X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Yakima FrontLoader Universal Roof Rack

YakimaFrontLoader Universal Roof Rack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(76%)
(24%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Convenient and sturdy rack with minor drawbacks
by Yurii
Cycling Enthusiast
Redmond, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used two racks to haul my road bikes around, and everything was almost perfect. The only complaints I can dig up are about the screwing mechanisms (1) it takes a while to screwunscrew it to get the bike in or out, and one of my two racks has it much harder going than the other one, and (2) the plastic handle sometimes comes off the nut and spins freely instead of driving the nut, making it even longer and more fun

Neither of the issues are that bad, but only ideas for the Yakima engineers on how to make the rack even better

Reviewed 8/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Overall great rack from Yakima!
by JKomolmis
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have two of the Frontloaders for mine and my girls 29ers and absolutely love the no hardware installation right out of the box and ease of use. There are markings for the size of the bike tire for easy adjustment. The rack holds the bike very sturdy and I have no hesitation with it at all. My only desires are 1) wish it was just a tad bit shorter so that the trunk of my Audi A3 would open all the way (I'd say it opens about 80%) and 2) that the optional lock core would have gone through the red knob that is used to tighten the front clamp for the tire. As it is right now, the Frontloader has one lock core to go to the front of the rack to prevent someone from actually stealing the carrier from your roof rack and the second lock core is one an attached cable that you can wrap around your bike as theft deterrent for someone to steal your actual bike. If someone really wanted to and had the cable cutters, they would cut the cable and start to unwind the red knob to loosen the front clamp and off they go with your bike. So if there were a lock on the red knob to prevent it from turning, then it'd be near impossible to steal.

But otherwise, this is a fantastic rack... especially at the sale price!

Reviewed 8/16/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid, easy to use, but don't lose the bits!
by Owen
Sacramento

I used this to carry a 70lb cargo bike on a three hour drive up to the mountains. The rack held firm and did a great job, and it's a breeze to install and use. My only complaint is that the rear bracket has two separate pieces, and if you forget to secure the loose piece when you take the rack off, it will drop onto the ground without you noticing, and you'll never find it. I don't think that's a great design. Also, the little Yakima branded clip at the back of the rails falls off whenever it has an opportunity. A good product with a couple of things that need to be attended to...

Reviewed 11/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to Install and Easy to Use
by PSU AR
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania

I've only used the rack three times so far, however one was a 10 hour (one way) trip from Pennsylvania to North Carolina. So far so good. I drove through a heavy thunderstorm with no issues.

Reviewed 9/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect product for my need
by Taylor
utah

This bike rack is versatile and fits any top rack system. I have now purchased two. I recommend it. The best part is it doesnt scratch or touch my bike.

Reviewed 8/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect rack system
by jesus
Cycling Enthusiast
Heber, CA

Perfect fit for my car. Yakima provided detailed information about the type of car. Other brands did not.

Reviewed 5/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Almost great
by Anonymous

I had the original front loader racks on my old car. Got a new car and bought the new ones. While this is still a great rack, it is a little more difficult to load the bike and than the original. The red knob keeps the front wheel from settling in when you are lifting the bike up high. Also, Yakima has gone to using more plastics than the original, making the unit heavier. Still a good rack.

Reviewed 2/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice. Easy and secure to use.
by Anonymous
PDX

Push up the front wheel hoop, lift the bike into the rails, roll the front wheel into the hoop, hold it with one hand while you raise the rear hoop with the other, tighten the adjusting nut while holding the rear hoop, then strap the rear wheel in.

Much less danger of scratching you bike or vehicle than the older frame clamping carriers. Plus, the front wheel stays on meaning you don't have to fumble around immediately after its off the carrier.

Reviewed 1/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to install and holds bike very srcure
by Desert Fox
Cycling Enthusiast
The Desert, Ca.

I use this rack for some long hauls 500 miles or more. I've never had any issues with this rack. Easy to take

the bike on and off. Would recommend highly.

Reviewed 1/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Ethan
Conshohocken

I had fork mount yakima racks before and stuck the front wheel in the yakima wheel house to avoid a muddy interior. But having round bars the wheel house would roll back with any acceleration and having to take the wheel off, especially with hydraulic brakes is both dangerous and a pain in the butt. But with this all in one rack with built in locks all the previous hassle is gone and it, in my opinion looks cleaner

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
GOOD PRODUCT.
by justin
Cycling Enthusiast
LA CANADA,CA

It is very stable.

However, it accompanies some wind noise.

Reviewed 10/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bike carrier
by Anonymous
Souther California

This bike carrier over all is very well made

Reviewed 4/16/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great roof rack
by Kirk
Daily Commuter
Western New York
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Clamps on the front wheel, so it fits any axle stylewidth and doesn't touch your frame. Arrives completely assembled in the the box, just install it on the roof. Bikes go in and out easy. The only limitation I've found is tire width. Your fat bike tire's probably not going to squeeze into it, anything up to that is good to go.

Reviewed 8/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to set up and easy to put bike up and set to go.
by mberger256
Daily Commuter
Washington, DC
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to open the box and set up. Easy to put bike up and set to go.

Reviewed 8/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One of my best purchases ever.Easy on and off, high quality.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY

Great for everyday or just when needed.Easy to use.

Reviewed 11/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
it works
by kjokay
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

i've used it a couple times and it works as prescribed. its pretty simple to set up and its nice to not have to take the front tire off.

Reviewed 8/9/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
nice rack
by bikeaholicdan
Cycling Enthusiast
Cocnord Ca
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Race works great. If you have a car or SUV that is tall I recommend a Werner Portable Work Platform can get just about any hardware about 35.00.

Reviewed 9/2/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.