Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Tufo S33 Pro Tubular Road Tire

TufoS33 Pro Tubular Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(11)
(2)
(3)
(2)
(38%)
(38%)
(7%)
(10%)
(7%)
Solid Training Tire
by Mack
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago Burbs
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is a solid training tire that wears well. I have these on both Aluminum and carbon wheels and have noticed that the stiffer the wheel the more harsher the ride. Harsh is not the best term but they are not like a premium sew-up that has a latex tube where it feels like you are floating on a cloud. The ride stiffness is many due to the fact that this tire does not have a tube yet a thicker casing. On Aluminum the ride is smoother than clinchers. Both of my wheels are 23mm wide so I'm using the 2425mm tires. They provide a very nice profile. The tire are easy to mount after a night of stretching. Basically I mount a new tire on a rim and inflate it to 100psi then deflate the next day, then tape the wheel and remount the tire straighten and fully inflate let it sit a day then ride.

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect
by vitor Martins
Competitive Racer
Brasil
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are so good, i recommend to all my customers. The answer time from bikesdirect too is perfect!

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire at a great price.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nice tire. Make sure you pump it up dry mount for a few days before gluing and finl mounting. It is a tight stretch. Otherwise a very good tire. Round and well made.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
On second pair. They inspire confidence when leaning the bicycle at high speed. 150psi at least or the rear will fell soft!
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
atlanta, ga
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The price on the tufos made them a can't complain purchase. I glued them on to some older, but still really nice, straight spoke dura-ace carbon wheels using the 3 day method. Be carefull grabbing your rear calipers, if you slide it on concrete the compound will show threads quickly! I took them out to a super slick lowes parking lot to lean 'em hard on the glue before riding out on them. They feel great under load! I strongly recommend 150psi minimum. I ran mine up a little higher. fun to ride on and a cinch to install after a carefull stretch. They will not work with all brands of valve extenders!

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Carlisle, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I just got these and only have a few hundred miles on the tires, but they ride great. I have not inflated them to the full 175 lbs, and I'm not sure I ever will. Great Price!

Reviewed 5/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Practical, resistant and good valeu
by aeroguru.net
Competitive Racer
Sao Paulo, Brazil
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Tufo tubular clinchers sit on a class of its own. If you haven't tried them, you will either love them or hate them...

Installation is a challenge for the first timers, but once you get it, it's in fact much better and easier than a regular tire.

This is entry level Tufo T-C and I have had a couple and have had the most expensive ones as well. As for puncture resistance, I could never tell the difference and all in all nowadays I go with this cheaper one for training.

Reviewed 3/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tubular performance with less hassle.
by Anonymous
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Used with Tufo tape instead of glue for no mess, easy install. Insert Tufo sealant to prevent flats from small punctures. Ride more, wrench less!

Reviewed 2/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires!
by BikeshopDave
Cycling Enthusiast
Inland Empire, CA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on my 1979 Trek 930. Great value because they are flat resistant as well as extremely nimble. The ride is second to none. Added bonus is using the Tufo Tire Sealant after small punctures.

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Questionable Quality Control
by SaddleUp
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

What is the most catastrophic failure you can have with a bike tire while motoring along at full pace? You can have the valve blow out of the casing and send you skidding along metal to pavement in a split second. As unbelievable as that sounds, it happened to me on a brand new S33Pro (less than 100 miles). One might reasonably believe that youve got to strike something pretty big or pretty hard to cause the valve to completely separate from the tube and casing, but youd be wrong. There was no indication of compromise to the tread or sidewalls and the pavement surface was clean and free of debris.

Explanation? Its anyones guess but it does bring into question material quality and workmanship.

That said, Im buying a replacement and a spare. Dont take this as an endorsement, I simply think these tires are good value and the half dozen Ive ridden and worn out serviced me well.

The treadwear is also a bit disappointing, alas, thats the tradeoff for grippiness.

Reviewed 3/19/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire at the right price
by Monterey Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Monterey

At this price point I use the tire for training. Which is all I do. It holds up well (get the larger size).

I have six tires so far but have not gone through them all. So far, so good. Will post another review if any of them do not meet expectations, but so far this is the only tubular I need. Others just seem too expensive....good for racing, perhaps, but I am not racing!

Compared to the lower priced Thai tires these wear better and have fewer defects.

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Disappointed performance
by Anonymous
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I was really looking forward to put this tires in my bike and the excitement lasted 7.5 miles this past weekend as I had to walk every mile back to my car as the tire literally exploded for no reasons. I did not bring a spare tire so I had to go 30 miles back home. I bought two of them and will be returning them.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Save your money! Just read, Unreliable
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF, Bay area
3 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I left a review before. Biketiredirect guys were nice and sent me replacement tires. After 2000 miles total on 6 tires, here is the verdict about this tire. DO NOT BUY.

I used to pump to 130-140 PSI. First two tires got flat less than 500 miles which didn't seal with stan and pitstop. Third one got flat less than 200 miles, sealed but the next flat didn't seal. Trashed 3 so far. Replacement tires both front and rear got flat which sealed. Rear tire after 500 miles showed some worn spots and during a desend a chunk of rubber on the surface peeled off (almost 7 cm lenth). I made it home but the next tire again got flat under 300 miles. Sealed it with stans again. But in every single ride either front or rear tire sealant fails and pops out and I have to reseal, as a result I can not inflate more than 100 PSI to avoid seal failure. More than 105 It will pop in 10-20 miles.

For now I try to get more miles out of them by using sealant but honestly looking forward to buy other brand tubs and set these on fire one day.

Some comparison

Rolling slower than Clincher Conti 4000s, Vittoria slick, almost same as Vittoria pro

Grip Less than Clincher Conti 4000s, Vittoria slick, Tufo S3 lite tubular....scary if you don't watch the speed in cornering, no grip on little gravel

Me 167 lb, training to race. mostly train on clinchers, Tubular weekends, 200 miles weekly. Usually ride on good asfalt and never had so much problem with other tires on the same roads!!! And yes I watch the road to avoid glass and junk

Reviewed 8/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
out of round
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
toronto, ontario
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased 2 and installed one on my rear wheel to replace the worn out continental sprinter.

it has flat spots and a bump at the valve. out of round and i am having a tough time getting the wheel so I dont feel it on smooth pavement

Reviewed 7/22/2015
TriSports.com Comments
Hi,

Sorry to hear about your issues with the tire! Many customers have had great luck with the S33 Pro, however manufacturing defects can and do happen on occasion with any line of tires. If you would like assistance in fining a solution to your tire issue, whether it be a replacement or otherwise, please give us a call or email and we will get you sorted!

Derek

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire
by Ray Weekly
Salem, Oregon

Nice, supple ride, easy to mount. Would like to see some larger sizes and more understated graphics.

Reviewed 3/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
THESE ARE AMAZING and Lightweight
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I had continental hard shells before because I like my tires to last since I ride daily or as often as I can. But I gave these a try and I really enjoyed them there smooth and lightweight compared to other brands I used before as well. These ride smooth and have lasted me a long time no flats no problems I recently purchased more for some of my buddies that ride as well so they can try them out.

Reviewed 3/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Trashed two, less than 500 miles!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sf, bay area
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I usually train on clincher tires so didn't ride on these tubs very often. My second training ride less than 200 miles, got flat ( 2mm cut), stans and vittoria pit stop didn't fix it. The other one same exact situation in less than 500 miles. Tires looked new when I trashed them. Seems like one small hole or cut opens up and leads to a larger cut parallel to the thread lines which can't be sealed by sealants. Result is flats anyways. So disappointing. Ride quality, weight and grip are not bad but these tires didn't last for me. Such a waste of money. Consider stan, pit stop and Co2 used and ended up calling for pick up. One word unreliable.

Reviewed 10/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire for training and racing
by Christopherdart
Competitive Racer
Middle Haddam Ct
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

All top 10 finishes in races this year on this tire with 6 wins, 4th place in Connecticut TT Championships and 2nd place in New England TT Championships. No use telling me the tire don't perform. I've been getting good mileage out of these tires. Note I think the CS33 Pro is comparable for clincher rims.

Reviewed 10/9/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So Far So Good
by RAXRA
Competitive Racer
NYC Metro Area
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Only have about 500 miles on them so far but I love the ride. Tubulars are definitely smoother and more durable. They don't seem to have much wear on them yet, wouldn't expect them to this early in their life but I would definitely recommend these to anyone that rides Tubeless. And, to those of you who don't give them a try. At the price it's a great introduction to Tubulars.

Reviewed 7/3/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice tire.
by Dartman
Competitive Racer
Middle Haddam, CT
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The tire performs very well. Rode the previous set all summer. Probably got over 3000 miles out of the rear tire before something sharp found its way through the cord in the autumn. Over 10000 miles this year. Most of the miles were on Tufos. Every time I put my Vittoria pro on, I got a flat. Now it's a trainer tire!

Reviewed 12/20/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
quality, durable all purpose tire
by clydsdale rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Salt Lake City
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

have been rolling this tire for a couple of months now and couldn't be more pleased. it is a good quality tire that holds a 210 rider with no problem. doesn't lose air when racked in between rides and tread doesn't seem to wear to rapidly. ride this 40K a week this time of year, with some additional occasional roller training. definitely a buy again

Reviewed 12/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page