ran on rear tire through to the cords), I had forgotten how important it was to have a tough tire for commuting! I got a new bike last year, flatted twice on the Schwalbe tires that came with the bike, so I changed to Conti GP -Season (great handling tire) but flatted 5 times in 8 weeks!! (lots of tough paths, sidewalks, etc.) - so I wanted Gatorskins, but decided to go to the new, even tougher Gator Hardshell tires - 12 weeks later no flats, no worries - perfect for my commute! A little difficult to install compared to other Conti tires, but well worth the effort. Highly recommended for commuting, tandem, and any application where durability is paramount.

Reviewed 2/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire - no flats (about 1,100 miles), fast and rides reasonably well.
by RiverCity Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Normal, IL

There is nothing to dislike about this tire. I use it on my touring bike (700x28) and have been using the 700x25 version for many years on my Roubaix (rear tire - the front tire is Conti 4000S). I've never had a puncture flat (I've had a couple of pinch flats) on my Roubaix in countless thousands of miles. I'm getting the same results with the 700x28 on my touring bike so far.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a GREAT tire!!!
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado and all over the country
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I went to the GatorSkin Hardshell in May of 2016. I teamed it up with the Forte puncture resistant tubes. I ride 200-250 miles a week. I have seen I can get about 3500 mile out of the tires before I have to change them out for new ones. The wear indicator is a great help. I do rotate the tires from from to back which allows me to get about another 500 miles out of the tire set. Since making this change I have had to replace the tires 3 times but I have not had a flat in over a year. I am still using the same tubes from May of 2016. This is a great tire and great combination for me. I do try and wait until the BOGO sale is on though.

Reviewed 6/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tire, but I need a new bike!!!
Competitive Racer
Northern Calif
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Just let me say.......yes, the tires were great. The problem was I was hit from behind and left in a coma by the driver. I awoke in the hospital and finally got home the next day. My Ti bike is a mess!!!

Reviewed 6/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire for tandems
by Warren G
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado

Using on a tandem, and like the lower pressure that a 700 x 32 tire allows. Gatorskins provide a good ride with durability and flat protection.

Reviewed 5/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires, have tons of miles on them, no flats, great durability.
by Ã‡ookie
Daily Commuter
Thunder Bay, Ontaril

I've been using these tires for about 4 years now. I switched to them because of the number of flats I was getting on other brands. I'm kind of heavy for a cyclist, at 215 lbs, so worn tires and flats used to be the norm for me. Not anymore. Great tire.

Reviewed 5/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire that will get you there and back with zero flats!
by Mike Lester
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I had been wanting to try Continentals GatorHardshell tires in the 700c x 25mm width. I had been riding 23's the last few years. When I originally switched to the Hardshells I was concerned the ride might be on the harsh side. To my surprise they weren't. I rotate my tires about every 750 to 1000 miles to maximize mileage. I got 4,100 miles out of my last set. I probably could have gotten another 1,000 but they were showing signs of aging. In that time I never flatted once! I've got a couple rides in on the new 25's. I'm running them at 100 psi. front and rear. Initially I tried 95 psi. and they felt a little sluggish. Once you get them rolling they are definitely faster than the 23's and the ride is smoother and more comfortable. One particular road I'm frequently on is like a minefield with all the debris on the sides. These Conti Hardshells get me where I'm going and back riding not walking or stopping to fix a flat. Great tires!!! Thanks.

Reviewed 4/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires!!
by likes2workout
Sandy, utah

The Continental Gator tires are great!! I had them on my first road bike and now on my second road bike. Very durable and feel confident that I won't have flat tires. Highly recommend them. Also put them on my husband's bike and he likes them too!!

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply amazing!
by Anonymous
St Pete Beach Fl
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a new Schlitter recumbent and on one of my first rides I encountered something I neve experienced in Maryland....sand spurs! Got two flats in one ride. A friend suggested Gatorskins and now I laugh at you nasty sand spurs.

Reviewed 2/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bomb proof quality ride
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I used a different manufacturers tires last year and suffered over 20 flats. I'm not going to throw the brand under the bus but switched to these Conti gator hardshells at the beginning of the year and after almost 1000 miles have had zero flats. Also, the ride quality seems to be very good as well as traction. Because of this all 3 of my road bikes now use these tires and I couldn't be happier.

Reviewed 3/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire &40Folding&41 is the best flat protection tire on the market, hands down.
by BIKEMAN
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (folding) is utilized on a Trek 1.1 and 1.2 Road Bike, averaging 38-57 miles per day. What I like most about this tire is the mileage indicators on the tires that let you know when to exchange them.

Reviewed 2/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable
by Anonymous
virginia

Dependable. Lasts reasonsably well.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Gator
by Anonymous
sacramento, ca

So far so good only been able to put a couple hundred miles on them, but they have a good ride,not to bad to put on rim. I went from a wire bead schwalbe to a folding bead Gator hoping the Gators are as puncture resistant as the schwalbes were. Time will tell

Reviewed 2/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great set of flat proof high mileage tires
by Allen
NW Arksnsas

I have put several hundred flat free miles on these tires and they still look almost new! They are a tiny bit heavier for the weenies and maybe a tad less plush, but if you hate changing tires on the roadside (especially in the cold), these are awesome tires.

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These never let me down on century rides
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Reviewed 12/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super install leads to happy trails
by lou
Cycling Enthusiast
Hilo, Hawaii
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I live in the land of puncture, sometimes referred to as the Big Island of Hawaii. Road go mostly up or down with plenty of glass and wire wherever there is traffic. Ride a Roubaix or a Sequoia and try to do an 1-2 hours, three times a week. Have to go up or down, so safety is a concern. This German import went on easy, absorbs the bumps (700x28) and so far has kept me on the road. It's a little plain, but it is German tough.

Reviewed 12/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough tires!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I rode these tires up Mt. Tam on fire roads 3 times in last month and no issues. 2X Eldridge and 1X Railroad Grade and they performed very well despite being taken over rocky terrain that they were not designed for. Zero punctures or cuts and other than a little scuffing they are doing fine. They held better than I expected on loose rocky terrain with minimal slippage. Swapping on some CX tires and will keep these for pavement.

Reviewed 5/20/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
by Anonymous

My bike came with a less bulletproof Continental tire. After the third tube puncture in five days of riding I knew I needed a tougher tire. The Gator Hardshell is it. I switched a month ago and have approximately 250 miles on the tires with no flats. Ive gone over glass pieces and many pebbles that would have probably flattened the old tires. I notice no ride quality difference.

Reviewed 10/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire, reasonable tread life but I still get glass punctures.
by Roundlegs
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa,FL
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires forSaturday rides, training and racing. Corner and handle well but I still have as many of not more flats as riders with standard tires. 21 ratio.

Reviewed 4/1/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keeps Rolling
by Kevin
North Carolina

I ride 15 hours per week, on average. These tires lasted 1 year with no stopping to fix a flat!

Reviewed 10/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page