X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Brooks B17 Standard Saddle

BrooksB17 Standard Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(75 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(64)
(10)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(85%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)
(1%)
Best seat i've owned in 12 years of cycling
by bsemple
Casual Cyclist
Little Rock, AR

I was skeptical at first but decided to give it a try after the online reviews and word of mouth from local cyclists. It did take a while to break in, and I probably need to condition it a little more. Ride between 50-100 miles per week.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks B17 - Always a first choice for me!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

Extremely comfortable, just like your favorite pair of leather shoes. And, for me, comfortable right out of the box as well. You can't go wrong with Brooks.

Reviewed 9/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Of course the Brooks saddle is excellent, but Mostly I like dealing dealing with an Oregon company that has great pricing.
by Delarue
Redmond Oregon

I collect and refresh vintage bikes and the Brooks saddles make a great addition.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
super high quality--worth every penny!!!
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

so comfortable--switched out an older generic seat for this one and i can finally enjoy biking without the constant reminder of an uncomfortable seat -- so far so good!

Reviewed 9/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best saddle I�ve owned!
by Anonymous
Stillwater, NY

Great saddle for daily commuting and touring. I�ve spent 8 hrs a day on this saddle for a week long touring trip and it was much more comfortable than I hoped for. Takes some time to break in, but a great investment!

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazingly comfortable!
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Super comfortable. why did I wait so long?!

Reviewed 11/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Support beats all
by Capt.Whitebean
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Great price for a great saddle.

Brooks has been around and is preferred by many who know the secret to comfortable riding. Gel and other materials that make your saddle softer or more comfortable are ultimately making you more uncomfortable in the end. It's a great big lie that many people fall into. I have seen many people buy a new bike with a decent saddle and then they buy a gel saddle cover before riding the bike for the first time. Bollocks!

Sit on a sound piece of supple leather that supports you where you need support without cushion and you couldn't be happier after a long day of touring with another long day to follow that one.

Day after day.

It does take a few miles (100 or so?) to break in any good saddle so expect it, fight through it, and stay the course.

Reviewed 9/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The perfect touring saddle.
by moses
Cycling Enthusiast
Vernon, CT
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this saddle for my touring bike and it is by far the most comfortable saddle, even partially broken in, although I think it felt great right out of the box. It just fit my anatomy perfectly and I can't wait to start touring full time on this saddle. You can't beat the comfort or the quality of this saddle and I am very happy with my purchase, there is a reason this is such a popular saddle for touring.

Reviewed 8/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
XLNT touring saddle at an agreeable price
by lebvendors
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride a hybrid bicycle 400 miles per month on city streets and bicycle trails. The Brooks B17 provides an excellent balance of comfort, weight and rigidity for my style of riding, and requires - in my case - no break-in period. I enthusiastically recommend the Brooks B17 saddle to other riders.

Reviewed 6/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This Saddle is well build, comfortable, beautiful, and will last 20 years or more!
by Stone Cold
Daily Commuter
Ohio

I use this Saddle to commute to work each day. I like the number of compliments I get from other Cyclist. Have you ever bought a great looking pair of leather dress shoes and the more you wore them, the more comfortable they became? Well, that's the Brooks B17 Standard Saddle. The only flaw is if you get caught in the rain and the Saddle gets soaked, it may ruin it. But, that's an easy fix, buy a waterproof seat cover.

Reviewed 7/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy
by Anonymous

Started off thinking I made the wrong decision. But, after the seat broke in, it is extremely comfortable. Will continue to use this seat for my future bikes

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks saddles are good
by Lindsey
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan and SINY

I'm a Brooks saddle fan. I put a Brooks Pro on my road bike and rode it from 1973 until 2015-ish when the leather gave out. Bought a Brooks B17 to replace the Pro on my road bike because I heard that a B17 will break in a little quicker than a Pro. Liked that B17 enough that I bought this B17 to replace the squishy saddle on my slightly more upright commuter bike. I like this B17 too.

Great saddle if the rider is patient enough to let it break in and keeps the leather dry.

Reviewed 4/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most comfortable saddle in the world
by Anonymous

Just after 300 miles riding, it broke in and then I dont need wear bike shorts anymore.. I think its most comfortable saddle in the world. If you have touring bike, you should have it..

Reviewed 7/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Break it in and you win!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love my Brooks saddles. This is my second one and once it is broken in, it will be just a comfortable as the first. Over the years of riding, I have suffered with soft tissue discomfort on rides longer than 60 miles especially on multi-day tours. The Brooks saddle eliminates that issue. Each time I get back on the bike it feels more comfortable than when I climbed off for a rest.

Most good saddles are going to cost some money, so this is in line with other saddles and this one will conform to your shape!

Call me a winner.

Reviewed 4/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most comfortable saddle in the world
by Anonymous

Just after 300 miles riding, it broke in and then I dont need wear bike shorts anymore.. I think its most comfortable saddle in the world. If you have touring bike, you should have it..

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beautiful and Well Made
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Oklahoma
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered the honey color, which in the photograph looks a little orange, so I'm happy to announce that it is a beautiful medium brown that matches the Brooks handle bar tape very well. It's winter so I can't speak to it's much comfort because its been to cold to get out too often. But I'm confident that it will be perfect come biking season!

Reviewed 11/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Saddle! Unbelievable Quality
by Texas Redfish
Cycling Enthusiast
Sugar Land Texas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have several on all of my road bikes. Never had a more comfortable saddle.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the best bicycle saddle I've ever used.
by Bill
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Currently I'm using my B17 Books saddle on my REI CO-OP Adv 2.1 bike. The leather surface makes it easy to shift your weight while riding allowing for more comfort. The only challenge I've had is positioning the seat a bit further back on the seat post. The rails under the seat could be a bit longer to allow for a greater distance from the handlebars since I have a long torso. I plan to correct this by buying a new seat post that sits back bit further.

At this time I've put about 200 miles on this new saddle, every ride now is becoming more comfortable as it is molding to my pelvis.

The only other concern I have about this saddle is keeping the leather dry since I live on the coast of the Pacific Northwest. This Winter I'll have to take extra care to keep it dry from the rain.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking saddle. More comfortable than it looks.
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Haven't had a long break in period yet. Looking forward to many years of riding.

Reviewed 9/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I wish I could say something good about it.
by TidewaterBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA
2 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this saddle partly on the basis of the glowing reviews I read here. My own experience has been (sadly) much different. I eagerly swapped out my old, much used and nearly worn out saddle and replaced it with this one. As soon as I sat on it for the first time I suspected that this might not work out. I set my reservations aside and took it for a 20 mile test ride. Those had to be the most painful 20 miles of my life. This leather saddle is slick, rock hard, inflexible and unyielding. I had sore spots that I never had before. I ride a Trek Domane SL6, well known to be a smooth and very comfortable endurance road bike. It can go over very rough surfaces without transmitting the shocks up to the rider. But with this saddle I felt every bump and jar. (And yes, I was wearing padded cycling shorts.) At the 10 mile mark I was desperate to get home. I was moaning in agony the whole way back. The trouble as I see it is that the leather is so hard that it could be used to make a hardhat or even a helmet. I really can't see it ever getting softer or more forgiving. This was an experiment that failed.

Reviewed 9/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page