X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(26 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(1)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(81%)
(4%)
(8%)
(0%)
(8%)
sublime
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These bibs fit me so well I feel like they make me a better cyclist. They certainly help me cycle greater distances in comfort. They cost a lot, but the quality does not disappoint. Your lower regions deserve the best shorts you can get, so be good to yourself and don't cheap out! Fit is a personal thing, but the pad shape, texture, and overall construction are perfect for me. A word on sizing. I'm 5'9", 152lbs. I tried to go with a medium, but the bibs were too short for my torso. The shorts were pretty tight too, but I think they would have broken in. I exchanged for a large, and haven't regretted it.

Reviewed 6/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Mmm mmm good!
by Me
Bothell

Love these bib shorts. Great price, comfort and looks. Best option unless you can afford the Premio Black.

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Improved Pad and More Breathable
by John Twist
Cycling Enthusiast
Morgantown, WV
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using Castelli bibs (Body Paint 12 and Free Aero) for 10 years. I wear the large size (5'8, 150 lbs, 32 waist). The new Aero Race 4 bib-short shows Castelli's dedication to continually improve their shorts. The pad feels more substantial and comfortable when on the bike. The shell materials just fit great and feel more breathable. The grippers are vastly improved with excellent hold (vertical series of tacky stripes). The stitching on the seams and attachment point on the shoulder straps are improved- no frayed threads. I wash them in a mesh bag using detergent with no fabric softeners and dry on a towel warmer. After 20 rides all good- even the Castelli logo shows no flaking. The blue and the grey colors are subtly different than the standard black and compliment many of my team jerseys. I prefer these colors over the black. Highly recommend. JT

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wonderful bibs!
by PedalOnward
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

They are soo good! I've had a hesitancy ordering Castelli clothing online because everyone always gripes about the sizing. The first pair I bought I did size up. To be clear they still fit and I thought everyone was right but since then I've ordered a couple more bibs in my normal size medium. I'm here to say that you should order your normal size if you feel you have a slimmish build. They are snug. It takes an extra second to pull them into place while getting them on but that is how they're designed to be. The right size feels a million times better once your into a bike ride. The pad is wonderful and probably my favorite I've come across in my cycling life. For reference I'm 5'10" and 160lbs.

Size bought: Medium

Reviewed 3/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Comfort and fit of these bib shorts make me feel like a stronger rider.
by Old Guy
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Coast, FL

These are my third pair of Castelli bib shorts but my first set of Free Aero. They were an upgrade for me but I bought them on sale at a great price. I'm 5'7" at 150 pounds. Like my previous two pairs of Castelli bibs I went with the mediums. Yes, like all Castelli bibs they are really tight when I first put them on but soon after the first ride, they seem to conform to my body. Most of my rides are in the 30 to 50 mile range and the comfort of the Free Aero bibs is really great. The combination of comfort and compression kind of makes me feel like a better sand happier rider.

Reviewed 1/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable to wear & comfortable on the bike!!
by Mike Hutcheson
Chicagoland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

First time with the Progretto X2 seat pad - love it. Went with the compression version of these bibs & they are more work to get on, but after 50 miles of pedaling you can tell a difference.

Reviewed 8/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My new favorite bibs
by SaaSy Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These bibs are fantastic! Comfortable and supportive for training or racing

Reviewed 6/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing
by KC
Seattle area
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These shorts are very well made as well as extremely comfortable even for women.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bibshorts ever
by BCarma
Cycling Enthusiast
California

Super comfortable. Yes, they are expensive but they are durable. Have been riding for over 20 years, definitely the best bibshorts I've ever had. Euro sizing, I had to get one size up from most brands,

Reviewed 11/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best!
by Anonymous
Las Cruces NM

I was so impressed with my first pair.. I ordered a second. All day comfort, big climbing days.. No problem.. Just order 1 to 2 sizes if you are tall (I'm 6ft 2 inches). The suspenders are tight..

Reviewed 10/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Favorite Short, in my opinion best shorts you can get for the price.
by David R
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri

I use the shorts for my longest rides. Very comfortable 4+ hour rides. Only negative recently is that

Castelli is making their straps a little short. I have several versions of these shorts and it seems the straps

are getting shorter with each pair. I'm a tall rider so not a problem if you are average sized.

Reviewed 10/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fit, nice pad
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The new pad is very nice, and I like it better than the previous Castelli pads. The fit up front is much better too. Straps are comfortable and work well. I'm 5'7 132 lb and have worn medium Castelli bibs in the past but this one is a small and fits perfectly. Snug, but that's my preference.

Reviewed 9/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best bib shorts
by Lamar
Bothell
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Castelli continues to improve on the bib shorts. Cant go wrong with these. Great for century rides.

Reviewed 9/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shorts
by Herc
Competitive Racer
D.C.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Dependable shorts, and great for long ride. 225lb size xl.

Reviewed 8/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely Comfortable
by SD Cycler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA

Very comfortable, but runs a little small. I probably could have gone with a XXL rather than an XL. Very light weight with good looks.

Reviewed 1/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit and performance but poor stitching
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am a fan of Castelli bibs. The fit and compression on these bibs are perfect. I am 5'9' 160lbs and ordered a medium. The reason for not giving the bibs five stars is due to the fact that the stitching was coming out before I wore them. I only realized it about two months after buying them because I ordered in the winter when they were on sale and did not get them out to wear until the spring. Thankfully they are double stitched so they are no serious issues.

Reviewed 6/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love 'em
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very comfortable and provide good cushion-light weight.

Reviewed 3/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs, very comfortable for long rides.
by Redshorts
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID

Great compression helps me stay in the saddle longer, riding harder. Castelli bibs have been my favorite for years, and these are the best so far!

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My favorite bibs ever
by Kory
Hillsboro, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Most comfortable bibs I have ever worn. Great cushion, but it doesn't feel like a diaper. Tight fit, so it doesn't move while riding. I got a size medium and have a 32" waist.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super comfortable
by Hebrew Hammer
New York
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent product. As with all casteli Gear order one size up as they run small. Good shammy.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page