X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Brooks B17 Standard Saddle

BrooksB17 Standard Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(88 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(74)
(12)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(84%)
(14%)
(1%)
(0%)
(1%)
Previous Page
Excellent saddle
by Anonymous
southwest Virginia
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I only have a few miles on my Brooks saddle so far due to a medical condition but it is every thing I expected . I am very pleased with my Brooks saddle.

I hope to be back on the gravel in a couple weeks

Reviewed 9/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best seat i've owned in 12 years of cycling
by bsemple
Casual Cyclist
Little Rock, AR

I was skeptical at first but decided to give it a try after the online reviews and word of mouth from local cyclists. It did take a while to break in, and I probably need to condition it a little more. Ride between 50-100 miles per week.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Of course the Brooks saddle is excellent, but Mostly I like dealing dealing with an Oregon company that has great pricing.
by Delarue
Redmond Oregon

I collect and refresh vintage bikes and the Brooks saddles make a great addition.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best saddle I�ve owned!
by Anonymous
Stillwater, NY

Great saddle for daily commuting and touring. I�ve spent 8 hrs a day on this saddle for a week long touring trip and it was much more comfortable than I hoped for. Takes some time to break in, but a great investment!

Reviewed 8/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This Saddle is well build, comfortable, beautiful, and will last 20 years or more!
by Stone Cold
Daily Commuter
Ohio

I use this Saddle to commute to work each day. I like the number of compliments I get from other Cyclist. Have you ever bought a great looking pair of leather dress shoes and the more you wore them, the more comfortable they became? Well, that's the Brooks B17 Standard Saddle. The only flaw is if you get caught in the rain and the Saddle gets soaked, it may ruin it. But, that's an easy fix, buy a waterproof seat cover.

Reviewed 7/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks saddles are good
by Lindsey
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan and SINY

I'm a Brooks saddle fan. I put a Brooks Pro on my road bike and rode it from 1973 until 2015-ish when the leather gave out. Bought a Brooks B17 to replace the Pro on my road bike because I heard that a B17 will break in a little quicker than a Pro. Liked that B17 enough that I bought this B17 to replace the squishy saddle on my slightly more upright commuter bike. I like this B17 too.

Great saddle if the rider is patient enough to let it break in and keeps the leather dry.

Reviewed 4/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Break it in and you win!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wichita, KS
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love my Brooks saddles. This is my second one and once it is broken in, it will be just a comfortable as the first. Over the years of riding, I have suffered with soft tissue discomfort on rides longer than 60 miles especially on multi-day tours. The Brooks saddle eliminates that issue. Each time I get back on the bike it feels more comfortable than when I climbed off for a rest.

Most good saddles are going to cost some money, so this is in line with other saddles and this one will conform to your shape!

Call me a winner.

Reviewed 4/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I'm glad I got this saddle.
by Vicki Schwarzenbach
Tampa Florida

There was no break in time needed. It's been comfortable from mile one! And mostly I expect it to last a lot longer than my old ones that used to only give me a few thousand miles.

Reviewed 5/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tried one, now have three
by Shark Boy
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado

Had a leather saddle 40 years ago, and gave it away with the bike. Was trying to ride on the cheap for many years thinking that the new technology had to be better. Wrong. Tried over a dozen different saddles, finally went back to the Brooks B17. Was as good as any of the others, and only got better. Now have three for four bikes, including a B17 Imperial on a full custom Ti roadster. Fourth bike? Kid rides it in another state, that's why I don't have 4 Brooks. Expensive? Yes. Worth it? After 450 miles in 7 days over Colorado mountains with no saddle sores or hot spots, abso-freaking-lutely!

Reviewed 12/3/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best touring saddle
by Anonymous

No saddle is perfect for everyone. I now have the b17 on two bikes and couldn't be happier

Reviewed 3/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As advertised
by Tom
Michigan
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Got my Brooks B17 Standard saddle quickly.

Break in is taking some time as my first 100 miles have been rather painful.

The break in process is improving but is far from complete.

All of this was expected and hopefully the saddle will be as comfortable as expected sometime in the next 100 miles.

Time will tell!!

Reviewed 8/16/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still breaking it in....but good so far
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The saddle was delivered as promised. Given the winter in WI, I have it mounted on the bike on a trainer in the basement. Still in the break in period but so far so good. I may have a different opinion after a cross country ride this summer.

Reviewed 3/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Greatest Bike Seat
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Greenville, SC

Such an excellent seat! I ride around town every day to work and everywhere else including trips to other cities and towns nearby. The latter rides entail anything from 30 to 100 miles and I ride on the B17 at all times. I was riding 80 miles up to visit my in-laws once and forgot to put my padded biking shorts on and didn't even bother turning around once I realized it because I knew I would be fine on this seat.

Reviewed 6/24/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Thighs are in Love
by LProse
Daily Commuter
Minneapolis

So far I am loving this saddle, I'm only 20 miles it but have never had such a comfortable right. I especially love how much lower than the seat go the side edges so that my legs glide against it while pumping for the next hill. TRUE FAN OVER HERE!

Reviewed 4/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My all-time favorite
by Jerry D.
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this saddle in 1997 - rode it for years, gave that bike to my grand-daughter and she's riding it. Saddles don't come any better than this, if you want comfort and durability. And,in my experience, this is a very good buy.

Reviewed 6/14/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great
by Redhead
Sw portland
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Took a couple weeks to get saddle to the right fit, and now its good to go. Looks great, very comfy

Reviewed 2/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Review Brooks?
by Rebturk
Cycling Enthusiast
Asheville NC
1 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Say what? You want me to review a classic Brooks saddle. They have only been around foreeevvveeerr, and logged more successful and comfortable a$$ miles than most other saddles combined. Nuff said.

Reviewed 1/23/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This really is the saddle you need for long touring.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

After trying multiple racing and touring saddles from reputable brands, this expensive saddle was all that was left to try. Wish I had spent my money on this sooner. I can now ride for hours and not have a sore butt when finished. There's nothing soft about it. It's hard leather. But once you've ridden on it a while and used the oil provided to break it in, it absolutely works.

Reviewed 12/10/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to saddle
by Porkchop
Cycling Enthusiast
Ft. Myers, FL
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 5,000 to 6,000 miles a year and have tried all different kinds of saddles but have settled on the Brooks B17 for all my bikes, tandem, touring bike, carbon road bike, and others all sport the B17. It as comfortable as any saddle I've tried before I even break it in. After 50 miles or more on a ride I don't even think about my saddle. I'm a big guy over 6 foot and 220 pounds with a heavy frame so I appreciate a wide saddle.

Why only 4 stars and not 5? Three reasons, the rails tend to creak a bit, it requires a break in period and you do have to maintain it regularly by coating it with proof hide. None of this is a big deal to me when compared to the comfort it brings to all my rides.

Reviewed 1/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love my new Brooks Saddle!
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This thing is super sturdy and perfect for my commute. I like harder saddles, so this is perfect for me. I'm also really into leather patinas, so I ended up choosing the Honey color (even thought it's not the best match for my bike color scheme). Super stoked to see how it wears in and softens up to fit my sit bones. )

Reviewed 12/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page