X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Rally Pedal Mail-In Rebate — Learn More
Castelli Mens Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort

CastelliMen's Free Aero Race 4 Bibshort(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(35 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(29)
(2)
(2)
(0)
(2)
(83%)
(6%)
(6%)
(0%)
(6%)
Previous Page
Great bibs
by Old fart
Il

I think Castilli are great bibs always order a size up these ran a little smaller than normal but they are still great

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good shorts
by Herc
Competitive Racer
D.C.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Dependable shorts, and great for long ride. 225lb size xl.

Reviewed 8/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit and performance but poor stitching
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am a fan of Castelli bibs. The fit and compression on these bibs are perfect. I am 5'9' 160lbs and ordered a medium. The reason for not giving the bibs five stars is due to the fact that the stitching was coming out before I wore them. I only realized it about two months after buying them because I ordered in the winter when they were on sale and did not get them out to wear until the spring. Thankfully they are double stitched so they are no serious issues.

Reviewed 6/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Mmm mmm good!
by Me
Bothell

Love these bib shorts. Great price, comfort and looks. Best option unless you can afford the Premio Black.

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love 'em
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very comfortable and provide good cushion-light weight.

Reviewed 3/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extremely Comfortable
by SD Cycler
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very comfortable, but runs a little small. I probably could have gone with a XXL rather than an XL. Very light weight with good looks.

Reviewed 1/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and light
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Can barely feel this chamois on my skin, and the chamois insert is comfortable. No numbness on long rides.

Reviewed 7/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
better leg gripper, better seat pad
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

It's an improvement on the old Free Race bib. I like the new seat pad. Still fits the same way.

Reviewed 7/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good idea, poor execution
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

New bib strap fabric is very uncomfortable especially at the waist. Doesnt stretch and cuts into your sides when in an aero position. The seamless chamois moves around and ends up in the wrong place.

Reviewed 7/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Leaves a bit to be desired
by MeesterE
Casual Cyclist
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I own a couple of Castelli pro bibs and shorts (Nano flex pro, the free aero race shorts and bibs) and would classify myself as more of a casual rider and in my experience using Castelli products, I have been nothing but impressed - not so much with these bib shorts. The fit is typical of Castelli, tight with good compression where it is needed - it's a comfortable fit with seams properly concealed or thoughtfully placed to reduce chafing. The straps, which are touted to enhance airflow, durability, and smoothness against the body are too narrow and end up twisting. The material is too thin and no matter how much I tried to keep them flat, they would bunch up and become uncomfortable on the shoulders - so much so that I mostly ride with the straps down. After my first ride - about 40 miles - I also noted there was pilling in the seat area from rubbing against my saddle - no holes, but still a bit disconcerting given the price I paid for the product. The chamois material and pad is comfortable but interestingly, the material doesn't completely cover pad - there is an area toward the back of the chamois, where you can see the pad and actually move it around. I initially thought the opening was there so you could take the pad out and case you wanted to wash or replace it, but it's sewn into the lycra. The pad still does what it's meant to do, but aesthetically, it's not nice to look at. With all that said, I still wear these mostly for my trainer sessions at home. They're comfortable and the dark steel blue color is a nice change from all the black shorts I have. Still a fan of Castelli, just not of this short.

Reviewed 6/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A hole in the bib
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Anaheim Hills, CA
2 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered 4 of these bibshorts but 1 of them had a little hole near the stitching on the front right leg.

Reviewed 5/20/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top of the line bibs
by Persico
Connecticut
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Ive been wearing Castelli free Aero bibs for the past 5 years and every year they improve their shorts that much more.

Cant say enough about the Chamios for great comfort on the saddle and the leg grippers are very compressed and aero and feel like your wearing nothing at all. The only thing I would like to see Castelli improve on these are the shoulder straps. I would like to have a more wider strap that stays flat, these start out ok but seem to narrow around the chest.

Reviewed 4/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bibs, very comfortable for long rides.
by Redshorts
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID

Great compression helps me stay in the saddle longer, riding harder. Castelli bibs have been my favorite for years, and these are the best so far!

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My favorite bibs ever
by Kory
Hillsboro, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Most comfortable bibs I have ever worn. Great cushion, but it doesn't feel like a diaper. Tight fit, so it doesn't move while riding. I got a size medium and have a 32" waist.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super comfortable
by Hebrew Hammer
New York
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent product. As with all casteli Gear order one size up as they run small. Good shammy.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.