X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Bell Stratus MIPS Helmet

BellStratus MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(22)
(12)
(2)
(0)
(1)
(59%)
(32%)
(5%)
(0%)
(3%)
Affordable MIPS - comfortable enough
by CrankyNinja
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN

Traded up to this as I wanted a MIPS helment for a multi-day road ride. Previous was a Bell Solar (non-MIPS), which I liked, so I stuck with the Bell line. The Stratus is a much larger helmet, which does feel a bit strange at first, but it is comfortable and vents well. Supply was limited, so I compromised on my color preference, and ended up with a white helmet. I am finding it difficult to get both straps through the included holder (will probably require some tools to guide it through), but otherwise no complaints.

Reviewed 8/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Deal
by Jim

Great fit em true to size (L), great price , smooth delivery

Thumbs up!

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light, good helmet. Needs longer straps though.
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH

Overall I'd say that this is a really good helmet, as is usually the case with Bell helmets. It's lightweight, breathes extremely well and has good airflow. Fits my big noggin well, without pinching anywhere, even when I'm wearing a skullcap. Good price point for a MIPS helmet.

The only drawbacks I've run into with it to date in the six or so months I've worn it, factoring 150+ miles of riding per week, is that I'm noticing some minor degradation of the styrofoam in spots, and as others have mentioned, the chin straps are too short for my liking.

This latter aspect I think may be from Bell overcompensating for having too-long straps for many years, but they erred too far in the other direction and need to find a happier middle ground. On the size large and with my height face, I have a mere 1-1.5 inches or so of strap outside the buckle when the strap is fairly snug under my chin/jaw, which isn't very much and too little for my liking. I'm not sure this helmet will work for me in the Winter with a thicker skull cap on as a result of the overly short straps. Hopefully Bell remedies this in their next iteration of the helmet.

Reviewed 8/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality
by Anonymous

This is a quality helmet. Helps keep the head cool on hot days.

Reviewed 8/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great venting and weight...excellent value!
by sk
Cycling Enthusiast
arizona

This helmet has great venting and airflow. Its light weight is really close to the higher priced Z-series Bell, but a lot cheaper! Excellent value in a competitive helmet market!

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value but not a race helmet
by Deanwalter
Vancouver Island

I own the Z20 and now the Stratus. The Z20 is a superior helmet but the Stratus is still a good helmet. I purchased the Stratus for foul weather gravel riding. The helmet fits my rounded forehead well. The straps were an ample length. I saw reviews that said the straps were too short. The fit adjustment dial is easy to use. I'm able to comfortably wear a skull cap and a hooded baselayer underneath the helmet. My two biggest issues with the helmet are 1) the vents aren't spaced to hold sunglasses securely and 2) the helmet is somewhat bulbous and not streamlined. Even with these two issues I still like the Stratus a lot. It is reasonably priced mid range helmet.

Reviewed 2/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Meh
by Ripcity Ryan
Portland

My old Giro Savant was getting orettt worn so it was this or the Giro Cinder. It�s a fine helmet overall but lacks some important details. The straps are only just long enough. Big heads should get long straps. Little heads should should have strap to spare. When I put the arms of my glasses through the vents the glasses don�t snug in. My other helmets have always held my glasses well. Sometimes the fit has some odd pressure spots at times. Weight is fine. I haven�t experienced the ventilation having only had it this fall. Maybe it�d work for you but if I get the $50 for this review I�m thinking I should go back to Giro.

Reviewed 12/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable protection
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern VA

fits true to size, fits my rounder head shape - no hot spots on the forehead or temples. Good ventilation.

only issue (minor) my Oakley flak jacket shades don't mount securely, but not a bid deal.

Reviewed 4/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's a great helmet
by Joaquin
Cycling Enthusiast
Freedom

I use it for road riding,I bought it for how it looks and price and it fits great I recommend this helmet

Reviewed 10/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super Comfortable, Unsure Of Color Lifespan
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ

Very comfortable helmet and I only have two complaints about it. 1) I miss the slight sun visor built into my last helmet. This is something I can live with, though. 2) In 7 months of use, the color is noticeably fading. I bought the Retina Sear version and the back is now much lighter than the front from sun bleaching. No apparent damage to the out plastic shell.

Overall, I think this is an excellent choice for a helmet. Mine sees daily use, 160 miles (255 km) week, and once I strap it on, I don't notice I'm wearing it. The air vents provide good air flow, something important here in the desert SW, to keep you cool, even when working hard in the heat. I just wish the color had held up better.

Reviewed 3/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
overall a very good helmet
by Gustav
SW FLA

It's got great safety reviews. it fits comfortably, well ventilated, & despite what the negative reviews say, I have no problem getting my sunglasses into the vents when I need to store them while rolling.

Reviewed 8/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, but chin strap is too short
by R Evans
Daily Commuter
Palo Alto CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this helmet for the MIPS feature. Previously I wore a Bell Sweep helmet, which I really like.

I find that Bell helmets (more oblong) fit my head shape better than Gyro helmets (more circular). For my wife it is the opposite.

I found that the Stratus helmet fit me as well as my Sweep helmet, except for a too short chin strap. In adjusting the chin strap, I barely had enough strap to pass through the clasp and fold back on itself into the plastic strap retainer. It seems to stay on during my ride, but will often get loose when I release the clasp. I worry that, if I am in an accident, the accident forces might release the strap and I might lose the helmet when I need it most. There should be at least a half inch more strap. This was not a problem on my previous Bell Sweep helmet.

The Bike Tire Direct price was very good!

Reviewed 11/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Choice To Protect Your Head!
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ

Been logging a lot of time in this helmet over the last few weeks, since I bought it. I'm only going to dock it half a point and on only one area sweat control. Yes, I do get a nice air flow over my head, but the built-in pads dogged saturated, nonetheless. Not a major deal as I've learned to lean to the side and press the brow of the helmet to drain the excess sweat.

Fit is easily adjustable, comfort level is excellent, and the helmet is light, to the point I do not notice I'm wearing one. An added plus is that bright color give you a real high visibility if you share the road with motor vehicles.

If you value what's inside your head, this is the helmet to protect it!

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fit and value
by mike g
Cycling Enthusiast
Nebo,NC

Initial appearance and fit are as expected. I was getting close to needing a new helmet and the sale price persuaded me in the purchase.

Reviewed 2/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Adjustment wheel and straps broke after a few uses.
by Tim O''
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Started out fine but after a few wears the adjustment straps came free for the adjustment wheel and won't catch back in so the helmet is now useless.

Reviewed 12/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my favorite helmet.
by TNRoadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Bristol, TN

I have used several different helmets, including other models made by Bell. The Stratus is the best yet. It fits securely, is lightweight, has plenty of ventilation and this model even includes MIPS. I am very happy with this product.

Reviewed 9/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really Good Helmet
by GL biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Atascadero, CA

This helmet fits well and is comfortable as well as stylish. It is good it has the Mipps protection as well. I highly recommend it.

Reviewed 2/1/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic! Light, well ventilated, fit perfectly out of the box, easy to adjust. Liked it so well, I bought 2!
by Jim D, Michigan
Cycling Enthusiast
West Michigan

Road Cycling. Can't think of anything I don't like about it. One of the best helmets I've owned and a great value for the price.

Reviewed 11/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Cyclomama
virginia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this one because Virginia Tech says it tested at the top of their crash worthiness tests. Its comfortable and looks good too!

Reviewed 11/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and safe
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Roanoke, VA

This is one of the safest helmets according to a Virginia Tech study. It's also very comfortable to wear. Overall, I'm very glad to have it and it's a big upgrade from my old brain bucket.

Reviewed 10/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page