X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(115 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(102)
(11)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(89%)
(10%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
If you have an E-Bike, this is the tire to use!
by Giant e-biker
Cycling Enthusiast

I ride a 44 lb Giant Road E1. Big battery and big motor to haul my 220 lb carcass up so pretty steep grades and I really didn't wanna have to fix a flat on that bike. I picked the Gator hardshells cause I heard they were the most puncture resistant tires out there, short of an off road knobby tread tire. Weight isn't a prob using an e-bike. I knew the rear would wear faster than a lighter rider on a carbon frame, but I still got 2500 miles out of the rear considering the wattage being put down with 260 lbs. combined weight. No flats the whole time and the tread looked pretty clean with no gashes or cuts. I'd get this tire again. Get this tire if you just don't want flats and can put up with a slightly heavier tire. I had no prob mounting these, didn't even have to use a tire lever! It just depends on the rim you have, not the tire so much.

Reviewed 10/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very nice training tire! Heavy and it grips well!
by Itri2
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I try to change my tires at least once a year if not twice. I have been using these tires for a while. When they are new they are fantastic.

Good deal and I like how they hold up.

Reviewed 8/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Where Do I Begin .......
by Sal
Cycling Enthusiast
Manhattan NYC

I gave these 5 stars not because I love them, because I don't, but because they are bomb-proof and you will grow old wearing them out. I have them on for two years now and do 30 mile runs 5 times a week around the outer Central Park loop in Manhattan and they still show very little wear. No cuts anywhere. The loop is well paved and with no debris so these are totally overkill. Yes overkill.

So, would I rather be riding on something more fun, well yes, but I am simply amazed with the durability of these tires. Might try the Pirelli's, will report back.

Reviewed 4/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This tire gets no flats!
by dahveed
Competitive Racer
San Francisco

This tire gets no flats! The ride quality is okay, though it can sometimes not grip well laterally (slides out a bit)

Reviewed 4/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid training tire
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I get about 3000 miles out of a set before they are ready to be replaced. Heavy and hard.

Reviewed 6/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to long distance tire
by Louise
San Diego
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using this tire on my endurance 7 day bike rides for the past 5 years. Not one flat ever.

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires money can buy
by Anonymous
Hawaii
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Hands down test best tires I ride and now the only ones....fast last thousands of miles and no flats

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bullet proof!
by Anonymous

I had 6000 flat free miles on one set.

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No stop tires
by KT
Greensboro
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have rode these tires for 3500 miles, multiple times, without one stop for a flat. The tire wear indicators are especially helpful to know when to change them out. They are my go to training tire!

Reviewed 4/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No Flat Rides - which is not climbing
by KAT
Cycling Enthusiast
Greensboro, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I began using the Gator Hardshell after I flatted 3 times on one ride...I had to call for a ride home (embarrassing). Since I moved to the Hardshell, I have not had a flat on a ride. Last year I rode close to 800 hours...13K...no flats. I am not sure if they are a fast tire, but I am sure that the ride will move continually forward on the Gator Hardshell

Reviewed 1/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires if you are looking for flat prevention.
by Kevin
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan and Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I hate flats! I found the Hardshell after trying many brands that claimed to be flat resistant but let me down. The are extremely flat resistant and they are all I use for training (they are a bit heavy for racing though). I rated them as a steal (5 stars) as you have to consider all the tubes and CO2 canisters you use fixing flats. I have even run a couple of my bikes with liners and that pretty much makes these tires indestructible. Friendly warning though, they are really tough to put on when new but well worth it.

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great protection, fast enough ride, no complaints!!
by Crystal
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia

Have yet to get a flat with these. Granted not riding thru NYC or anything, but... One time, found a huge staple in the tread, pulled it out but it had not punctured the protective layers. My every day, go to tires when don't want to worry about stopping to change a flat! Very satisfied.

Reviewed 12/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent No Flats
by JV
Florida
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

My 4 th set. No the lightest or most confortable but Great tires.. But above all worry free from flats. Use it daily rought road , no problem. Never had a flat and ride daily over 40 miles. Would no use it for racing or if looking for a light tire. But if you want a quality dependable tire no better choice.

Reviewed 9/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable tire with lots of puncture protection
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I ride city streets, bike paths and the occasional paved rail trail. All the gatorskin products have been superior for me, virtually no puncture flats in several years. The hardshell continues that success and I have no reason to switch.

Reviewed 11/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough & Reliable - Commuter's Delight
by CDLvelo
Daily Commuter
Surrey, BC
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Solved my problem with my flats on commutes! After 2 flats in 8 years using Gatorskins (even ran on rear tire through to the cords), I had forgotten how important it was to have a tough tire for commuting! I got a new bike last year, flatted twice on the Schwalbe tires that came with the bike, so I changed to Conti GP -Season (great handling tire) but flatted 5 times in 8 weeks!! (lots of tough paths, sidewalks, etc.) - so I wanted Gatorskins, but decided to go to the new, even tougher Gator Hardshell tires - 12 weeks later no flats, no worries - perfect for my commute! A little difficult to install compared to other Conti tires, but well worth the effort. Highly recommended for commuting, tandem, and any application where durability is paramount.

Reviewed 2/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental never fails.
by norcal.chris
Cycling Enthusiast

Kinda pricey but, tough as nails, even when you run over one. If you're still using tires with tubes, like me, can't say enough good about these, and I can't say anything bad about them either.

Reviewed 7/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent tire - no flats (about 1,100 miles), fast and rides reasonably well.
by RiverCity Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Normal, IL

There is nothing to dislike about this tire. I use it on my touring bike (700x28) and have been using the 700x25 version for many years on my Roubaix (rear tire - the front tire is Conti 4000S). I've never had a puncture flat (I've had a couple of pinch flats) on my Roubaix in countless thousands of miles. I'm getting the same results with the 700x28 on my touring bike so far.

Reviewed 7/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is a GREAT tire!!!
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado and all over the country
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I went to the GatorSkin Hardshell in May of 2016. I teamed it up with the Forte puncture resistant tubes. I ride 200-250 miles a week. I have seen I can get about 3500 mile out of the tires before I have to change them out for new ones. The wear indicator is a great help. I do rotate the tires from from to back which allows me to get about another 500 miles out of the tire set. Since making this change I have had to replace the tires 3 times but I have not had a flat in over a year. I am still using the same tubes from May of 2016. This is a great tire and great combination for me. I do try and wait until the BOGO sale is on though.

Reviewed 6/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tire, but I need a new bike!!!
Competitive Racer
Northern Calif
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Just let me say.......yes, the tires were great. The problem was I was hit from behind and left in a coma by the driver. I awoke in the hospital and finally got home the next day. My Ti bike is a mess!!!

Reviewed 6/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Shoulder Hugging Friend that doesn't get shredded from road clutter that trashes expensive Race Training tires first ride out, not these tires!!!!
by MTfighter
Competitive Racer
SoCal., CA

I've been riding these tires for years now and get my value and confident performance from a set of these tires. I ride my race bike like a cross bike sometimes just because of these tires, I think it gives me extra assurance against punctures when thrashing thru places you would normally keep a Ridley Noah SL away from. My choice for my style of riding places these tires under me.

Reviewed 6/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page