X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Vittoria Competition Latex 700c Road Tube

VittoriaCompetition Latex 700c Road Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(76 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(55)
(13)
(4)
(3)
(1)
(72%)
(17%)
(5%)
(4%)
(1%)
Loving Latex
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, GA

I stayed away from Latex inner tubes thinking they were too delicate, but this has not proven to be the case. And since I always pump my tires before every ride, I don't mind that they loose pressure overnight. The feel is noticeable, and combined with a 300+ TPI cotton tire, the ride is incredible. Unless I'm riding a lot of crappy chip-seal or bad pavement, I prefer 25c tires over 28c tires. The latex tubes gives the 25c tire about the same feel as a high quality 28c with butyl tubes, but the 25 provides more road feel without the marshmellowy, "are my tires flat" feel.

Reviewed 10/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light but fragile
by Anonymous

I used it for 100 miles and was happy with the weight reduction. Then moved the tire and tube to a different wheel. The tube had developed some brittle spots where it expanded into spoke-hole divots in the first rim. One of these quickly developed a crack rendering the tube useless. Won't buy again, but if you're the type who never moves tires around the weight drop is nice.

Reviewed 10/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Like butter
by Anonymous
USA

Since these were on sale, I bought them to satisfy my curiosity. They are wonderful. I was scared I would immediately have flats, but not so far. I air up my tires for every ride anyway, so the criticism that they lose air quickly doesn't matter to me.

Reviewed 10/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
To each its own
by onedesign23
Cycling Enthusiast
Tennessee

I am not sure if I can tell the difference in ride quality but I do like the pink color. It is much easier to see if you are pinching your tube when it is pink. I like the fact that it is light but not that much lighter than the Michelin tubes that I was using.

Reviewed 8/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Premium performance tube
by OC Vintage
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County CA

The Vittoria Latex tube is a performance inner tube, best paired with supple performance clincher. I like the fact that there is no seam. You will need to add air before each ride, but that is a small inconvenience compared to the improved feel and performance achieved with this latex tube.

Reviewed 7/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect companion for high performance, hight thread count clinchers
by OC Native
Competitive Racer
Santa Ana, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I switched to the Vittoria Latex road tubes a year ago and could not be happier. I have compared race butyl tubes to the Vitorria latex tubes in Vittoria Open Corsa and Veloflex Corsa Clinchers and in both cases I immediately felt the difference in ride quality and handling. The benefits of the tires quality construction and materials are maximized and noticeable the moment I put the latex tubes in. Most enjoyable thought is the supple ride feel, it's just so satisfying on the flats, downhill, as well as climbing. I have also put these in my Continental 4000 IIs tires which I was not happy with until I replaced the tubes. Compared to the other two tires, the Conti's are stiff and provided a much rougher ride, and I did not feel confident on a quick downhill turn but the switch to the latex tube has greatly improved ride quality as well as my confidence with the tire. Aside from one blowout from a chunk of glass in the center of the Conti, I have not had a flat in about 2000 miles.

Reviewed 4/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these latex tubes
by OK
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area, CA

I know some don't like latex tubes. For me these have been a god-send. I reduced my flat frequency to basically zero once I got these and the rolling resistance is obviously lower (perceptibly so). Running them in Conti GP 4000 SIIs on both road bikes I ride. I was getting many more flats on the same roads with butyl tubes - so surprisingly latex ends up more comfortable, faster, and cheaper to operate than butyl. Not to mention getting to avoid roadside tube changes. Yes, you got to pump before every ride, but to me that's worth it to not flat.

Reviewed 4/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great
by Coach
Indian Harbour Beach
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Wish they manufactured a longer stem version For for my bigger dish wheels also. Probably the fastest best made tube.

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Latex tubes are the way to go
by Anonymous

Latex tubes make cycling on your tires much smoother.

I have been using them for a number of years with no regrets.

Only downside is they are more expensive and you must fill your tires before you go on every ride.

Reviewed 8/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tube a super upgrade!
by Anonymous
Seattle

These are super light and make clinchers feel significantly softer. They do have to be re-Inflated more regularly but its a small price to pay. Also, valve extenders are required if youre rolling deep-dish carbon rims.

Reviewed 8/30/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't get any better than this
by Anonymous

Light weight and supple ride, and a removable core for extensions. It's all good!

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Latex tube experiment
by Chuck
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area

Never used latex tubes before. They're a little harder to mount than butyl, but not much. They lose about 10psi of air pressure overnight. They can be patched with a regular patch (I spoke end caused a puncture). One developed a slow leak that I just couldn't find. I ended up putting an ounce of Orange Seal in the tube and it seems fine now. When matched with Vittoria Corsa tires they do seem to provide a smoother ride, but I have no way to quantify exactly how much smoother.

Reviewed 8/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
cheapest upgrade to your bike
by billynyc
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

combined with some quality tires this is the cheapest upgrade you can do to your bike...I have these with vittoria corsa tires and they make the bike ride like a cadillac! barely feel like u have wheels on!

Reviewed 7/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I'm a believer!
by mingc
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

It maybe a placebo effect, but compared to the butyl it replaced, these latex tubes make it feel like I have a tail wind. I've maybe 400 miles on them now, on disc brake rims, with no troubles. I used lots of talc.

Reviewed 7/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tube
by Brad
Olympia
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I got the larger size tube (28-32?) to fit my oversize tires and keep the tube from stretching too thin. Make sure the tube is all the way up in the tire before inflation to keep it from wanting to poke out of the tire when inflating to full pressure.

Seems sturdy and rides more comfortably than butyl.

Reviewed 6/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Riding Tubes
by Madison Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, NC
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second set of latex tubes, they work great with the Conti 4000 tires I have. The last set was a different brand which also worked well. With those I had two flats, both caused by my rim, slipped rim strip in one case and the other by a small hole in the rim covered by a sticker which gave way when I replaced the rim strip with Veloplugs. I was able to repair both holes with standard tube patches, however the holes are impossible to find roadside without a tank of water to put the tube into. The tubes get stretched out over time and need to be replaced probably annually, or when you replace your tires if you avoid flats. The ride is worth it though.

Reviewed 4/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smoother ride and more fun
by Paul
Competitive Racer
MD
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Vittoria latex tubes are a quick and relatively cheap way to improve your bike's ride quality. Paired with a high thread count tire, the setup feels close to tubulars. Latex also reduces tires' rolling resistance, so you theoretically should get a little more speed for your power vs. butyl tubes. The latex tubes do bleed a little air overnight, so they're not great for commuting,. But if you want to spice up your racing or fun bike, these will do it.

Reviewed 4/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Feels softer than Michelin latex, weight about the same, Michelin flatted on install, these are rolling.
by Scrench
Competitive Racer
Louisiana
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use these on my Cannondale CAAD 10 with Zipp 202 Firecrest clincher wheels. I figured it was down to Michelin's or these. One Michelin flatted on install. I'm using the 24-28mm tubes with my 23mm Continental 4000S II's, and they feel great. Only 8g. difference between 19-23mm (70g) and 24-28mm (78g) tubes. Michelin 23mm were 80g. I weigh 145, these feel great with only 90 psi, but feel slow, fill to 115 min for speed. Always a trade off, comfort or speed, take your pick, but you can do both with these tubes.

Reviewed 3/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best latex tubes out there
by Numeronada
Newberg, OR

I've used the Michelin, Challenge, and the Vittoria latex tubes and these are the best craftsmanship and quality out of all of them. No imperfections and consistent quality in every tube from Vittoria, the valve stems and valves are great as well.

Reviewed 5/2/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best $15 upgrade!
by Sean
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tubes! Yes. You can feel the difference. Just a nicer feel than butyl tubes. And they have less rolling resistance. They loose air pressure more quickly, but they are NOT more delicate or more puncture prone than standard butyl tubes.

Reviewed 1/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page