Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Brooks B17 Standard Saddle

BrooksB17 Standard Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(60 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(52)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(87%)
(12%)
(0%)
(0%)
(2%)
Amazingly comfortable!
by Anonymous

Super comfortable. why did I wait so long?!

Reviewed 11/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Top notch saddle.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Oakland CA

So comfortable. Didn't even take any brake-in for me, although I think I'm in the minority on that.

Reviewed 12/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Support beats all
by Capt.Whitebean
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest

Great price for a great saddle.

Brooks has been around and is preferred by many who know the secret to comfortable riding. Gel and other materials that make your saddle softer or more comfortable are ultimately making you more uncomfortable in the end. It's a great big lie that many people fall into. I have seen many people buy a new bike with a decent saddle and then they buy a gel saddle cover before riding the bike for the first time. Bollocks!

Sit on a sound piece of supple leather that supports you where you need support without cushion and you couldn't be happier after a long day of touring with another long day to follow that one.

Day after day.

It does take a few miles (100 or so?) to break in any good saddle so expect it, fight through it, and stay the course.

Reviewed 9/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The perfect touring saddle.
by moses
Cycling Enthusiast
Vernon, CT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this saddle for my touring bike and it is by far the most comfortable saddle, even partially broken in, although I think it felt great right out of the box. It just fit my anatomy perfectly and I can't wait to start touring full time on this saddle. You can't beat the comfort or the quality of this saddle and I am very happy with my purchase, there is a reason this is such a popular saddle for touring.

Reviewed 8/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beautiful and Well Made
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Oklahoma

I ordered the honey color, which in the photograph looks a little orange, so I'm happy to announce that it is a beautiful medium brown that matches the Brooks handle bar tape very well. It's winter so I can't speak to it's much comfort because its been to cold to get out too often. But I'm confident that it will be perfect come biking season!

Reviewed 11/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Saddle! Unbelievable Quality
by Texas Redfish
Cycling Enthusiast
Sugar Land Texas

I have several on all of my road bikes. Never had a more comfortable saddle.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
XLNT touring saddle at an agreeable price
by lebvendors
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest

I ride a hybrid bicycle 400 miles per month on city streets and bicycle trails. The Brooks B17 provides an excellent balance of comfort, weight and rigidity for my style of riding, and requires - in my case - no break-in period. I enthusiastically recommend the Brooks B17 saddle to other riders.

Reviewed 6/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the best bicycle saddle I've ever used.
by Bill
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA

Currently I'm using my B17 Books saddle on my REI CO-OP Adv 2.1 bike. The leather surface makes it easy to shift your weight while riding allowing for more comfort. The only challenge I've had is positioning the seat a bit further back on the seat post. The rails under the seat could be a bit longer to allow for a greater distance from the handlebars since I have a long torso. I plan to correct this by buying a new seat post that sits back bit further.

At this time I've put about 200 miles on this new saddle, every ride now is becoming more comfortable as it is molding to my pelvis.

The only other concern I have about this saddle is keeping the leather dry since I live on the coast of the Pacific Northwest. This Winter I'll have to take extra care to keep it dry from the rain.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pleasing aesthetics, comfortable retro
by douquihar
Casual Cyclist
Chesapeake VA

I purchased the honey saddle along with the saddle cream. I used the cream on the saddle before use and after every ride since. I am awfully pleased with the purchase, it is comfortable, even more so since I have finally gotten the seat height correct and the positioning on the seat post correct, (forwardback).

I believe I will purchase another saddle just like the one I have for another bike I also ride.

Highly recommend.

Reviewed 11/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pleasing aesthetics, comfortable retro
by douquihar
Casual Cyclist
Chesapeake VA

I purchased the honey saddle along with the saddle cream. I used the cream on the saddle before use and after every ride since. I am awfully pleased with the purchase, it is comfortable, even more so since I have finally gotten the seat height correct and the positioning on the seat post correct, (forwardback).

I believe I will purchase another saddle just like the one I have for another bike I also ride.

Highly recommend.

Reviewed 11/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking saddle. More comfortable than it looks.
by Anonymous

Haven't had a long break in period yet. Looking forward to many years of riding.

Reviewed 9/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I wish I could say something good about it.
by TidewaterBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Williamsburg, VA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this saddle partly on the basis of the glowing reviews I read here. My own experience has been (sadly) much different. I eagerly swapped out my old, much used and nearly worn out saddle and replaced it with this one. As soon as I sat on it for the first time I suspected that this might not work out. I set my reservations aside and took it for a 20 mile test ride. Those had to be the most painful 20 miles of my life. This leather saddle is slick, rock hard, inflexible and unyielding. I had sore spots that I never had before. I ride a Trek Domane SL6, well known to be a smooth and very comfortable endurance road bike. It can go over very rough surfaces without transmitting the shocks up to the rider. But with this saddle I felt every bump and jar. (And yes, I was wearing padded cycling shorts.) At the 10 mile mark I was desperate to get home. I was moaning in agony the whole way back. The trouble as I see it is that the leather is so hard that it could be used to make a hardhat or even a helmet. I really can't see it ever getting softer or more forgiving. This was an experiment that failed.

Reviewed 9/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great seat, little break in time
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Lombard, IL

I purchased my first B17 for my road bike. In less than 200 miles the saddle was broke in and comfortable. It is so comfortable that I bought a second one for my gravel bike. Long, comfortable days in the saddle!

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A bit of a throwback, but a Brooks still works
by The Rev
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Kentucky

If you have never ridden on a Brooks saddle, I'll warn you in advance that it takes a few miles (400-500) to get it broken in. Follow the instructions about waxing it and making sure you tighten the tension screw. (Instructions are provided.) Other than that, It's a great, comfortable ride. I'm glad I decided to purchase my B17.

Reviewed 8/31/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks b 17 saddle
by Clifton Clapp
Burlington

This is the best saddle in the world. I have ridden over 100,000 miles in my lifetime on these saddles and nothing else compares.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product!
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Brookeville, Maryland

The color and look are perfect. The product , shipping and handling were exceptional. I am extremely pleased with the merchandise.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
by Mitch
Boise

Love the Brooks saddle. One must remember that this saddle requires miles of use before thinking on using it on a multi day ride or even a century. Once broken in they are great. I would recommend purchasing the special brooks Greene as well.

Reviewed 8/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most comfortable saddle ever.
by Victor H.
Cycling Enthusiast
Eagle Creek, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the most comfortable saddle I've ever owned.

I'm and endurance cyclist and have tried five different saddles in the last two years and all of them start giving me numbness about the 50 to 100 mile mark and when going up hills so I'm constantly up out of the saddle to relieve the numbness and pain.

I was a little apprehensive about this saddle but after reading many touring forums I thought I would give it a try. Oh My God comfort from the second I sat on it and it keeps getting more comfortable every day as it breaks in.

I know this might not be the sexiest saddle out there but you won't care after you try one of these.

Reviewed 8/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the looks and after a little break in time, the fit and feel is great.
by Rolland Tongret
Casual Cyclist
Augusta, Ky &40 A little river town&41
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm not a hard core biker. Just peddle around our little river town maybe four or so miles a day. Got to keep the leather conditioner applied often, rain spots hard to get rid off

Reviewed 8/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great seat
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sioux Falls, SD

This seat is just plain comfortable. It allows me to ride without pain on gravel and road riding. Needs a few miles to break in, then it works very well.

Reviewed 7/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page