X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Bell Stratus MIPS Helmet

BellStratus MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(20)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(63%)
(31%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)
Comfortable protection
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern VA

fits true to size, fits my rounder head shape - no hot spots on the forehead or temples. Good ventilation.

only issue (minor) my Oakley flak jacket shades don't mount securely, but not a bid deal.

Reviewed 4/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value but not a race helmet
by Deanwalter
Vancouver Island

I own the Z20 and now the Stratus. The Z20 is a superior helmet but the Stratus is still a good helmet. I purchased the Stratus for foul weather gravel riding. The helmet fits my rounded forehead well. The straps were an ample length. I saw reviews that said the straps were too short. The fit adjustment dial is easy to use. I'm able to comfortably wear a skull cap and a hooded baselayer underneath the helmet. My two biggest issues with the helmet are 1) the vents aren't spaced to hold sunglasses securely and 2) the helmet is somewhat bulbous and not streamlined. Even with these two issues I still like the Stratus a lot. It is reasonably priced mid range helmet.

Reviewed 2/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Meh
by Ripcity Ryan
Portland

My old Giro Savant was getting orettt worn so it was this or the Giro Cinder. It�s a fine helmet overall but lacks some important details. The straps are only just long enough. Big heads should get long straps. Little heads should should have strap to spare. When I put the arms of my glasses through the vents the glasses don�t snug in. My other helmets have always held my glasses well. Sometimes the fit has some odd pressure spots at times. Weight is fine. I haven�t experienced the ventilation having only had it this fall. Maybe it�d work for you but if I get the $50 for this review I�m thinking I should go back to Giro.

Reviewed 12/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's a great helmet
by Joaquin
Cycling Enthusiast
Freedom

I use it for road riding,I bought it for how it looks and price and it fits great I recommend this helmet

Reviewed 10/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
overall a very good helmet
by Gustav
SW FLA

It's got great safety reviews. it fits comfortably, well ventilated, & despite what the negative reviews say, I have no problem getting my sunglasses into the vents when I need to store them while rolling.

Reviewed 8/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super Comfortable, Unsure Of Color Lifespan
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ

Very comfortable helmet and I only have two complaints about it. 1) I miss the slight sun visor built into my last helmet. This is something I can live with, though. 2) In 7 months of use, the color is noticeably fading. I bought the Retina Sear version and the back is now much lighter than the front from sun bleaching. No apparent damage to the out plastic shell.

Overall, I think this is an excellent choice for a helmet. Mine sees daily use, 160 miles (255 km) week, and once I strap it on, I don't notice I'm wearing it. The air vents provide good air flow, something important here in the desert SW, to keep you cool, even when working hard in the heat. I just wish the color had held up better.

Reviewed 3/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, but chin strap is too short
by R Evans
Daily Commuter
Palo Alto CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this helmet for the MIPS feature. Previously I wore a Bell Sweep helmet, which I really like.

I find that Bell helmets (more oblong) fit my head shape better than Gyro helmets (more circular). For my wife it is the opposite.

I found that the Stratus helmet fit me as well as my Sweep helmet, except for a too short chin strap. In adjusting the chin strap, I barely had enough strap to pass through the clasp and fold back on itself into the plastic strap retainer. It seems to stay on during my ride, but will often get loose when I release the clasp. I worry that, if I am in an accident, the accident forces might release the strap and I might lose the helmet when I need it most. There should be at least a half inch more strap. This was not a problem on my previous Bell Sweep helmet.

The Bike Tire Direct price was very good!

Reviewed 11/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Adjustment wheel and straps broke after a few uses.
by Tim O''
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Started out fine but after a few wears the adjustment straps came free for the adjustment wheel and won't catch back in so the helmet is now useless.

Reviewed 12/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Choice To Protect Your Head!
by OV Dragonman
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson, AZ

Been logging a lot of time in this helmet over the last few weeks, since I bought it. I'm only going to dock it half a point and on only one area sweat control. Yes, I do get a nice air flow over my head, but the built-in pads dogged saturated, nonetheless. Not a major deal as I've learned to lean to the side and press the brow of the helmet to drain the excess sweat.

Fit is easily adjustable, comfort level is excellent, and the helmet is light, to the point I do not notice I'm wearing one. An added plus is that bright color give you a real high visibility if you share the road with motor vehicles.

If you value what's inside your head, this is the helmet to protect it!

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice fit and value
by mike g
Cycling Enthusiast
Nebo,NC

Initial appearance and fit are as expected. I was getting close to needing a new helmet and the sale price persuaded me in the purchase.

Reviewed 2/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my favorite helmet.
by TNRoadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Bristol, TN

I have used several different helmets, including other models made by Bell. The Stratus is the best yet. It fits securely, is lightweight, has plenty of ventilation and this model even includes MIPS. I am very happy with this product.

Reviewed 9/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Really Good Helmet
by GL biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Atascadero, CA

This helmet fits well and is comfortable as well as stylish. It is good it has the Mipps protection as well. I highly recommend it.

Reviewed 2/1/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic! Light, well ventilated, fit perfectly out of the box, easy to adjust. Liked it so well, I bought 2!
by Jim D, Michigan
Cycling Enthusiast
West Michigan

Road Cycling. Can't think of anything I don't like about it. One of the best helmets I've owned and a great value for the price.

Reviewed 11/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Cyclomama
virginia
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this one because Virginia Tech says it tested at the top of their crash worthiness tests. Its comfortable and looks good too!

Reviewed 11/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and safe
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Roanoke, VA

This is one of the safest helmets according to a Virginia Tech study. It's also very comfortable to wear. Overall, I'm very glad to have it and it's a big upgrade from my old brain bucket.

Reviewed 10/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very well engineered and super comfy
by Nick T.
New Jersey
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It was pretty coincidental, having damaged my helmet days before seeing a news segment on helmet safety performance. So I researched the safety test (conducted by Virginia Tech Helmet Lab) and decided on the Bell Stratus mips. Out of over 26 other helmets the Bell, along with four other helmets from other brands was rated best available. Test was rated for safety only - not value, comfort, looks...

Having owed a Bell prior to the Lazer I recently damaged I knew my head shape agreed with most Bells.

The Stratus is amazingly comfortable -from padding, to chin straps,to weight or lack of,I could not be any happier. It is well vented and well engineered- has a system up front that keeps sweat and rain from running onto brow.

The only issue which shouldn't be a deal breaker because the helmet does seem so perfect is the outer dimensions seem large. Helmet just looks a bit big on my head compared to other brands I've owned. But once on and riding all is good!

Reviewed 10/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like the fit and look
by SJ Mich Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
St Joseph, Michigan

Use for road riding, Sizing seemed to be on par with other helmets (Bell, Giro, LG) as I wear Medium in all. Bought because of top ranking in recent bike helmet safety ratings, hope I never have to put to the test but nice piece of mind knowing that I am using one of the safest helmets on the market and got at very reasonable price on sale.

Reviewed 9/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Antoher examole of why I continue to purchase Bell helmets
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

200 mile per week rider

Reviewed 8/10/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great helmet
by Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland

This helmet is light and comfortable. I use it for commuting and long tours. I've used several other brands and this is the most comfortable.

Reviewed 6/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits perfectly on a Bell head (round head ie. not long and narrow)
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
San Francisco Bay Area

The front of the helmet sits low on the forehead, bent low, looking up the front edge of the helmet is visible. This is acceptable.

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page