Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Velox Rim Strip

VeloxRim Strip(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(33 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(8)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(76%)
(24%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
The Solution for Latex Tubes
by agshane
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwood Arkansas

Tried to install latex tubes with OEM rim tape, but that was not successful. Talked with customer service and their recommendation was to use Velox Rim strip.

Received it a few days latter, installed on the wheels in a snap. Problem solved, tubes are doing well and love the ride.

Reviewed 7/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to use
by Christov10
Cycling Enthusiast
Lovely Stepford, Tennessee

Some easy to use tube insurance. I applied this ribbon of cloth tape to Mavic Ksyrium Elite rim on my '07 Jamis Supernova. Never'd used tape on these rims previously and thought it couldn't hurt. Sticky-side sticks as expected, width just fine for the application.

Reviewed 6/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rim tape
by DiabloRider
Cycling Enthusiast
Diablo, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really like this Velox tape, it has adhesive that keeps it in place, which I rely on.

Reviewed 6/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
bulletproof!
by Dirty-D
Cycling Enthusiast
san antonio, tx
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

not the lightest, but if you are having problems with your tubes flatting from the inside of your wheels (not tire punctures but ribbing expanding into spoke holes).

This stuff will fix it!

I keep extra rolls of it in in lots of sizes because it is so handy, after a few years of riding a new wheelset, you will need this stuff.

Reviewed 1/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tape
by Jayhawker
Lenexa, Ks

Very easy to Use and Helps a Lot from Having Flats. Change Every Year for preventing Flats.

Reviewed 1/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Product
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL

This is one of the best rim tapes on the market. I have been using it for years as my go to tape. I work on many of the bikes in my club and always keep a couple of extra rolls on hand. I have seen many other brands of tape roll or slip out of place. I replace it with this tape and know I will never have a problem with it ever again.

Reviewed 10/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
10mm size is hard to find
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

It does its job.

Reviewed 5/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
top notch
by JfromPO
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

lighter than rubber and (I know what your thinking) even wrenched duct tape in a high velocity place where grams matter most. Yes, Made in France.

Reviewed 3/10/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best rim tape
by chuck
Competitive Racer
ma
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

many rims come with a thin plastic-like tape, causing flats. I replace it always with this.

Reviewed 2/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality Heavy Cloth With Strong Adhesive
by Sonoranbird
Casual Cyclist
Ajo, AZ
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The two bikes I purchased for strengthening my arthritic knee came with a very light weight rubbery plastic rim strip which I knew in time would cause a tube to blow out. And because like most bicyclists, I do not enjoy needlessly repairing flats or replacing tubes, I got the Velox rim strip to replace the factory strip. Velox really shouldn't be called a strip, but a cloth tape, and the cloth is very heavy and it has a strong adhesive, so once installed, it isn't going to move.

Reviewed 10/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This was recommended by the sales lady at Bike Tires Direct
by rgwis
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA

I bought the white rim tape as suggested by the sales person at their on-site store. The white tape allows better visibility of the position of the tube within the rim when fixing a flat to help eliminate pinched tubes. It was a great suggestion. The rim tape was easy to install.

Reviewed 9/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nothing works better
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is the best. It doesn't wear out or slip for years. It'll protect the tube from any sharp spoke ends.

Reviewed 1/13/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Qulaity product, great for high pressure clinchers
by Jeremy
Casual Cyclist
Southern Ohio
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this tape because my hybrid rims came with a flimsy rubber rim strip the stretched and let the tube enter the spoke holes and pop. I got the 22mm width which was a tad too wide for my hybrid rims, but it doesn't interfere with the bead. I've rised the pressure more with these to 100psi, no signs of ever failing! This rim tape is a must for any tire with deep spokeholes in aero rims, or anybody tired of inferior rim tape popping tubes.

Reviewed 10/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So much better than the rubber that comes on cheap wheels
by oaktowncyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, Calif.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

There's no reason to buy that rubber crap. Stick to what the pros use.

Reviewed 3/14/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good tape
by mitre
Cycling Enthusiast
Morgantown, WV
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

high quality, industry standard.

Reviewed 2/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
the benchmark of rim tape
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
upstate of SC.
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have always used this product and never disappointed with it.

Reviewed 2/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Correct size for 27 rim
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've used this product in the past & its always worked fine. Largest problem is finding a source that stocks it in 10mm.

Reviewed 11/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still the best way to go
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Summerland B.C.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Velox has been THE rimstrip since.. well, I'm dating myself - but despite all the newer plastic alternatives it's still the one I can trust. I've had the slip on plastic ones move around on me and cause a flat more than once. To be fair, the Schwalbe rimstrips seem pretty reliable but you just can't beat the security of the Velox product.

Plus there's a certain vintage cool to a cloth strip, especially one made in France. Even if it's only you that knows its there.

Reviewed 8/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works just as intended
by JustAGuy
Competitive Racer
Louisville, KY

it works exactly as intended sticks to rim and prevents tube punctures. perfectly sized to fit my rim.

Reviewed 8/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the original and still the best rim strip out there.
by Boomer Cyclist
I ride all types of pavement and rail trail, mostl
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I use this brand in all my wheels, road and MTB (two sizes available), and have been using it for decades. Other cloth tapes fail over the holes on double wall wheels where this protects the tube forever. The adhesive is fantastic. The cloth is thick. There is even a little extra length if you want to trim it to give equal thickness on both side of your air valve. I've tried others and this is the best.

Reviewed 9/27/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page