X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Brooks B17 Imperial Saddle

BrooksB17 Imperial Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(55 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(47)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(13%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Lovin� It So Far
by cbcb

It was initially more comfortable than 3 other saddles I tried. I can�t wait to �break it in�. With only 200 + miles on it; it looks like it�ll be a winner.

Reviewed 10/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best seat ever for me . . .
by Rixtoy
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Like you, I researched extensively reviews of the Brooks B17 Imperial Saddle before purchasing. I recognize no saddle is a fit for everyone, but the overall great ratings convinced me to give it a chance.

I also researched the myriad of break-in recommendations, from the sublime to the ridiculous. In my own case I used a technique recommended whereby I took the new seat, turned it over and applied with an old toothbrush the Proofide that came with it everywhere I could reach on the underside of the saddle.

Then I put the saddle in our oven at the lowest temperature (170 degrees) for 20 minutes. Then I removed (with hot pads) the saddle and re-applied more Proofide wherever I could reach. Then, back into the oven for 20 minutes. I repeated this for around 6 cycles of this process, then let the saddle cool to room temperature.

I installed the saddle and rode about 15 miles. then I extended the mileage. After only a few rides I found the seat to be quite comfortable. My fourth ride I went 50 miles and not once did I think it was uncomfortable.

I recently got my dream bike and , of course, had the Brooks put on the new bike. The technician told me I must not care about speed because the brooks weighs so much. I told him I am always interested in speed, but do not race and comfort is a higher priority than weight of the saddle.

I have several hundred miles on the new bike and have not once thought about my ass on any rides.

Love this thing!

Reviewed 3/21/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love Brooke's Saddles
by Anonymous

Great saddle for my touring bike. Takes a bit to break in but once it is broken in it is super comfortable!

Reviewed 8/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have wasted years on the wrong saddle until now. Do not make my same mistake!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oklahoma

I now have 200 miles on my new saddle which was recommended by some users to break it in. However, I have never been uncomfortable on this saddle. It has made all the difference in the world for me! I tell everyone they need this saddle.

Reviewed 5/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Butt Heaven...
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, ME

Just may be the best money I have ever spent on anything. Totally has transformed my bike and my riding experience. I always thought that a Brooks was a hoity-toity thing, but boy was I wrong and my butt and the rest of my body agrees with this vociferously.

Reviewed 4/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle
by Anonymous

Looks very sharp, best saddle I've ridden on so far. Bought a second

Reviewed 8/1/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love this saddle!
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

I've been told these are really uncomfortable until you get them broken in, but I have loved it right out of the box.

Reviewed 5/31/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Softer with each ride
by Red Bud Rider
Wichita, Kansas

On long rides this saddle gets more comfortable each time I get back on the bike. Just need to treat the saddle with proof hide every 3 to 6 months to keep the leather like new. I used to suffer from soft tissue pain on multi day rides before I bought this saddle. Other saddles just didn�t give me any relief until I tried a Brooks saddle. Just wish I had gone with a Brooks saddle sooner!

Reviewed 11/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best saddle made.
by Meancoach
Cycling Enthusiast
Marina, CA

The longer your rides are the more you need this saddle. Best service and good price.

Reviewed 5/9/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable
by Red Bud Rider
Wichita, KS

I bought this because of ongoing soft tissue pain on long multi-day rides. Break in took a while but it is the most comfortable saddle I have ever owned. It feels good in the morning and better each time I get back on the bike during the day.

Reviewed 12/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice so far - not broken in yet but still pretty comfortable
by Rudderdog
Cycling Enthusiast

Road riding

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Longer break in than I thought
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful saddle; nice quality. Rode it for 100 miles after 2 initial Proofide applications and thought it would break in. But even after that it's still pretty rigid. I'm going to stick with it because the seat has great potential. The cutout was a game changer for numbness. I give the cutout 5 stars and the overall seat 4 stars.

Reviewed 8/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply, the best saddle out there . . .
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kansas

I have never looked back after purchasing my first Brooks B-17: Comfortable for me after first few rides I never think about a sore bottom or rubbing or fatigue on any rides, even up to 85 miles. It may not work for everyone (you have to give it a chance), but i have now bought three and have had the same experience with all three

Reviewed 4/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle for a touring bike.
by colorado biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Montrose , CO
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I will use this saddle on my touring bike ,like all Brooks saddles it does need breaking in. After about 200mi it will conform to my shape. I find it best to take 20mi daily rides until it is my shape, then longer rides will be fine. This saddle came with a wrench and a sample of leather dressing. If you take the time to break it in it will comfortable for several years.

Reviewed 9/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No wonder the B-17 is legendary
by John Almond
Columbus, Mississippi

Once broken in, my Brooks B-17 saddle became like an old pair of my favorite blue jeans or comfortable shoes.

Plus, it�s drop dead handsome on my bike. I highly recommend.

Reviewed 9/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic saddle that will last a lifetime
by Safe in the Saddle
Los Angeles
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I have put off purchasing a Brooks saddle since I was 20 years old - 40 years ago. During these years of separation, I have ridden every make and model of saddle on the market that now pile high in a cardboard box in my closet. Piled just as high are the butt calluses I accumulated riding over 8,000 every year commuting to work, racing, and bike touring across the United States. It has taken a long time to return to my roots in the 70's when I rode Masi, Ital Vega, Raleigh, and other great Brooks holders of the era. But I'm back, here to stay, like finding a high school sweetheart at your 40-year reunion.

Reviewed 5/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it!
by Wags
PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I read a lot of reviews on Brooks Saddles and they were mixed. My experience has been great so far. I have about 600 miles on my saddle and it was comfortable from the first ride. My longest ride was 80 miles and I didn�t have any of issues I had with my other saddles. I can�t wait until it�s broken in.

Reviewed 8/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brooks Saddles Don't Dissapoint
by Ham
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Colorado

Brooks saddles aren't for everyone, obviously. But they do provide me with the most comfort of any saddle I've tried. They are all I ride. This particular saddle went onto a 1987 Fuji and enhances the comfort of the steel ride in a more aggressive riding position.

Reviewed 6/20/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Coast to coast comfort
by UtahC2C
Daily Commuter
Salt Lake City, UT
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I took my partially broken in B17 and my WTB saddles on my coast to coast trip last year. The idea was that if I got a little sore I could switch saddles for a day or two for some relief. By the time I crossed the Cascades I stowed my WTB and dropped it with a friend in Boise. It took 37 riding days to cross the US. Of those 37 days only 8 days were without rain of varying degrees(don't cross the US in the Northern climes in the spring time). I treated the saddle about 4 times, top and bottom, during the crossing. I thought it held up extremely well considering the water torture it endured. I'm still riding it approximately 20 milesday commuting to and from work. The Brits know quality especially in bike saddles. If I had one critique it would be how long it took me to break it in. But it was well worth it. Without a doubt I will exit this life with Brooks on my bike.

Reviewed 10/3/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable saddle, and I really like its potential for long lasting product endurance. No more plastic saddles for me!
by Michael Thompson
Daily Commuter
Basalt CO

This Brooks B17 Imperial saddle is on my main touring bicycle, a 1993 Bianchi Project 5 cross bike, converted to a gravel bike with aero bars. I will benefit from the comfort of this saddle on multiple consecutive, 40 mile days of cross country travel.

Reviewed 4/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page