X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)

ContinentalGator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (Folding)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(89 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(77)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(87%)
(11%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Great tires, have tons of miles on them, no flats, great durability.
by Ã‡ookie
Daily Commuter
Thunder Bay, Ontaril

I've been using these tires for about 4 years now. I switched to them because of the number of flats I was getting on other brands. I'm kind of heavy for a cyclist, at 215 lbs, so worn tires and flats used to be the norm for me. Not anymore. Great tire.

Reviewed 5/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire that will get you there and back with zero flats!
by Mike Lester
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis, MO
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I had been wanting to try Continentals GatorHardshell tires in the 700c x 25mm width. I had been riding 23's the last few years. When I originally switched to the Hardshells I was concerned the ride might be on the harsh side. To my surprise they weren't. I rotate my tires about every 750 to 1000 miles to maximize mileage. I got 4,100 miles out of my last set. I probably could have gotten another 1,000 but they were showing signs of aging. In that time I never flatted once! I've got a couple rides in on the new 25's. I'm running them at 100 psi. front and rear. Initially I tried 95 psi. and they felt a little sluggish. Once you get them rolling they are definitely faster than the 23's and the ride is smoother and more comfortable. One particular road I'm frequently on is like a minefield with all the debris on the sides. These Conti Hardshells get me where I'm going and back riding not walking or stopping to fix a flat. Great tires!!! Thanks.

Reviewed 4/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires!!
by likes2workout
Sandy, utah

The Continental Gator tires are great!! I had them on my first road bike and now on my second road bike. Very durable and feel confident that I won't have flat tires. Highly recommend them. Also put them on my husband's bike and he likes them too!!

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
by Anonymous

My bike came with a less bulletproof Continental tire. After the third tube puncture in five days of riding I knew I needed a tougher tire. The Gator Hardshell is it. I switched a month ago and have approximately 250 miles on the tires with no flats. Ive gone over glass pieces and many pebbles that would have probably flattened the old tires. I notice no ride quality difference.

Reviewed 10/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply amazing!
by Anonymous
St Pete Beach Fl
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a new Schlitter recumbent and on one of my first rides I encountered something I neve experienced in Maryland....sand spurs! Got two flats in one ride. A friend suggested Gatorskins and now I laugh at you nasty sand spurs.

Reviewed 2/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire &40Folding&41 is the best flat protection tire on the market, hands down.
by BIKEMAN
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Continental Gator Hardshell 700c Road Tire (folding) is utilized on a Trek 1.1 and 1.2 Road Bike, averaging 38-57 miles per day. What I like most about this tire is the mileage indicators on the tires that let you know when to exchange them.

Reviewed 2/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keeps Rolling
by Kevin
North Carolina

I ride 15 hours per week, on average. These tires lasted 1 year with no stopping to fix a flat!

Reviewed 10/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They're great
by Anonymous

This was my second purchase of these tires after looking for a tire that was flat resistant, long lived, and rolled fast. It's been a great all around tire!

Reviewed 10/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable
by Anonymous
virginia

Dependable. Lasts reasonsably well.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great set of flat proof high mileage tires
by Allen
NW Arksnsas

I have put several hundred flat free miles on these tires and they still look almost new! They are a tiny bit heavier for the weenies and maybe a tad less plush, but if you hate changing tires on the roadside (especially in the cold), these are awesome tires.

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These never let me down on century rides
by PCH Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Malibu California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I switched over to Continental Gators about 7 years ago getting ready for a century ride. Fan for life. Great rolling, smooth and have taken about everything the road can dish out. Now have them on 3 road bikes and only 1 flat in more than 2800 miles. The only flat was a direct hit on a 6 jagged rock at dusk on a canyon road - cracked the sidewall but stayed on the rim. I use the wire bead for most rides, carry the folding version when I am on an extended ride.

Reviewed 12/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rolls great!
by tim1457
Aiken, SC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Wanted some peace of mind from road hazards while training on our not so perfect highways. Tires roll great and ride well. Very satisfied with purchase.

Reviewed 7/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome tire
by Pmello
Southern California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been researching all makes and models of tires for the past several months and finally decided to go with the Gator Hardshell. I've had them for several weeks now and they have surpassed my expectations. They ride much better than the stock rubber that came with my Specialized and offer fantastic grip. I highly recommend them.

Reviewed 7/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough, Stable, and Durable
by SunCityTXBiker
Central Texas
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Using other brands and non-hard shell I've experienced flats several times a year. Since using these hard shells, I have experienced no flats. Riding on rough country roads with cactus needles, glass, sharp small stones, pot holes, and bad expansion joints have never caused a flat. I can easily get over 4,000 miles on the rear tire.

Because of the heat and rough roads, I do change both tires yearly can never be too careful

Reviewed 7/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough tires!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I rode these tires up Mt. Tam on fire roads 3 times in last month and no issues. 2X Eldridge and 1X Railroad Grade and they performed very well despite being taken over rocky terrain that they were not designed for. Zero punctures or cuts and other than a little scuffing they are doing fine. They held better than I expected on loose rocky terrain with minimal slippage. Swapping on some CX tires and will keep these for pavement.

Reviewed 5/20/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't fit on rims
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I tried this tire on two different rims. It will not go on without brute force. I destroyed two tubes trying. Would not be able to do a roadside change.

Reviewed 6/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires, best price!
by 240rwilk
Cycling Enthusiast
Avila Beach Ca.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Road biking. Have used this brand for years. Never had a problem.

Reviewed 6/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire, reasonable tread life but I still get glass punctures.
by Roundlegs
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa,FL
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires forSaturday rides, training and racing. Corner and handle well but I still have as many of not more flats as riders with standard tires. 21 ratio.

Reviewed 4/1/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Unbelievable tire!
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
all across the country
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have used Cont. 4000 II, Verdestein and Michelin Pro 4 and this by far is the best I have found for wear and durability. I teamed them up with puncture resistant tubes and have yet to have a flat. They ride a little stiff but the roll is great. I would not use if racing, but I am a rider who just loves riding. I do about 200-250 a week and all in asphalt roads. I like they have now begun to include the wear indicator dots on the tire. It looks like I will get at least 2500-3000 out of these tires. Very, very satisfied!

Reviewed 2/14/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best puncture proof I've found
by Rourkenroll
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These were on sale and a great deal as they are my favorite puncture resistant road bike tire I have found...

Reviewed 5/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page