Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Tufo S33 Pro Tubular Road Tire

TufoS33 Pro Tubular Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(39 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(17)
(15)
(2)
(3)
(2)
(44%)
(38%)
(5%)
(8%)
(5%)
Pleasantly surprised!
by Ed''s Shop
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton, Ohio
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was needing some decent tubulars at a reasonable price (isn't everyone) for my fixie. Direct Tire had these Tufos on sale, so what the heck, I'll try them. I have ridden them for several months and so far they are great.

To be more specific, I am 150 lbs and ride on relatively smooth pavement with fix gear bikes at 130 psi. I ride on fairly dry surfaces.and am not a skidder. Rolling resistance feels less than my Sprinter 250's. The center rib on these 21s might just might make the difference. The tires were easy to mount and hold their inflation.

My use is specific but, in either case, when due, I will be installing Tufos on my other fix gear bikes.

Reviewed 8/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Durable Tubie For Everyday Riding
by skwardog
Competitive Racer
BikeNY

Great tubular road tire! Mounts straight and easy using Tubasti Rim Cement. Very durable, tubeless and almost bullet-proof when 1 or 2oz. of Orange Seal is added at installation. I have had punctures several times that seal completely in about 3 revolutions of the tire.... without any need to stop and add air even! I have been using them for about 4 years and to date I have not had to change a flat tire on the road... I do run them at max pressure though, 175psi for the 21mm and 115psi for the 24mm.

I ride about 200 milesweek and usually get about 3000 miles out of a tire before the cord starts to show. I am generally gentle on the brakes, but have noticed if you skid these tires (especially on concrete), you will lose a lot of rubber and wear them down to the cord fast. Also, once you see the cord showing, change them to a new tire... At that point Orange Seal sealant will not help you.

The only other downsides to these tires is they are a little heavier and stiffer ride than a true race tubular tire, but I'll take that trade-off for durability a training tire!

Reviewed 9/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Durable Tubie For Everyday Riding
by skwardog
Competitive Racer
BikeNY

Great tubular road tire! Mounts straight and easy using Tubasti Rim Cement. Very durable, tubeless and almost bullet-proof when 1 or 2oz. of Orange Seal is added at installation. I have had punctures several times that seal completely in about 3 revolutions of the tire.... without any need to stop and add air even! I have been using them for about 4 years and to date I have not had to change a flat tire on the road... I do run them at max pressure though, 175psi for the 21mm and 115psi for the 24mm.

I ride about 200 milesweek and usually get about 3000 miles out of a tire before the cord starts to show. I am generally gentle on the brakes, but have noticed if you skid these tires (especially on concrete), you will lose a lot of rubber and wear them down to the cord fast. Also, once you see the cord showing, change them to a new tire... At that point Orange Seal sealant will not help you.

The only other downsides to these tires is they are a little heavier and stiffer ride than a true race tubular tire, but I'll take that trade-off for durability a training tire!

Reviewed 9/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
2000 miles no flats cant beat that
by Roadbikemike
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern seabooard,NJ

Challenging to install on rim, until u get the knack, but cant beat it,I have bad wrists

Reviewed 10/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value a Bike Tire Direct Sale
by oxbox
Cycling Enthusiast
NH

The tire offers good durability and substantial value on sale. I use them fall- winter- early spring. Good mileage dependable casing. These tires are more comfortable in hot weather a should be given a chance as they perform with less harshness then 20 to 50 degree temps that I use them for.

I run them a little light on air to soften the stiffness of this tire and switch to the 24mm on really cold days or bad roads. I also use my softer wheels with these tires.

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Training Tire
by Mack
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago Burbs
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

This is a solid training tire that wears well. I have these on both Aluminum and carbon wheels and have noticed that the stiffer the wheel the more harsher the ride. Harsh is not the best term but they are not like a premium sew-up that has a latex tube where it feels like you are floating on a cloud. The ride stiffness is many due to the fact that this tire does not have a tube yet a thicker casing. On Aluminum the ride is smoother than clinchers. Both of my wheels are 23mm wide so I'm using the 2425mm tires. They provide a very nice profile. The tire are easy to mount after a night of stretching. Basically I mount a new tire on a rim and inflate it to 100psi then deflate the next day, then tape the wheel and remount the tire straighten and fully inflate let it sit a day then ride.

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
even great for racing
by Mindy F
Competitive Racer
Massachusetts

Price was a steal. These tires are good enough for my velodrome competitions. run them at about 140psi

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid tubulars
by Lutrader
New York
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Havent used this pair yet,, as the ones on the wheels still have some life in them.

Used them for racing only, so the mileage has not been to high, I do love JR them a lot

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well-maunufactured tire with a great ride and durability to match.
by dalfield
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California

Excellent tire, well-made, durable, great ride, and easy to mount accurately. It is also nice to have the option for 24mm width. I am very happy with this product.

Reviewed 8/31/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality product construction.
by amateur cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are very hard to mount. You will remember mounting them for a while. Once mounted you must check every cm to make sure it is seating. The youtube mounting instructions do not represent real life. I resorted to using wire ties to hold portions of the tire while mounting it with tools. The ride is different somewhere between tubs and tubes. Minimum allowed pressure is 115 psi. Pressures up to 175 psi. Storage pressure is 115 psi as well.

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect
by vitor Martins
Competitive Racer
Brasil
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are so good, i recommend to all my customers. The answer time from bikesdirect too is perfect!

Reviewed 8/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire at a great price.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nice tire. Make sure you pump it up dry mount for a few days before gluing and finl mounting. It is a tight stretch. Otherwise a very good tire. Round and well made.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
On second pair. They inspire confidence when leaning the bicycle at high speed. 150psi at least or the rear will fell soft!
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
atlanta, ga
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The price on the tufos made them a can't complain purchase. I glued them on to some older, but still really nice, straight spoke dura-ace carbon wheels using the 3 day method. Be carefull grabbing your rear calipers, if you slide it on concrete the compound will show threads quickly! I took them out to a super slick lowes parking lot to lean 'em hard on the glue before riding out on them. They feel great under load! I strongly recommend 150psi minimum. I ran mine up a little higher. fun to ride on and a cinch to install after a carefull stretch. They will not work with all brands of valve extenders!

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tire.
by Anonymous
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Good compromise between weight and durability. Has held really well where Vittorias and Gatorskins failed me in the past.

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Carlisle, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I just got these and only have a few hundred miles on the tires, but they ride great. I have not inflated them to the full 175 lbs, and I'm not sure I ever will. Great Price!

Reviewed 5/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Practical, resistant and good valeu
by aeroguru.net
Competitive Racer
Sao Paulo, Brazil
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Tufo tubular clinchers sit on a class of its own. If you haven't tried them, you will either love them or hate them...

Installation is a challenge for the first timers, but once you get it, it's in fact much better and easier than a regular tire.

This is entry level Tufo T-C and I have had a couple and have had the most expensive ones as well. As for puncture resistance, I could never tell the difference and all in all nowadays I go with this cheaper one for training.

Reviewed 3/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tubular performance with less hassle.
by Anonymous
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Used with Tufo tape instead of glue for no mess, easy install. Insert Tufo sealant to prevent flats from small punctures. Ride more, wrench less!

Reviewed 2/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love these tires!
by BikeshopDave
Cycling Enthusiast
Inland Empire, CA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on my 1979 Trek 930. Great value because they are flat resistant as well as extremely nimble. The ride is second to none. Added bonus is using the Tufo Tire Sealant after small punctures.

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Questionable Quality Control
by SaddleUp
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

What is the most catastrophic failure you can have with a bike tire while motoring along at full pace? You can have the valve blow out of the casing and send you skidding along metal to pavement in a split second. As unbelievable as that sounds, it happened to me on a brand new S33Pro (less than 100 miles). One might reasonably believe that youve got to strike something pretty big or pretty hard to cause the valve to completely separate from the tube and casing, but youd be wrong. There was no indication of compromise to the tread or sidewalls and the pavement surface was clean and free of debris.

Explanation? Its anyones guess but it does bring into question material quality and workmanship.

That said, Im buying a replacement and a spare. Dont take this as an endorsement, I simply think these tires are good value and the half dozen Ive ridden and worn out serviced me well.

The treadwear is also a bit disappointing, alas, thats the tradeoff for grippiness.

Reviewed 3/19/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Save your money! Just read, Unreliable
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF, Bay area
3 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I left a review before. Biketiredirect guys were nice and sent me replacement tires. After 2000 miles total on 6 tires, here is the verdict about this tire. DO NOT BUY.

I used to pump to 130-140 PSI. First two tires got flat less than 500 miles which didn't seal with stan and pitstop. Third one got flat less than 200 miles, sealed but the next flat didn't seal. Trashed 3 so far. Replacement tires both front and rear got flat which sealed. Rear tire after 500 miles showed some worn spots and during a desend a chunk of rubber on the surface peeled off (almost 7 cm lenth). I made it home but the next tire again got flat under 300 miles. Sealed it with stans again. But in every single ride either front or rear tire sealant fails and pops out and I have to reseal, as a result I can not inflate more than 100 PSI to avoid seal failure. More than 105 It will pop in 10-20 miles.

For now I try to get more miles out of them by using sealant but honestly looking forward to buy other brand tubs and set these on fire one day.

Some comparison

Rolling slower than Clincher Conti 4000s, Vittoria slick, almost same as Vittoria pro

Grip Less than Clincher Conti 4000s, Vittoria slick, Tufo S3 lite tubular....scary if you don't watch the speed in cornering, no grip on little gravel

Me 167 lb, training to race. mostly train on clinchers, Tubular weekends, 200 miles weekly. Usually ride on good asfalt and never had so much problem with other tires on the same roads!!! And yes I watch the road to avoid glass and junk

Reviewed 8/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page