CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Vittoria Corsa Control G2.0 Road Tire

VittoriaCorsa Control G2.0 Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(8)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(72%)
(22%)
(3%)
(0%)
(3%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Mort

TOP!!!
by Mort
Daily Commuter
germany

I ride them with challenge latex + talcum in 28 mm and they are fast, smooth, grippy, stable and best looking tires (for me)...

Reviewed 4/13/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Around and Away

Great tires, very fast, but not suited for heavy city-type road use.
by Around and Away
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Look these tires are awesome and I think they are worth the money if you are not riding them on city-type streets.

I just had to replace these tires at 826 miles, I had the 700x25c Clincher, and they are fast and feel awesome, BUT they cannot take the beating of city streets. I put roughly half the miles on bike paths and the rest on Los Angeles streets in the San Fernando Valley and going towards Thousand Oaks. I Ride between 42-50 miles per trip between 2 1/2 to 3 hours at a time, and again they roll really fast and just feel good on the road, but cannot handle the beating city streets give.

I want to stick with these tires but at this burn rate, I am looking at right around $500-600 per year burning through these tires. They by far are some of the best rolling tires I have used, but I don't race and travel on too many roads to keep them. The punctures I could care less about, I just lose a bit of time doing repairs, it is that the rubber compound, if it hits anything sharp it is gone, and slices right open.

Again these tires are freakin awesome, if I didn't travel on so many city-type roads, I think I would be with this tire for a very long time, but alas they just don't meld well with hard city-style roads.

Reviewed 7/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JP

No flats, bulletproof, look great in tanwall, grippy in the corners, and pretty fast!
by JP
Cycling Enthusiast
Indy
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden on occasional gravel, through urban landscapes littered with glass, and city roads scarred with potholes at over 30 mph with zero complaints. There are faster racier tires but they do not hold up like these. I have actually gotten my money out of these tires as my rear is just now starting to show some wear after a summer of riding but still have life left. With a wider rim and latex tubes I found the 25mm to be just perfect. Still really comfortable even on a stiff alloy bike.

Reviewed 9/5/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JW

Best suited for early season racing on wet but clean roads only
by JW
Washington
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Bought these tires and began using in January for use five times per week, anywhere from 40min to 2hrs in all weather.

I run the regular Corsas on the fair-weather bike and sought these for a similar quality with more versatility and durability. Well, the versatility is there as I use them mostly on wet roads in the Pacific Northwest, but I'm at less than four months' use and have had the first puncture and the rear tire is full of small cuts.

I normally get at least a season/year out of my Vittorias, but with these I am already looking to replace them after such a short time and go back down to a zaffiro, rubino, or Panaracer pasela, just because the small loose rocks on the shoulders here are apparently that detrimental.

Looks like I misjudged the nature of these tires and the "rough roads" marketing. Still a good tire, I guess best suited for early season racing on wet but clean roads only.

Reviewed 4/24/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Nice and Supple
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Buckeye, Az

Decided to try a high tpi tire and wow, paired with late tubes these take a lot of the pot scarred roads harshness away. Coming from Michelin Pro4 its a night and day difference, much smoother and still a nice fast tire. Wish they were a bit cheaper but for the ride quality they're great. As for flats, haven't had any yet (nearly 1k miles in so far) but I will say they were a bit of a pain to mount, hopefully if/when I flat they'll be easier to remove after so many miles.

Reviewed 2/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by oaklandmark

Awesome tire
by oaklandmark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Recently, I decided that I ought to try more than just my standby Conti 5000's, and I have now got 4 more tires' worth of experience. Of the 4, I like these from Vittoria the best. As any good tire should be, it's grippy, supple, puncture resistant, and decently durable. And for the winter months, with wetter, sometimes gritty roads, the tread pattern definitely improves the grip over the all-but perfectly smooth Conti. I got 1300 miles of flawless use on the rear, only changing it out when a short length of steel wire went right through it. I could easily have ridden another 500 miles, but have to confess I was eager to experiment with another tire. I will be using these, or the Conti 5000's from now on, the latter being just a little longer wearing.

FWIW, I'm 175 lbs, and riding 30's at 85 psi.

Reviewed 11/22/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Vafishinpa

Grippy Supple Tire for Everyday, not super durable though
by Vafishinpa
Competitive Racer
SE Pennsylvania

Great, Grippy, and Supple tire that lasted 2,800 miles before first flat and headed to trash bin. The rear tire has a number of 1/8-3/8� slices in tread rubber but tonight a small rock managed to start a new hole and pop the tube. The center tread shows minimal wear otherwise and could have gone another 2k maybe.

I had used Continental GP 4000 and others before trying this tire. Ride quality is better but my Contis lasted a touch longer. The roads aren't great here in SE PA and the tires have seen everything from �light gravel� and broken asphalt to buttery new asphalt.

I have ordered 2 new tires, so I guess they are my favorite daily road tire thus far.

Reviewed 7/15/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Otterslide

Finally found my answer, after blowing out 4 tires in two years.
by Otterslide
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland Oregon

I'd been using tubeless for some years - great on the long country road rides, but getting to some rides through Portland often takes one through glass. Pinpoint punctures on tubeless are no problem, but a 1cm slash is devastating. And expensive. I decided to go back to using tubes and giving up the smooth ride on tubeless, but with the 30c Vittoria I could run lower pressure, get the ride smoothness, the cornering, and on-the-road reparability. The rubber is super grippy, reliable on rain or rotting leaves. The high thread count casing is quite apparent, providing a supple feel during high speed cornering.

Reviewed 5/24/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bien

Great Tire
by Bien
OC, Ca

No complaints! Tire is supple, reliable, easy to install and has good puncture resistance !

Reviewed 1/19/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Marty

Really great tire at a very attractive price.
by Marty
Cycling Enthusiast
Hilly Pennsylvania
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Corsa G2 Control is now my favorite tire. Excellent ride with low rolling resistance. Very affordable product and shows no signs of wear and tear.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SLOspokes

Look great . . . but
by SLOspokes
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I moved off of road tubeless because the pressures of road tires just didn't work with any sealant/plug combination. So I returned to tubes.

These Vittorias look fabulous on my matte black bike, but on the very FIRST ride the front tire punctured on a very small (I mean tiny) shard of glass. This should not have happened on brand new tread.

I'll update this as I add miles, but so far I'm super unhappy.

Reviewed 9/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old man river

Great tire
by Old man river
33947
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are probably the best tires I've ever used the problem is I live in Florida and the sun seems to make them deteriorate faster than the other Vittoria tires I have used ending up with blowouts before tbefore the tread is showing significant signs of wear. Probably not the best tire for a hot Sunny environment.

Reviewed 8/25/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Nice tire
by Anonymous

These replaced a set of GP 5000's that got a cut in the sidewall. So far I have no complaints. They are still new with about 500 miles so too soon to make an accurate assessment. I ride mainly chip seal country roads, no problems with gravel so far (no flats).

Reviewed 8/22/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by facoruh

Vittoria updates the classic Open Pave series
by facoruh
Daily Commuter
Minneapolis, MN
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

These tires replace Vittoria's Open Pave CG series, of which I was a huge fan in both the 25mm and 27mm iterations. The Open Pave's struck a great balance between race profile vs daily commuteoccassional-trail durability. In the four seasons I had ridden them, I routinely rode off 2500km on a pair, and only ever had one puncture (of which I am guilty for letting my rear get too bald).

The biggest change in these new Corsa Control's (besides the adoption of industry standard 28mm gauge), is the switch to a linear tread profile in the middle section of the tire, whereas the Open Pave's adopted a nubby texture. I can see the linear tread improving the tire's ability to weep away rain, whilst on either side of the center there are two pairs of diagonal treads (sort of broken into arrows) that provide grip in the corners.

I've only ridden these in the Minnesota summer so far on roads, but the 28 clinchers feel a touch more supple than the old Open Pave 27s. This is likely due to the recommended pressure being dialed down to 87 psi max (I used to ride the Open Pave 27s at 100psi). In a 25 profile, Vittoria say the Corsa Controls can handle higher pressures (up to 145 psi).

Mounting and fit are great on my DT Swiss PR 1400s. They clear my Dura-Ace 9100s fine, with about 3-4mm space on each side of the calipers. TIP the rotation direction is not printed on the tire where the main label is, but on another spot moulded into the sidewall. Find this to mount the tires correctly.

Reviewed 7/3/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rich

Keep in Control
by Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Tryon, NC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ordered a pair of these tires owing to the shortage of the Conti GP Tires in my chosen 700x30 size. Apart from a little difficulty in installing there is absolutely nothing I don't like. They roll and grip so much better. I've never used Vittoria tires before but now I'm truly a convert. These tires are great.

Reviewed 4/7/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by BicycleTommy

My all-time favorite road tire
by BicycleTommy
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin County, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They grip the road very well, and at 75-80psi are fast and comfortable. And they sound like my sew-ups used to. Easy to mount on the rims. I've been an active road cyclist for over 60 years.

Reviewed 4/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kenny Davis

The wear and looks of this tire makes riding my bike a wonderful experience.
by Kenny Davis
Cycling Enthusiast
Central Kentucky

Road riding. The wear and looks make it a premier product for me.

Reviewed 3/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Toby

Just get rhem.
by Toby
Phoenix, AZ
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are a PITA to mount and tend to pick up tiny thorns here in Phoenix. But they are, hands down, the best I've ever ridden - and I have been through Panaracer, Schwalbe, and other Corsa types. Gorgeous grip, quiet, comfortable on bad blacktop and curb, and a magic carpet on smooth surfaces, and no squirm or loss of grip at the limit - my pedals grind first. Just get them and go riding!

Reviewed 11/8/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dennis

Impossible To Mount on My Rims
by Dennis
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlottesville, VA

These may be great performing tires, but they are the most difficult tires I've ever tried to mount. I'm trying to mount them on my HED Ardennes Black rims, and it has been frustrating. After destroying 1 tube, I finally got the front mounted, but I cannot mount the rear one. I spent over two hours and destroyed 2 more tubes. These would be absolutely impossible in a roadside repair situation. I've been riding for many years, mounting and changing many, many tires for myself and friends. I do both clincher & tubeless without problems, but these are impossible. I'm not willing to risk riding these on the road, assuming I can get the rear one mounted. Probably sell these at the next swap meet & buy something that I can actually mount.

Reviewed 2/4/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bobg

Replaced my Contis and am very happy
by Bobg
Cycling Enthusiast
Brooklyn, NY

I replaced my Conti 4000s with these tires. They were recommended by a fellow cyclist. They went on my Roval rims easily. I have done about 700 miles on them. They ride smoothly. No flats (knock on wood). I like the tan sidewalls too. They are now my go to tire. Thanks Paul for the advice.

Reviewed 8/9/2021
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page