CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Tufo Gravel Thundero Tire

TufoGravel Thundero Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(15 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(93%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(7%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Robert T

fast tire with a nice balance of grip and comfort
by Robert T
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, NY

I put the Thundero in 40's on my Trek Domane SL6 to cross over into a little gravel riding. I love them so much that I am unlikely to switch back to my regular road tires (another brand in 28's). These are just as fast, if not faster, and provide great traction in wet conditions when road riding. Plus I can quickly take a detour on to gravel roads without any concern. I also rode in two gravel races so far this season (2024) and they held up just fine without a single issue or puncture. These also work wonderfully well in my longer endurance style riding. Summary, I love these tires and I will keep using them for all my types of riding.

Reviewed 6/11/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by T2MCoach

A great, well rounded gravel tire
by T2MCoach
Cycling Enthusiast
Midwest and Southwest
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These are really good all around gravel tires, with a great balance of rolling resistance, puncture resistance (particularly sidewall), and grip (check out Bike Tire Rolling Resistance site for the test data). In the real world, they perform as the data would suggest (fast, reasonable puncture resistance, and have more grip than a lot of fast rolling tires). These are my primary tire when gravel is chunky with embedded rock (e.g. AZ, Flint Hills, etc.), or for B roads (limited maintenance roads). I coach several cyclists who ride/race gravel, and all have been happy with these tires as well. Sure, for some gravel races with more tame gravel, you can find faster tires (some of the semi-slick or slick gravel tires from Challenge, Panaracer or Rene Herse, but for riding/training and racing in tough conditions... these are really hard to beat.

Reviewed 12/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by outdoor_jared

Great tire and great value.
by outdoor_jared
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I read good things about this tire so I went for it and i'm glad I did. I've ridden a few hundred miles on it with one 65mile gravel race, plenty of paved road, and commuting and they are doing great. When you get the tire you can see and feel quality. The 44's roll nearly as well as my 32 GK slicks and much faster than the 38 GK+. That was the main reason, gravel kings were just sluggish.

Reviewed 5/13/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PC

Perfect all-around gravel tire
by PC
Heath, MA

Rolls fast, good grip, enough tread for dirt roads in New England but not so much that you get annoying knob sound on asphalt. Pretty much the only tires I need on this bike. Yes they are good.

Reviewed 5/3/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Incredible tire. One of my favs in 20 years of riding.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

These tires are fantastic. Fast, supple, I haven't had a single flat in 1000 miles of mixed terrain, and they are perfectly round. These feel almost as supple as the Rene Herse extralight snoqualmie pass tires that I used to ride, but I'm not worried about these blowing off the rims.

These roll noticeably faster than my friends' tires, as we can see when coasting side by side. They feel about as good as the 32mm slicks on my road bike.

Reviewed 11/29/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Initial impression: Good tires
by Anonymous
Northern Cascades

Each time I ride a new surface, I find myself surprised again at just how well they perform. They�re confidence inspiring and feel and look well-built.

Reviewed 5/16/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dillymeister

Supple, fast rolling tire for harder surfaces
by dillymeister
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to give these a try after reading a positive review for them on bicyclerollingresistance.com. They score very well there in many of their categories and are highly recommended. First of all, the tires look great, with a creamy tan sidewall and crisp lettering--very premium looking. They grip very well on pavement and hard packed gravel, and they even handle slightly looser gravel well. Ride quality is fantastic, too. I run mine with tubes at about 38-40psi and I feel like I'm just floating over the road. I'm looking forward to trying these tubeless someday.

Reviewed 12/6/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RandyMac

Faster than expected!
by RandyMac
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA

Took a gamble on a brand I had never heard of and I�m very pleased with the tires. They replaced a set of 40mm Terra Speed tires and I�m impressed with the performance. The Terra Speed may be a tad faster, but barely so. I appreciate the wider tire, more than adequate grip for dirt roads in New England. 2 Months in and they seem to be pretty durable too. Will almost certainly be buying these again!

Reviewed 10/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Failed Bead
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
NH
11 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

These tires felt good for the first 70mi or so. Logged a nice 50mi 40% asphalt 60% gravel ride on them and they felt quick. Nice curvature to the tread that lets you lean nicely into turns on smooth roads. Thin casing makes for lighter weight and a more supple ride. Second ride was pure road. 30mi in the bead on the front tire failed. Ouch. I reached out to the manufacturer (nicely) and sent them a photo of their defective product. Three months later... still no response. I deliberately did not provide them with the lot number from inside the tire so they would have to respond to obtain that info to investigate the defect. Avoid these at all cost. Injury is never worth it.

Reviewed 8/25/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by KatyTX

Crushed the gravel at HICO - Gravel LOcOs
by KatyTX
Cycling Enthusiast
Texas

These tires rode well in Hico and Chappell Hill. Mostly hard pack gravel with some loose spots on the hills. The tire held well while climbing and rolled fast on the asphalt. They are quite a bit lighter than a couple brands I used before. Easy to set up on tubeless and I installed Vittoria Tire Liners as well. I have about 150 miles on them now and they still look new out of the box.

Reviewed 6/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Rolls fast and descends well
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Brevard
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I am a gravel racer from the mountains of North Carolina. They roll really well on pavement and I have strong confidence in them on the descents. Highly recommend

Reviewed 3/24/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast and grippy!
by Anonymous
Southeast Tennessee
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This was a replacement pair of tires for an unfortunate mishap that cut my first pair. I quickly reordered the same 45's. Fast tire in all conditions. Great grip in the corners and switchbacks. Surprising grip in loose over packed (don't get stupid, though, it's still loose!). A very compliant ride which lends itself to speed under rough conditions. I'm 6'2", 196 lbs, and an aggressive descender riding mostly Cat 3 forest service roads.

Reviewed 2/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Fast rolling gravel tire offering good grip in most conditions
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Corvallis, Oregon
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I am riding the 40mm tires on a mix of paved and gravel surfaces. They don't have the grip of a more open tread design but roll a lot faster on pavement and gravel. I have put about 500 miles on the tires and they appear to be showing no signs of cuts or tread wear.

Reviewed 5/26/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Overlooked gravel tires that deliver
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Appalachia back roads
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

Like the grip at 45+ psi and also down at 32-26psi in rough gravel/dirt roads, these tires have loads of grip and ahve a smooth round profile. After two sets of specialized's '2bliss pathfinder pro' gravel tires, these Tufo's not only weight 150gms. less per tire but, they're more compliant in ride feel and grip predictably without sliding.

Reviewed 2/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Pefect mixty tyres
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

this and the Speedero are simply the best mixed-terrain tyres I have ever run. They go great with my Princeton Grits. I run a 40 in the front and a 36 in the back

Reviewed 12/18/2022
Thank you for your feedback.