Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Bell Stratus MIPS Helmet

BellStratus MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(76%)
(24%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Very well engineered and super comfy
by Nick T.
New Jersey

It was pretty coincidental, having damaged my helmet days before seeing a news segment on helmet safety performance. So I researched the safety test (conducted by Virginia Tech Helmet Lab) and decided on the Bell Stratus mips. Out of over 26 other helmets the Bell, along with four other helmets from other brands was rated best available. Test was rated for safety only - not value, comfort, looks...

Having owed a Bell prior to the Lazer I recently damaged I knew my head shape agreed with most Bells.

The Stratus is amazingly comfortable -from padding, to chin straps,to weight or lack of,I could not be any happier. It is well vented and well engineered- has a system up front that keeps sweat and rain from running onto brow.

The only issue which shouldn't be a deal breaker because the helmet does seem so perfect is the outer dimensions seem large. Helmet just looks a bit big on my head compared to other brands I've owned. But once on and riding all is good!

Reviewed 10/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Choice To Protect Your Head!
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ

Been logging a lot of time in this helmet over the last few weeks, since I bought it. I'm only going to dock it half a point and on only one area sweat control. Yes, I do get a nice air flow over my head, but the built-in pads dogged saturated, nonetheless. Not a major deal as I've learned to lean to the side and press the brow of the helmet to drain the excess sweat.

Fit is easily adjustable, comfort level is excellent, and the helmet is light, to the point I do not notice I'm wearing one. An added plus is that bright color give you a real high visibility if you share the road with motor vehicles.

If you value what's inside your head, this is the helmet to protect it!

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like the fit and look
by SJ Mich Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
St Joseph, Michigan

Use for road riding, Sizing seemed to be on par with other helmets (Bell, Giro, LG) as I wear Medium in all. Bought because of top ranking in recent bike helmet safety ratings, hope I never have to put to the test but nice piece of mind knowing that I am using one of the safest helmets on the market and got at very reasonable price on sale.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Antoher examole of why I continue to purchase Bell helmets
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

200 mile per week rider

Reviewed 8/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great helmet
by Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland

This helmet is light and comfortable. I use it for commuting and long tours. I've used several other brands and this is the most comfortable.

Reviewed 6/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits perfectly on a Bell head (round head ie. not long and narrow)
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco Bay Area

The front of the helmet sits low on the forehead, bent low, looking up the front edge of the helmet is visible. This is acceptable.

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best fitting helmet I have used in 40 years of serious cycling
by Christian Bratina
Cycling Enthusiast
Litchfield, CT

I started with the first white Bell helmet, switched to MSR for a while, used Giros for years and last bought a Mavic Cosmic Pro which only lasted a year before it started falling apart. I bought the Bell Stratus in part because of the bright yellow color, but fell in love with it due to its fit and quietness. The wind noise is lower than any recent helmet I have used. The only issue is that the strap is JUST BARELY long enough. Would like it to be at least a half inch longer.

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value
by Paul
California
Review for Bell Stratus MIPS 2017 Road Helmet

I own this and a Z20. Honestly, although the Z20 has a little more padding (and oriented slightly differently), the Stratus is actually very similarand less expensive. I have the white Status with reflective silver, which is perfect for my commutes.

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The bell stratus helmet fits better than the giro brand helmets I have used for years.The adjustment dial is easier to use on the fly ,I highly recommend this helmet.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sevierville ,Tennessee
Review for Bell Stratus MIPS 2017 Road Helmet
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

l use this helmet for road and gravel bike riding, the fit adjustment dial is easy to operate with gloves on.

Reviewed 1/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic helmet
by Anonymous

This is both light and comfortable.

It fits well both on its own or with a balaclava underneath it. So far, the improved forehead pad has worked well to keep sweat out of my eyes. And it is definitely worth the peace of mind to know that I am writing with MIPS protection.

Reviewed 2/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet - just not a fan of flat white
by GregS
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Review for Bell Stratus MIPS 2017 Road Helmet

Love this helmet, very aero, but not a fan of the flat white color. I wish it was actually gloss. This newest version has reflective stickers on it too, which is a bonus. Very comfortable.

Reviewed 1/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice sharp looking and functioning lid
by JimmA2
michigan
Review for Bell Stratus MIPS 2017 Road Helmet
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good clean and crisp design to it. Light Weight and comfortable. It could easily cost twice as much.

Reviewed 11/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Distinctive headgear for those who want to be seen.
by Did
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlottesville, VA
Review for Bell Stratus MIPS 2017 Road Helmet

There's nothing I don't like about the Bell high viz green helmet. The color, design, fit, adjustment are things that make this helmet great.

Reviewed 10/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty close.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Diego, CA
Review for Bell Stratus MIPS 2017 Road Helmet

Helmet fit is pretty personal - although it would seem that a few more adjustments could make it more universal. I seem to be right in between a Medium and Large size on Bell helmets - no matter the model.

I went back and forth on the size of this, and went with the large, although it is just a bit low on my brow.

What I like about this is the ventilation and comfort. Much better than my previous Volt.

The look is a kinda interesting as well - less Gieger like Alien, and maybe a bit more of some kind of android head of the future. With the fit issues, it makes me wonder if my head is just weird.

Reviewed 10/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good road helmet that I feel confident about strapping on each day
by flyfisher
Daily Commuter
North of South, but South of North
Review for Bell Stratus MIPS 2017 Road Helmet
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

It's a helmet. it's a Bell. It's got that new-fangled MIPS stuff. Fit-wise, it's comfortable on my gigantic melon, lightweight (not that it matters much... because, well... gigantic melon). The adjustments are good, the airflow is good. All around a very good helmet.

Reviewed 10/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I don't even feel the lightweight well ventilated Bell helmet during an aggressive ride, or just cruising.
by BDGravelle
Cycling Enthusiast
Scotts Valley, Ca, Home of Bell
Review for Bell Stratus MIPS 2017 Road Helmet
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Bell Stratus to protect my head, from a previous Head Trauma and the MIPS is important to help me incase of another fall.

Reviewed 10/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet!
by PDX_CYCLIST
Competitive Racer
Review for Bell Stratus MIPS 2017 Road Helmet

Purchased to replace a crash-damaged Bell Volt that I liked a lot (and did its job). But my new Stratus MIPS seems lighter, more comfortable, easier to adjust, and has surprisingly better air flow. Hopefully I won't need to test the MIPS for its effectiveness

Reviewed 8/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.