X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Brooks B17 Imperial Saddle

BrooksB17 Imperial Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(47 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(5)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(87%)
(11%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
I have been riding for over 30 years and wish I would have believed the hype I have been hearing about Brooks Saddles years ago.
by Marshall
Daily Commuter
Vancouver, WAPortland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Daily commuter (29 miles round trip for more than 20 years), very pleased at how this saddle is not only very comfortable once broken in, but, how it was never uncomfortable like I always thought they would be. Again I wish I would have believed all the hype years ago as it would have saved me a lot of time and money. In the Pacific Northwest the rain cover comes in very handy and is a great fit as well.

Reviewed 10/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle, I have 5 of them now.
by Distance Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Cape Cod, MA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These saddles are very comfortable and a lot less expensive than Gilles Berethoud saddles.

Reviewed 8/27/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An immediate improvement
by Ron
Cincinnati Ohio
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I was a little apprehensive when I learned it may take 500 miles to break this saddle in. Some years I may not ride 500 miles all year. Anyway it was an immediate improvement and allowed me to increase the frequency and length of my rides.

Also, I had experienced prostate pain with blood in my urine (Gross, I know) with another saddle. This is why I choose the saddle with the interior cutout. I have not had any prostate problems with this saddle. I am very happy with this saddle.

Reviewed 8/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I love this saddle!
by Brad
Oviedo, Florida

Not even finished breaking it in and haven't had a sore day yet. I have used a B17 on my commuter road bike for years, andI just bought a nice new carbon fiber Cannondale but couldn't enjoy it properly without a B17.

Reviewed 7/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extraordinary saddle comfort from the very first ride.
by DSMo
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Massachusetts
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I'm getting older and it's become harder for me to get and stay comfortable on longer rides. This past winter I've tried a half dozen different brands and styles of saddle. Some were better than others and brought improvements which typically turned out to be relatively short-lived. And then I bought a Brooks B17 for my touring bike. Instantly, I felt more comfortable in the saddle than I have in years. An immediate settled-ness and fit. It's terrific and well worth the extra 100 grams. I'm considering getting Brooks saddles for all my other bikes.

Reviewed 4/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No break in needed
by Sam D
savannah, Ga
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

No wonder Brooks is the best. Great saddle from day one. Minimal break in. Looks great and is very comfortable. Dont know what took me so long. May get on for Bike 2

Reviewed 4/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Only have about 100 miles on it so far but im really liking it. They say it will only get better. Im a big boy(270lbs) so im hoping it will hold up.

Reviewed 3/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfy saddle
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My first leather saddle and glad i made the switch. Fast shipping, no issues

Reviewed 3/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice quality saddle, color is perfect for my vintage Merckx.
by dwig
Cycling Enthusiast
New Mexico
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The saddle is Brooks quality, very nice. The color is as advertised, it is exactly what I was looking for. Breaking in has taken a few 20 mile rides and is now sitting on perhaps my favorite ride. Looking forward to many more rides in the future, that wouldn't be the case if the saddle had not broken in well.

Reviewed 12/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best of the Brooks!
by Maury
New York
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is the fourth Brooks saddle I've owned and by far my favorite. The best part is you don't even notice it while riding, it's just there as a natural extension of the bike. Shock absorbing in the city and a source of ease and comfort for miles, this is the one for me from now on.

Reviewed 9/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wish I'd bought a Brooks saddle 20 years ago.
by Rekrespite
Cycling Enthusiast
Indianapolis, IN
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I am very satisfied with this saddle. There was virtually no break-in period. Great price.

Reviewed 9/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love my saddle
by Lexleggett
Oregon, wi
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought my saddle 2 weeks before a 720 mile 1 week round trip Madison WI. to Minneapolis Minnesota. 6 days of consecutive 100 mile centuries and no issues with comfort. The saddle is weighty but comfortable so I'll go for that anyday

Reviewed 9/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best seat ever after trying out many others
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, NC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have a garage full of different seats I have tried out over the years. I have finally found one that is comfortable on long multi-day rides.

Reviewed 8/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent saddle
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent

Reviewed 8/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wonderful
by Anonymous

I had a selle saddle before and I replaced for a Brooks b17 very comfortable I will recommend to any body

Reviewed 5/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Can't wait till it's broken in
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Pennsburg, PA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

So far it is not broken in, so it is hard to tell. But since it is supposed to be a very comfortable saddle, I am looking forward to the time it is done breaking in.

Reviewed 11/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best in class product
by Anonymous
4 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Best in class product and also price match here

Reviewed 8/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle for long distances, no painful break-in period
by ChicagoCommuter
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have some experience with leather cut-out saddles, as I've owned three Selle An-Atomica versions. The Selle is very comfortable and compliant, but the Brooks Imperial is less expensive, and provides a firmer feel while still providing the benefits of the cutout. This was my first Brooks saddle purchase. The perineal cutout seemed perfectly sized and positioned for me, but the saddle feels fairly wide for my sit bones, I think I might try a B17 Narrow Imperil, if I have occasion to purchase another Brooks saddle in the future. The best part of the B17 Imperial was the absolute lack of any painful/uncomfortable break-in period so often associated with Brooks saddles.

Reviewed 8/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
B17 is the Bomb!
by J Heath
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

What is there to say about this saddle that hasn't been said before? It's the standard for bicycle enthusiasts, and those who want a classic handsome saddle for their vintage beasts. Many people worry about the break in period, I havent found it to be too bad of an issue (that said I havent taken a brand new saddle out on a big tour)

People also go back and forth about the difference the cut out makes on the imperial makes. I own two B17 standards and two B17 Imperials. The difference is indistinguishable. If you wanna save a few bucks, get the standard. If you must have chrome rails, or like the look of the cut out, get the imperial.

Reviewed 4/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Could be Good
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Lancaster, CA
8 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

Only have 300 miles on new seat, still breaking in although it does seem to be getting better. Concern included sharp edges on seat cut out caused problems at first. Did some gentle cutting around the opening which seems to have taken care of the initial issue. Very high quality leather and hardware. Hopefully another 300 or 400 miles will get it broken in.

Reviewed 3/4/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page